aiyoh, earn so lil stil wan paktor.
Just register at the Registry of Marriages, forget about all the other useless things if you're poor... Or just don't get married.
PS: If you feel indebted to her, then wait a few years before celebrating your marriage?
MONEY or FAMILY ?
you can for a happy family w/o lotsa money, u know?
So what r u trying to satisfy here? ur need to boast to everyone your wealth? or your lust for a happy family?
If your proposal ring is already at least $30k-50k, then at least you will think thrice before you are feeling tempted to shout "DIVORCE" in your future married lives.
How much you want to spend on your celebration is entirely up to you......some couples prefer to just sign the papers and go for a more perfect honeymoon.
Your honeymoon will decide how fast you are going to become a parent in your future.
So spend more on your honeymoon if you likes honey. ![]()
Affordable marriage will also ENCOURAGE an affordable DIVORCE. ![]()
So make sure your marriage is UNAFFORDABLE.
Originally posted by parn:Affordable marriage will also ENCOURAGE an affordable DIVORCE.
So make sure your marriage is UNAFFORDABLE.
your depth of love is proportional to the money spend on your wedding?
no money less love?
WAT A WOMAN?
Originally posted by Window_Kamikaze:Hi hi all... Ever get into a relationship with a gal who is your senior by around 3 years? what do you do if u get into this situation and the gal wish to get married soon but you have no income stability? and at this point of economy downturn, everything is increasing, inflation, etc....
Marriage ----> at least around $30k for everything...
Flat - Resale flat, still need to pay cash in advance...
Arghhh!!!!!! What say u people???
Marriage is about responsibility. Your first test is to ask permission from yours and her parents for her hand, and that you vow an eternal oath to take good care of her, in good or bad times.
Your second test would be to find a roof over your head. In Singapore, fortunately you can apply with discounts for flats. You only need to wait, but if eternal love is pledged, what is time for the both of you?
The 3rd test would be the celebration. It is time to share your joy with everyone you both know, of the committment you made to her, and for everyone to share in your joys.
This is the premise of the beauty of marriage celebration, the beginning of the long road which promises you a happy future together with companionship, not a bed of roses daily, but one of courage to face all trials and overcome them, for both of you loved each other to make that serious committment.
So, under the premise of marriage - was money involved?
Lol! Ever the pragmatic Singaporeans, i know they will dispute that question.
1. Gifts to parents - if they are understanding, it is the thought that counts, and it is right you work espacially hard to earn money for your marriage. It's about responsibility and working hard, even as a roadsweeper, is a sign of responsibility. If you work hard enough, you will never just be stagnant in one position, but will rise later in life. Have confidence in yourself and show it to yours and her parents that you are capable. Everyone is capable as long as they behave responsibily and take full responsibility for their actions.
A loafer doesnt work - he don't deserve to get married at all!
2. Wedding celebrations - Your friends will shower you with gifts, and in pragmatic Singapore, it would be angpows. It ought to cover the dinner expenses with a little left over for honeymoon. BUT do not expect such largeses. Your friends may be also having financial problems. Love and friendship is beyond money. If you have the money, then throw a grand dinner for your friends. If no money, small gatherings would do.
Marriage is more than pure impressions. It is about responsibility. It is only the beginning of pledged eternal love. I encourage you to get married, but please, it is not about money. It's about committment and the level of responsibility you show and act upon.
well, I think for me, marriage is accepting the other party plus her family, the whole package.
finance is a big issue that you two need to discuss/communicate. it is good that you be honest, and lay your cards on the table.
Getting married, or ROMmed doesn't means you need a dinner/massive celebrations straight after or a month long honeymoon to europe or etc.
Normally, being a mature woman, your wife will be more sensible with $$, and you two should be able to discuss what's within your framework.
Rather than coming here and venting your fears, I suggest you go and talk it out with the gal you spending your life with, and I believe you will be pleasantly surprised how it will turn out.
Go....
Marriage is very important to the guy and girl. Have u think carefully before u reach this decision. Marriage is a lifetime affair. U should think seriously before settling down.
After marriage , the honeymoon period is short, the responsibility came. I heard that if you marry early , it is easiler to get divorce because people will think that it is still young. can you handle the problems and trails..
Then will come the financial problems! are u prepared for the responsiblility. Then your single hood life will change too! U cannot be unfaithful to ur spouses. can u handle the family. Is there people supporting ur decision. Your freedom is limited. Not only that you live with somebody --> do u know the person well, can u stay together?
What is your objective of marriage? You are settle to 1 woman or man. U have to take care of your spouse. Do you have the capability? Can you setup a family? Is there a roof to live? This can of thing cannot rush, it is a promise of the both parties?
ASK YOURSELF WHETHER U CAN DO IT! IT IS NOT A CHILD PLAY!
I think that you should disscue with your partner first. Or are u just joking with her or him. This kind of matter is serious.
