married couples are trying to get outta it while singles are dying to get into it
Originally posted by kopiosatu:my colleague held the solemnisation at his flat.
one of my friends did the ROM thing only... at ROM... go makan afterwards.. that's it.. just immediate family members...
they're happy.. small, quiet, intimate, loving... no wedding circus..
a classmate's brother even better still.. in US, call back to his family "dad.. i'm married"
Originally posted by the Bear:one of my friends did the ROM thing only... at ROM... go makan afterwards.. that's it.. just immediate family members...
a classmate's brother even better still.. in US, call back to his family "dad.. i'm married"
if i'm getting married, i'll just fly my family members to bkk. lol~
and have a beach makan at pattaya... hahahahah~
Originally posted by GHoST_18:ppl i know >
wife wan big house..
husband buy big house...
both cant sustain the loan...
husband sell car...
both struggle to pay loan...
this is so cockanathan
Originally posted by Troy437:I have seen a few genuine cases where the person gets ruin by their wedding event.
1) Wanted a perfect/nice/grand wedding. So finds ways and means to get the ideal wedding...needless to say it cost $$$. All credit cards was used. The wedding went through nice.
And she is now in debts of $35,000/- from all the credit cards she used for the wedding...including interest whuch is snowing balling non-stop. Husband tied down by renovation loan. The ideal wedding...the road to bankruptcy...
2) Wanted to be the most happiest woman in the world with the ultimate wedding. Ultimate wedding went though. End up in debts as no way the ang bao can recover the cost. Both ends up quarreling as accuses each other of not being to earn more. Both working only to make ends meet to pay wedding event debts. Both ends up clubbing seperately to forget troubles...now divorced.
3) Nice wedding, everything wife wants also can. After wedding, tells wife cannot tahan the expenses. Wife calls him useless and walks out on him. Divorced now.
3) Also a grand wedding to make meet wife and her parents requirements. Now paying minimum payment for his credit cards...with outstanding $10,000/-++.
Anymore you guys knows?
wah lau eh....sad to say I also know of a few such cases
Originally posted by av98m:wah lau eh....sad to say I also know of a few such cases
i really have to laugh at the list compiled by troy
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
i always feel that the "once in a lifetime" is just a marketing gimmick hyped up my commercial interest to boost their profit margins and revenue. what does "once in a lifetime" actually mean? isn't everyday also "once in a lifetime"? today is the 20 may 2008 and doesn't it also happen once in a lifetime? shall we then pop the champagne to celebrate?
personally i think your "would be" wife is still living in a fairy tale and has not woken up to the real world yet. everyone should know that our resources are finite and limited. sure you can overstretch yourselves silly and get everything she wants. but as you may know, everyone wants everything but someone has to pay the price. in the end someone (that is most prob u) will pay the ultimate price and carry the financial burden for a long time. is this price worth it for a memory of a perfect wedding that happens "once in a lifetime"?
from your post, you seem to be a sensible young guy. think like you are the head of the organisation (you are the head of the family after all) and decide on the best course of action.
-From a jaded and embittered old man
Originally posted by Troy437:I have seen a few genuine cases where the person gets ruin by their wedding event.
1) Wanted a perfect/nice/grand wedding. So finds ways and means to get the ideal wedding...needless to say it cost $$$. All credit cards was used. The wedding went through nice.
And she is now in debts of $35,000/- from all the credit cards she used for the wedding...including interest whuch is snowing balling non-stop. Husband tied down by renovation loan. The ideal wedding...the road to bankruptcy...
2) Wanted to be the most happiest woman in the world with the ultimate wedding. Ultimate wedding went though. End up in debts as no way the ang bao can recover the cost. Both ends up quarreling as accuses each other of not being to earn more. Both working only to make ends meet to pay wedding event debts. Both ends up clubbing seperately to forget troubles...now divorced.
3) Nice wedding, everything wife wants also can. After wedding, tells wife cannot tahan the expenses. Wife calls him useless and walks out on him. Divorced now.
