Originally posted by angel7030:Finally, another wisdom,
To know a fren is simple and nothing special
But to turn an enemy into fren is one of the greatest achievement in your life, and usually it turn out to be your best fren.
I see, u got so many wisdoms up your sleeve....just got this to add.....
Turning an enemy, due to miscommunication or misunderstand, into friend is indeed a great achievement.
But if the animosity is due to diff personalities or diff characters, better don't try too hard. - Better this way....
Originally posted by 4sg:I see, u got so many wisdoms up your sleeve....just got this to add.....
Turning an enemy, due to miscommunication or misunderstand, into friend is indeed a great achievement.
But if the animosity is due to diff personalities or diff characters, better don't try too hard. - Better this way....
Certainly, but then, no human have the same personlities and characters, not even our parents and us, therefore, it is subject to each individual the willingness to change to suit each other in the best way we can.
And when a person is able to change for the good of frenship, he/she is sure to make a lots of frens. That is why some people are damn lonely and some are so happy in life.
"Certainly, but then, no human have the same personlities and characters, not even our parents and us, therefore, it is subject to each individual the willingness to change to suit each other in the best way we can."
Just this to add...personality, generally, refers to our inner self, ie our soul or spirit or emotions or high consciousness etc while character, generally refers to our psychological building blocks, ie the way we are brought up, eg pamper, stingy.....
Hard to gauge if humans have the same personality (although psychologist can, through series of test) but from their point of views, a person's character can be gauged or compared.
"And when a person is able to change for the good of frenship, he/she is sure to make a lots of frens. That is why some people are damn lonely and some are so happy in life."
True but happiness and loneliness is also a state of mind.
Tell you a story of a Vietnam war veteran. He was kept POW for around 20 years in Vietnam - long after the Vietnam war. The Vietcon treated him like pig - living around a pig sty and his living condition no better than the pigs.
He kept his sanity by imagining/creating his happiness in his mind - really. How? For example, during Christmas he kept himself happy by imagining himself home at christmas - make a cake out of mud and sharing it with his imaginary family members. While, in reality, his family are miles and miles away and they thought him dead in war.
He saved himself from insanity this way by
1) keeping himself busy and occupied
2) detaching his spirit from his surrounding condition, ie his living hell.
Such is the power of a human spirit - when adversity comes knocking.......and that is also what some ppl, who have gone through severe hardship, means when they said sanity and insanity is only one fine line.
Originally posted by 4sg:"Certainly, but then, no human have the same personlities and characters, not even our parents and us, therefore, it is subject to each individual the willingness to change to suit each other in the best way we can."
Just this to add...personality, generally, refers to our inner self, ie our soul or spirit or emotions or high consciousness etc while character, generally refers to our psychological buiding blocks, ie the way we are brought up, eg pamper, stingy.....
Hard to gauge if humans have the same personality (although psychologist can, through series of test) but from their point of views, a person's character can be gauged or compared.
"And when a person is able to change for the good of frenship, he/she is sure to make a lots of frens. That is why some people are damn lonely and some are so happy in life."
True but happiness and loneliness is also a state of mind.
Tell you a story of a Vietnam war veteran. He was kept POW for around 20 years in Vietnam - long after the Vietnam war. The Vietcon treated him like pig - living around a pig sty and his living condition no better than the pigs.
He kept his sanity by imagining/creating his happiness in his mind - really. How? For example, during Christmas he kept himself happy by imagining himself home at christmas - make a cake out of mud and sharing it with his imaginary family members. While, in reality, his family are miles and miles away and they thought him dead in war.
He saved himself from insanity this way by
1) keeping himself busy and occupied
2) detaching his spirit from his surrounding condition, ie his living hell.
Such is the power of a human spirit - when adversity comes knocking.......and that is also what some ppl, who have gone through severe hardship, means when they said sanity and insanity is only one fine line.
Wha! very good post, indeed very enlightening. I have learn alot from you. Thanks.
Just like my grandma, got maid, still wanted to wash cloth, every morning sweep the floor, go market, i told her to relax, but she said, for nearly 3/4 of my 70++ years of life, i have been doing it, not as what you are, spoil, sleeping and playing only. And if u ask me to stop it, i may leave this world for good.
Wha lau, habits are hard to change lor. Better dun bother her, if not later i have to wash plates too.
wat a dumb & irritatin ts.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Wha! very good post, indeed very enlightening. I have learn alot from you. Thanks.
