Of course it is not easy, otherwise, everyone will have perfect marriages.Originally posted by Frustrated_guy:She already caught onto me many times liao. My "orrrr" and "mmm" she will notice one. She will test me later and if I cannot answer, she will blow up bigger. I already know how to shut off 100% liao. Sometimes, when she talk nonsense, I only hear noise.
Some of your words make sense. But that would mean I have to learn to lie? I am not really very good at that. Maybe that's my weakness. I did not "hong" my wife like other men hoh?
I beginning to understand a little what you trying to say. But in practice, it won't be easy. Thanks for your advice![]()
Doing oorrr and mmmm will only fuel the fire.Originally posted by Frustrated_guy:She already caught onto me many times liao. My "orrrr" and "mmm" she will notice one. She will test me later and if I cannot answer, she will blow up bigger. I already know how to shut off 100% liao. Sometimes, when she talk nonsense, I only hear noise.
Some of your words make sense. But that would mean I have to learn to lie? I am not really very good at that. Maybe that's my weakness. I did not "hong" my wife like other men hoh?
I beginning to understand a little what you trying to say. But in practice, it won't be easy. Thanks for your advice![]()
mistyblue,Originally posted by mistyblue:You still weak. didn't learn lesson the last time. Please stand up for yourself. Unhappy, is a natural thing but your wife is taking it too far. Which couple don't quarrel and who is happy to quarrel. Did she really want to marry you in the first place? She want divorce. Then give it to her. I reminded my husband that I had agreed to his demand for divorce once. asked to move out 2 times. All of that he subsequently ask me to re-consider. However the day I move out. I never intend to move back. It will also be followed by a divorce request.
Easy solution to your issues:
You want to go overseas during CYN. She wanna stay. Then you go overseas. and she stay. Solved. She cannot care for your request, why should you care for hers?
She want to visit many family and entertain them. You visit the one you should visit. Problem solved. She want to catch up with her relatives, she can go anytime or call them any day. The one relative you should visit is your in-laws. The rest is just good will. Your relatives are also important to you but you never force her to visit everyone of them did you? Then during wedding, all the ang paos/gold she took from your relatives, she better cough them out.
As i said before in your previous airing of the same issue: how long are you going to give in to her tantrums, pamper her too much before you totally give up and become bitter. How long more do you want to give way to her wishes? You think this is building a r/s? Why can't she give way some times?
Learn from my lesson. I gave way too much! Everyday I think of moving out, divorce, unhappy, suffer hypertension, and all sorts. Everyday I live in regret.
I understand your wish not to stay with your mom. Seriously, its better for you guys and its not a sign that you do not love your mom. You do what you need to keep your r/s. 2 women under one roof with conflicting characters is going to make you crazy. My MIL is aggressive, nosy, careless, shallow, brainless and bossy lao ah lian. She will take every opportunity to bully me and she always want to win at all cost. I am introverted and quite and usually try to have peace by giving way. I end up unhappy all the time. Its really extreme if you see the situation i ended up. I have no say about my house, I cannot place my 2 pots of plants anywhere, I cannot use the washing machine on any days I want, I cannot try any feng shui thing I want. Anything, eveything, in my house, even my money, I have no say and my MIL demand to make decision how to even spend my money for me or she will make a big hu-ha. My husband believe in telling everything to my MIL thinking she is fair and a goddess or goodness in his eyes (this is the real mommy boy) and she takes it out on me later when everyone's not around. She's a real great actress - when my husband is around -wah she is like a saint, when my husband is out her words are sharper than swords and her acts are all out to hurt. My MIL even calls up my Mom and complain all sorts of lies about me till my mom was very upset. I cannot forgive her for the kind of things she's done causing hurt to my mom, for driving my r/s to the rocks and still claiming she's not trying to do anything. Seriously, if you ask me my one wish is that my MIL never existed at all. That will be peace for me, my husband and my FIL.
