I hear you my friend. You are not the only one that has been through the bitter experience of having a relationship that one has thoroughly invested in to fall apart. I was driven nearly to suicide too, except that mine involved the Live Grenade throw in BMT. That particular relationship of mine was extremely intense and to be torn from it was a mortal pain. I sincerely believe that no one's general advice would be beneficial to you at this point. Your primary focus is upon the great loss that you have suffered and plain, empty instructions like "Go play soccer or something" would be irrelevant.Originally posted by CyberNut:Hi. I just broke up with my girlfriend of 7 months. I'm 17. This is my third relationship. This time I really put in everything I got. I can't get over it. I admit it too was my fault, but there's a lot of bad timing involved, that caused all these to happen. Long Story. Ain't gonna say. I really need someone, someone human to talk to. I nearly jumped down the MRT train track yesterday. Without thinking. I had to look away. I feel like a zombie. Nothing in life seems to matter anymore. No goals, no aim. She was what encouraged me to do things, she became my sole encouragement. Now I have lost her. Even as I dream, I dreamt about not having her. Could someone tell me what to do... I'm not exactly askign for answers. I'm just lost. Lost forever. Drowned. In Love.
[This message has been edited by jazmyn (edited 01 January 2001).]Originally posted by CyberNut:Thanks for all the encouragement. She told me she wanted a reunion, but not now. She felt that she is not ready, and wants some time off, to lead a single life again. I'm sure many of us have heart this kind of talk before. It gives us a sense of hope, yet a fear, that it was not to be. A stae of confusion. I know this time is hard for her as well. She too, was really serious, before all these mayhem broke out. But her way was to avoid thinking about it altogether, to prevent the painful memories from comign back. But if she learns to forget, how are we to get back together again? She's hot and cold at intervals, and it hurts like hell. Time will heal all wounds, but scars shall always remain. I guess I could only pray for peace for now. I never would have chosen death if I could, I would let down alot of people. But sometimes, emotions just get the better of you. I'm still well and alive, and I thank all for your concern. I'm still waiting. Just waiting. Patiently.
Can only wish the best for you. I agree that some girls are rather tempremental, thus leave the both of you with a lot of uncertainty. Still, she gave you spark of light, and I hope that it will ignite a fire again.Originally posted by CyberNut:Thanks for all the encouragement. She told me she wanted a reunion, but not now. She felt that she is not ready, and wants some time off, to lead a single life again. I'm sure many of us have heart this kind of talk before. It gives us a sense of hope, yet a fear, that it was not to be. A stae of confusion. I know this time is hard for her as well. She too, was really serious, before all these mayhem broke out. But her way was to avoid thinking about it altogether, to prevent the painful memories from comign back. But if she learns to forget, how are we to get back together again? She's hot and cold at intervals, and it hurts like hell. Time will heal all wounds, but scars shall always remain. I guess I could only pray for peace for now. I never would have chosen death if I could, I would let down alot of people. But sometimes, emotions just get the better of you. I'm still well and alive, and I thank all for your concern. I'm still waiting. Just waiting. Patiently.
Know how hard it is to get thru this stage, but as the clouds pass by, the sun will rise and sat. Soon, seeing the moon will be a routine. It will be just just like a fog deminishing, as the day brightens. it happens to all of us, esp to someone who came so close and touched ur heart many a times.Originally posted by jazmyn:hi
i pride myself on being independent in most aspects of my life, with the ironical exception of being unable to forget things quite so easily. sure, i can be distracted momentarily ( or longer if i cared to try ), but not a day passes in which i don't relive the memories of us, the happy moments as well as the moment which marked the end.
cybernut : you see, in your case, it's not a lost cause. of course one could always argue that it's more cruel to be subjected to false hopes than to end it quickly and definitely. depends i guess. uncertainty and insecurity and this general feeling of being lost - sucks doesn't it? but still it's a good idea to take some time off. if your feelings and hers withstand this test, i'm quite certain your relationship would emerge a stronger one, one that you could place more confidence in. so be patient. you'll be rewarded (perhaps not in the way you think you will be, after all life has a weird way of throwing twists in the road ahead)
rebellyon : out of sheer kaypoh-ness i took a peek at your homepage - most impressiveliked the writing on the wall section best. happy new year to you. gd luck with NS. count down to ord, it helps.
[This message has been edited by jazmyn (edited 01 January 2001).]
it's okay dun worryOriginally posted by Bear:Know how hard it is to get thru this stage, but as the clouds pass by, the sun will rise and sat. Soon, seeing the moon will be a routine. It will be just just like a fog deminishing, as the day brightens. it happens to all of us, esp to someone who came so close and touched ur heart many a times.
Oops think I provoked some moments again... sorryz...
Wat an ending... love it.. and a rainbow will surely be there for u, coz it will always be there after all the storms. and it will be a perfect one with a pot of gold at each of its ends.Originally posted by jazmyn:it's okay dun worryi think i provoke my own flashbacks more often than other pple do... so yalor...
to continue on your theme of weather (the fog and clouds and all that)...i hope i got rainbow to see soon ...
