I do agree that the transition period is rather awkward for the both of us. Becoz we were classmates since pri sch till sec sch and hence we hang out together with same group of friends. It's really very strange to go out together just like that. In the past we used to hold hands, and can be a little playful to pinch or tap each other. then we can only talk, and dun dare to see each other in their eyes. even when you talk you attention will not be focus on that person. But slowly, u will get used to it, and will resume the friendship that was there before we were together. In fact it can be an advantage to have the r/s, becoz u will understand the person better as a friend.Originally posted by jazmyn:so nice... still can be friends... i bet the transition must have been difficult right? it's like that for me now...
hmm ultimately i believe what most girls need is not the material comforts ...it's the emotional security... like knowing you're cared for, that you're special to the guy, and that you're respected by your other half for who you are and not what you do... *sigh* hard to find these days lor. girls just want to be cherished lor... as for guys... dunno leh, my friend said he was very touched when his gf told him " i don't care if you're a bastard to everyone else, as long as you're good to me i will love you always". heh on first glance like very weird like that, but after thinking abt it...it's so sweet of her huh...
jaz
Hey... look here, not only me who have gone thru this sort of thing. There are so many others ard us who have been thru it. and since there are so many, u can do it too. I'm sure there are many a times when u are hinded by obstacles ahead of you rite? like maybe ur examz. U are so frighten that you will fail, but then again there are so many pple who have passed before you and will be crossing it wif you. U are not worse than anyone of us. Many climbed over the hurdle, I'm sure u can do it too.Originally posted by *Sad_Soul*:ur story quite similar to mine...
Hope i wished i hv meet u eariler and talked abt it...
i also got pick xiang si dou...Originally posted by Bear:I do agree that the transition period is rather awkward for the both of us. Becoz we were classmates since pri sch till sec sch and hence we hang out together with same group of friends. It's really very strange to go out together just like that. In the past we used to hold hands, and can be a little playful to pinch or tap each other. then we can only talk, and dun dare to see each other in their eyes. even when you talk you attention will not be focus on that person. But slowly, u will get used to it, and will resume the friendship that was there before we were together. In fact it can be an advantage to have the r/s, becoz u will understand the person better as a friend.
Even my sch friends can also tell the way and actions we treated each other when we go out. And they can also feel the intensity of the situation. Many a times, they wanted to ask me and her how we felt when we go out. but I think I can now safely say that she's just a good friend.
I do agree with you that most girls will ultimately choose character instead of material wealth when it comes to choosing their future partners. they are matured enuff to know wat kind of guys they seek for in life. Like I said, many of them still stay on wif their partner even though their partner is a villain. I have a friend who loves this jerk, even she knows she is just his spare. It's becoz of his actions, his character and his maturity that he treated her that touched her so deeply, hence she can't forget, and they have been together for half a year, she still accepts herself to be his spare.
I will be so happy if there's a girl whispering those words into my ears. It's so touching, though it's weird. Sometimes love can make a person to do weird stuff, or behave in a strange fashion. For instance, spending time to pick a bottle of 'xiang xi dou'. pple who dun see the meaning will not see it as a big thing, and think that person is crazy to gif a bottle of useless seeds.
Xiang si dou sure are lovely, esp when there's a lot, and they reflect all the beautiful rays back at you, glaring into ur eyes. Touching the cool seeds again gives u a feeling expressing you are special becoz someone has took the effort to pick so many for you... listening when you move ur hands across them, feels like 'wow there's so many'.Originally posted by jazmyn:i also got pick xiang si dou...
they're so pretty right?
abt the transition... we were classmates in jc, but so far haven't had any class outings ever since we broke so i dunno how it'd be like...but that's probably in june so wun worry abt it till then...
true...love can make pple do weird things. as i said in one of my earlier posts... i'm quite clearheaded when it comes to most things, but where love is concerned, i'm a real sucker...always will be lah. find it quite hard to be "practical" abt matters of the heart. i know some pple can, but not me.
not that i want to change this attitude.... it take all kinds of pple to make this world, so got practical pple ard must also have dreamy and not-so-practical pple around (like me lor)
anyway...wow just realised got 50-over posts here...hmmz...
jazmyn
Wat the...? PES A?? Where about are you working at? Why? How come? Geeze.Originally posted by Bear:Anyone play computer games while they are serving NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Anyone play Lan games while they are serving NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Anyone doing office hours while in NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Anyone who is of status PES A doing admin job while in NS?? *Bear raises up his hand*
Hee hee... sorryz.. for being bhb here... hee hee..
Originally posted by djmemo:Harlowz.... to you pple out there....it's been a while and really surprise to see so many posts already.......
Really encouraged by what you ppl have posted, and really thank you to you ppl taking time to read bout other ppl's problems and give advice bout it........
I guess it's time for me to move on and take care all you gd ppl out there, and btw, Jazmyn, heard that you are leaving, so all the best to you..........
And can i ask you ppl out there something?? How would you feel if someone who have been with you for almost 2 years, who says that she/he loves you deeply, then after a break-up says that she/he does not love you anymore??
