Originally posted by 86jl:hi xtreyier and mumee, thx for all the great encouragement . i have been thinkin alot this past 1 wk about my future and etc.. i have slowly accept the fact that i will be wheelchair bound and legless frm now onwards... slowly gettin used to wearin fake legs, started to go for counselling and next wk i will go to the handicapped association and join the assoication..
but yest i juz received a bad news frm the doc again.. doc say with the serious spine and nerve damage that i suffered, i might not recover any strength back in upper body but instead there is a 95% chance that i may be fully paralysed frm neck down in the next half a yr... cry :'(
Sorry that you had to bear such news.
But hey, it aint the end yet. Everyday, science and technology is advancing at phenomenal speeds. While it may not be tomorrow that mankind will make a breakthrough, but one day soon, that breakthrough will eventually come.
Have a little more faith in humanity. There is hope. In the meantime, take good care of yourself, and keep yourself motivated with things that can make you happy or bring a cheer. Dwelling on what had happened will only make one suffer more.
Take courage, buddy, mankind aint gonna let you down. Billions of dollars are spent on research for breakthroughs. You, with your educated mind, can also assist in it. Get well soon! ![]()
hai just when i tot everything is done, doc gave me another piece of bad news... :( life is really so sucky la nw... how am i goin to tahan if i really paralysed frm neck down 6 mths frm nw...i will be unable to do anyting frm then on le...
do u believe in law of attraction?
Think positive, be positive. I think that you are very strong le... to have to overcome these things... mmm... i believe tt if u continue to do more therapies and counselling... i think ur condition will improve de.... jiayou^^
i feel like givin up on therapies le... is nt even helpin lor.. dun feel like wastin my time le... rather spend my time properly nw try to do tings i like b4 i paralysed neck down... hope to travel oso but doc say i nt in the state to go.. doc say my spinal and nerve damaged is beyond repair and cure le... they did all they can le
Originally posted by 86jl:i feel like givin up on therapies le... is nt even helpin lor.. dun feel like wastin my time le... rather spend my time properly nw try to do tings i like b4 i paralysed neck down... hope to travel oso but doc say i nt in the state to go.. doc say my spinal and nerve damaged is beyond repair and cure le... they did all they can le
Dont give up on therapies. Of course, do the things you want. Have you asked for a second opinion or seek international specialists for help? I am sure the doctors can recommend.
how u know its not helping? you should hang on and just try... ><I jiayou!!!
but do therapies so long le still no effect la.. my specialists have help me ask ard le and they doin my best to help me... but all come to same conclusion, tt my spinal and nerve damage beyond repair.. i will slowly lose feelings frm now on until i become fully paralysed frm neck down.. my specialist is a senior doc frm the hosp de.. so i trust him
No words from me can commiserate the loss and the reality you feel now. For once, me an eternal optimist, is stumped.
All I can say is that science and technology is advancing at a rapid rate, with generations improving upon previous knowledge. Our genetic codes and its specific functions are discovered almost on a daily basis, such biochemical switches - Cdk5 which could trigger nerve cells to repair damaged DNA.
There are even new drugs for nerve damage. It cannot be the end. You are a precious human life. As long as you dont give up, humanity is not gonna give up on you. Take care, buddy.
Originally posted by 86jl:but do therapies so long le still no effect la.. my specialists have help me ask ard le and they doin my best to help me... but all come to same conclusion, tt my spinal and nerve damage beyond repair.. i will slowly lose feelings frm now on until i become fully paralysed frm neck down.. my specialist is a senior doc frm the hosp de.. so i trust him
i agree with xtreyier....i am also stumped liao... i really hope that you will still look at things positively ... if theres anything , u can post it here... or just pm us.... im sure people here will be willing to help out etc...
I guess most of us here have not much experience or advice to offer at this stage including myself.
Do not give up on therapy, the docts said a 95% chance of paralysis but theres still that 5% chance of hope. Even though the chance is low, do not give up on yourself. Miracles do happen and if you have a strong willpower, you might just be that 5%. Give up now and nothing can be done so don't give up fighting.
