Your main concern is only money, looks and gf.
Friend, money can be earned. Looks is only for first impression. As for gf, just wait, you will have lots of opportunity. These three points above are not essential to be sucessful. Important is you have a good character - diligent enough to get a good degree, therefore a good job. sincere enough and with a bit socialising, you would get yourself a nice girl.
Be optimistic, my friend. cheers.
hi TS,
u r not failure. u will have a bright future if u work hard. u judge your success base on age of enrolment into NUS business fac? you judge success becoz u dont have rich parents?
u wana know failure? u are talking to one right now. i come from broken family, i pay my own university, and i lost my wife and kids.
but still i console myself, i am not worse in singapore, there are ppl plight still much worse than mine.
i am no position to provide advice, as i am depress and down myself. all i can say to you, u r at the beggining of a new chapter of your life. cherish it.
ive too been the perennial underachiever in my family but im happy because i know i dont need any of the fictitious things that my cousins hold, even though they are agreeably important.
i pursue a "higher purpose" you see, like happiness and love.
but i can see where you are coming from, your parents have in place some pressure, but i assure you my friend they only mean well. they don't mean to put you down :)
TS, I'm at the same situation as you. No friend, no money, no gf. But I got one thing which a lot of people can't find, passion. Find a passion, your life won't be the same as now.
so many losers here.
you so not happy with your life then go commit sucide, can RM alr.
don lame lar, your life is that way means it's that way.
you want it to be better then work hard.
if not then die early, don waste time.
Since you have time for whining here, why not use it for something more meaningful? listen to some music: www.last.fm
Interesting to see both the concern and heartless responding to this thread. There are no lack of heartless, insensitive, childish people around to say unkind words. Live and let live lah. If you people in the same shoes and others say the same to you, how you feel, grow up please. Ha ha ha.
TS. u deserve a slap.
Can go Local uni still kpkb..
Originally posted by youyayu:TS. u deserve a slap.
Can go Local uni still kpkb..
? ?
dun have 5 digits in bank......kaoz
i have been working for 1 year already also dun have 5 digits in bank. 5 digits of LOANS got.
guess i more failure than u??
Originally posted by StealthLeo:Your main concern is only money, looks and gf.
Friend, money can be earned. Looks is only for first impression. As for gf, just wait, you will have lots of opportunity. These three points above are not essential to be sucessful. Important is you have a good character - diligent enough to get a good degree, therefore a good job. sincere enough and with a bit socialising, you would get yourself a nice girl.
Be optimistic, my friend. cheers.
Nicely put.
The world is ahead of you GRAB IT CONQUER IT. ALL FOR THE TAKING. ALL.
Really....LOL. Make yourself proud. And put a smile on your face.
Be optimistic don't let the others psyche you out. and you'll do just fine. Life is great. Enjoy it. Be thankful of every minute of it. It's everything compared to what death offers you.
Don't compare yourself with the others. You have your own place in this world. You're somebody special.
There's a saying which I heard from a tv program which I'd like to quote:
Among the ants there is always that one incredible ant from the entire colony.
Among the elephants there is always that one pathetic sad elephant from the entire pack.
It doesn't mean that you have to compare yourself with others but you can be a great person no matter who you are no matter how you are.
hey jay ho.
Sorry to hear about your plight. But at least you manage to get your degree.
I really hope i can do well in uni. My parents invested a lot on me and i really dont want to let them down. And also i dont want my relatives to have a chance to criticize me and cause hurt to my parents.
But i am also afraid of this new chapt because of my weak past background. I have seen my poly friends who just barely made it to year 2.
dont give yourself too much pressure. HO ching is not a beauty too but she is chairman of temasek. you work hard, u will get your reward one day.
failing in uni is harder said than done if ur from biz fac. just try your best. from what u said, u r from poly going up NUS. isnt it a marvelous achievement huh?
once u grad from uni and start working in society, dont judge a person success or failure by his qualification or wealth. neither should you put the same perception on yourself. success or failure is also depends on what u can provide for others, help others.
ur life will change when u grad from uni, found a wife, have kids. cherish them. family is the pillar of life. when u r down, its great to have them by yourside.
