hi sorry everyone.. was bz again.. btw my bro transferred to normal ward le
Originally posted by 86jl:hi sorry everyone.. was bz again.. btw my bro transferred to normal ward le
lol, i thought why u so long never post here. ![]()
so, how's your bro now? same as before he went intensive care ward?
also, how come never come home yet? he still need some time under observation? ![]()
all the best to him in the meantime and we wish him a happy national day too (although the NDP show really sucks). ![]()
Originally posted by 86jl:my bro still haben get bck to b4 he went intensive care but at least he is feelin beta nw.. doc still wan to keep him under observation for few more days
happy national day
i see......hope he can get out of the hospital soon.
so, what does he do in the hospital daily? is it sleep most of the time or u guys visit him and talk to him, or he watch TV etc?
yup we oso hope can bring him home soon... been weeks le... most of the time is slp then we talk to him when awake.. we oso try to position him so he can watch tv cos he cant sit up.. seein so many tubes attached to my bro i feel sick at times... the feeding tube aand ventilator is smth tt cant be removed
Originally posted by 86jl:yup we oso hope can bring him home soon... been weeks le... most of the time is slp then we talk to him when awake.. we oso try to position him so he can watch tv cos he cant sit up.. seein so many tubes attached to my bro i feel sick at times... the feeding tube aand ventilator is smth tt cant be removed
yeah, those tubes are just horrible and when i see them, i just feel like using my hand to pull them off cos' it's very uncomfortable for people (i last time have 1 tube down my throat and it's already very crappy).
btw, the feeding tube and ventilator forever cannot be removed? maybe your parents got seek other opinion? like maybe some sort of portable and a lot more modern version of the tube or something? like last time, hearing aid is very big, must attached to the ear, but now, hearing aid devices are only less than 0.5 cm and can be fit inside the ear.
just an example.
I hope he will get better and better soon.
Originally posted by Nikar7:yeah, those tubes are just horrible and when i see them, i just feel like using my hand to pull them off cos' it's very uncomfortable for people (i last time have 1 tube down my throat and it's already very crappy).
btw, the feeding tube and ventilator forever cannot be removed? maybe your parents got seek other opinion? like maybe some sort of portable and a lot more modern version of the tube or something? like last time, hearing aid is very big, must attached to the ear, but now, hearing aid devices are only less than 0.5 cm and can be fit inside the ear.
just an example.
the feeding tube and ventilator forever wun be able to remove.. my parents ask ard le... till nw tis is the best le... no other kind le... is common among the patients who are paralysed neck down onwards.. hai.. can see my bro is sufferin everyday but he is unable to do anyting
Dont worry....this is initial period...maybe tougher now....
Later I hope he will improve....
Originally posted by 86jl:the feeding tube and ventilator forever wun be able to remove.. my parents ask ard le... till nw tis is the best le... no other kind le... is common among the patients who are paralysed neck down onwards.. hai.. can see my bro is sufferin everyday but he is unable to do anyting
don't worry lah, as meat bao says, initial period will be tough but as they say, time heals all wounds. 10 - 15 yrs later, u see him will be like immune liao, cos' used to it.
now most important thing is to get out of the hospital and go home, which we all here hope will happen soon! sian ah!!!!!! tomorrow need to go work liao.......holiday so fast end. ![]()
yup i oso hope my bro can be discharged this wk.. i miss my bro being at home
believe your bro will be discharged soon since oredi transferred to norm ward. jia you
yea... accordin to doc today.. most likely my bro can be discharged this thur le.. latest fri
Originally posted by 86jl:yea... accordin to doc today.. most likely my bro can be discharged this thur le.. latest fri
AWESOME!!!!!!
yea.. my bro is back home finally after a long stay in hosp.. :) doc told us we must be veri careful and take extra care of him because his immune system still qite weak and his spine still quite "fragile" ..