Just like my grandma, got maid, still wanted to wash cloth, every morning sweep the floor, go market, i told her to relax, but she said, for nearly 3/4 of my 70++ years of life, i have been doing it, not as what you are, spoil, sleeping and playing only. And if u ask me to stop it, i may leave this world for good.
Wha lau, habits are hard to change lor. Better dun bother her, if not later i have to wash plates too.
You can find this sort of wisdom in our Indian, Malay and Chinese cultures. There are many gems of wisdom, knowledge and strength, we can draw upon - not just in time of crisis but also in our daily living.
You look at this guy. What character he has left? friendly?, jovial? stingy? argumentative? His character is pulled to shred.
In that kind of living condition, nobody around treated him as human anymore. Nothing around told him that he was a human anymore. His drinking and eating bowls were no better looking than the pigs'. The only female around were the sows, even then and if he wished, he had to content with fighting off the male pigs. It was like heaven and hell has abandoned him - totally.
The only thing left was his spirit, ie his personality if you wish. When he faced with that kind of situation, he had two choices. Psychologist calls it, fight or flight response.
If his personality was weak - caved in, ie became insane. If his personality was strong -soldiered on.
And only his personality or his spirit was left - to tell his body and mind whether to agree with the surround or to disagree. If his spirit dared to acknowldege that he was still human, he had to face the harsh consequences.
This white soldier, he has been brought up the traditional way - with love, family togetherness, and god-fearing environment. Mainly with the traditonal Christian values. That was why he had this tough personality to fight on.
That is also what I meant when I said we don't throw away our culture, tradition and religion just because of globalisation or multiracialism.
To the younger Singaporean this - What you see in Holywood, in movies, in TV are just what it is - make-believe stuff. The mainstream American, European, and Japanese are still holding onto their tradition, culture and religion. And my personal thinking is that globalisation or muliraciaIism has not adversely diminished their traditional values - certainly not like the rate we are losing ours.
Originally posted by foxwalk:For the record, I would like to say there's a lot of myopic closed minded people. I can't even begin to fathom the stupidity of some of the questions that people have asked me because my hubby is a different ethnic group. At the end of the day it just pisses me off, and I can't wait to leave Singapore with him.
Same here!!!
But I just ignored them and their words don't hurt me because I know my hubby better than they do, plus we are doing much better than they are :P
Originally posted by 4sg:You can find this sort of wisdom in our Indian, Malay and Chinese cultures. There are many gems of wisdom, knowledge and strength, we can draw upon - not just in time of crisis but also in our daily living.
You look at this guy. What character he has left? friendly?, jovial? stingy? argumentative? His character is pulled to shred.
In that kind of living condition, nobody around treated him as human anymore. Nothing around told him that he was a human anymore. His drinking and eating bowls were no better looking than the pigs'. The only female around were the sows, even then and if he wished, he had to content with fighting off the male pigs. It was like heaven and hell has abandoned him - totally.
The only thing left was his spirit, ie his personality if you wish. When he faced with that kind of situation, he had two choices. Psychologist calls it, fight or flight response.
If his personality was weak - caved in, ie became insane. If his personality was strong -soldiered on.
And only his personality or his spirit was left - to tell his body and mind whether to agree with the surround or to disagree. If his spirit dared to acknowldege that he was still human, he had to face the harsh consequences.
This white soldier, he has been brought up the traditional way - with love, family togetherness, and god-fearing environment. Mainly with the traditonal Christian values. That was why he had this tough personality to fight on.
That is also what I meant when I said we don't throw away our culture, tradition and religion just because of globalisation or multiracialism.
To the younger Singaporean this - What you see in Holywood, in movies, in TV are just what it is - make-believe stuff. The mainstream American, European, and Japanese are still holding onto their tradition, culture and religion. And my personal thinking is that globalisation or muliraciaIism has not adversely diminished their traditional values - certainly not like the rate we are losing ours.
We?? oh, God forbid, we are like Rojak, so damn mixed up, to tell u the truth, most of us lost our identity already, there is no focus in our culture, or so call Singapore culture, cos the govt paradigm shift is so fast, eg follow switzerland lifestyle, then take on China economic, then invest in India, exchange program with Americans, wha lau, work like tha japanese, unreasonable and sometime inhuman, i feels that they are running a corporation with machineries rather than a country with humans. I cannot even speak my dialect with proficiency but i can speak Malay and thais due to my nature of work here. So funny.
