Well, it definitely works both ways! Relationship will end if only 1 party is putting in effort to keep in touch. It's pretty common nowadays that only one party put in effort to maintain the relationship (ordinary). I don't understand why, sigh! I say it again, i believe in being proactive. But there again if one iss the one who bothers to keep the relationship then there is no point.Originally posted by walesa:I'm not sure I can agree relationships initiated by girls last any shorter than those initiated by guys - I certainly don't see the link even if you've seen more such examples. Nevertheless, this is not the main point.
As I'd previously mentioned, I can never see myself with those who never take the trouble to initiate a conversation, meet-up, etc(talking about the very early phase before you're officially an item) - it's hard keeping that kind of relationship(it'd be hard even for ordinary friendships or friendships between two people of the same gender, nevermind one that could be classified as a potential relationship) going, isn't it?
intent of someone approaching me or someone - it all depends really. If it's something spontaneous, casual, sincere, not sleazy, then I will respond rather well and may not question the intent, or may take it that they are just trying to make friends. but if I come across people who look, stare and kind of sleazy I will question his or her intent - I will think this person is questionable and I have to be careful, and sometimes I think it is possible that their intent is not a good one, like they may be undressing a gals on their minds when they look at the gals.Originally posted by Bontakun:Hmm... I read the updates you peeps have given and I think to myself, "What is going on?"
Then I re-read the original topic of discussion and come to give out a few comments based on what I have noted:
Why guys/gals go around noticing, ogling, looking, anything but not making a move?
1. They could be scared.
2. They have no confidence it will work out for they have done it and got the result they don't want.
3. They only wanted to compare.
4. They have no real interest actually, just something of an eye candy.
5. They may have tasted a version of such and the relationship ended badly. (similar to 2)
6. They may be waiting for the other party to move instead.
7. They are observing and planning so in the future they really go ahead?
Ever wonder what is the real intent of the person attempting to approach you or someone? Friendship? Curiousity? Dating? Desperate? Whatever?
That's certainly true. I'm not sure you've noticed this, but I've certainly seen my fair share of relationships not working out just because guys are the ones making the moves.Originally posted by rane:Well, it definitely works both ways! Relationship will end if only 1 party is putting in effort to keep in touch. It's pretty common nowadays that only one party put in effort to maintain the relationship (ordinary). I don't understand why, sigh! I say it again, i believe in being proactive. But there again if one iss the one who bothers to keep the relationship then there is no point.
Haha it is weird considering how we think when approaching total strangers back then. I remember the first time I did it, I remembered my hands were shivering taking down her contact number.Originally posted by Devil1976:What I did I feel was like more for them to know that they're appreciated...? <Calling them back is not really the issue back then I guess...? But however it seems more 'meaningful' to get contact number from them than to just go up to them and tell them they're cute or pretty right..? And that's it..? I mean... Kinda WEIRD RIGHT....??
Btw, I agree with your part in blue...![]()
sorry, devil, i still don't understand.Originally posted by Devil1976:I thought you might be referring to a mild level of flirting.. But now I think you just wanna feel appreciated...?![]()
hey, walesa, are u referring to both genders? ha ha, think it is better understood to just sum up - (be it gals or guys) there are three groups - one group of people interested but prefer the other parties to make the move, one group of people are just "bei dong", when they realise that the other parties are interested in them, they will just wait for the parties to make the move, and the last group of people, they just do it!!!!Originally posted by walesa:This is probably the one for most people, I guess...![]()
That's really unhealthy, both have to put in their utmost effort to make the relationship work. ARe these females "qian jing xiao jie"? If it is not interactive so to say - it is pretty hard on the other party. BUt I also hear that some guys stick to their buddies most of the time rather than keep the gals company. So . . . .Originally posted by walesa:That's certainly true. I'm not sure you've noticed this, but I've certainly seen my fair share of relationships not working out just because guys are the ones making the moves.
In these cases, oftentimes, the guy does all the chasing at the initial phase that eventually, after the couple gets together, the girl continues to expect to be treated like a princess and does not pull her fair share of the weight to sustain the relationship. That probably explains why I personally wouldn't consider those who are passive and make little or no effort to take initiative in the relationship.
Possibly, its a paradox actually. They waiting for the other party to move 1st and the other party wait for them to move 1st instead. Liddat both side dun even move!Originally posted by walesa:This is probably the one for most people, I guess...![]()
Yes, questioning their intentions. The thing is not all can see it so obviously. Some are slower in detecting whether the person is genuine in making friends or eying sheepishly. I for one am slow.Originally posted by rane:intent of someone approaching me or someone - it all depends really. If it's something spontaneous, casual, sincere, not sleazy, then I will respond rather well and may not question the intent, or may take it that they are just trying to make friends. but if I come across people who look, stare and kind of sleazy I will question his or her intent - I will think this person is questionable and I have to be careful, and sometimes I think it is possible that their intent is not a good one, like they may be undressing a gals on their minds when they look at the gals.
hello,bontakun, next time u meet someone u like to know, just pass her the name card and tell her you would like to meet up for tea or whatever. If she calls you, bingo!!! That's what my ex bf did and I responded. But I did not expect we ended up in relationship, thought we will only be ordinary friends. This is what I mean proactive!!!Originally posted by Bontakun:Haha it is weird considering how we think when approaching total strangers back then. I remember the first time I did it, I remembered my hands were shivering taking down her contact number.![]()
Good idea.Originally posted by rane:hello,bontakun, next time u meet someone u like to know, just pass her the name card and tell her you would like to meet up for tea or whatever. If she calls you, bingo!!! That's what my ex bf did and I responded. But I did not expect we ended up in relationship, thought we will only be ordinary friends. This is what I mean proactive!!!Two parties gotta be proactive!!!