*resigned grin*
happy 2nd jan everyone
------------------Originally posted by Bear:Wat an ending... love it.. and a rainbow will surely be there for u, coz it will always be there after all the storms. and it will be a perfect one with a pot of gold at each of its ends.
Things in life just want us to learn and experience it, so that we will become a stronger and better person. For instance, we will not understand wat it is like to pass the PLSE or O'levels, in urs and my case the A's. We do learn different things from each step we take. and we experience different feelings even though we make the same move. Memories are just things that we think it's worth to recollect. Without it, life may be easier, but surely not livelier. Coz we will not know how to obtain, share and empathise our feelings. Memories do fade wif time, but like wat u said, rainbow will appear, and will draw our attention away from memories...
Cheer up....
i'm still young? not really... my heart feels old already. sometimes i wonder whether i'll be able to trust anyone who says he loves me ever again. how old are you sad_soul? i'm going to be 21 in april...Originally posted by *Sad_Soul*:Thanks jazmyn for reading my post...
My story is just the same as urs but we are in the opposite sex. This relationship of mine is the first and brought a lot of flaskbacks when i think of it.
I m rite nw trying to forget abt the 2 and a half relationship we hv been together. Tell u frankly, it's hard to forget but at least u r still young but i m nt...I too tired to start another relationship over ard.
If u still love him and he still love u...try harder to convince him. persistent might works.
he knows that i still have feelings. i don't know if he does still feel for me. we do talk every now and then, but he says he doesn't have enough feelings to want to keep up this long-distance r/s and that he cares for me as a friend only.Originally posted by *Sad_Soul*:i m 3 yrs older than u.(tired to look 4 1)
ya i agree nt 2 be very persistent as wat i did to my gal. rite nw, i believe she do nt wan 2 speak 2 me (maybe even friends cnt be made). I terribly miss her and cant thought of the feelin that she is with another guy. at least ur guy is still single and available so take things slow and tactful and also hint him that u still love him.
hmm brilliant idea but *sigh* will only be sg for hols. but anyhow, here's my two pence worth : first one to get attached buys everyone dinnerOriginally posted by Rebellyon:iceflame: Okay! Relac-cing. Right now I am temporarily posted to S1 while my battalion is in Thailand and I'm stuck back here with a cracked ankle. Its all a mess... but hell.. it'll be over sooner than I know itThis may be seemingly typical of anyone, but I would like to persuade our friends here to appreciate their newly gained singlehood. Perhaps we should start a singles club? *IDEA* The measure might offset the misery of breaking up with a measure of humour and company
I can understand that most pple will either return or throw away all the stuff that was given to then by their ex. coz they dun want to think about them. In my view, as long as you are comfortable wif it, I feel that it's even better that you keep. Coz there was this period of time you had joy and laughter, anger and sorrows for this person. Keeping it as a momento will surely bring on the smiles when recall your younger days. Not saying that you are old now, but maybe when you look at it when you have a family and tell it to your children, they will scream wif excitement.Originally posted by jazmyn:hmm
thinking of wat you said - that life without memories may be easier but not livelier... it's so true... i was kinda tempted to give way all the things in my room that reminded me of him... but eventually i didn't - i know i will regret doing that. my friend also said someday when the pain has faded i'll be able to take these things out, look at them, look back into the past and smile.
Anyone play computer games while they are serving NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*Originally posted by IceFlame:Wah!! Power!!!
S1 ok wat so relac.
then sort of big shot somemore.....
Dunno if one day will i get to be a RSM or Commander or not.
heee.....
3 Jan Liao, Me Still Dreamming!!!
i think many pple never truly get over their first love. dunno about me lah... you leh...? bear whole day give advice but never says much abt himself...*curious*Originally posted by Bear:I can understand that most pple will either return or throw away all the stuff that was given to then by their ex. coz they dun want to think about them. In my view, as long as you are comfortable wif it, I feel that it's even better that you keep. Coz there was this period of time you had joy and laughter, anger and sorrows for this person. Keeping it as a momento will surely bring on the smiles when recall your younger days. Not saying that you are old now, but maybe when you look at it when you have a family and tell it to your children, they will scream wif excitement.
Just a understatement, all these are fine if u have thoroughly forgot your love for your ex and love only ur future-hubby, If not it will be so unfair for him and quarrels will have no end.
pple so jealous liao still make pple MORE jealousOriginally posted by Bear:Anyone play computer games while they are serving NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Anyone play Lan games while they are serving NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Anyone doing office hours while in NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Anyone who is of status PES A doing admin job while in NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Hee hee... sorryz.. for being bhb here... hee hee..