Just close one eye on your mum lor.Originally posted by Frustrated_guy:There is no three of us trashing it out. I am on my wife's side with regards to moving into the new house. I will prevent my folks from interrupting us. Now the problem is my wife wants out here and there. So be it loh.
be the bad guy, while true dat we shld always listen to our parents but this time dun u think dat your mum is too much?Originally posted by jeremy89632:Just close one eye on your mum lor.
girls are very selfishOriginally posted by Hello Kitty:separate le, wun wan to get bk de.
my wife also the same , never stay with my mum also got problem with her, gals are funny creatureOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:Of course it is not easy, otherwise, everyone will have perfect marriages.
"hong" your wife is a better term than "lie" hahaha I must learn from you how to use the better term... but "hong" and "lie" hahaha, to me, they are the same...
With women, you have to put your foot down but unlike with men, you have to put your foot down in a gentle manner.... you have to "hong" them.![]()
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:On the first one.If a married man is fooling around it means there is something really wrong & missing in the marriage itself and if he is having an extra marital affair it means sooner or later he would get caught or you could conclude that the marriage is already three quarter out the door.
the reason is that those men that fool around all the time has managed to convince their wifes that they will never leave them.
those perfect husbands send the wrong signals to their wives and have unhappiness in the marriage no end...
I think that you belong to the second category...
Don't take your marriage as sacred, just take it as marriage for life...[/b]
Please hor, Dun generalise us just because some wifey and mother in laws cannot get along ya.Originally posted by t_a_s:girls are very selfish
I dun agree that there is alway problem in marriage life that lead to men fooling around, some men fool around just to get the kick of it, in older days, men are allow to married 3-4 wives you know. It just that today laws stated one gal for one guy, no free gift.Originally posted by Short Ninja:On the first one.If a married man is fooling around it means there is something really wrong & missing in the marriage itself and if he is having an extra marital affair it means sooner or later he would get caught or you could conclude that the marriage is already three quarter out the door.
About the second one.If there is a perfect husband how could he be sending wrong signals? The problem with men is that they give their all during courtship and loses steam after marriage and that is how a man becomes imperfect.Not all women would demand that the love be the same or better over the years but for those who are over demanding then this is where the trouble starts (See Category one)
It is unfortunate to hear about your friends but surely they must known the risk involved .Hope that is not the reason why some of them decided to turn lesbo or else what a real waste!!Originally posted by angel7030:I dun agree that there is alway problem in marriage life that lead to men fooling around, some men fool around just to get the kick of it, in older days, men are allow to married 3-4 wives you know. It just that today laws stated one gal for one guy, no free gift.
In fact, married men are very skillful in tackling gals, me nearly kennas trick by them, luckily me also can act, if not kennas eaten liao also dun know, some of my gf sometime get inolved with married men, most of them said they are single, then later when get the girl fell in love them, they then declared their married status knowing that the girl would go away. Poor girl, kenna tricked.
I will like to plead to all Married Men, Please stick to your wife and dun destroy
another girl life for the sake of humanity and Love. Thank you
if it works for him... then its fineOriginally posted by theSquelch:i doubt TS has balls to carry out lah
he talk talk talk only, end up like his wife use divorce to threaten
most probably things will devolve into screaming matches like
i divorce u ha!
i then divorce u!
no, i divorce u first!
no no, is I divorce U!!
etc etc
I've posted a reply or two in your first virgin post concerning your forever 'threatening with divorce wife'. And...I like to say it again. When another party in a marriage kept using that taboo word to emotionally manipulate, blackmail the other party into giving ways and into submission is almost a 100% a case goner. I did say that for how long will you be able to tolerate that kind of mental abuse. No matter how much one love the other, there is always a limit to things in life. I don't want to say 'See, I told you so. He has finally reach his limit.' But well, in the end I have to say it because my theory was proven right. YOU CERTAINLY HAS FINALLY REACH YOUR LIMIT of tolerance level.Originally posted by Frustrated_guy:I tot I do not have to post here again, but just let me whine a bit. Since Monday, my wife has threatened divorce once and presented the idea of divorce twice liao.
Here's the story. We are getting our own house. Woohoo! Then my Mum came into the picture. Boo! Initially, she had agreed to let both of us stay apart from them. But as the date draws near for us to move into our new house, Mum started nagging to sell her house and stay with us.