3) Also a grand wedding to make meet wife and her parents requirements. Now paying minimum payment for his credit cards...with outstanding $10,000/-++.
Anymore you guys knows?
key is whether they want the fireworks and then the debt or they want to spend wisely?
for me, I did not provide the biggest diamonds or the best dinner but I gave something that she likes in return, a Honeymoon trip that we both enjoyed & can afford.
so TS, I think you need to be upfront on the finances you both have and how much you want to throw in.
last note, don't start your new life on debts..
Originally posted by kopiosatu:if i'm getting married, i'll just fly my family members to bkk. lol~
and have a beach makan at pattaya... hahahahah~
that sounds about right..
small and intimate...
or heck.. throw one hell of a beach party.. just hire a section of the beach (see the yacht club or something) and have a bigass potluck, come-as-you-are beach party! i think if i invite people here in Club30, they'd be happier with the potluck beach party.. of course as host, must provide beer.. a few kegs doesn't cost much... and goes a long way.. and if you guys prefer stronger stuff, i bet you all have extensive stashes right? ![]()
I bought my ger a solitair and she lost it!
R/S is all abt managinge expectations. We all want the best but we can't have all of them at the same time. ( I would love to have the new S350 but I have digressed...)
1] List down all the big tickets items - wedding bands, proposal ring, dinner, ROM luncheon, ROM fee (?), suits and gowns, transport, etc...separately into a small pieces of papers.
2] Fold them and put into a tin.
3] Let her pick and arrange in chronological order.
4] Show her your bank book and tell her you can only afford one at a time.
5] Talk to her parents and tell them that they did a great job bring her up! (kidding)
The real trick is managing expectations. YOu can do everything but must lower standards. OR you can rob a 7/11 but make sure you dun get locked in!
A personal tip, I make sure that behind every 'hardship', there is a gem/jewel/treasure box waiting...write an IOU and share with her....I dunno what you do, but manage her expectations....THIS IS THE FIRST LESSON OF A LIFELONG MARRIAGE CONTRACT!!!
Originally posted by nehpyh:I bought my ger a solitair and she lost it!
R/S is all abt managinge expectations. We all want the best but we can't have all of them at the same time. ( I would love to have the new S350 but I have digressed...)
1] List down all the big tickets items - wedding bands, proposal ring, dinner, ROM luncheon, ROM fee (?), suits and gowns, transport, etc...separately into a small pieces of papers.
2] Fold them and put into a tin.
3] Let her pick and arrange in chronological order.
4] Show her your bank book and tell her you can only afford one at a time.
5] Talk to her parents and tell them that they did a great job bring her up! (kidding)
The real trick is managing expectations. YOu can do everything but must lower standards. OR you can rob a 7/11 but make sure you dun get locked in!
A personal tip, I make sure that behind every 'hardship', there is a gem/jewel/treasure box waiting...write an IOU and share with her....I dunno what you do, but manage her expectations....THIS IS THE FIRST LESSON OF A LIFELONG MARRIAGE CONTRACT!!!
wat's a S350 ![]()
new model of handphone or wat ![]()
Shit.. i no money i wont marry. Looking at the way my cousins and family weddings.. if i dun have 500K just floating around.. i dun think i can do 1 as good or even better then them. Man.. most of my friends weddings are awesome. The later i wed , the more pressure i have to make my wedding better. Especially my class year . Class reunion even more pressure. Like got one just last year , wedding in Thailand we all went. Another in SG , Another at KL towers. Then got 1 think next year is on cruise ship.
Even those married locally.. straight away move in to big @ss bungalow. lol. Soemore if u got head got face ur wedding have to invite even more those VVIP.. then if ur wife also come from got head got face de ppl even more tiam n pressure. But from what i heard ,normally the guy do the massive wedding.. car etc everything..n the girl side parents give him house , or company to run or what.
I want an awesome but not that many people de wedding.
But anyways.. weddings are always happy one. What we need to see is if the happiness will still be there after few years of marriage.