Originally posted by 86jl:yea.. my bro is back home finally after a long stay in hosp.. :) doc told us we must be veri careful and take extra care of him because his immune system still qite weak and his spine still quite "fragile" ..
yeah, then it's better to draw up a schedule of who take care of him when and so on. :)
hope to see him on SGF soon. ![]()
yup we had discussed about it on when should take care of my bro and etc...doc wun allow my bro to fully sit up anymore oso because of his spine condition, at most juz lean up abit... feel so pain for my bro and breaks our hearts.. my bro can just onli lie down there and unable to do anyting and even his speech oso abit affected
Originally posted by 86jl:yup we had discussed about it on when should take care of my bro and etc...doc wun allow my bro to fully sit up anymore oso because of his spine condition, at most juz lean up abit... feel so pain for my bro and breaks our hearts.. my bro can just onli lie down there and unable to do anyting and even his speech oso abit affected
don't worry lah.....maybe like 1 - 2 years later, can sit up?
also, i thought there's those spine attachments or devices to support the spine so that he can sit up. maybe you can ask doctor for those. Not sure if your current doc is a well-versed specialist, but a lot of docs in NUH, SGH, TTS and mostly just interns and freshies who came out of university.
In future, when you can afford it, you can probably find those old professor types who can very possibly provide better solutions. It's not end of the road yet.
also, for all we know, your bro may be able to eventually lean up more and more.
as for speech slurred, it's quite common for patients whose spinal cord get damaged.
even those whose brain, or nose or inner ear got operations also will have risk of slurred speech due to the nerves all connect to brain.
all the best and see him soon on SGF! ![]()
oh those spine attachment... doc got mentioned b4... his doc right now is 1 of the top doc in the hosp due to my bro condition... they wun let a junior to be in charge... just that currently my bro condition is not in a veri stable state yet and alot of fractures, so doc say best is to let my bro lie down more... anyway he wun be able to sit up and stay by himself, he will req something to hold him there.
hope the next few yrs will get beta.. his speech is smth that we still not sure whether can improve... because of the injury to his c2 area, it affected almost everything, even facial expression he also cant control much so we just have to cope ba i guess..
we try to make and give my bro the best we can
sad to know ur bro in such a condition
maybe can try spiritual healing,
lighthouse is well known for its miracle
healing~
no harm in trying~~
hope ur bro will recover soon~
Originally posted by 86jl:oh those spine attachment... doc got mentioned b4... his doc right now is 1 of the top doc in the hosp due to my bro condition... they wun let a junior to be in charge... just that currently my bro condition is not in a veri stable state yet and alot of fractures, so doc say best is to let my bro lie down more... anyway he wun be able to sit up and stay by himself, he will req something to hold him there.
hope the next few yrs will get beta.. his speech is smth that we still not sure whether can improve... because of the injury to his c2 area, it affected almost everything, even facial expression he also cant control much so we just have to cope ba i guess..
we try to make and give my bro the best we can
ha, good to hear that the doc is one of the best, otherwise really we will beat the sh** out of him if he screws up. at least, from my personal experience, i've no patience for junior docs.
hope he get better soon! a lot of times, have to let time slowly heal the wounds and the heart! ![]()
my bro is slowly recovering and great to see him at home instead of hosp... i try to get him online tml if he is feeling beta and tok to you all
hi everyone... i am back.. sorry was missin for so long and my sis had to update for me.. how is everyone... i cant chat long cos i still nt feelin gd
Good to see you back, rest well and don't worry, this is a forum so you can always check back later and no need stay here for long to wait for replies.
Originally posted by 86jl:hi everyone... i am back.. sorry was missin for so long and my sis had to update for me.. how is everyone... i cant chat long cos i still nt feelin gd
hey, good to see u finally reply! been so long wor! ![]()
u feel any pain now? anyway, be extra careful for at least the next few weeks cos' if u get infection again, god knows what will happen. ![]()
are u watching TV now? maybe u could listen to FM radio (95.8 FM, 87.2 FM etc.) if you haven't already. Keeps you busy and updates you of things around you. ![]()
take care! for the rest of us, well, we really sian......tomorrow Monday liao. ![]()