i cant feel any pain.. in fact i cant feel anyting frm my neck down ar... i nt watchin tv or listenin to radio.. juz surfing the net, goin to slp soon.. tired... i can onli depend on ppl nw to be careful tho..
jiayou for the new wk for everyone
Originally posted by 86jl:i cant feel any pain.. in fact i cant feel anyting frm my neck down ar... i nt watchin tv or listenin to radio.. juz surfing the net, goin to slp soon.. tired... i can onli depend on ppl nw to be careful tho..
may I know details of the accident you were involved in?
I am very sorry for what happened to you. take heart and do not despair. you have insurance?
Originally posted by 86jl:i cant feel any pain.. in fact i cant feel anyting frm my neck down ar... i nt watchin tv or listenin to radio.. juz surfing the net, goin to slp soon.. tired... i can onli depend on ppl nw to be careful tho..
hi, glad to see you post! ![]()
i assume your sister use the computer to surf the net for you and you direct her to which webpage you wanna see etc.? ![]()
maybe you can check out the Chit Chat forum if you haven't already. Lots of things and replies to see. ![]()
btw, what kind of food do you eat now? porridge? marcoroni u can eat?
maybe if got time, i help u think of things for you to do so that life will become more meaningful. I'm sure there's something u can do once you get better.
btw, u shouldn't give up, though. If you've the time, you could try searching on the web to find possible cures and devices. Although your doctor is helpless, well, you never know. Maybe some guy or indie company in the US has come up with devices etc to help your case and your doctor isn't aware. Searching on the web for such stuff could even let you get to know people in other countries who are in the same situation as you.
all i can say is: JIA YOU!!!!!
you will get better!!!!!!
Originally posted by TheMissus:may I know details of the accident you were involved in?
I am very sorry for what happened to you. take heart and do not despair. you have insurance?
er-hem......it's been asked several times earlier in this thread and it's due to car accident.
let's not dig up the unhappy past and instead, look to the future.
we humans must live in the present and the future, not the past.
i've very sad and unhappy memories of the past but i sealed them away in my heart too.
Originally posted by Nikar7:maybe if got time, i help u think of things for you to do so that life will become more meaningful. I'm sure there's something u can do once you get better.
Wow, i thought u were the 1 who need people help u find something to do some months back. Now you can start offering this 'service' already ah :p
Originally posted by dkcx:Wow, i thought u were the 1 who need people help u find something to do some months back. Now you can start offering this 'service' already ah :p
aiyah, that was some time ago (2 months = very long time for me), but now i found what i wanted to do, and i feel more like a real man with two big real balls ready to have sex with any girl now, although my outer self is still quite effeminate, something which cannot be change (my definition of effeminate = not ah-kua, but kinda soft and mild-mannered that type).
Originally posted by Nikar7:aiyah, that was some time ago (2 months = very long time for me), but now i found what i wanted to do, and i feel more like a real man with two big real balls ready to have sex with any girl now, although my outer self is still quite effeminate, something which cannot be change (my definition of effeminate = not ah-kua, but kinda soft and mild-mannered that type).
haha, thats good news as well. Hopefully we won't see history repeat itself anytime in the future
I just read through the whole thread. Hope TS and his family remain strong!
Originally posted by Nikar7:hi, glad to see you post!
i assume your sister use the computer to surf the net for you and you direct her to which webpage you wanna see etc.?
maybe you can check out the Chit Chat forum if you haven't already. Lots of things and replies to see.
btw, what kind of food do you eat now? porridge? marcoroni u can eat?
maybe if got time, i help u think of things for you to do so that life will become more meaningful. I'm sure there's something u can do once you get better.
btw, u shouldn't give up, though. If you've the time, you could try searching on the web to find possible cures and devices. Although your doctor is helpless, well, you never know. Maybe some guy or indie company in the US has come up with devices etc to help your case and your doctor isn't aware. Searching on the web for such stuff could even let you get to know people in other countries who are in the same situation as you.
all i can say is: JIA YOU!!!!!
you will get better!!!!!!
hi yup my sis is helpin me to surf while i direct her.. checking ard the forums etc..
the food that i am able to eat are quite limited such as porridge or other liquid like food but it has to be smashed up into veri tiny bits so that it is easy to pour thru the feedin tube that is inserted thru my nose..i can eat marcoroni but it has to be smashed up oso..
ok thx for helping me to think.. my sis and relatives have also been trying to help search if there is any possible cures online but currently there is none
Originally posted by 86jl:hi yup my sis is helpin me to surf while i direct her.. checking ard the forums etc..
the food that i am able to eat are quite limited such as porridge or other liquid like food but it has to be smashed up into veri tiny bits so that it is easy to pour thru the feedin tube that is inserted thru my nose..i can eat marcoroni but it has to be smashed up oso..
ok thx for helping me to think.. my sis and relatives have also been trying to help search if there is any possible cures online but currently there is none
good day!
u don't happen to know the name of your condition? not sure if there's any name for such paralysis from the neck down, but if yes, maybe u can post the name here and we all can help you search and ask around.
Many hands doing the same job is often better than none.
Also, pls don't get angry, but I personally feel the doctor's idea of putting a tube down your throat forever in order to eat food is atrocious and must be fixed.
I understand it's a very uncomfortable feeling.
