Thanks weijian, i feel better now after talking to you. i will see what i can do now... thanks for these advices, i really appreciate them =)Originally posted by weijian:your right on the part that only you yourself can help you yourself.
but in here, we can offer advices for you.
to choose to either heed our advice or not is up to your choice.
1) if you can't catch up with your classmates, you can stay back at home, borrow all those related stuff and read up, practise, and if still not sure ask the lecturers before class starts..
2) your family members ask you not to quit, you followed their advice, its good, but if 2nd sem u fail the modules, then tell them, this is your life, you have listen to them last sem, let you make your own choice, its part of growing up.
3) when your struggling, it means you need even more help then others, which is part of the reason why i quit my poly. if this is what you don't like, no matter how much you try, inside deep down, there are still some elements which are resisting to learn, thus i know i can't overcome this thoughts deep down. If you can, congrats.
I hope you can. All the best.
Originally posted by shade343:Actually hor, why not take a loan from your relatives? COnvince your relatives to "invest" in you. Offer them a 5% return and free wealth management service after you graduate.my relatives all too money minded, the other side too stingy..how to ask??
I see that the course incorporates elements of CFA lvl 1. And in order to take a CFA, you need a degree.what's CFA, and how many lvls are there?
Not that I mean anything bad, but, if you dont have a basic diploma wont it be difficult to understand the lesson?
ya i got hear from my frens before.Originally posted by weijian:Arrow for your info, maybe all other 4 polys do spoonfeed you with answers and knowledge, but if your in RP, its a totally different case. they let you go explore, do daily presentation, then present us the answer at the end of the day, usually they let us see the answer, but don't allow us to take back home the answers to revise..how on earth can i revise and learn then memorise those stuff??
your welcome..Originally posted by yeswing:Thanks weijian, i feel better now after talking to you. i will see what i can do now... thanks for these advices, i really appreciate them =)
what do you think leh??Originally posted by Ito_^:ya i got hear from my frens before.
song boh?![]()
oh.. i got attend one of their seminar or something before.. (forced by fren)Originally posted by weijian:RC
Entrepreneur Resource Centre
juz joking la.Originally posted by weijian:what do you think leh??
if i song, then will i quite?
i song in yr 1 cos i can defend my presentation sildes with ease..
now the things i am learning are ailen to me..
you think leh??
Originally posted by gasband:"Dun give away the end, the one thing that stays mine"
'23' by Jimmy Eats World
thanks, that was an enlightment as well as an reminder for me.Originally posted by gasband:Many things are not within our control. But in life, we make decisions. And sometimes, it is not important whether the decisions are right or wrong but rather that the decisions are made by you. I have made many decisions in my life. Some turned out good, some not so good. But no regrets becos i made those decisions by myself and it made me happy. The statement i posted is to remind you that no matter what happens around you or what people say, dun give away the end (which is the final decisions on what to do with your life).
Hey, why not consider dip in property development?Originally posted by Taiwanpolitics:i am more sad , currently in year 1 of sp . (diploma in int design )
those fu9king lecturers dun knoe teach wad crap and have to make numerous study models .
I am thinking of transfering course if i fail year 1 .
my parents say cannot stand it quit lah , they dun have any opinion on this .
But i will continue because without a diploma in singapore how to survive , o levels aren't enough .
If i withdraw hor , this august i 18 le , have to serve army , cannot defer liao unless i find a private school that starts its lesson be4 my birthday . I am not mentally and physically prepared for NS .
My friend who retained 2 years went to JC is my motivational source , who tell me never give up ur education . He in jc cannot retain cos already retain 2 years which is stressful lah . nevertheless he is brave enough to go JC and study instead of poly . clap! clap !clap!
But this is my fault as i never consider carefully be4 chosing , i can only blame
myself .
To the threadstarter pls think carefully be4 u withdraw .
My neighbor in same situation as u leh , he withdrew in first year and went for NS .
Then after he served his NS , he went to study in private school .