I dun suppose that u r silly or anything. Hey like I said u have your emotions involved in the matter. It can just be a heart made out of bus ticket that he gave you just for the fun of it, it will still be a treasure to you. It's different when it's object of sentimental value. For instance, clay is just a lump of mud, but hey pple are seeing it the other way. It's mud suitable things for more pple to appreciate. So wat it's a piece of mud, some pple do see the value in it. And now the person is you.Originally posted by jazmyn:i think many pple never truly get over their first love. dunno about me lah... you leh...? bear whole day give advice but never says much abt himself...*curious*
i'm a karang guni...collect all my old stuff, can never bear to throw away letters, movie tix, notes exchanged during lectures...and all whole assortment of useless ( in the practical sense ) things of sentimental value....even emails i also print out and keep... quite silly rite?
jaz
Just to make it even worse.. I have been doing it for the past 1.5 yrs of my NS life.. haa haa.....Originally posted by IceFlame:pple so jealous liao still make pple MORE jealous
hou shang jia you!@!!!
so nice... still can be friends... i bet the transition must have been difficult right? it's like that for me now...Originally posted by Bear:I dun suppose that u r silly or anything. Hey like I said u have your emotions involved in the matter. It can just be a heart made out of bus ticket that he gave you just for the fun of it, it will still be a treasure to you. It's different when it's object of sentimental value. For instance, clay is just a lump of mud, but hey pple are seeing it the other way. It's mud suitable things for more pple to appreciate. So wat it's a piece of mud, some pple do see the value in it. And now the person is you.
It's how you view it, and I dun think you are silly to keep these things. Think abt it. Only u urself know how much they are worth. Only urself can tell whether they are fit for the safe or for the bin, coz these were once your treasures, and as to whether it will be in the future depends on u. Give you another example, I participated in a race, and you got 3rd, but it can feel that like it's you r the champion. Just like one of the runners who was interviewed in the Olympics in Atlanta. Forgot her name though, she came in last for the race, u can see her smile just as brilliantly or even happier than the champion. WHY u may ask if you have not seen the report. Becoz she broke her own record, and to her that is achievement. Just saying here is from the way u look at things. u have your own style and way of doing things, so just do it. need not follow wat the crowd is doing.
As you asked for my personal first love, I can say that when she first broke up wif me I was totally lost. Moreover I was still a very young teenage. There was this guy who was rather rich, he always have at least $100/- in his wallet. Mine is at most $15/- and by the end of the week it's empty. She felt so pampered when she's wif him, but not me. She told me that I do provide emotional security, but that too was much won over by him. I think memories put her in a tough spot. Until one day I told her, it's either him or me.
In my heart, I remember clearly the words she once said, she will love me forever. The vows that we made to stay together eternally. All these gave me hope and trust that she will pick me. But she chose the other guy instead.
I told myself that at least I have an answer and need to see her go out wif another guy during the week ends. And that was it, though we patched back after a while and the following yr, it was my turn to make a wrong move on her. Yet it was still maintained till we went to seperate JCs. She was in the extreme north and I was in the far west, so we sort of end it since we couldn't meet and studies were pushing us. We are still good friends now though. and we still keep in contact and I still kept all the letters, photos and stuff she gave me...
ur story quite similar to mine...Originally posted by Bear:I dun suppose that u r silly or anything. Hey like I said u have your emotions involved in the matter. It can just be a heart made out of bus ticket that he gave you just for the fun of it, it will still be a treasure to you. It's different when it's object of sentimental value. For instance, clay is just a lump of mud, but hey pple are seeing it the other way. It's mud suitable things for more pple to appreciate. So wat it's a piece of mud, some pple do see the value in it. And now the person is you.
It's how you view it, and I dun think you are silly to keep these things. Think abt it. Only u urself know how much they are worth. Only urself can tell whether they are fit for the safe or for the bin, coz these were once your treasures, and as to whether it will be in the future depends on u. Give you another example, I participated in a race, and you got 3rd, but it can feel that like it's you r the champion. Just like one of the runners who was interviewed in the Olympics in Atlanta. Forgot her name though, she came in last for the race, u can see her smile just as brilliantly or even happier than the champion. WHY u may ask if you have not seen the report. Becoz she broke her own record, and to her that is achievement. Just saying here is from the way u look at things. u have your own style and way of doing things, so just do it. need not follow wat the crowd is doing.
As you asked for my personal first love, I can say that when she first broke up wif me I was totally lost. Moreover I was still a very young teenage. There was this guy who was rather rich, he always have at least $100/- in his wallet. Mine is at most $15/- and by the end of the week it's empty. She felt so pampered when she's wif him, but not me. She told me that I do provide emotional security, but that too was much won over by him. I think memories put her in a tough spot. Until one day I told her, it's either him or me.
In my heart, I remember clearly the words she once said, she will love me forever. The vows that we made to stay together eternally. All these gave me hope and trust that she will pick me. But she chose the other guy instead.
I told myself that at least I have an answer and need to see her go out wif another guy during the week ends. And that was it, though we patched back after a while and the following yr, it was my turn to make a wrong move on her. Yet it was still maintained till we went to seperate JCs. She was in the extreme north and I was in the far west, so we sort of end it since we couldn't meet and studies were pushing us. We are still good friends now though. and we still keep in contact and I still kept all the letters, photos and stuff she gave me...