ah square!!!Originally posted by M©+square:![]()
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:50...![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:[Post is too long. Click here to view this post.]
U ppl think AA is chit chat issit?Originally posted by browniebaobao:ah square!!!
long time no see u in sgf~!
Since this is AA, I am trying to tell people not to live life with the attitude of condemn condemn condemn disease... because....Originally posted by jojobeach:Andrew,
Please lor, why you kill so many brain cells for this so called "condemnation"?
It is not a crime issit ?
It is not a sin , issit ?
When a person kena verbal condemned.. does he/she goes straight to hell ?
Does he/she losses one limp?
So , why are you making such a big deal ?
What are you trying to achieve ?![]()
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:If someone is a condemning person in real life, they start to lose their relationships as well as their influence.
Look around you in school and or work and notice that some people never condemn others. See how they behave and how they react to situations.
Notice how many problems they solve and solve them effectively with the least amount of pain for all involved.
It takes skill and almost super human abilities to control their own emotions.
If you want to learn, learn from these people. It is easier to learn from a real life example. You can do it by thinking and reasoning but you need to be a very clear and honest thinker and you need to have vast experience in life.
If you live in a sheltered environment, sheltered by family, society and religion... it is almost impossible... your mind will be closed shut like a vault.
Allos!Originally posted by browniebaobao:ah square!!!
long time no see u in sgf~!
Why?Originally posted by M©+square:Allos!
I'll only be around around this time of the year.
You going to Sentosa today?
In AA we can only advise from our point of view.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:There are no perfect people in this world and that should be obvious to everyone except for those that think themselves perfect.
There are no perfect lifestyles in this world and that should be obvious to everyone except the those that think themselves living the perfect lifestyle.
Just because you prefer to live life in the "best possible manner" according to your standards, does not mean that others share your sentiments.
Some people prefer to live a happy life rather than a perfect life.
Some people prefer to live a happy life rather than a disciplined life.
Some people prefer to live a happy life rather than a careful life.
If living a perfect, disciplined and careful life makes you unhappy, do you think you would want to? Live a perfect, disciplined and careful life? Maybe, if you are a religious fanatic that hopes to get to heaven.
What makes one person happy does not necessarily makes another happy.
===========================
If you are not happy with someone's behavior, you can condemn the person or you can condemn the action.
If you condemn the person and classify him as "Evil" or "Bad" you are behaving like a "GOD". That is to say, you presume that you know everything and can weigh everything and are truly rational and and have perfect understanding.
To be able to classify someone as "Good" or "Evil" you have to know everything about that person so that you can balance all his "Good" against all his "Bad".
You have to be able to not just say what "Good" is and what "Bad" is but be the authority to set the standards. You have to be "GOD"
So for all those that think they are "GOD"
=========================
If you are constantly condemning everyone around you and classifying their behavior as "good" or "bad" and think that people must classify you and your behavior as "good".... I think that you are one of the most pitiful and sad person on earth. Just that you do not know it.
This thread is to debate what the best practice for AA should be, this forum, when people come to ask for help.
Whether "helpers" should be allowed to "condemn" those seeking for help and to condemn those providing advice that they do not like.
To determine what is "condemning others" and what is "condemning certain actions".
To allow the "condemning of others" and "condemning of certain actions" or to allow only the expressing of opinions.
Example:
"You are very bad because...." (Condemning people)
"This is very bad behavior because...." (Condemning people's behavior)
"I will not do this because... (Giving others their opinion)
My opinion is that those that like to condemn people and other people's behavior should go to BAR and do it.... I want to see how long they can survive BAR![]()
Frankly, I think perhaps you worry too much for about me.Originally posted by jojobeach:Andrew,
Frankly, I think perhaps you worry too much for other people.
Those people who condemn others, do you really think they care about ruining the relationship at all ?
They don't care.
Even if that person really got cursed and end up with a broken body parts. The person who condemn will not feel a pinch, because they don't care about the person they condemn.