That's my point - so I hope you understand where I'm coming from now about who makes the first move (it really isn't so much about who literally makes the first move, as opposed to what it says about a person who expects the other to make a first move on him/her). The irony here is, quite a number of guys, would foolishly pursue their interest in a manner that'd look ridiculous to an outsider like myself and that also explains why I need to see my interest be proactive of sorts before I'd even dream of anything possibly working out...Originally posted by rane:That's really unhealthy, both have to put in their utmost effort to make the relationship work. ARe these females "qian jing xiao jie"? If it is not interactive so to say - it is pretty hard on the other party. BUt I also hear that some guys stick to their buddies most of the time rather than keep the gals company. So . . . .
Ever played dominoes(or mahjong)? Imagine the scenario whereby the tile you need to win the game is in the hands of another player - and the tile he needs to win his hand is in yours.Originally posted by Bontakun:Possibly, its a paradox actually. They waiting for the other party to move 1st and the other party wait for them to move 1st instead. Liddat both side dun even move!![]()
I tink they oso never set their priorities right. Getting to know each other well enough as friends without getting head over heels into the notion "I am interested in you. I can't seem to think of other things else."Originally posted by walesa:That's my point - so I hope you understand where I'm coming from now about who makes the first move (it really isn't so much about who literally makes the first move, as opposed to what it says about a person who expects the other to make a first move on him/her). The irony here is, quite a number of guys, would foolishly pursue their interest in a manner that'd look ridiculous to an outsider like myself and that also explains why I need to see my interest be proactive of sorts before I'd even dream of anything possibly working out...
Perhaps, the biggest irony stems from the fact that guys do the chasing most of the time and most of the girls (talking about those in such relationships) are passive to the extent of being treated like some celebrity to be worshipped. Quite simply, such relationships don't work out in the long run because the women (in such cases) do not pull their weight.![]()
Fair point, mate.Originally posted by Bontakun:I tink they oso never set their priorities right. Getting to know each other well enough as friends without getting head over heels into the notion "I am interested in you. I can't seem to think of other things else."
Bordering into the thinking that "I know him/her well enough, lets get it on!" always have the person assume he/she is ready to go further into the relationship when most of then time he/she is not.
Then again, when does the person knows it is the "right" time to go ahead? No one knows for sure, its up to you to confirm and decide are you ready to commit.
Haha yar I know dat. Kinda in a fix.Originally posted by walesa:Ever played dominoes(or mahjong)? Imagine the scenario whereby the tile you need to win the game is in the hands of another player - and the tile he needs to win his hand is in yours.
That, in essence, is what it's all about - only problem, it's potentially a lifetime's worth of happiness that's at stake here.![]()
Well, da topic is on approaching strangers and other possibilities regarding these, so we see how far it can go and how it can be worked out. For me, its alot more than that but we go one step at a time before I blow up.Originally posted by walesa:Fair point, mate.
But then, this just throws up a pandora's box on the validity of other issues like "love at first sight" and "how well do you need to know a person before you commit". Either way, for me at least, I certainly wouldn't make a move for someone whom I barely know or whom I'm certain is not the sort to pull her weight simply because I don't see such traits as viable to sustaining a long-term relationship.![]()
good summary!Originally posted by Bontakun:Hmm... I read the updates you peeps have given and I think to myself, "What is going on?"
Then I re-read the original topic of discussion and come to give out a few comments based on what I have noted:
Why guys/gals go around noticing, ogling, looking, anything but not making a move?
1. They could be scared.
2. They have no confidence it will work out for they have done it and got the result they don't want.
3. They only wanted to compare.
4. They have no real interest actually, just something of an eye candy.
5. They may have tasted a version of such and the relationship ended badly. (similar to 2)
6. They may be waiting for the other party to move instead.
7. They are observing and planning so in the future they really go ahead?
Ever wonder what is the real intent of the person attempting to approach you or someone? Friendship? Curiousity? Dating? Desperate? Whatever?
Then there will be CHAOS!!!Originally posted by udontknowme:i wonder what the hell will happen if guys make a move on all the girls they beo...hehehehhee...~~
Originally posted by walesa:Hi, walesa
That's my point - so I hope you understand where I'm coming from now about who makes the first move (it really isn't so much about who literally makes the first move, as opposed to what it says about a person who expects the other to make a first move on him/her). The irony here is, quite a number of guys, would foolishly pursue their interest in a manner that'd look ridiculous to an outsider like myself and that also explains why I need to see my interest be proactive of sorts before I'd even dream of anything possibly working out...
Perhaps, the biggest irony stems from the fact that guys do the chasing most of the time and most of the girls (talking about those in such relationships) are passive to the extent of being treated like some celebrity to be worshipped. Quite simply, such relationships don't work out in the [b]long run because the women (in such cases) do not pull their weight. At the end of the day, what's there to suggest to a guy a woman who doesn't pull her weight during the good times will stick with the guy through the bad times? I mean, even guys need some sort of security to reassure them they've got the right woman for a wife.[/b]
hello, best is to "test water" b4 u approach if you know the gal. but if u see someone you like and don'tknow her at all, it is very tough to approach!!!Originally posted by fatslob:haiz....
u all will never understand one lah...
being fat n ugly
Only thing i can do is 'beo' mah.. approach for wat... asking to be humiliated.![]()
I KNEW YOU ARE EVIL....Originally posted by Bontakun:Haha it is weird considering how we think when approaching total strangers back then. I remember the first time I did it, I remembered my hands were shivering taking down her contact number.![]()
Never mind!Originally posted by rane:sorry, devil, i still don't understand.![]()