It was a big joke at that time... the book was by literary standards very poorly written and I believed very quickly written but it became a best seller and was made into a movie staring Ryan O Neal (the George Clooney/Brad Pitt of that time) and the actress was... let me google...Originally posted by eagle:It sounds very drama-like.
But the most touching love stories are those of real life old couples, with one spouse having a terminal illness...
Or love in the sense of loving one's children... Taking care of them unconditionally even though they are incapable of doing anything else
hmmmm... Love can be a feeling even without the relationship?Originally posted by eagle:To me, one-sided love is still love... It only becomes a relationship when your love is returned
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:I think the previous thread is abt being committed to the person u have a r/s with.
Love is a commitment.... how true/false?
Like, if the other person is unfaithful, will you still be committed to the relationship if you say that Love is a commitment?
Originally posted by tingal79:Just like the TS stated. Love need to be control and put yr sensibility into it. Know what is wrong and what is right. When to let go and and when to hang on. But r/s also need to be learn and is a process. If u master that,it will not be overrated. It will be wonderful and one of the joyous thing in world to able to find a life time partner that can share thru thick and thin.
Love is overrated most of the time.
When you are in love, and that someone is also in love with you, you think that love is [b]great and that love isnt that tough. That isnt true. You only feel love is great because both of you are fortunate enough to meet and have each other.
As for others, there are many other things that are better than their love lives.[/b]
Originally posted by tingal79:Love is easy if you find the right partner but is really tough, otherwise? Love is not everything in life and if fact there are many things much better then love? Examples?
Love is overrated most of the time.
When you are in love, and that someone is also in love with you, you think that love is [b]great and that love isnt that tough. That isnt true. You only feel love is great because both of you are fortunate enough to meet and have each other.
As for others, there are many other things that are better than their love lives.[/b]
So love is conditional commitment? Love is commitment only if the other party is faithful? What else? Love is conditional commitment and only if the other party is.... (fill in the blank)Originally posted by CannyOng:I think the previous thread is abt being committed to the person u have a r/s with.
For example,u may met another new guy who may be yr colleague or new friend who is almost in any way better than yr present bf and have a liking of u. So are u going to follow yr feeling and choose a better one?
Of cos,if yr partner is unfaithful,just dump him. He breaks the commitment and promise. U are not responsible to tie to this type of person liao.....
For Love to be successful, you need... " to be in control"; "put yr sensibility into itOriginally posted by CannyOng:Just like the TS stated. Love need to be control and put yr sensibility into it. Know what is wrong and what is right. When to let go and and when to hang on. But r/s also need to be learn and is a process. If u master that,it will not be overrated. It will be wonderful and one of the joyous thing in world to able to find a life time partner that can share thru thick and thin.
Means you are with your partner through the happy times to share his happiness, but when your partner is down or going through tough times, you will be there to help him or her shoulder the burden tooOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:For Love to be successful, you need... " to be in control"; "put yr sensibility into it(maybe it means be sensible, wise, intelligent); "Know what is wrong and what is right"; "Know When to let go and and when to hang on"; "is a learning process"; "Can be wonderful and one of the joyous thing";
Love is sharing through thick and thin?
Anyone care to elaborate?
Example? What if the bad times are caused by one of the partners and affected the whole family? Like because of one party gambling at the casino? Do you then continue to "be there to help him or her shoulder the burden too ?"Originally posted by rainee:Means you are with your partner through the happy times to share his happiness, but when your partner is down or going through tough times, you will be there to help him or her shoulder the burden too
Will try to, but will of course help him to get rid of the gambling habit as well. I am not someone who can tolerate gamblers though, because my own dad is a compulsive gambler.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Example? What if the bad times are caused by one of the partners and affected the whole family? Like because of one party gambling at the casino? Do you then continue to "be there to help him or her shoulder the burden too ?"
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Look at the people around you and look at the threads/posts in this forum...
What are the common misconceptions of love?
here's one....
if you think like that... *sigh* you are heading for trouble...
Love is a feeling like hunger is a feeling and just as when you are hungry, you have to handle that hungry feeling well... know what food to eat to stay healthy, avoid poisonous food and so on... you too must know how to handle your feelings of love well or you will be in trouble...
You can life life without thinking... but you would have to replace the thinking with something else...Originally posted by lageihsif:but cant we live life without thinking?
but u dun insist that u are thats all.
wont we lead a happier life that way?
of course, leading a life without much thinking wont bring u a good life (monetary wise), but a simple life can also give a fulfilling life, no?
just my tots...
btw wad i meant by Love is war was that all is fair in love, u fight for it and dun blame others for taking away wads 'urs'
Then when problems come they start thinking and realise they have no idea how to think properly... and... if you learn how to think properly, you might not even get into the difficulties in the first place....!!!!Some problems don't have solutions and some solutions don't come with thinking. Sometimes if you don't think so much, you won't see as many problems - ignorance is bliss. And thus if you don't think so much, you won't have as many problems as you would if you thought about them before they happened.
Think consequences...Originally posted by MooKu:Some problems don't have solutions and some solutions don't come with thinking. Sometimes if you don't think so much, you won't see as many problems - ignorance is bliss.
Good thinking skills include not making this type of obvious errors in thinking... if you are skillful in thinking, you won't be so stupid as to create imaginary problems... that is "bad" thinking skill.Originally posted by MooKu:And thus if you don't think so much, you won't have as many problems as you would if you thought about them before they happened.
Good thinking skills include the good ways to handle the "fix"Originally posted by MooKu:Even if you learn how to think properly, not everyone is the same as you. You may be able to avoid putting yourself in a fix, but you can't prevent others from putting you in a fix.
Nobody is perfect is a very bad excuse for having bad thinking skills.Originally posted by MooKu:It's good brain exercise, but ultimately nobody is perfect, and that's why we have friends and family and we depend on them and share our problems.
That is what we are here in this thread trying to work out...Originally posted by MooKu:So ah, what are the correct conceptions of love?
Because BGR Love cause many problems for many people....Originally posted by ispyyy:Alamak... y most post here all narrow love till bgr???
Can also be:
"
Some love wasabi
But some wonder why some love wasabi
Some love sour
But some wonder why some love sour
Some love bitter
But some wonder why some love bitter
And lastly, not every1 love sweet
"
Those who love sour will have the same wavelenght. They will discuss on things on where to get the best sour food.
Those who love bitter will have the same wavelenght. They will discuss on things on where to get the best bitter food.
Every1 is unique in a way and thus, choice vary.
That is life and that is the reason y life is a miracle...
And that is because they narrow love till BGROriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:Because BGR Love cause many problems for many people....
Originally posted by rathcycle:How did you spell the word "fucking" without getting censored?
love is just another fuc[b]king bored process that i would not wana repeat...[/b]
Even if you learn how to think properly, not everyone is the same as you. You may be able to avoid putting yourself in a fix, but you can't prevent others from putting you in a fixbecause you said "you might not even get into the difficulties in the first place".
OK we have a new mis/conception of Love:Originally posted by ispyyy:And that is because they narrow love till BGR![]()