If you are serious about it but lack of money, have a simple procedure. To official announced to the close relatives and friends. Then work from there. Maybe you can go to the ROM to register and have a simple party.
Then when both of you work hard to a more elaborated celebration when you have enough money!
SO ROMANTIC, HAVE 2 CELEBRATIONS! YOUR OTHER SPOUSE MUST BE THE MOST FORTUNATE PERSONS. 1 COUPLE MARRY TWICE. HAHHAHA!
Most Important, are u prepared for it, what is ur stage of mind? Once marry , cannot divorce. Dun never think of it! It is a dirty/ugly affair. Can you communicate with the other spouses about the matter. REALLY THINK THROUGH!
Anyways , I really wish you will get marry soon! because early marriage have advantage too like become mother early, grandmum early. U have the energy to achieve the things u want. That is the things when you are young! You have energy to achieve the things u want!
Good Luck! =p
Don't just into marriage, must plan lah!..why in a hurry???
Originally posted by seyKai:
your depth of love is proportional to the money spend on your wedding?no money less love?
WAT A WOMAN?
WRONG.
Read carefully again then tell me what you think I meant.
Don't be a silly guy and anyhow jump into your own conclusion. ![]()
your depth of love is proportional to the money spend on your wedding?no money less love?
WAT A WOMAN?
guys look for pretty and submissive wife
gals no. 1 priority for husband is financial security
reality check = you cannot survive on love alone
Why not discuss with her and come to a compromise? You'll marry her sooner than 3yrs from now and she'll accept a less extravagant wedding.
We got married about $6K booked a little hall in a hotel, did the reception, and gave a buffet lunch. most of the money was then spent on a beautiful holiday on a tropical clearwater resort.
I would recommend any Chinese couple to do this, and forget tradition. We've been married many years already and never regret doing it like this to this day. Parents are there to see you both happy, if not, why be parents then?
I have some friends who are 5-10 years apart happily married, girl older than guy. Does that answer your question? oh and some of them, the guy had no money also.
Love crosses all boundaries
love is blind, marriage is an eye opener. if shes willing to pay for everything. u can be a home stay husband and dad.
if you are really so keen on getting married then do without the extravagance.
just register and have a simple wedding dinner inviting only your relatives and very close friends. for your honeymoon go to somewhere near and cheap.
Originally posted by parn:
WRONG.Read carefully again then tell me what you think I meant.
Don't be a silly guy and anyhow jump into your own conclusion.
Please read wat u wrote
"If your proposal ring is already at least $30k-50k, then at least you will think thrice before you are feeling tempted to shout "DIVORCE" in your future married lives".
Did i interpreted wrongly?
so if yr wedding ring is only $300 ~ $500, so no consideration to shout "DIVORCE"
Please read wat u wrote"If your proposal ring is already at least $30k-50k, then at least you will think thrice before you are feeling tempted to shout "DIVORCE" in your future married lives".
Did i interpreted wrongly?
so if yr wedding ring is only $300 ~ $500, so no consideration to shout "DIVORCE"
So which parts tells you about the depth of love?
You came up with that silly term by yourself, and not me.
Go read your previous post.
You need to be so in love with your girlfriend before you pop out a $30k-$50k proposal ring right?
So would you be shouting "DIVORCE" easily? You would think thrice x 10000 times first.
If you wanna save on your proposal ring, then maybe you don't really think much of your girlfriend or this entire marriage compared to the guy who is willing to fork out the $30k-$50k proposal ring.
It shows everyone how much love you have for your girlfriend isn't it?
Because you only want to marry once in your lifetime.
Think first before you reply me next time. ![]()
Originally posted by parn:
So which parts tells you about the depth of love?You came up with that silly term by yourself, and not me.
Go read your previous post.
You need to be so in love with your girlfriend before you pop out a $30k-$50k proposal ring right?
So would you be shouting "DIVORCE" easily? You would think thrice x 10000 times first.
If you wanna save on your proposal ring, then maybe you don't really think much of your girlfriend or this entire marriage compared to the guy who is willing to fork out the $30k-$50k proposal ring.
It shows everyone how much love you have for your girlfriend isn't it?
Because you only want to marry once in your lifetime.
Think first before you reply me next time.
you wer saying - if the ring is $30k~$50k, the chances of 1 shouting divorce is lesser coz he ned to think thrice
so if 1 do not hav the $ to buy a $30k~$50k ring, the chances of shouting divorce is greater? so less thinking?
am i wrong?
you wer saying - if the ring is $30k~$50k, the chances of 1 shouting divorce is lesser coz he ned to think thriceso if 1 do not hav the $ to buy a $30k~$50k ring, the chances of shouting divorce is greater? so less thinking?
am i wrong?
But that doesn't means it's = depth of love.
FEAR of losing $30k-$50k if divorced, isn't related to depth of love at all.
It just means the couple are more likely to work together to heal the marriage if both parties had taken into account the cost of the proposal ring.
