Originally posted by parn:Moderator blur already....don't know why it is moved to Aunt Agony.
I think this topic should be in Speaker's Corner.
Please move it back to Speaker's Corner where it belongs and mai geh kiang.
There are only 2 person in this forum who can move topic. None of the moderator can move topic.
Originally posted by popikachu:There are only 2 person in this forum who can move topic. None of the moderator can move topic.
I know. ![]()
Whoever moved this topic to this forum is wrong.
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
not bad already lah.. my one got moved to whinehouse... worst right??
Am I supposed to feel better just because you had compared yourself with me?
You're lucky you didn't get banned, I would've banned you for all your suggestive remarks towards girls.
Must be fair you know? Please also make some suggestive remarks towards guys too. ![]()
i don't like erp =(
Parn your new avatar looks scary. haha... ![]()
I love Singapore, but it's no longer the way it is before. We have become an ungracious society. The men in NS i duno protects how many % of Singaporeans already. Foreigners keep increasing. The standards of our society are dropping. Being treated as digits in the economy is not a laughable issue.
Sad... We need more chillies and onions to ward of the storm. (pun intended) ![]()
I love this part.
Define what you mean by "Love Singapore."
Too many foreingers taking out jobs, making some of us losing our jobs. ERP everywhere. Do what also need pay above $2. Buy cig from msia tio summon. Park car abit late tio summon. Speed abit tio summon. Flick abit ash on floor while smoking also tio summon. Everything so exp. All prices keep going up but our pay never go up. Soon, even a simple plate of chicken rice is gonna hit $4. BUT, they only reason i love singapore because its safe. What a high price to pay for safety.
becos the poor is poorer and rich is richer
Singapore is nothing more than an imagination. And a lousy imagination at that. So little history. So impersonal. So cold. So pragmatic. So calculative. So why love an imagination as pathetic as this?
hmm... 'not love' does not mean 'hate'.... i dont LOVE singapore... but i dont LOVE it either.... it is just another place on earth but it is where my family n my frens are.... i m not in singapore anymore but i still love my family n my friends back in singapore.... there r things i LIKE about singapore n things that i think can do better... everywhere has their good points n bad points....
Originally posted by Shotgun:I love this part.
Define what you mean by "Love Singapore."
It means love your country?
Don't you love the place where you grew up in?
The country which held all your precious childhood memories and from the day you were born up till now?
The place where you had most of your "first" in life? Like first friends, classmates, movies, shopping....basically alot of first time in your lives happened in this country.
So don't you love Singapore?
(Somehow I feel like I'm trying to explain to some kindergarten kid)
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:Singapore is nothing more than an imagination. And a lousy imagination at that. So little history. So impersonal. So cold. So pragmatic. So calculative. So why love an imagination as pathetic as this?
Then why do you bother to post about your imagination?
Are you mad? ![]()
Originally posted by parn:
Then why do you bother to post about your imagination?Are you mad?
This is what i call uneducated. You dont realise that the whole idea of the 'nation' is an imagination? It is not MY imagination. Its the collective imagination.
There is no such thing as Singapore. Its an illusion, a simulation, an imagination. The nation does not exist. The land exists, the people exist, the government exists, the infrastructure exists, but the nation does not.
"Somehow I feel like i'm trying to explain this to some kindergarten kid"
ERP - Everyday rob people...heard this joke from a Taxi driver...![]()
I guess none of us love having to Pay And Pay
...but that is the price that we have to sacrifies for having a clean and green country
There is no true rules to whether you should love your country if you are the citizen...
Who say that you must love your country...but I just hope pple are not so set in their mind taking things for granted....I have been to other countries like australia, UK, US but no place like home... you just feel different in other countries....![]()
Touring is one thing....staying permenant there might be a different thing I guess...first of all I don't feel safe running around...and there are places that just hate you cos you are different color....Something interesting in Singapore is that even if you are chinese, malay, indian or what ever, pple dun care....
I agree with sacredspirits..I can't say I love Singapore..I guess I don't hate Singapore..
_______
Originally posted by Nuttie:Too many foreingers taking out jobs, making some of us losing our jobs. ERP everywhere. Do what also need pay above $2. Buy cig from msia tio summon. Park car abit late tio summon. Speed abit tio summon. Flick abit ash on floor while smoking also tio summon. Everything so exp. All prices keep going up but our pay never go up. Soon, even a simple plate of chicken rice is gonna hit $4. BUT, they only reason i love singapore because its safe. What a high price to pay for safety.
There's a price to pay for everything isn't it?
Can you imagine a day when the government fully restricts the employment of foreign workers? Do you know how much our labour costs would rise if that happens and how many foreign companies would relocate overseas? And how many jobs would be lost due to that?
The government does in fact impose a minimum employment of residents for most companies. This would help to safeguard our welfare isnt it? The flexible and open labour policies helps us to widen our originally very small labour pool and help lower labour costs within the country, thus attracting investors here. Creating jobs and generating wealth. Without the foreign workers would we be better off? i don't really think so.
It is true that we may lose our jobs due to the competition from foreign labour. But overall, an open policy towards foreign workers will provide more growth for the country, especially during an economic downturn like now.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:This is what i call uneducated. You dont realise that the whole idea of the 'nation' is an imagination? It is not MY imagination. Its the collective imagination.
There is no such thing as Singapore. Its an illusion, a simulation, an imagination. The nation does not exist. The land exists, the people exist, the government exists, the infrastructure exists, but the nation does not.
The nation does exists. But it isn't a thing that we can physically come in contact with. Rather the whole idea of a 'nation' arises from your mind and from within your heart.
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:This is what i call uneducated. You dont realise that the whole idea of the 'nation' is an imagination? It is not MY imagination. Its the collective imagination.
Singapore does exist.
Yeah...you're mad.
(This must be the time of the year where mad people are allowed internet access)
eh? ![]()
TS has chronic anal puritis?
Originally posted by maurizio13:TS has chronic anal puritis?
TS is a TS, with all the associated anal issues and then some.
The word Singapore is merely to set conceptual boundaries about everything related to the land, people, government etc etc. In the primitive way you mentioned with reference to only the tangibles, yes a nation doesnt exist but the world doesnt consist of only the tangibles
Just like the concept of honesty, we cant see it touch it feel it etc. But we need that word which represents the concept of honesty and to explain it
becos our national anthem sux time for a new one
Originally posted by ulquiorra87:The word Singapore is merely to set conceptual boundaries about everything related to the land, people, government etc etc. In the primitive way you mentioned with reference to only the tangibles, yes a nation doesnt exist but the world doesnt consist of only the tangibles
Just like the concept of honesty, we cant see it touch it feel it etc. But we need that word which represents the concept of honesty and to explain it
Thank you for the insight. Refreshing compared to the TS' uneducated gibberish. I'd agree with your point that "world doesnt consist of only the tangibles". But taking this in context, the value of intangible nationhood is inextricably tied to history, to emotion, to all the subjectivity that is human nature. And in this light, is the imagination called Singapore worth loving?
What is Singapore, and what is there to love? The English, the Chinese, the Russians, the French, the Japanese, the Persians ... they have thousands of years behind them. They have a distinct culture to be proud of, to defend, to love. Time has bestowed value upon their collective imaginations. What do we have? Government rhetoric? It would take a fool to buy that, much more to love it.
I'm not saying that Singapore can never be loved. I'm saying that as of now, and at this point in time, there is nothing to love. No sentiment, no nostalgia. But definitely delibrate, desperate attempts at creating some for political legitimacy.
extra post
extra post
People who don't love their countries usually it's because of their government...