Originally posted by iYief:But my older brother.
When he was around my age. He used to be going out all the time.
Even at night he also got friends to go out with.
But for me I am always doing nothing
Just like now I have nothing to do but to seek advice and helps from all of you.
I am stuck all alonely each weekends
try joining a club or a group - running, hiking, etc on weekends.
Originally posted by iYief:But my older brother.
When he was around my age. He used to be going out all the time.
Even at night he also got friends to go out with.
But for me I am always doing nothing
Just like now I have nothing to do but to seek advice and helps from all of you.
I am stuck all alonely each weekends
This is an issue of your own personality. Some people are just more outgoing than others. If you want to be like your bro, you will have to start changing yourself. All we can do is offer advice but if you are just going to sit there and read without action then theres little we can do to help.
Ok so what should I do when I am all alone during this weekend?
Originally posted by iYief:Ok so what should I do when I am all alone during this weekend?
Call your friends to go out together, just for a meal, movie or something. Take the initiative to maybe plan an outing with your friends etc.
Do not just sit on your butt and wait for people to ask you out. Sometimes you yourself need to have initiative if you want things to happen.
Another alternative is to make new friends, take part in CC actvities or find something to do that can get you to move out of your comfort zone and not sit in front of the comp all day.
* If you just whine and don't fo anything, don't expect us to keep offering help. Go see the post by heartbroken/meeposlime etc. Someone who ask for help, don't listen and ends up being condemn by us and not getting any help.
Originally posted by iYief:Ok so what should I do when I am all alone during this weekend?
why don't you organise something - a meal or even coffee? call up friends, cousins, neighbours
Originally posted by iYief:
My 4x100m team is not good at all.
My team of 4 is totally crap, while my other class team is the best runners withnin the class
I dont even get a choice for which team I want to go
I am stuck with the lousy group and as if like we are just going there to lose
I don't even think i want someone who thinks like you on my team no matter how much my team sucks.
Originally posted by oldbreadstinks:I don't even think i want someone who thinks like you on my team no matter how much my team sucks.
Agreed. With such a mindset, not only would iYief lose the race (which is ok), but he would learn nothing from it (not ok), and his team make complete fools of themselves (perfectly normal for a sillyporean).
The only person who can look down on you in this world is yourself. If you think yourself as a nerd, then you really are a nerd, and deserve to be one because you allow yourself to act like one.
Why let others decide and determine who you should be and be labelled? Worse still to accept such labels and believe it to be true?
You are a precious human being, born equal, with full capacity to be who you want to be in life, to destroy or to create. Your fate is in your own hands.
If you want to be a problem solver, study maths for it is not just about remembering formulas, but the discipline and methodology of using several different approaches to get an answer.
If you want to understand life, study the great classics of our ancestors of different disciplines, both fiction and non-fiction works, for it will shape up your mind to understand our complex world better.
If you want to excel in sports, -ask, seek and find out how sportspersons achieve excellence - their diet, their training regimes, their mental discipline, their techniques.
All is within your grasp, if you are willing to GO find it. Sitting around and moaning will get you nowhere. Life is never easy, but in its difficulties lies its beauty, for the sense of achievement when you find the solution to your problems and truimph over difficulties that crippled others.
With your current mentality, you must be prepared that you will lose your 400m run, because in your mind, you had already given up.
With your current mentality, your 400m rely team had already lost, because you believe other teams are better, yet had done nothing to prepare you and your team to be better.
With your current mentality, you deserve to be alone, for your idea of friendship is to be entertained by your friends who have lives of their own, when you could have taken up on the ideals of friendships to provide companionship instead, that will entice others to you.
With your current mentality, you deserve to be a fashion disaster, because you think you are one, when in our hot tropical climate, loose fitting clothings are the most suitable and to be yourself, so long as you are clean and tidy.
All is not lost, if you are prepared to re-tune your mentality and be yourself, not determine by others, so long as what you do, do not harm or hurt others.
As you are young, and may not be sure who you want to be, then take on a role model, someone whom you think is capable of inspiring you to achieve better in life. Study his works and try to adopt his methods used to achieve success.
Ok thanks.
I think i understand the meaning of life already!
I will work hard for myself
Thanks allllll ! :D
Originally posted by iYief:Ok thanks.
I think i understand the meaning of life already!
I will work hard for myself
Thanks allllll ! :D
Thanks for you email, but i think a reply here would be better, for there may be others who share similar predicaments. While i do not have the solutions to everything, but i do believe i can share an insight that might be considered by many others on the course to take.
Singapore is a nation of odd beaters, and had never allowed the odds to beat them. This is a fact that can be obtained from our history, of our determined forefathers who build up our country to what it is today.
Being their successive generations, we too must do the same and have to the courage to face up any challenge, not shy away from them, by giving it our best and all.
It doesnt matter if we flounder or fail, for only by attempting our best will we be able to know our own level, where we stand and how much more do we need to improve.
It is better than to not try, and never knowing what mettle you are made of, or worse still, to delude yourself into thinking you can be better if you wanted to try, but just didnt want to do so, inflating your own ego which will only be a danger to yourself and others.
My suggestion is:- go for the run and do your best, let no one distract you and be focussed. Do remember to take care of your heath and physical condition as well, for no matter what, it is only a race, not a do or die matter like what our forefathers faced. Try to inspire your team for the relay run, and ask your coach for help in techniques and physical conditioning.