Nobody makes condemnation a habit or hobby.
Because there is nothing to gain, other than rantings of anger.
Same as cussing, you cuss at someone, does it hurt them ? No. But maybe you feel better . That's all.
So Andrew, I know you probably has good intentions, but going the way with "because you are not GOD" makes you look like a Fanatic.
Nobody likes a Fanatic as much as a "condemn-er"
This is so much more than giving advice in AA. If you live life with an attitude of condemning, condemning, condemning... you are unlikely to be able to solve problems effectively and you spoil many of your relationships with classmates, colleagues and family. Better to be objective rather than condemn condemn condemn....Originally posted by MiX Metal:Andrew,
I understand what you're trying to do, even if we may not agree with each others opinions most of the time. But its not going to possible for everyone to give advise your way. We are all different, thats what makes each and everyone of us unique.
And sometimes it may look like we're condemning the TS but it may not be the case as well. If you expect each and everyone to think and act like a "Super Human" like you. It is once again not possible as the readers here are from different age groups.
And not to mention most of us if not all of us are not counselors. Who's to say that the harsh way is negative and your way is positive ?
And you believe that the brain is so unreliable, so can I safely say that even your point may not be the correct way as well?
And if I'm not wrong you mention we should not enforce our way of thinking onto others ??
You are doing it now, forcing others to see things your way.
No offence, I could be wrong.![]()
no. u going har?Originally posted by M©+square:Allos!
I'll only be around around this time of the year.
You going to Sentosa today?
yalor.. why har?Originally posted by Yunhaier:Why?
Cheers
I think you've misunderstood me again. I'm not saying that condemning is right and I not saying its wrong.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:This is so much more than giving adixe in AA. If you live life with an attitude of condemning, condemning, condemning... you are unlikely to be able to solve problems effectively and you spoil many of your relationships with classmates, colleagues and family. Better to be objective rather than condemn condemn condemn....
I tot that was Kopi instead?Originally posted by browniebaobao:yalor.. why har?
dun tell me u are going thailand to get a wife and settle down there hor.
So what are you saying then?Originally posted by MiX Metal:I think you've misunderstood me again. I'm not saying that condemning is right and I not saying its wrong.
Yes some of them start to condemn othersOriginally posted by MiX Metal:Everyone has their own way of expressing how they feel after reading the threads.
I am not expecting everyone to be the same... I am just pointing out to people thatOriginally posted by MiX Metal:You can't expect everyone to be same.
Of course I am not, show me why and how...Originally posted by MiX Metal:By saying that those readers are condemning the TS because you or any other one feels so after reading the replys and saying they are wrong to give such advise don't you think in the same time you are as well condemning these people and judging them as well ??
and so let's stop all schools and educational systems... let's close down AA and every other sites or counseling centers... because like you say: "There is no why to change it."Originally posted by MiX Metal:Human Beings are imperfect. There is no why to change it.
If people continue to condemn others... that is their prerogative... hey, if they want to behave like they are GODS and they do not think that condemning people will spoil their relationships with others... and they do not treasure having good relationships with others... what can we do? We tell people and warn people but they insists on doing it ... so be it.Originally posted by MiX Metal:I don't think there is really a way to prevent harsh remarks ........ maybe we can try our best to restrain ourselves from calling names (eg. Bitch... on so on)
We all have automatic thoughts in our heads... and in this case, it is highly probable that in most people's heads the thoughts will be:Originally posted by binarynwitz:Take my previous example: That guy actually said that, "What don't steal other people's girlfriend? If you find so hard and finally find someone you love, you don't fight meh? That's called being a coward, not being a man!"
Well. I don't find it really wrong to condemn this guy to hell. Though I don't do it, but still....
You Really think so?Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:You are forgetting one thing (and that is most likely only one of many considerations that are out there) and that is, if you have a tolerant attitude, to the point that others smoking in a room does not get to you... if you have an attitude like that, it might speak of you living a non-stressful life.