Guy: Tamade...I will lose $30k-$50k just like that if I dump this bitch....si buay sianzzz...I don't think I can afford to buy another expensive ring like this!!! @#$%^&* I think I better SURRENDER!
Girl: *Remembering the cost of the proposal ring* Oh ya.....he used to love me so much, which is why he bought me this $30k-$50k ring when he proposed. Maybe I won't find another guy who will love me this much. I should give him another chance. ![]()
OK? In my script, the story goes like this. Don't like the story I also cannot help you...hahahahaha!!!!
parn your analogy is ALL WRONG. the guy who could afford the 50k ring in the 1st place is rich and is a playboy and has a lot of money to throw around. what I gather will happen is that he will probably find another mistress, see a call girl and still maintain the wife. That's even worse right? People fall out like all the time. What is important is to hold on, even if you don't like the person anymore. Love and like are 2 different things and it still exists in marriage.
You can be married and totally dislike your spouse but still love them. Love is patient, love is longsuffering, love bears all things, love forgives, love is painful. Love is not pleasureable.
Like is pleasurable. Like is enjoyable, like gives you highs. "Puppy love" is not actually love but instant noodles - I like tom yum. Like is that 50k ring you just talked about. Women who go for such things are such shallow creatures.
Originally posted by spade1:parn your analogy is ALL WRONG. the guy who could afford the 50k ring in the 1st place is rich and is a playboy and has a lot of money to throw around. what I gather will happen is that he will probably find another mistress, see a call girl and still maintain the wife. That's even worse right? People fall out like all the time. What is important is to hold on, even if you don't like the person anymore. Love and like are 2 different things and it still exists in marriage.
You can be married and totally dislike your spouse but still love them. Love is patient, love is longsuffering, love bears all things, love forgives, love is painful. Love is not pleasureable.
Like is pleasurable. Like is enjoyable, like gives you highs. "Puppy love" is not actually love but instant noodles - I like tom yum. Like is that 50k ring you just talked about. Women who go for such things are such shallow creatures.
Playboy won't spend $50k on a proposal ring, they would spend more than $50k on a proposal ring and you got nothing to lose even if you have been played.
Girls who accept a $50k proposal ring are not necessary sluts like what you have described. Even if she is really a slut, then she must be a slut that is worthy of $50k that you really need to fork it out in order to marry her. You do understand that you have the option of saying "NO" and she can always lie down on the bed to the guy who is ever willing and waiting for you to say "NO".
Do you know how important it is for a girl to show-off her proposal ring to her friends, relatives and family?
Of course you don't know, you only know your stupid soccer league is life and death if you are forced to miss one stupid match.
So who is more shallow? Girls who take their marriage seriously or Guys who take their soccer league match seriously? ![]()
Just because you haven't met the girl of your dreams, doesn't means that she doesn't exist. It just means you haven't met her YET. ![]()
Originally posted by spade1:parn your analogy is ALL WRONG. the guy who could afford the 50k ring in the 1st place is rich and is a playboy and has a lot of money to throw around. what I gather will happen is that he will probably find another mistress, see a call girl and still maintain the wife. That's even worse right? People fall out like all the time. What is important is to hold on, even if you don't like the person anymore. Love and like are 2 different things and it still exists in marriage.
Tsk tsk. Poor kid, you have never loved a woman before, have ya ?
women who accept 50k rings are seriously shallow. men who buy them are also shallow. 50k rings are either torn from the bloody hands of a handless child in Africa on less than a meal a day, or the biggest con job by a manufacturering brand. They exist to dine on the pockets of fools who buy them regardless.
Most people don't know what true love is. True love is when your wife is disabled waist down and you have to push her around in a wheelchair everyday for the rest of your life, or even more so, feed her if she's a quadraplegic who doesn't believe in giving up. You give her a 50k ring also no use. She'd tell you, "if you really love me, save that money and help me pay for the hospital bills because of all the health complications I go through with this disability.
Your romanticised views of "love" don't count for anything and just fall short.
I hope you don't have to go through a car crash and be disabled for the rest of your life to find out if you want to show off that stupid useless ring of yours to your friends and relatives.
A legless wife from birth who is nutured and cherished by her husband who chose to marry her in this state everyday through all the rigours and grinds, is proof enough to ANYONE that he truly loves her. She doesn't have to have stupid 50k ring to showoff to announce to the whole world "oh how much my hubby loves me". That is simply pathetic and shows to you how limited your understanding of love is.
My friends in 3rd world countries earn 1K an entire year. It would be foolishness and financial suicide to them to borrow 50k to buy a ring for their wives, because they know that after that, they can't afford to support their wives. Again your understanding of love is so limited as to what true love is. True love is to count the cost of the lifetime, and then still decide to do it, true love is to ensure that the family and wife survives their entire lifespan without going into a deep black hole of financial trouble and pain.