It may be too late, but there is always a next year. But most critical of all is, enjoy the race. So long as you have done your best, you should have no worries of being a failure.
No one is a failure if they had done their best, and should never fear the jeers or taunts of those who had never even tried. Failing today does not mean you will fail tomorrow, for having tried, you will know where you need to improve and excel to be better.
I really tried my best to be more outgoing and to make more friends.
But then friends just still doesnt like me
I am always all alone by myself
watch more jacky wu's variety shows, increase ur humorous level.
train urself, like going for run everyday. whining abt how u will lose, u will stil lose. just go n run. test n push urself.
buy new clothes la. dun wear like an ah pek when u're just 15.
when i was 15, sibeh busy one.
wkends go drinking after work, wkdays go shopping after school..
Originally posted by iYief:I really tried my best to be more outgoing and to make more friends.
But then friends just still doesnt like me
I am always all alone by myself
If you can find someone you feel you can talk to, maybe ask him to tell you truthfully what it is about yourself that they dislike. We do not know you so we can't really know whats the problem with you so its easier to directly ask them and from there try to change yourself.
I went for my heats already.
My 4x100m team did not managed to qualify but I managed to qualify for my individual 400m event.
Sometimes I dont get it why no people cheered for me and then my opponents having so many people cheering for them. Especially girls shouting out for them.
What does this prove sia?
posting cats to cheer people up.

Originally posted by iYief:I went for my heats already.
My 4x100m team did not managed to qualify but I managed to qualify for my individual 400m event.
Sometimes I dont get it why no people cheered for me and then my opponents having so many people cheering for them. Especially girls shouting out for them.
What does this prove sia?
Do not compare yourself with others. Just do your best and try to win for yourself.
Popularity is not something u can gain overnight. Some people generally are more charismatic and popular, having lots of friends etc. Don't bother to be envy/jealous of them but look into yourself and ask yourself what you can do to be like them.
Originally posted by skythewood:problem 1. Just a race. go and try your best.
problem 2. Spend your time training to run faster.
problem 3. find new friends.
Yes I did qualify without anyone cheering me on.
But that feeling is simply ...
Don't everyone wish that they could have people cheering them on?
Why could not I be the same?
Even if I did not manage to qualify, I still have some supporters.
Am I really that unlovable, unfriendly and worthless?
Whenever I meet my bunch of popular friends.
I saw their phone.
They sms to many girls.
Unlike me. Totally not even one girl :(
Am I really out-dated compared to them?
Originally posted by iYief:Yes I did qualify without anyone cheering me on.
But that feeling is simply ...
Don't everyone wish that they could have people cheering them on?
Why could not I be the same?
Even if I did not manage to qualify, I still have some supporters.
Am I really that unlovable, unfriendly and worthless?
Whenever I meet my bunch of popular friends.
I saw their phone.
They sms to many girls.
Unlike me. Totally not even one girl :(
Am I really out-dated compared to them?
Obviously having people to cheer you on is bettter than not having but if you are not popular, you cannot force and expect people to do that. You need take time to change yourself and know more friends. It doesn't happen overnight so you can't just sit there and expect results.
Don't bother being jealous, being jealous won't bring you more friends etc. You need to work towards the target and not whine because you have none.
Cheering is a want not need, besides u already qualified, that shows how good u already are, have some confidence in urself.
I dont know why u cant click with ur friends in sch, as far as im concerned, the easiest way to click is through online games. Do you play DotA? I would say that thats the easiest way to click among guys and even girls nowadays, u can just make a comment on how good this so and so hero is and who might be better, what items to make for that particular hero etc, u will be surprised at the response u'll get. Just be natural when u speak to them and try to laugh and smile more often, it'll make u look more approachable, but dont fake it, Make casual comments that you wont feel embarrased should everyone ignore u like: "Wth is wrong with the weather nowadays, so hot" Since Its not a question so u are not expecting an answer, but it'll be a bonus if anyone gives any comments, and u can just continue from there with answers etc like "Ya loh, i bathe 3 times more than usual nowadays"
As for friends, A few good close friends that u can confide ur problems with,hang out with is better than having lots of friends that u dont even remember where or how did u know them.
Learn to take things slowly, dont expect everything to change in a few days.
Well I understand my problems now.
I think I must talking more to friends.
Thanks wee! I tried it and it worked! Wahaha!
But now my exams are coming.
Next thursday I have my math test.
My worst fear
I had been getting one digit score for all my tests since secondary one for math.
I am afraid I cant do well.
Actually I dont even know any simple algebra equations.
How now? Would I stil be in time to study?
Originally posted by iYief:Well I understand my problems now.
I think I must talking more to friends.
Thanks wee! I tried it and it worked! Wahaha!
But now my exams are coming.
Next thursday I have my math test.
My worst fear
I had been getting one digit score for all my tests since secondary one for math.
I am afraid I cant do well.
Actually I dont even know any simple algebra equations.
How now? Would I stil be in time to study?
Thats rather late to start thinking only now...
Check your pm
WTH!.
I tried being friendly and talking more to my friends.
I asked them out and we kind of "party" around.
Then suddenly got another bunch of girls come.
Those girls are in my school.
But I am still quite a stranger to them so I never really talk to them. Then this friend of mine, known to spread rumours and talk bad about others.
He kept talking to the girls and saying bad things about me.
He said that I flirt with girls! I did not and he is the one. But the girls still go along with him.
I believe he will continue when schooldays open.
Why must someone like him be living in the world?!