The brain is still the most powerful part of the body and as long as its still working, you can still do things. There are people who use their head to type on the keyboard and can still do things so don't give up on life, it is precious and being alive is a fortune.
yeah~~~~ jia you man !!!~~~ sgforumers support you !!~ ^^
i may be stoppin physio soon le... i losing feelings in upper body veri fast,cant really control my upper body movement le.. no strength to even grip or hold a pen... even typing oso must ask someone to help me... :(
Originally posted by 86jl:i may be stoppin physio soon le... i losing feelings in upper body veri fast,cant really control my upper body movement le.. no strength to even grip or hold a pen... even typing oso must ask someone to help me... :(
Don't give up, the human's willpower can do miracles at times. Once you given up, all is lost...
Originally posted by 86jl:i may be stoppin physio soon le... i losing feelings in upper body veri fast,cant really control my upper body movement le.. no strength to even grip or hold a pen... even typing oso must ask someone to help me... :(
Don't think too much. Rest your mind. There is nothing that you can resolve now. Things had gotten beyond your control. When in such a situation, best sit back and be a passenger, relax.
Just don't give up hope yet. As Dkcx has said, there is still a 5% chance. Coupled with our science advances, one day soon illness such as yours can be remedied. Till that day, relax and accept help offered by your family members, relatives or friends. Yours is still a precious human life.
Take care, buddy.
It is up to you, but if you give now, any chances of recovery will immediately fall to zero.
If it is because of money concerns, then I cannot blame you.
But if that is not the case, why are you giving up when those around you are not? If someone is willing to type all these out for you, that means he/she wants you to read the encouragements which the people here will give you, in hope that you will change your mind.
Do think about it. If you were to not give yourself a chance now, you would regret it later having to burden your parents, because you did not try all you could when you have the chance.
If can, do read this book called the Butterfly and the Diving Bell...it's a true story written by a man who used to be the editor for the Elle magazine in French...then one day he suffered a stroke and was paralysed...can only move one of his eyes if I recalled correctly. But he went on to write this book by communicating to his nurse/aide through the blinking of his eye...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Diving_Bell_and_the_Butterfly
hi, how is everyone here? hope all is ok... btw i am ts sister, helpin my bro to type because he is nw fully paralysed neck down
omg... how bad is it?
Originally posted by Cutewolf89:omg... how bad is it?
wat u mean by how bad is it? my bro totally cant move any part of his body from the neck down
Originally posted by 86jl:
wat u mean by how bad is it? my bro totally cant move any part of his body from the neck down
I mean, first it was the legs. How did it paralyse the whole body? Complications?
Persevere. Life is a test. It's not a fair test for everyone, but it's still something your bro can conquer.
Originally posted by Cutewolf89:
I mean, first it was the legs. How did it paralyse the whole body? Complications?Persevere. Life is a test. It's not a fair test for everyone, but it's still something your bro can conquer.
yaya sort of complications and oso because his spine and nerves are badly damaged by the accident, so doc say it was juz a matter of time my bro is fully paralysed
n there was nothing tat modern technology could do to save him?
Don't hijack.Let your bother speak out his emotion here through you.
Hi, don't give up on the treatment.
The rehabilitation and physiotherapy will help to maximise their potential, or help them get used to life in a wheelchair, and to help teach techniques which make everyday life easier.
There are forums like this: http://www.apparelyzed.com/forums/. Hope it might help to provide some support. I also read that it is still possible to get involved in some sports.
I believe the bodies and mind have amazing abilities to heal. :)
Originally posted by mumee:Hi, don't give up on the treatment.
The rehabilitation and physiotherapy will help to maximise their potential, or help them get used to life in a wheelchair, and to help teach techniques which make everyday life easier.
There are forums like this: http://www.apparelyzed.com/forums/. Hope it might help to provide some support. I also read that it is still possible to get involved in some sports.
I believe the bodies and mind have amazing abilities to heal. :)
Hi, thanks for the link.. i will go read them.. i still not givin up on treatment yet... but at the moment, i am unable to feel anyting frm my neck down... even neck i oso cant turn it... onli able to move my eyes and mouth.. doc say tings not lookin gd for me in terms of regaining feeling..