My stand is this from day 1; I do not want to stay with my folks. I have told my Mum in the face that I want to live separately from them. Not that unfilial or something, I love my parents, but I have personal reasons. My wife knows I'm with her, but she's overcomed by stress and fear that my mum may actually gets what she wants. I reassured her MANY MANY times that I won't let it happen. But don't know what she thinking, she began to pick a fight with me, accusing me of being Mummy's boy and say my mum betrayed her trust...bla bla bla(the rest is noise).
I HATE to be caught in the middle and it actually happens now. I love my wife, but perhaps not enough patience to counsel her. Hey, only God has infinite patience, I am only human. So the thing is this, over the years until now, she has successfully sold the idea of divorce into me. I do not want to fight it anymore. I already said yes once, but somehow we manage to make up. I even dreamt that I said yes in a dream and we spilt.
So now, it's only a matter of time. I am gonna say yes and make it real in one of our future quarrels. I can put up with her micro-managing my life and other stuff, but I do not like threats. I know in some way, I may have asked for it and partly my fault too. My mind is struggling to make sense of it all and salvage the whole thing, but I feel hopeless. Also, the temptation of absolute freedom is irresistible. In the end, I would probably grant her wish, and have the whole house to myself. No, I won't invite my folks to live with me. Feels like a cool thing afterall hoh?
Thank you for listening.
My personal and very business like analysis of the situation:Originally posted by countdracula:misty.....way to go, show your mil kick ass attitude...so now you're having cold war at home....is your relationship with your man still good or just going through the motions?.....
as for ts, time to assert your rightful position or bail out....
looks like you've come far from playing the meek lamb...kudos...given the discomfort of the situation at home, perhaps you ought to engineer something...money is freedom and you should never ever surrender it....about time your man crawl out from whatever crevice he's been hiding in....Originally posted by mistyblue:My personal and very business like analysis of the situation:
The irony is that everyone wants to have harmony and happy life together. But somehow everyone's approach is different. However, no single approach is always the best, and I realised that my MIL approach is to take total control and do whatever is best for her family, which includes her 2 sons, 1 daughter and her 4 grandchildren. This in turn subverted the context of my marriage to her youngest son where I did not start a new family with him, instead became a part of the large extended family whereby I am expected to contribute to everyone's welfare while others being around longer has the option to reject putting in any contribution totally. However, the MIL never realised to this day that the two of us got married to start a new family. This misalignment and her attitude to take full control of the house and the people's lives living in it is where the most conflict is arising from. This is where my resentment arise as well because I had bend over backwards to give way in terms of the house, grandchildren, the Parent and Sibling in-laws, and even given up my rights to the whole house except my room. Yet she pressed on to access my bank account for her grand children. That is where I draw the line but anyways I feel everytime I give her money, I am giving her a slap on her face for the lies she made up. She had brought up her kids with no mental knowledge of financial planning nor savings. Hence her oldest son is always running out of money but having lots of branded goods. They also sell branded goods and make a tidy sum which instead gets invested in their personal entertainment as the cost of feeding their kids are conveniently made my MIL problem where she knows she will never get a cent off her oldest son and wife, hence she knows the path of least resistance is me since my husband always supports her and do not offer any protection from her demands.
Anything I can give in. BUT NEVER MY MONEY. I work hard for it I expect to have some savings to retire with and I should be the one to enjoy it first instead of being taxed dry by my so call "family". Besides, paying the money for a couple of months, I didn't get any better food. I also discover left overs are kept and reheated for my consumption while everyone gets freshly cooked food. If I ever ever decide to have kids, at least I know financial planning will be the one thing I will teach and I will not be shameless as my Brother-in-law as to make use of other people to keep my children fed.
Under such situation, I think I should be allowed to get really angry and demand better treatment. Husband, he's worried. However, whatever he thinks or whatever happens. I believe I deserve better and no one can give me this other than myself.
If you are serious about changing your life, please do some action and find the lawyer yourself.Originally posted by Frustrated_guy:Please pm me if you have any laywer office to recommend. Thanks.
What type of push? Angry or relaxed one?Originally posted by Frustrated_guy:She will say "Shao lai che yi tao" and then push me away![]()