Originally posted by weijian:Wait wait.
thanks, that was an enlightment as well as an reminder for me.
BTW, can anyone here tells me [b]what's CFA??
how come i post the question, no one reply me de??[/b]
Its even better if your relatives are money minded! Talk to them about wealth management! They shld be interested in growing their money! 7k is a small price to pay for wealth management service. You can come to an agreement with them.Originally posted by weijian:my relatives all too money minded, the other side too stingy..how to ask??
what's CFA, and how many lvls are there?
common situation around mah...Originally posted by forfun_cash:ya . same situation, totally the same haha.
if you dunno what the lecturers are talking about, then get them to explain the details to you again after class or something.Originally posted by Taiwanpolitics:i am more sad , currently in year 1 of sp . (diploma in int design )
those fu9king lecturers dun knoe teach wad crap and have to make numerous study models .
I am thinking of transfering course if i fail year 1 .
my parents say cannot stand it quit lah , they dun have any opinion on this .
But i will continue because without a diploma in singapore how to survive , o levels aren't enough .
If i withdraw hor , this august i 18 le , have to serve army , cannot defer liao unless i find a private school that starts its lesson be4 my birthday . I am not mentally and physically prepared for NS .
My friend who retained 2 years went to JC is my motivational source , who tell me never give up ur education . He in jc cannot retain cos already retain 2 years which is stressful lah . nevertheless he is brave enough to go JC and study instead of poly . clap! clap !clap!
But this is my fault as i never consider carefully be4 chosing , i can only blame
myself .
To the threadstarter pls think carefully be4 u withdraw .
My neighbor in same situation as u leh , he withdrew in first year and went for NS .
Then after he served his NS , he went to study in private school .
Originally posted by shade343:Its even better if your relatives are money minded! Talk to them about wealth management! They shld be interested in growing their money! 7k is a small price to pay for wealth management service. You can come to an agreement with them.
For example, upon graduation, you manage $X for them. Help them acheive a 15-20% return within a period of X months.
There are 3 lvls of CFA. Lvl 1 is the most basic level as the examination consist of multiple choice questions only. So you probably learn some basic and advanced knowledge of financial markets and lots of formulas.
i do know that i still can work part timeOriginally posted by FORGET-ME-NOT:If you don't have the money, you can work part time. CFA won't take up much of your time and you can take it at your own pace.
Yes. There is something confirm can make money within 1 year. Fixed deposits gives 3% yield. If you put 100k in it, you get back 3k.Originally posted by weijian:if there is something which confirm earns you some money within a period of time, tell me, i will sell everything that i have, place all my bets on it.
CFA although can analyse it, but can't confirm winnings what, and by how much, besides, investing, is all about getting the investors to know that investing is about getting prepared to lose money and not thinking of any returns, if they can do that, then invest is for them, if they want sure win $, tell that to the god, this is what i learn from the preview of the dip from the speaker, and it makes perfect sense. How can i confirm others?
The only confirmation that i can say for NOW is that i will take that dip, be a CFA, and work as one, i will make myself rich via using the knowledge i have picked up. That's for sure, but how long, i not sure.
whoa, low risk one, wait for the money to accumulate although it's slow, but confirm win. What if the person place all the stakes in?? The poor fellow will have liquidlity problems, not enough cash for daily activities, by then will the fellow even make it alive and kicking (touchwood) for the returns as well as the money invested i doubt so.Originally posted by shade343:Yes. There is something confirm can make money within 1 year. Fixed deposits gives 3% yield. If you put 100k in it, you get back 3k.
Investing is all about being able to generate returns which you are comfortable with. Of course, you invest in only what you can afford to lose as all investments comes with risk. Although there isnt a 100% guarantee, the idea is to be as consistent as possible. For example, 8 out of 10 investments appreciates and gives you good returns. All investments comes with risk. Low yield=low risk and vice versa.
A full fledged CFA recognition requires a candidate to possess a degree. The CFA is a tough certification exam but it is internationally recognised. Most fund managers I know possess it.