Originally posted by the Bear:one of my friends did the ROM thing only... at ROM... go makan afterwards.. that's it.. just immediate family members...
for us even more simple ![]()
after ROM at fort canning only both of us go makan in a hotel ![]()
even family members are not involved cos only 2 of his frens signed as witness in our marriage certificate ![]()
Originally posted by voidage:i always feel that the "once in a lifetime" is just a marketing gimmick hyped up my commercial interest to boost their profit margins and revenue. what does "once in a lifetime" actually mean? isn't everyday also "once in a lifetime"? today is the 20 may 2008 and doesn't it also happen once in a lifetime? shall we then pop the champagne to celebrate?
personally i think your "would be" wife is still living in a fairy tale and has not woken up to the real world yet. everyone should know that our resources are finite and limited. sure you can overstretch yourselves silly and get everything she wants. but as you may know, everyone wants everything but someone has to pay the price. in the end someone (that is most prob u) will pay the ultimate price and carry the financial burden for a long time. is this price worth it for a memory of a perfect wedding that happens "once in a lifetime"?
from your post, you seem to be a sensible young guy. think like you are the head of the organisation (you are the head of the family after all) and decide on the best course of action.
-From a jaded and embittered old man
Maybe resoures scarce and finite... but not parents ma. lol!
But i agree in the once a lifetime and how some things are extremely overpriced. But then again.. we try not to get married more then once. Its best if only once. lol!
Originally posted by JerryYan:for us even more simple
after ROM at fort canning only both of us go makan in a hotel
even family members are not involved cos only 2 of his frens signed as witness in our marriage certificate
omg! that's my dream wedding!
how did you manage to get away with it?
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Shit.. i no money i wont marry. Looking at the way my cousins and family weddings.. if i dun have 500K just floating around.. i dun think i can do 1 as good or even better then them. Man.. most of my friends weddings are awesome. The later i wed , the more pressure i have to make my wedding better. Especially my class year . Class reunion even more pressure. Like got one just last year , wedding in Thailand we all went. Another in SG , Another at KL towers. Then got 1 think next year is on cruise ship.
Even those married locally.. straight away move in to big @ss bungalow. lol. Soemore if u got head got face ur wedding have to invite even more those VVIP.. then if ur wife also come from got head got face de ppl even more tiam n pressure. But from what i heard ,normally the guy do the massive wedding.. car etc everything..n the girl side parents give him house , or company to run or what.
I want an awesome but not that many people de wedding.
wah so HK drama give company to run
should ask my colleague~
he went to ROM in just jeans and t-shirt, his wife in some sundress
get friends to sign and that's all. no one was invited too.
i'm a simple ger so he can easily get away with it ![]()
I'm not demanding like some gers ![]()
even wedding ring he buy the cheapest with no diamond ![]()
Originally posted by kopiosatu:should ask my colleague~
that's so cool..
take the money and go on a damned wonderful holiday with wifey ![]()
Originally posted by JerryYan:i'm a simple ger so he can easily get away with it
I'm not demanding like some gers
even wedding ring he buy the cheapest with no diamond
parents on both sides were agreeable?
envy
Originally posted by kopiosatu:should ask my colleague~
wah lau!!
I hope I'll be just as lucky if I get the chance
Originally posted by the Bear:that's so cool..
take the money and go on a damned wonderful holiday with wifey
some more that bugger come from a rich family
father buys him a car (fully paid) to "compensate" for not being there for him most of the time.
he sells it and buys another smaller car. lol~
and his allowance during poly is like few K. that's from mother's side only, haven't count father's side.
but he did tell us that he'll never experience what we experience with our parents.
WTF, he wants caning? lol!!!
parents on both sides were agreeable?
envy
both side our old parents don't bother too much ![]()
they only happy that both of us found our ideal mate
by the way u boi or ger har ![]()
Originally posted by JerryYan:wat's a S350
new model of handphone or wat
Merc Benz S350!