Originally posted by lilogirl:"Stubborn and ardent clinging to one's opinion is the best proof of stupidity." - Michel de Montaigne
but then again.....
"There is only one success - to be able to spend your life in your own way." - Christopher Morley
Well...success of what? Of being on your own and living a life all by yourself? Heh.
Sometimes your personal decisions and beliefs can crash with your friends.... And what's more practical... Real or unreal... Balance it out in your Life.....Originally posted by lilogirl:My two closest friends just revealed to me that they felt i'm too stubborn and bull headed for my own good?!?!
While i really appreciate their honesty ( what are good friends for, after all, if not to honestly tell ya what they think ), it still stings that they see what i deemed as my determination as being stubborn....
Haiz... they say i'm so into getting everything my way that i didn't realize that it might affect others as well...
Truthfully, i do admit i am stubborn, to a certain extent... i stand up for what i believe in... and when i do believe, i will never back out... My view is, that is determination..
I'm not a saint i admit... but is being determine, a little stubborn and bull headed that bad????
Haiz...![]()
-_-`~Originally posted by Yunhaier:Are you Taurus, Leo, Aquarius or Scorpio?![]()
Perhaps it just took them so long to finally wanna let you know about how they feel from the bottom of their hearts...? Or perhaps its something which you've done or been doing lately which makes it unbearable to keep things to themselves anymore...?Originally posted by lilogirl:I've known them years.. What took them so long to suddenly realised that??
Hmm...Originally posted by Peppermint:people only say u are determined when u dun cross into thier paths....eg. u trying to change something in say another department...but those who say u are determined are in another department
people only say u are stubborn when u cross into their paths....
Originally posted by M©+square:Hmm... I like this one...
Stubborness is Great strength without much Wisdom. (No offence meant)
Hmm....Originally posted by lilogirl:Am I happy?? A good question..
I would say yes...
I hold on to the thinking that watever path i chose to lead in life is a path of my own choices...
If it does not work out the way i hoped, well, it was my choice.. i have no one to blame, and i do not blame... at least i did wat i believed in...
I just feel that sometimes. if one person sits down and think of all the consequenses and the affects of an action too much... nothing will ever be done...... dunno if i make any sense now...
If you're STUBBORN and DETERMINED in your own act, that's SELF-CENTRED..... Which could easily develop into SELFISHNESS...? No doubt you've got your points right.... But standing near the edge of the blade... You'll never really realise when you've crossed the path.... ESPECIALLY if you're SELF-CENTRED to begin with....?Originally posted by lilogirl:That is one concern that had really got me thinking...
I have never known the way i lead my life could or might have affected somebody else... haiz...
But it's like how i say before, how to not to be stubborn about it, when it's my life?!?!
Tell me to not to be so determined??? Then to me, that's losing my independence....![]()
You need not necessarily be stubborn in order to spend your life in your own way...? And note that when one talks about his/ her own life it would normally involves the overlapping of MANY others' lives... This is just the way things work today...Originally posted by lilogirl:"There is only one success - to be able to spend your life in your own way." - Christopher Morley
Maybe u are like me, u noe, i always wanted to be a full time musician, indulging my time in doing band stuff and my passion is there to be seen by my close frens. They advise me that such a path is disastrous in singapore as it is not practical (valid point they have) but yet this is how i feel i should live my life. Thus the trick is that seat your frens down, have a nice tok with them why they say u are stubborn, cite examples, then tell them nicely saying that you understand their concerns how u lead ur life and hope they continue to show concern for u but u hope they support the way u wanna lead ur life just as u will support them in theirs.Originally posted by lilogirl:Stubborn in the way i want to lead my life...
Let's just say, now, at this moment i do not have any commitment to tie me down.. I'm prone to be flighty in the way i lead my life... So it actually concerns work, relation, and money... err but not family...
Your friends ain't helping you to lead your life - its is you who is the driver of your own fate. They advise can influence and warned you about possible danger that your car may run into - but as long as you know what you are doing and know that it will be good in your own preception - perhaps its isn't that of a bad thing at all.Originally posted by lilogirl:But, to my way of thinking, i am not affecting anybody, but myself, in the way i wanna lead my life...
Me friends says the way i charge through life will lead me to lots of troubles one day..
I told them, i won't be here, the person i am today if i had not charged through life... that's exactly when they call me stubborn!!!![]()
That is why i do not see my way as being stubborn... i see it as determination!!!Originally posted by Devil1976:You need not necessarily be stubborn in order to spend your life in your own way...? And note that when one talks about his/ her own life it would normally involves the overlapping of MANY others' lives... This is just the way things work today...
To add, the 'TRUE' success is.... Not only to live your life in 'your own way'.... But more like in 'your own MEANINGFUL way'....
For a terrorist its to give up his own life to grab so many of others... Its 'his own way'... How successful you think it is...?
"Evolution has a great name and a long history... When we stop learning, we stop living....."
-from 'me to you'....
Yep, we are a little similar in that way...Originally posted by gasband:Maybe u are like me, u noe, i always wanted to be a full time musician, indulging my time in doing band stuff and my passion is there to be seen by my close frens. They advise me that such a path is disastrous in singapore as it is not practical (valid point they have) but yet this is how i feel i should live my life. Thus the trick is that seat your frens down, have a nice tok with them why they say u are stubborn, cite examples, then tell them nicely saying that you understand their concerns how u lead ur life and hope they continue to show concern for u but u hope they support the way u wanna lead ur life just as u will support them in theirs.