Ai yo... why you care leh? Treat your dad like he's having a ktv session. Bringing glory to the family? You think you still in the old days ah?
Ask why your dad is still in this state... your friend's father are lawyers, ministers, etc...
Originally posted by gd4nth:i feel like a failure in life and an under-achiever.
I am 23 this year and still in ns this coming aug i will enrol into nus to study business. I feel so old.. My jc peers will be like 20 when they enter into uni and some gals at my age.. They have already gotten their deg. Relatives and my parents used to mock at me for being intellectually weak compared to my cousins who are from all the top jcs unlike me .. Went to normall academic and poly. Even when i get accepted by local uni there was once my father call me useless.. Dad .. I already tried to make you proud.. But i cant make it to ivy unis..
Some of my peers have the luxury of driving their parents flashy cars like bmw whereas i have not even started learning driving and my family dont have a car.. I have friends who at my age are already earning a stable 2000+ by giving tuition.. And i dont even have 5 digits in my bank.
I am ugly. When i was young i did not take care of my face and teeth. My face now is like a wreck.. Pimply and with many scars. My teeth is crooked and yellow. I cant whiten my teeth because i have many tooth filling. I am not fat but i do not have a nice muscular body.
Guess what? I have not stepped into a relationship before. The gals i courted all rejected me either because of my looks or my inept social skills. I can only maintain coversations going with gals but i cant make them laugh because i am not humourous. I dont ask much for a girlfriend.. Just average looking with a pleasant personality and can click with me.. Is that so tough?
I also have few friends. My good friends are all getting attached.. And do not have time for me. How i wish i can get to know more friends. Most of the time during my weekends i will spend it alone at home. Am i really useless? Not being rich.. No car.. No girlfriend before.. Little friends.. Ugly.. Intellectually weak.. No degree only armed with a diploma. So old and still in army..
I have solution for you. Try again next life.
Short and ugly is not the end of the road i tell u........
Look at Mah Bow Tan....tall, dark and handsome? No way but he's boss of HDB.
What about Wong Kan Seng? Boss of MFA.
And jay mentioned Ho Ching, worse than you!! She looks like a man!! But still...boss of Temasek and she married Lee Hsien Loong, who is quite handsome and looks 10 times better than her.
Come on, pull yourself together. I can feel you don't really receive much love from your family, resulting in your low self-esteem. And your father using tough psychology on you so you can work harder.... I honestly don't agree with such outdated Asian stuff.
Set your priorities, work hard and learn to dress up. Style your hair well at all times...and love urself. Not wait for a new face.
Don't you know that life is imperfect ?
Everyone has their own flaws and strength.
So what yours?
Can't you do anything about your personality and your humour?
Yes you might not be handsome enough but can't you be sincere enough? You might not be academically-inclined but aren't you in a University? You might not be driving a flashy car but does there mean that you will not succeed in life later on? You might not be so handsome but you can work on a charming personality.
Accept yourself who for you. Don't reject these little bits that u deem as unlovable. Accept it, love it and appreciate it.
Thread starter, stop being like ostrich pu head into hole. u little sissy come here some ppl comfort u only u feel happy when u wake up 2morrow morning life still the same. go work on what u want to achieve and stop wasting bandwidth in the internet
Bro,
someone once told me this, and i now say this to you.
If at the age of 20 plus, you cannot handle simple setbacks in life .. then what will happen when u r 40? 50 ? when u have a family to feed and loan payments to handle, when your loved ones are waiting for u to put food on the table but u r retrenched. will you go to a forum to post about your shortcomings ?
The whole world can look down on u, but u cannot look down on urself. Cos if u do, there is really no hope liao ...
maxtor, totally .

gd4nth i would really love to help u but you know what? the solution lies within yr own head. if u cant sort yr mind out none of us can help u.