y not bring tis to the concrete jungle for further discussion abt the corporate world?Originally posted by Meilin86:We are on the same boat. Coolgal.
I am doing accounting at my workplace, facing the computer 9 hours in the office everyday until my eyes were caught in flame.
If anyone have problems in this corporate world, we can share and discuss here.![]()
I would love to. We shall organise a forum outing to the jungle to discuss about the corporate world like those from Jinyong novel. Wu Lin Da HuiOriginally posted by BrUtUs:y not bring tis to the concrete jungle for further discussion abt the corporate world?![]()
Oredi got 1 Wu Lin Da Hui. How abt Hua Shan Lun Jian?Originally posted by Meilin86:I would love to. We shall organise a forum outing to the jungle to discuss about the corporate world like those from Jinyong novel. Wu Lin Da Hui![]()
but wu lin da hui (and hua shan lun jian) most of the time see pple challenge each other for meng zu wei. No?Originally posted by Meilin86:I would love to. We shall organise a forum outing to the jungle to discuss about the corporate world like those from Jinyong novel. Wu Lin Da Hui![]()
really?Originally posted by bozo43:Actually, if you are prepared to lower your expectations in life i.e. live hdb, take mrt, eat food court, always choose the cheapest option and at the same time do not envy other s who have it you can get by almost anywhere.
I am working overseas after working in Singapore. Basically different culture here , you can tell your boss he is wrong if you are 100% sure and they will listen. In Singapore, they want you to shut up and listen. Over here , you have to talk your way through or else you just won't get noticed. I noticed some new singaporeans I know, seem to think just because they were told they are wrong straight in the face by their white colleagues - that their colleagues must be racist or something and it makes matters worse.Originally posted by Bontakun:I think we are too used to the Singaporeean lifestyle. Maybe we should go abroad and experience the foreign lifestyle, FIRST HAND, and then weigh the pros and cons before we think which is better.
Not all of us who are not too fond of the current Singapore "system" can take the alternate "system" of other countries.
organise an outing to the jungle??? wait all the pessimistics 'xiang bu kai', mass suicide.Originally posted by Meilin86:I would love to. We shall organise a forum outing to the jungle to discuss about the corporate world like those from Jinyong novel. Wu Lin Da Hui![]()
no la wu ling da hui is also got gathering to plan to fight some evil...Originally posted by macjoe:but wu lin da hui (and hua shan lun jian) most of the time see pple challenge each other for meng zu wei. No?
How about Water Margin's Ti Tian Xing Dao? Xiong di jie mei you nan, ba dao xiang zu? haha.
Anyway, when i'm really frustrated (by pple's abusive psychological remarks), i've learnt to completely shut out and forget unhappy thoughts by focusing and keeping myself active (and cool) with recreational and leisure outward bound activities like a nature/coastal beach walk, jog at Macritchie, East Coast, Changi and Botanics. The experience is fantastic especially when standing in a cave under a waterfall. Nature and its creatures have a wonderful way of calming the mind, soul and spirit. If you guys and gals are interested, can organise a mini getaway. I usually go out early in the morning in the weekend to catch the sunrise. It's beautiful.
Somtime if we got promotion, it may aslo a bad thing, will kanna assassiate anytime of the month. I think we should an annual altitute review for every worker. Those arrogant one or backstabber will be deducted marks up 24 point then suspends.Originally posted by fymk:I am working overseas after working in Singapore. Basically different culture here , you can tell your boss he is wrong if you are 100% sure and they will listen. In Singapore, they want you to shut up and listen. Over here , you have to talk your way through or else you just won't get noticed. I noticed some new singaporeans I know, seem to think just because they were told they are wrong straight in the face by their white colleagues - that their colleagues must be racist or something and it makes matters worse.
However we also got smiling assassins everywhere - the ones who smile sweetly at you pretending that you are their friend and will unexpectedly silent character assassination behind your back. You also have the credit snatchers here who take credit for your ideas and you must know how to deal with them as well . You also have arrogant colleagues who have 50 crowbars stuck up their arse. Politics in work is everywhere regardless of whether you work in Singapore or overseas .
I actually deal well with those who are quite open about not liking me because I know they are the most honest person when you ask them if you need improvement - they just hammer out everything you need to know .....or if you need to see if your paper is publishable - they make the best critics.
There are 101 ways to do things to avoid character assassination. You have to prove yourself to your supervisor and your other colleagues as reliable, hardworking and honest . You also have to get your degree or else you are going to be picked by everyone who has one in your company. An A level cert without connections, without cash, just designates you to bottom of the heap in a company . Another thing , don't talk too much to your colleagues about personal things - never have a colleague as a personal friend as well. You can be friendly to them but just don't treat them as a friend to tell your secrets to. It will bite you in the back later.Originally posted by Meilin86:Somtime if we got promotion, it may aslo a bad thing, will kanna assassiate anytime of the month. I think we should an annual altitute review for every worker. Those arrogant one or backstabber will be deducted marks up 24 point then suspends.
Originally posted by Cool-gal:organise an outing to the jungle??? wait all the pessimistics 'xiang bu kai', mass suicide.
x2Originally posted by fymk:There are 101 ways to do things to avoid character assassination. You have to prove yourself to your supervisor and your other colleagues as reliable, hardworking and honest . You also have to get your degree or else you are going to be picked by everyone who has one in your company. An A level cert without connections, without cash, just designates you to bottom of the heap in a company . Another thing , don't talk too much to your colleagues about personal things - never have a colleague as a personal friend as well. You can be friendly to them but just don't treat them as a friend to tell your secrets to. It will bite you in the back later.
This is the way life is - it is not about working hard , it is about working smart.
Been working since I was 15 - work and study work and study. So more than 10 years in the jungle of work . Somethings I have to learn the hard way and somethings are what I learn from people telling me .Originally posted by BrUtUs:x2
well said.. u inside jungle very long time liao ah???
tink the PTB wans work for life... so tis mean another 80yrs working till ur last breath if u survived tat long...Originally posted by dragg:TS just started work and already feeling the pressure.
he has a long long way to go.
20 now?
at least another 30 years of working life.![]()
Wonder how life is like driving the MRT...Originally posted by Cenarious:I'm gonna drive a bus and it's gonna be fun.
Is it? Must go and see.Originally posted by Yunhaier:This thread is found in Web Threads, in today's Straits Times!
Cheers
hmmmmm.... no diff rite?Originally posted by DriftingGuy:And here I am wondering whether I should shift job from the technical side to the coporate world![]()
what is the purpose of living a ripe old age if all you must do is work, work and work?Originally posted by BrUtUs:tink the PTB wans work for life... so tis mean another 80yrs working till ur last breath if u survived tat long...