Dunno whether that is common but well..... take care.......
Treasure And Be Grateful For What You Have Today
Coz When You Least Expected Everything Be Taken Away From You
[This message has been edited by djmemo (edited 09 January 2001).]
I think all of us who have posted their problems deserves our understanding and our help. We are all human beings, be it watever race or religion we are all humans. We may not be as great as Late Princess Diana, or Mother Theresa, but suppose all of us here have been helped in someway or another. It's just fair that we learn from our lessons and share it others, to spread our experience if not to empathise with the person. It's a small world out there, moreover I believe many who visit this site are S'poreans, we shld on the more help each other out. To make ur life and my life a happier and peaceful one.Originally posted by djmemo:Harlowz.... to you pple out there....it's been a while and really surprise to see so many posts already.......
Really encouraged by what you ppl have posted, and really thank you to you ppl taking time to read bout other ppl's problems and give advice bout it........
I guess it's time for me to move on and take care all you gd ppl out there, and btw, Jazmyn, heard that you are leaving, so all the best to you..........
And can i ask you ppl out there something?? How would you feel if someone who have been with you for almost 2 years, who says that she/he loves you deeply, then after a break-up says that she/he does not love you anymore??
Dunno whether that is common but well..... take care.......
Treasure And Be Grateful For What You Have Today
Coz When You Least Expected Everything Be Taken Away From You
hi Jazmyn, sorry to hear that from you again.. I guess it still hurt as much as he said the other words the other time... but on the other hand can feel that u are beginning to have a more positive attitude towards it. though it may have been forced out becoz it's a way of forced acceptance and comfort. But hey... the thing is, it's a positive outlook... Keep it up...Originally posted by jazmyn:hello djmemo...
that's what my ex said to me too a couple of days ago... when i hinted at wanting to patch up. we've been together for close to 3 years... but i guess the years don't come into the equation - when the feeling dies it just does. i believe it (the love) was once there. and you should too i guess...
cheer up okie? i think the best we can do is thank them for their honesty.
jazmyn
Hey.. looks like we do share the same kind of idea about break ups.. Cheers..Originally posted by pertura:I'm new to this forum but i have read the topic listing from top to bottom and there's some stuff i want to reply to at the top but i guess it's a bit far down.I have also recently broke up with my girlfriend but i'm healing REALLY slowly(many thanx to a great bunch of friends!).Anyway, what i want to say is that i hope that we all have the courage to put the past behind us. Forget everything he/she says with the word "forever"(or anything to that effect) stuck to it for he/she obviously lied but that doesn't mean that the next person in your next relationship would lie too. My gf broke up with me b'cos too many people lied to her and she couldn't believe that i am actually serious about the relationship.All i want to say to all of you is to remember the relationship not as a failure but as a learning tool so that you can do a LOT better in your next one, and show him/her on how much he/she is missing out on. Thanx for reading!
-Love yourself and others will love you, for who could be a better critic of yourself?
Wat words of wisdom.. Listen to uncle guys... hee hee..Originally posted by Larry:Wow. The postings are so long!!
Anyway, as a human being, I feel that life must go on despite of setbacks. Think of other people who care about you. Just because of a breakup, if you chose to encase yourself in an armour of iron, you are just sinking to your own demise. Get out of that piece of armour and move on to the next phase of your life. I believe one good turn deserves another. Don't let this temporary setback ruin your life for good.
Take care!!
Hey Jazmyn, really thanks for your advice, and really glad that you are thinking more positive now....... I guess all to do now is to accept what they say and to move on...... and many lessons well learnt......Originally posted by jazmyn:hello djmemo...
that's what my ex said to me too a couple of days ago... when i hinted at wanting to patch up. we've been together for close to 3 years... but i guess the years don't come into the equation - when the feeling dies it just does. i believe it (the love) was once there. and you should too i guess...
cheer up okie? i think the best we can do is thank them for their honesty.
jazmyn
Hello again! Well, this has proven to be a most interesting forum, indeed. I am quite happy that there's so many like-minded souls down under(i'm Malaysian, BTW<hope that's not a prob!> ). I'm making a presumption here, but i think that most of the writers of this thread are still students. I'm 20 and have a degree and workin now, so i guess that's why i had put so much into my relationship, for it was very very rewarding when you could come back from a day of meeting with bad-tempered people to someone which you do not have to wear masks. But, my gf was a student so she had expected more from me, i guess.Oh well, it is over and there are a lot more songs to listen to. Hope you guys are faring much better!Originally posted by Bear:Hey.. looks like we do share the same kind of idea about break ups.. Cheers..
anyway just to help u ard as u r new here. on top of every post, there are 4 icons. u can actually click on the right most icon on any post to quote wat they post and reply to it. then u can type wat u feel about a comment made, and there will also be a subject for us to follow up on.
anyway welcome on broad... our ship named Aunt Agony. Setting sail to make pple feel better in life. Care for some intro??