Thats how i told my frens, nowadays when we meet all they ask hey hows ur band? and neber saying hey being in a band will make u a bankrupt or anything.
See u gotta tell them how u feel, get their support, they are concerned but if u are determined, tok to them and allay their concerns.
Life is both benefits and consequences. Sometimes, you do not know what are benefits unless you been through the consequences.
Thks...Originally posted by Yunhaier:Your friends ain't helping you to lead your life - its is you who is the driver of your own fate. They advise can influence and warned you about possible danger that your car may run into - but as long as you know what you are doing and know that it will be good in your own preception - perhaps its isn't that of a bad thing at all.
Once a group of woman were debating with me over the issue of Love and made this statement - people will change their preception of Love after 20 years old - especially men, who may start two timing, jio best friend girlfriend, etc (and all other things that morally people deemed as wrong). Especially when they have money - (started working, got car, etc)
If stubborness is active here - I believe nothing is wrong as long as you hold onto the principles you always deemed as right regardless whether you 17, 24 or 36 years old.
Cheers
Leave a well paid job to teach - GOOD what. Well paid job normally isn't very satisfying job lor - the stress, the workload, etc they give you is to compensate through the money you get. Life gets routine, etc.Originally posted by lilogirl:Yep, we are a little similar in that way...
When i decided to leave my very well paid job to teach.. everybody thought i've gone nuts...
The salary they were offering was about half of what i was previously earning...
But i've no regrets... Put me through it 10 times.. i'll still do what i did...
And that's what i'm trying to say... if i'm willing to bear all consequences, be it good or bad, of my actions, why am i still deemed as being stubborn and not determine??haiz...
U are sooooooo right!!! I've couldn't feel happier right now...Originally posted by Yunhaier:Leave a well paid job to teach - GOOD what. Well paid job normally isn't very satisfying job lor - the stress, the workload, etc they give you is to compensate through the money you get. Life gets routine, etc.
That's good what
Phrase of the day: Find a Job that you truely love - you wouldn't have to work for the rest of your life.
Now the picture is clearer since your side of the story is revealed.Originally posted by lilogirl:Yep, we are a little similar in that way...
When i decided to leave my very well paid job to teach.. everybody thought i've gone nuts...
The salary they were offering was about half of what i was previously earning...
But i've no regrets... Put me through it 10 times.. i'll still do what i did...
And that's what i'm trying to say... if i'm willing to bear all consequences, be it good or bad, of my actions, why am i still deemed as being stubborn and not determine??haiz...
Originally posted by M©+square:Yes!!! That's what I'm trying to say!!!!!
Now the picture is clearer since your side of the story is revealed.
Well...i may not see it like you or gasband. It's neither stubborn nor determination. It's what i called [b]Passion which drives you to do what you really desire. And i strongly feel that you have used the wrong term such as stubborn. Passion can be wilful and childish in the eyes of other people. But you yourself know that there's great power in it and that's where you want to go and venture.
Look at Jimmy Ye! A Doctor became composer cum singer.
Stubborn? heh...think about it.
I'll see it in a totally different perspective.
Ghandi?
Mother Teresa?
I went into Fine Arts Fac rather then Graphic Design when i knew that Fine Artist don't earn much, rather earn nothing. The market wasn't ready for 'Arts' and no matter how much the government want to lead Singapore into a world class Arts Center and World Class Arts institude....I doubt it can be done.
But i know that it's Passion which led me to decide Fine Art Painting is where i will go. Stubborn? Determination? Oh well....all those were secondary. The Primary motivation is PAssion and Love. (I love to attain skills of Fashion Design, Dance, Music and being a Make Up Artist and Hairstylist) Unfortunately i was only supported up to Fine Arts and not allowed to go beyond that cos she(mum) scared i become Ah Gua....
My relatives and friends jeered at me. They said i do drawing can earn what? Can Make money meh? Why you want to do all this kind of things, so waste time...
You got to think for your parents you know, they earn money so hard U know???
Oh well...it doesn't really matter...i know what i am doing. Self centerness? YES! But i'm not hurting anyone with it.
I got to agree that there are times when i think back and tot what will become of me if i went into Graphic Design Fac or Engineering...I might be earning big Bucks in the future.
But there's no time to regret, cos in whatever decisions that was made in the past, it's made by me.
Whether im rich or poor in the future or before i die, i know that i'm one of the happy person in the world. I lived my life following my Passion.
Some asked is it worth to sacrifice many things you would have to follow your Passion?
The Answer cannot be answered now. It can only be answered when you have found your Passion.
Liloger: you may wish to re-view/ re-evaluate on what are your stand and don't be confused anymore.
that's wat everybody saysOriginally posted by M©+square:hahahaha....ya know? You can be a great pal....![]()
That's all right. It's nice to know people who are socially active.Originally posted by lilogirl:that's wat everybody says![]()
me very thick skin...
geez... that's very sweet of ya...Originally posted by M©+square:That's all right. It's nice to know people who are socially active.![]()
Gotta go koonz...see ya around!Originally posted by lilogirl:geez... that's very sweet of ya...![]()
nice knowing you too....![]()