Originally posted by An Eternal Now:
Please read this website first before you make such statements: http://www.nrlc.org/abortion/facts/fetaldevelopment.html
Lots of people use this as an excuse for abortion. This is what I call [b]denial of truth.[/b]
I will speak from my heart.
Abortion is usually considered a woman's issue, but let me give you a man's side of it. In the next room, I have a 24 year old son. I'm 44, so at the age of 19 (1980) I became a father. The reason was that when my girlfriend became pregnant through a malfunctioning birth control device and wanted to have an abortion, I begged her not to. I told her I'd marry her and support them both if she'd follow through with the pregnancy. I was scared out of my mind, but I also knew that I loved the speck of life that was to become my child.
At night as the pregnancy advanced, he'd kick me in the back. Man, I loved him. It wasn't conceivable to me to kill him.
I was there when he was born. I gave him his first meal. I taught him how to walk. When I went out with my friends I took him with me. Thoses memories are clearer to me than what I had for lunch yesterday. My marriage to his mother didn't work out, -- she has what psychologists call borderline personality disorder -- and I wound up pretty much raising him from the age of five years old on.
I would never tell anyone else what to do with their life, their body, nor would I advocate passing laws doing same. While there are plenty of things that I tryuly regret, I never regretted this. This was my choice. What other people choose to do is their karma. I *would* advise anyone considering ending a pregnacy to seriously consider what they were doing, though. It's pretty serious business, not to be taken lightly. I'm amazed at how lightly we as a society take life sometimes.
Anytime I'm arrogant enough to think that I saved my son's life, I think about the many times he's saved mine -- because without him, I probably would have become an alcoholic, drug addict, suicidal.
This thread quite successful sia.Originally posted by nutreon:Where can i find a cheap and safe clinic that able to do safe abortion? Thanks and no flaming please.
This comes to the question of the value of lower intelligence animals, higher, and humans. I will not come to that.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:And to all those that talk about killing innocent life. And all the blah blah crap.
>>>http://sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=241816<<<
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:This thread quite successful sia.
1)Use baseball bat and hit your stomach.
2)Eat lots of pineapple.
U go slp then wake up at 1am just to view this post arh?Originally posted by gigabyte14:walao i go slp den 7 pages liao?
Those are often married and acceptable cases...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Can't be lah.. last time when financial situation is much worse than now, people having 7, 8 children or more also can handle. Anyway like I said, adoption can be considered too.
Not always true. There're many people who is always questioning why they are born.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I don't think he/she wants to be killed either. He/She would want parents to love too, and many couples at adoption centres here and overseas are willing to give that love.![]()
i am one of themOriginally posted by Devil1976:Not always true. There're many people who is always questioning why they are born.
Yuh lor. Like me.Originally posted by Devil1976:Not always true. There're many people who is always questioning why they are born.
Pls understand this is very subjective and MOST people actually would choose to live rather than die. Of course, some minority people suffer from suicidal thoughts and has little motivation to live, this could even be due to psychiatric problems or suffering from clinical depression and can be treated or counselled, or for other reasons that are often 'short term', but this has nothing to do with being an adopted child.Originally posted by Devil1976:Not always true. There're many people who is always questioning why they are born.
Originally posted by cheekycheng:I hope forummers would post constructively and not flame you.
]1. i love u devilbut im not g@y...
i say this confirm tio flame la but...
2. killing a baby is wrong? if the baby is born to continue an anarchy or tyranny? if the baby is born of the devils blood? they innocent leh, y kill them?This is NOT common so we cannot use this as a valid reason. Also whether the child grows bad may have to do with a parent's upbringing... and usually most parents can bring up their child well. If they are not confident, they may request a relative to help take care of the child, or go for adoption.
3. if the baby life comes at the cost of the mother which will u choose? just a thought though...However, TS's situation is probably not medical reason as shown in the previous posts. Also do note that in Singapore, only 3% of abortions are made due to medical reasons, and the rest are actually healthy and they can choose alternatives such as adoption.
4. if the baby is adopted, u think the mother would want meh? later the mother wan the baby back? or the child will curse the day of his birth n his bio parents? u say u can make him happy but if he know u not his real parents he still happy? of corz not suicidal but still not happy ma...Actually many are fine that they give their children for adoption although it may be a painful descision initially... later they should be ok. IMHO, this is a much better and wiser descision then abortion. If you really love your child that much, then give him/her the gift of life. If you want another child, you can always give birth again at a later time... and of course if possible you can try to keep the child lah.
ya la, tao yanOriginally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:U go slp then wake up at 1am just to view this post arh?![]()
Can we cut off R3SsH|n's testicles?Originally posted by R3SsH|n:i provide on topic suggestion!
eat pineapples!!! its cheap and safe!
No offense for my following post.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Actually many are fine that they give their children for adoption although it may be a painful descision initially... later they should be ok. IMHO, this is a much better and wiser descision then abortion. If you really love your child that much, then give him/her the gift of life. If you want another child, you can always give birth again at a later time... and of course if possible you can try to keep the child lah.
Anyway I do not think the children will really curse their real parents. I think most people are more understanding than that and even if they are not understanding, when they grow up with maturity they will. Also I think I will (and most people will) continue to appreciate and love my parents' care even if I were to find out that they are not my biological parents. This is actually a insignificant issue when compared to the issue of whether we should take away a life.
To be discussed in the same state as the father to be.Originally posted by Haven:Why is all about pro-life?
No one wish to talk about the mother? Because nothing to discuss?