hmm yea, but feel very weird when i call on all students except him...wun he feel very left out?Originally posted by Bontakun:If he shy, then you dun give him the attention dat much for now. Find some time alone to talk to him about it. Tell him you wanna train his guts because its important in his life.
You got enough questions and stuffs to call all your students?Originally posted by rainee:hmm yea, but feel very weird when i call on all students except him...wun he feel very left out?
my students not dat many lehOriginally posted by Bontakun:You got enough questions and stuffs to call all your students?
Treat all the same loh. No preference loh. Call everyone once. He has to accept it coz everyone got their chances.
Then juz ask all the same loh. Not like everyone 1 question, he 5 right? a few 2, he and other 1 question...Originally posted by rainee:my students not dat many leh
Only got 15 nia![]()
how long your each lesson? 2hrs or 5 hrs?Originally posted by rainee:my students not dat many leh
Only got 15 nia![]()
my lesson all 3 hours one...got 15 mins break in between...Originally posted by zaxis:how long your each lesson? 2hrs or 5 hrs?
how long each night 15 of them attend your lesson?
from what time each night you teach new topics?
what time each night you revise yesterday topics?
how you lecture? formal kind ? or require responsive kind?
the most you start @ 6pm , End around 9 pm. every night.
i think so as well...i tink it was his mom who forced him to go, from what she said to me last time...Originally posted by sillyme:it's not you, rainee. he's probably forced to tuition, or at least he feels forced.
Good what? at least he copy from his friend, that his way of learning what, not he do not any thing at all.Originally posted by rainee:my lesson all 3 hours one...got 15 mins break in between...
2 days will be lecture, another 1 day will be tutorial...usually during lecture i will talk more, but i will ask them questions during my lecture oso just to make sure they are not asleep in class
Tutorial will be the time I revise all the topics, and the students would need to do some past year exam questions...but this student just refused to do any, either he kept copying from his frens or he just sat there and did nothing![]()
he does not seem to have a lot of confidence in his own abilities...but so far he has been very polite to me...Originally posted by zaxis:Good what? at least he copy from his friend, that his way of learning what, not he do not any thing at all.
you still has not reply? how is his mental Q? EQ or IQ? high or low?
good boy look or gu wa zai look? those along jalan wong ah fook selling DVD look?
or Lido palace car jockey boy look?
Originally posted by zaxis:could it be
he like you " BGR kind"
also many time movies stories line
since when a student will only study when he is interested in the teacher?Originally posted by yuko-ogura:maybe its not the course he's not interested in.
maybe its the teacher.
But having a interesting and cute teacher around helps students remember better. Never do work, must bully. Never pay attention, must bully. Never score a passing grade, must carry teacher around school.(ala the Korean Movie 'Wet Dreams I'.)Originally posted by rainee:since when a student will only study when he is interested in the teacher?
A teacher is not someone for the student to be interested in. If everyone will only come to school because they are interested in the teacher, then the school wud be doomed already.
Last time when I study I also go even though I totally have no interest in the teacher...studying is just something you have to force yourself to do or something you do in order to get a better future? Not cos you are interested in the teacher or not.![]()
do not tell me you from those Convent in JB one la.Originally posted by rainee:those are dramas la. in real life, where got so lucky to get chio teachers all the time?
last time all my professors are old men leh![]()
rainee not chio meh! Don't underestimate yourself!Originally posted by rainee:those are dramas la. in real life, where got so lucky to get chio teachers all the time?
last time all my professors are old men leh![]()
i dun have holiday todayOriginally posted by zaxis:do not tell me you from those Convent in JB one la.
I pass by there can tell those teacher are very old,
but not those along
pelangi mall leisure mall area , all very chio one leh
need by malaysia air line ticket office one also very chio leh.
so lucky you all tomorrow holiday
singapore still have to work
Originally posted by Chris1988:nope, dun think his family is english speaking one...even when his mom called me she oso said her english is not good...but she still hopes i will coach her son to excel in his studies...
erm didn't read all 'cause i felt kinda sleepy.
anyway does his family speak english at home? personally as quoted from you if you put pressure on me to learn chinese i might just give up since i really do suck in chinese.
not saying that you pressured him in anyway but what i feel is that he might have been influenced by his friends to such an extent where he [b]might have this thinking, " study also fail, don't study also fail. why study? " if you get what i mean.
english to me its not something where you can study. and if you could it would probaly be a boring subject. for a good start, try introducing some good books where he could start brushing up his english from. novels? horror? or even comics? reading can be cultivated through interest. when he starts reading regularly, i'm sure his command of english would improve.
give him time.[/b]
wah now the situation more jia lat. is not you don't want to give him time but is no time. to make things worse is that he is skipping your classes sometimes. the only thing i can think of that you could do is perhaps,Originally posted by rainee:nope, dun think his family is english speaking one...even when his mom called me she oso said her english is not good...but she still hopes i will coach her son to excel in his studies...
i dun mind giving him time, but the exam is in May leh, about 3 months from now...
I already offer to spend extra one hour every week with him to teach him, but he doesnt wan to...and his mom said he is the kind who will tend to skip the class if he kena too much pressure...Originally posted by Chris1988:wah now the situation more jia lat. is not you don't want to give him time but is no time. to make things worse is that he is skipping your classes sometimes. the only thing i can think of that you could do is perhaps,
1. try to be a friend to him more than a teacher.
2. try to encourage him with little gifts if he manages to attend all your classes or smth.
3. try giving him tuition? perhaps you could suggest to the mom and get her to pay you tuition fees as well.