Originally posted by Devil1976:She already made her choice, now she just want to find out how to test him.
NICE [b]THEORIES.... But I'm afraid I won't quite agree with...
HITTING one with HARD FACTS might be necessary AT TIMES...
BUT hitting one with your own PRE-HAND CONCRETE BELIEF(S) is NEVER really a wise move.... Childish, immature or whatever.. I see her as a 18 years old looking for help... Give her some ROOM before you decide to WHACK HER HARD.... PERSONALLY, I DON'T THINK she DESERVES THAT...
HEARD of the saying "Innocent until proven guilty"....?
I think no matter right or wrong... It's always so much EASIER to be the one holding the BAT NOW.... ISN'T IT
Good point. You really have to discern for yourself what makes sense to you and see if those points really work out. Looking from all perspectives is going to make you very confused as you do not know whom to follow.Originally posted by mistyblue:She already made her choice, now she just want to find out how to test him.
Holding the bat? If I were hold any bat, she would have been flattened. If she cannot take the bat, she can also forget about settling down with a man with such a history - perhaps the history is nothing but she just blew it up.. Who knows the truth? You, Me, Her, Him, Anyone?
Besides, Would you really seek personal advice from strangers on the internet? Would you follow 100% the advice that seems logical and selectively choosen off from a bunch of strangers and follow through yet bear the consequence if it failed?
From my point of view, I would rather she be aware of the failings of internet because she is going to take thing literally. It is strange at 18, she does not have friends to talk about these things. Why she cannot call help lines, speak with her elders, or something. Something is really wrong isn't it.. Perhaps I am suspecious but I rather not teach a 18 year old to do things that people my age would not do.
my sentiments exactlyOriginally posted by mistyblue:There is no test for love except time.
not really?Originally posted by rainee:erm...quite unfair to judge the TS to be immature and dun wan to listen to advice? After all she said she is willing to listen...![]()
mine too.Originally posted by de_middle:my sentiments exactly![]()
yea lor, very long no chat here and in MSN liao...still remember the days when i 'bugged' u endlessly abt my 'problems' ?Originally posted by M©+square:not really?
long time no see![]()
no wonder her nick looks so familiar...Originally posted by mistyblue:So there is the other half of the story..
How do u expect every 18 year old to have friends, esp friends that u can trust, can speak to. maybe u are that lucky majority. but unfortunately, not everyone is as lucky as you. sad to say, i am not so lucky. you are so naive. some people can live till 50 and be bloody rich, yet do not have a true friendOriginally posted by mistyblue:She already made her choice, now she just want to find out how to test him.
Holding the bat? If I were hold any bat, she would have been flattened. If she cannot take the bat, she can also forget about settling down with a man with such a history - perhaps the history is nothing but she just blew it up.. Who knows the truth? You, Me, Her, Him, Anyone?
Besides, Would you really seek personal advice from strangers on the internet? Would you follow 100% the advice that seems logical and selectively choosen off from a bunch of strangers and follow through yet bear the consequence if it failed?
From my point of view, I would rather she be aware of the failings of internet because she is going to take thing literally. It is strange at 18, she does not have friends to talk about these things. Why she cannot call help lines, speak with her elders, or something. Something is really wrong isn't it.. Perhaps I am suspecious but I rather not teach a 18 year old to do things that people my age would not do.
That's why I mentioned you shouldn't apply your own belief into others' needs... Systems and settings... Let alone coming at it with a 'bat'... Whether you've 'flattened' her or not is another issue... The real deal is whether you could have possibly hurt or mislead her...?Originally posted by mistyblue:She already made her choice, now she just want to find out how to test him.
It's not advisable to be 'blind'... Least to say for your case...Originally posted by silent_lamb:i have received ALOT ALOT of kind advices from all the forumites here. i am so very grateful.
and the conclusion that i got from myself, is that i will follow my heart, and trust him with all my heart. just like how i trust everyone ard me. if him, or anyone decides to cheat me, it's ok. at least i have lived well to my consicence.
Originally posted by Bontakun:not bad advice ...u think u know someone --think again as guys r also as not
[b]How well do you know him? What is his character and behaviour? Whats his lifestyle? How well does he know you?
IF you knew him well enough, you already know more than his messy past sexual life. You will know about his behaviour, his approach towards life, his attitude towards others, etc, etc AND you would be able to decide you want to be with him in the first place and vice versa.
BUT skip that because you are now more concerned about his feelings towards you and are your feelings both mutually the "same" towards each other or not.
How long have you been with him? How is you life with him? How much do you really love him? Do you doubt him? Have you considered a possible future life together with him all the time as in "you two are living together and such"?
I can see from your further replies that you are not as ready as you assumed you are to commit. Answer those questions in red to yourself and you will see a clearer picture.[/b]
There you go....thats the spirit!Originally posted by silent_lamb:rather than cooping myself, thinking only abt BGR all the time. life seems to be more than that.
ya good thinking. life got lot to do, playing games, shopping, working, etc.Originally posted by silent_lamb:yes. he is B with the son.
i realised that sometimes, being overly serious in a relationship can become a form of extreme stress for both parties.. maybe taking things easier might be a betta approach.. i will let fate decide if thinga will wrk out anot.. i will stop trying so hard.. think it will only result the reverse.
Moreover, it's time that i open myself up more and make more friends.. this is what i lost in my previous relationships. i think it's time to gain back the social life that i deserve. who knows, i will be happier this way. rather than cooping myself, thinking only abt BGR all the time. life seems to be more than that.
YUP.Originally posted by silent_lamb:yes. he is B with the son.
i realised that sometimes, being overly serious in a relationship can become a form of extreme stress for both parties.. maybe taking things easier might be a betta approach.. i will let fate decide if thinga will wrk out anot.. i will stop trying so hard.. think it will only result the reverse.
Moreover, it's time that i open myself up more and make more friends.. this is what i lost in my previous relationships. i think it's time to gain back the social life that i deserve. who knows, i will be happier this way. rather than cooping myself, thinking only abt BGR all the time. life seems to be more than that.
Nobody likes to waste time... too precious a commodity these days.. Then again... are you two like "officially" an item?Originally posted by silent_lamb:Im willing to listen. i won't continue if he's not true. i dun wanna waste my time on someone who doesn't love me.
but the problem now is, how do i know if he's true?
agreed dont worry too much about anything not healthyOriginally posted by silent_lamb:Moreover, it's time that i open myself up more and make more friends.. this is what i lost in my previous relationships. i think it's time to gain back the social life that i deserve. who knows, i will be happier this way. rather than cooping myself, thinking only abt BGR all the time. life seems to be more than that.
Finally... the silent lamb speaks up... well-said...Originally posted by silent_lamb:How do u expect every 18 year old to have friends, esp friends that u can trust, can speak to. maybe u are that lucky majority. but unfortunately, not everyone is as lucky as you. sad to say, i am not so lucky. you are so naive. some people can live till 50 and be bloody rich, yet do not have a true friend
i thought u were as mature as u described, but from this post of yours, i realised how naive you are. Yes, i am a naive girl. i believe all the advices that u people give cos i am unable to confide in anyone in the reality. at least i find comfort to know that there are people who understands, and i can bare my heart with.
the world is living in a mask. and i feel that the virtual world is a temporary space where i can live the way i want to be. Yes, i am childish and naive. but i have my pride too. whhy do u have to step on me like that. u can offer criticisms, but u cannot judge me. i never judge people. i respect every individual. i think this is something, u as a "mature adult" have to learnt. You are learned and experienced. but it is very sad that u do not know how to respect others.