Nahz.. who cares if u r a M'sian or S'pore or Brazilian, even saddam hussein can post here if he likes. hee hee... I believe it's our hearts and emotions that links us together in this forum... keep posting..Originally posted by pertura:Hello again! Well, this has proven to be a most interesting forum, indeed. I am quite happy that there's so many like-minded souls down under(i'm Malaysian, BTW<hope that's not a prob!> ). I'm making a presumption here, but i think that most of the writers of this thread are still students. I'm 20 and have a degree and workin now, so i guess that's why i had put so much into my relationship, for it was very very rewarding when you could come back from a day of meeting with bad-tempered people to someone which you do not have to wear masks. But, my gf was a student so she had expected more from me, i guess.Oh well, it is over and there are a lot more songs to listen to. Hope you guys are faring much better!
-One Life.Live it well!!
So honourned to have my big name mentioned again.. haa haa..Originally posted by Rebellyon:(Back from a siong day in the office... PATS inspection coming up so will be online less often)
Wow! This thread is certainly growing... plus the posts are so long thanks to contributions from benefactors such as our uncle bear (Who is incidentally PES A and doing admin *EVIL glare*) anyway, I walked, or rather hopped (with my crutches) along the corridor and I realised something that might be immediately useful for you recovering people... three things can virtually dispel the pangs of unrequaintance if applied diligently to our lives:
1) Monotony - Find a constructive thing that you have a passion of sorts for and repeat. For me, journal writing helps absorb the stress in my everyday life. To date I have over 12 volumes, each one a 400 page hardcover. Interestingly, I keep finding old memories facinating as I turn back the pages once in a while to recall what I had done before. Perhaps someone would like to try?
2) Escapism - Read fantasy, sci-fi or indulge in some fiction that would take one to another place away from our mundane plane of existence. Inspirational non-fiction can help too, for instance "Chicken soup for the soul" gets me feeling up when I'm down. Likewise, a more complete sensual escape would be to watch sci-fi/fantasy VCDS or games. Good starts= Braveheart, Matrix, (Japanese Anime) Neon Genesis, Trigun, Blue Submarine no.6. Whatever you do, avoid romantic comedies or love stories like plague... I think you should know why.
3) focus - Concentrate your attention on any one given point of your life and think of ways to make its progress better by using all that charged up negative energy and putting it to good use. For example, I run to expend the agitation that stress begets. Running makes me tired and causes me to feel fully alive; sort of an adrenal high.Try it!
I hope you folks found that useful!
Even if u buy things for urself also have to control. Have a fren who did that and spend a total of $300+ in just one evening... she just pick, try and pay for it. Can't believe it...Originally posted by jazmyn:highly recommend running too. set a goal distance or time that really really challenges you physically and run like there's no tomorrow. don't stop halfway!
hmm there seems to be more broken hearted guys here than girls? but yeah (for the girls) though this may sound trivial shopping with your best galpals definitely helps too. buy things for yourself and everyone else.
jazmyn
aiyah of course i dun mean shop till you drop... must also be within one's means...Originally posted by Bear:Even if u buy things for urself also have to control. Have a fren who did that and spend a total of $300+ in just one evening... she just pick, try and pay for it. Can't believe it...
I have to agree on this line and post some comments on it. I think girls have an advantage over guys in a realtionship.It seems that girls nowadays are so jaded from their past realtionships that they presume all guys are the same and such they can afford to be reckless with their current bf's heart.It saddens me to say that this would, in turn, devastate the guy and the process continues so on and so forth. I truly envy those who are in a relationship where they can fully trust each other and that they can feel the truth(yes, some of us guys can tell when some girls are blatantly lying, we're just keeping quiet for the sake of the relationship) coming from each other.Originally posted by jazmyn:hmm there seems to be more broken hearted guys here than girls?
jazmyn
i guess it's a bit of a generalisation and yeah i do agree with you on the fact that some girls tend to bring along emotional baggage from their previous relationships - i wld say that perhaps these pple didn't give themselves enough time between each relationship to fully recover from the previous one.Originally posted by pertura:I have to agree on this line and post some comments on it. I think girls have an advantage over guys in a realtionship.It seems that girls nowadays are so jaded from their past realtionships that they presume all guys are the same and such they can afford to be reckless with their current bf's heart.It saddens me to say that this would, in turn, devastate the guy and the process continues so on and so forth. I truly envy those who are in a relationship where they can fully trust each other and that they can feel the truth(yes, some of us guys can tell when some girls are blatantly lying, we're just keeping quiet for the sake of the relationship) coming from each other.
I apologise for moving away from the conversation, i just felt like responding to the "words of wisdom"(heheh) from jaz.
My personal experience in my first breakup was actually quite interesting. She initiated it, I agreed to it, I went drinking and had a lot of basketball sessions. Then I was ok. Strange??Originally posted by Bear:Wat words of wisdom.. Listen to uncle guys... hee hee..
I agree wif u Larry... but just that when pple are too involved in their break ups, they can't think logically, even they know wat us the logical way out. Human minds is sometimes hindered by the emotions. If not there wouldn't be this column in sgforum, and humans will be a lot easier to be dealt wif.