So, in the end, we younger ones lack of direction in term of our cultures, a mix of hollywood stuff, MTV hip hop, joo chiat ah pek, bak kut teh, jack place, laksa, Serangoon style, canto pub, hokkien ktv, Guan Yim Ma temple, methodist church, hotel 81,..race course road indian temple, sri..man north indian crusine, orchard rd trendy..etc etc..and in the end, i agree that sometime, i hv to ask myself, Who am I? or Are they making us look like a fool?
we're dating now... :) he's so interesting... and intellectually stimulating...
i love the way he speaks, the long eyelashes, the deep eyes..
Originally posted by wallie:we're dating now... :) he's so interesting... and intellectually stimulating...
Congrats
Originally posted by wallie:we're dating now... :) he's so interesting... and intellectually stimulating...
gratz!
wat else is long besides the lashes?
Originally posted by wallie:recently i got to know a north indian guy from mauritious. shold i try to ask him out? i dunno much about how his culture is like, but he is cute and speaks french. will it be too sl__y if i ask him out? not sure if he is attached.. but he wears a ring on his index finger..
Be prepared to give him alot of SEX if you really liked him. ![]()
And Mauritius is a beautiful place for holidays, they uses mauritius rupees and everything is super cheap and affordable...superb SPA everyday also can.
Ohh....did I forget to mention that they have a UNIQUE SEVEN COLOURED SANDS on their beaches?
And don't approach me if you see me there. ![]()
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wat else is long besides the lashes?
Lol...so notti.
Anyway, a seemingly harmless post seeking opinions on inter-racial relationships turned into a disastrous debate of races and gender. Honestly, I don't find her remarks of "boring experiences with local men" insulting at all. Some people like new experiences, and it's not that she is trying to seduce a foreigner to get a citizenship, materialistic gains or whatever.
I'm chinese and have dated many white women when I was living in the States. Despite what 4sg thinks, there wasn't any ulterior motive but just plain mutual attraction. Even though they've great personalities, I wouldn't go to the extend to say whites are superior in any way. In fact, the Chinese have many morals and cultures that are, in my opinion, deemed more acceptable in a society. I suppose 4sg is uptight due to his own insecurities and low self-esteem.
Originally posted by asharae:
Lol...so notti.
i mean his family name.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:i mean his family name.
You watch too much Russell Peters arh? Stereotypical bitch
hw do u hv to sound so PRICKly?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:i mean his family name.
Originally posted by asharae:
Lol...so notti.Anyway, a seemingly harmless post seeking opinions on inter-racial relationships turned into a disastrous debate of races and gender. Honestly, I don't find her remarks of "boring experiences with local men" insulting at all. Some people like new experiences, and it's not that she is trying to seduce a foreigner to get a citizenship, materialistic gains or whatever.
I'm chinese and have dated many white women when I was living in the States. Despite what 4sg thinks, there wasn't any ulterior motive but just plain mutual attraction. Even though they've great personalities, I wouldn't go to the extend to say whites are superior in any way. In fact, the Chinese have many morals and cultures that are, in my opinion, deemed more acceptable in a society. I suppose 4sg is uptight due to his own insecurities and low self-esteem.
Originally posted by wallie:
oh, that's short. There's south indian, north indian, west indian, east indian. Not all are long names. If you need more help on general knowledge (and I think you do), a cheap way for you would be wikipedia. Try it. It may just open your mind. Anyway, since you think I am irritating in this post, why do you bother coming back repeatedly? Strange. You enjoy being irritated?
nope, me dunwan to knw more abt dem all.
the purpose me cm here is to make u appear less irritatin.
it'll get on my nerves if no 1 bothers & yet u cont 2 behav like a drama mamma.
Yeah. People come here post about dating Indian guys, you got problem.
But it's all right for you to start threads about you dating some Greek dude. ???
of coz man.
i ok wif datin greek guy but sum ppl not ok.
she ok wif datin indian guy but sum ppl not ok.
sum chinese gers are ok wif dating indian guys.
sum indian guys are more ok wif datin ang mo gers.
u muz undrstd dat thr is no one-plan-fits-all tingy ok.
From what I noticed in Singapore is that there is an ongoing 'Fever' with Chinese girls dating Indian /Malay Guys and Chinese guys dating Malay and Eurasian Girls.