Maybe not the doctor's fault, but it's technology and science's fault.
since feeding tube is inserted through the nose and not the mouth, i assume u can't taste sweet stuff due to not using tongue?
i was thinking of making marcoroni salad sometime for you in future, but i need to understand better first. ![]()
take care!
my main condition is complete c-2 paralysis altho there is also other fractures in my spine..
i wun get angry la...cos is nth that can be done, the doc is forced to put the tube due to my condition.. i cant taste any stuff because the food is goin thru my nose so i tink most of my food is plain de..
erm i am unable to eat any solid food so i tink marcoroni salad is hard as i assume is nt liquid and nt smashed up to veri tiny bits and with the sauces i tink quite hard for me to eat... it wun go down the feedin tube i guess
Originally posted by 86jl:my main condition is complete c-2 paralysis altho there is also other fractures in my spine..
i wun get angry la...cos is nth that can be done, the doc is forced to put the tube due to my condition.. i cant taste any stuff because the food is goin thru my nose so i tink most of my food is plain de..
erm i am unable to eat any solid food so i tink marcoroni salad is hard as i assume is nt liquid and nt smashed up to veri tiny bits and with the sauces i tink quite hard for me to eat... it wun go down the feedin tube i guess
i see.......then in this case, i think the salad will be too big for you to go down the nose.
btw, don't get disheartened. according to wikipedia:
---------------------------------------------
Scientists are investigating many promising avenues of treatment for spinal cord injury. Thousands of articles in the medical literature describe work, mostly in animal models, aimed at reducing the paralyzing effect of injury to the spinal cord and promoting regrowth of functional nerve fibers. Despite the devastating effects of the condition, commercial funding for spinal cord cure research is limited, owing primarily to the small size of the population of potential beneficiaries. Despite this, a number of experimental treatments have reached controlled human trials. This research adds considerable new information relevant to spinal cord injury treatment.
Advances in the science of spinal cord injury treatment are newsworthy, and considerable media attention is drawn towards new developments. Aside from the use of methylprednisolone, none of these developments have reached even limited use in the clinical care of human spinal cord injury. Around the world, proprietary centers offering stem cell transplants and treatment with neuroregenerative substances are fueled by glowing testimonial reports of neurological improvement. Independent validation of the results of these treatments is lacking.[6] However, in January 2009, the Geron Corporation received FDA clearance to begin human safety testing of its stem cell treatment candidate, GRNOPC1, on newly injured patients with complete thoracic injury.[7] A diverse array of other treatments are being researched, including biomaterial solutions,[8] cell replacement therapies, and electronic stimulative devices.
---------------------------------------------
also, have you asked your doc about "Phrenic Nerve Pacing"?
check this out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phrenic_nerve_pacing ![]()
nikar, if u wan me to try the salad, u will have to smash everything into tiny little bits and make it veri liquid like then i can eat it.. but 1 ting i wan to say is i wun be able to taste any food so i wun be able to comment whether is nice or not nice tho.. ok i ask my sis to check out tt nerve pacing on wiki 1st
actually veri simple all my food that i have to eat will need to be blended into liquid before i can "eat".
Do you like reading or writing?
Sometimes having a lot of time can enable one to think a lot of new things.....
If I were you I think I will write a book or a screenplay scenario....
:)
Originally posted by Meat Bao:Do you like reading or writing?
Sometimes having a lot of time can enable one to think a lot of new things.....
If I were you I think I will write a book or a screenplay scenario....
:)
dude, our friend is unable to move his hand or sit up, how is he gonna write books?
hey 86jl, how are u today? btw, do u have any name other than "86jl" that we can address you? like maybe tom or joseph or something? ![]()
anyway, although you're lying in bed now, i think life is quite tranquil and peaceful for you, which is good. at least you don't have to face monsters and animals at work.
look at me: tomorrow when i go to work, i'm going to be ****ed by my bosses really badly.
somebody pls collect my corpse tomorrow.
take care and good night!
hi mornin... i cant write and i dun like reading oso
btw my name is jeremy so you all can call me by that... yup my life is veri peaceful now with 24hrs in bed... but i rather i am able to move about than unable to feel anything frm neck down totally... even breathing and eatin i also cant be like a normal person :(
Originally posted by 86jl:hi mornin... i cant write and i dun like reading oso
btw my name is jeremy so you all can call me by that... yup my life is veri peaceful now with 24hrs in bed... but i rather i am able to move about than unable to feel anything frm neck down totally... even breathing and eatin i also cant be like a normal person :(
don't worry lah, i'm sure the breathin and eating will get be quite used to it for you soon once you "get the hang" of it.
if you don't like to read or write, how about chasing TV programs? got plenty of stuff to watch (not even counting DVDs and anime shows), and you can buy audio stories to listen to (meaning, storybooks that comes in the form of MP3 format where u can lie on bed and enjoy).
How's that!!!! ![]()
yea i tink i will get used to it soon cos i got no other choice ma.. cant taste any food frm nw on...
yup everyday i either watchin tv, listen to music or surf net.. tt''s all
http://thesitethatbreathes.blogspot.com/2009/01/life-as-quad-i-basics.html
Jeremy or 86ji :), you can read this blog, about a person who suffered from c2 spinal dislocation and his journey through treatments
Hope you get better with time
hi bigthumbfoot.. thx for the link.. i will slowly read it... tt person is quite lucky that she suffered an incomplete injury so she still able to move abit... but not for my case cos mine is complete injury... totally unable to move.. but still thx for it
Originally posted by 86jl:yea i tink i will get used to it soon cos i got no other choice ma.. cant taste any food frm nw on...
yup everyday i either watchin tv, listen to music or surf net.. tt''s all
ha, don't be sad, dude! TV can be very interesting and u can learn a lot too.
like that 8:30 PM show today hosted by Chew Chor Meng who traces the history of pig organ soup, and he interviews the hawker vendors in Singapore and then he went to Teochew province in china to talk with the chefs and vendors there to find out the origins.
that's something new for me today. ![]()
not sure if you're chasing any drama or anime series now, but if you're bored, why not? ![]()
also, will you be having follow-up treatments to gradually make your condition better?
maybe not fully-healed, but maybe at least able to sit up very slightly etc? ![]()