Do not expect things to happen for you.
You got to go get it.
When you did not get your inheritance automatically. What should you do?
Go Go Go
To the lawyers, MP, CC, friends, ask, ask ask how to get legal aid, and FIGHT for what belongs to you.
As son, wife you are entitled to something even when there is a will giving it all to someone else. A lawyer is the best person to argue your case. Not us.
tats why uh...dun follow ur father footsteps...think rich can anyhow have sex with other women.....
I don't know how effective it is but.. it's a place to start.
Click on this ...Singapore Legal Aid Bureau
Please read through the eligibility part.
I have a suspicion your father died without a will.. that is why your step brother had to forcibly remove you and your family from the house.
If your step brother is not the biological son and the woman is not legally married to your father.. he has absolutely NO rights to the house you lived in for 13 years.
If I remember correctly.. you are only 16. So your father only left you 3 years ago.
I think your step brother is bullying you and your family.
If your father died without a will , then you have to read the Intestate Succession Act. Which you and your sister the childrens have valid claims on his assets and possibly your mother too.
So you really need to find out if your father does leave a Will. There should be a Grant of Probate and the Orginal Will filed with the court (as the documents becomes public once the Grant of Probate (executing rights) is issued) so you or your lawyer should have access to it for verification.
If he does have a Will and you and your family are not listed as beneficiaries.. look out for a no-contest clause.. and ask your lawyer if that is enforceable in your case.
Educate yourself so you don't get trampled on any longer.
Good luck.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Better than telling him got no hope. Which is obviously not the case wat.
TS so easily get intimidated lor.
But that step brother also very smart lah, chase them out of the house first.
Actually.. TS don't even need to move house.
Singaporean lawyers also one kind lah.. like to send lawyer letters to intimidate innocents to get their way... no sense of ethics one.
Lawyer letters don't always end up going to court one lah. So no need to be afraid when you receive such threats.
hahaha...i tell u hor, if u prepare a document yourself that require a lawyer signature, just the signature only, there are charges and it is not cheap.
if there ish a client want him to send letter with his signature on it, that will be more expensive.
so hor, even the lawyer dont have to go to the court, everyday just send letters only, they will also laughing all the way to the bank.
Originally posted by BotaHead:hahaha...i tell u hor, if u prepare a document yourself that require a lawyer signature, just the signature only, there are charges and it is not cheap.
if there ish a client want him to send letter with his signature on it, that will be more expensive.
so hor, even the lawyer dont have to go to the court, everyday just send letters only, they will also laughing all the way to the bank.
I know lah. That's why I never like Lawyers lor. If you ever get to Hell.. you'd find a International Lawyers club down there.
Originally posted by BriBri06:I think a lot of people here are confused, because legal title doesn't always mean a whole lot. If you can establish that either your mother contributed to the purchase price of the house or any subsequent mortgage payments then a resulting trust arises in her favor, likewise if u could establish a contribution plus an intention to share the property then a constructive trust arises in her favor. Either way she obtains a beneficial interest in the property that exists regardless of the legal title. However only those payments that directly relate to the purchase price will suffice and normal cooking and cleaning will not.
A will merely transfers your share in the property to someone else, but u cannot transfer what you do not have. This is probably a primary thing, though I'm sure if there was a divorce or so on there must be something relating to the matrimonial home, though I am not sure as to the laws of singapore.
Lastly even to evict squatters you cannot do it by force, generally u would need a court order and then accompanied by police or a court official.
All in all, I am not familiar with the laws of singapore but these are general common law principles and so it is best to consult a lawyer.
among all the replies here, only BriBri06 has spotted the right legal issues
TS, having legal title doesn't necessarily mean that the house belongs to your deceased father totally. The most important qn now is, did your mother contribute to the purchase price / mortgage payments of the house at all? If she did, your mother (not you) has a more than an even chance of getting the house back.
If she did not, then u have to look at intestacy laws (dying without a will) to help your mother get a share of the house.
Alternatively, if your father did have a will which gave the house to the step-brother, your mother can use the Inheritance (Family Provision) Act Chap 138 to demand a share of the house because this provision is intended to protect the spouses and children of the deceased and prevent unfair distribution
Originally posted by jojobeach:I know lah. That's why I never like Lawyers lor. If you ever get to Hell.. you'd find a International Lawyers club down there.
not necessary lah, there are still good one lah, look at the 2 post above. if u ever get to heaven ...u will have to salute to the global lawyers club up there.
Originally posted by 00king00:among all the replies here, only BriBri06 has spotted the right legal issues
TS, having legal title doesn't necessarily mean that the house belongs to your deceased father totally. The most important qn now is, did your mother contribute to the purchase price / mortgage payments of the house at all? If she did, your mother (not you) has a more than an even chance of getting the house back.
If she did not, then u have to look at intestacy laws (dying without a will) to help your mother get a share of the house.
Alternatively, if your father did have a will which gave the house to the step-brother, your mother can use the Inheritance (Family Provision) Act Chap 138 to demand a share of the house because this provision is intended to protect the spouses and children of the deceased and prevent unfair distribution
Does Singapore recognise Common-Law marriage ?
According to TS.. his mother is not legally married to his father ( no marriage certificate ) . Can she still be considered his "spouse/wife" ?
If she is not legally married.. can the payments towards mortgage/maintenance of the house be rendered as "rents" ?
Originally posted by BotaHead:not necessary lah, there are still good one lah, look at the 2 post above. if u ever get to heaven ...u will have to salute to the global lawyers club up there.
Edited by jojo : Irrelevant.
Seriously, I am thinking, since you dad already severed relationship with you and your mom.
Why are you still hankering for HIS financial assets?
If you feel that your mom was aggrieved by his actions, then perhaps your mom should have taken legal restitution before he passed on.
Originally posted by deepak.c:Seriously, I am thinking, since you dad already severed relationship with you and your mom.
If you feel that your mom was aggrieved by his actions, then perhaps your mom should have taken legal restitution before he passed on.
If your father do the same to you.. and your new step brother comes and kick you out of your home.. will you say the same thing ?
Can you think before you post ?
Originally posted by deepak.c:
Seriously, I am thinking, since you dad already severed relationship with you and your mom.
We didnt know when he died at that time , His son (step brother) try to keep us from knowing until my mum met a relative of his side. Im not hankering on his asset if my mum didnt need to suffer so much i wouldnt even care about it. If im working full time now i wont hankering on his asset now.
Originally posted by haha879:We didnt know when he died at that time , His son (step brother) try to keep us from knowing until my mum met a relative of his side. Im not hankering on his asset if my mum didnt need to suffer so much i wouldnt even care about it. If im working full time now i wont hankering on his asset now.
So that Step Brother got blood relation to you or not ?
Half brother means he is the biological son of your father.
Very confused.
Just ignore Deepak.. I think he's an idiot.
Your father is irresponsible to have just abandoned your family and caused so much hardship even after his death.
Originally posted by jojobeach:If your father do the same to you.. and your new step brother comes and kick you out of your home.. will you say the same thing ?
Can you think before you post ?
Ermm.....you father disown you, doesn't want to have anything to do with you, why you still so thick skinned to hanker for his money. ![]()
If my father did the same to me, I would have the backbone to change my surname to my mom's and work for my own house.
Some folks have honour, but I guess not you. ![]()
1) The father already disassociated with the family unit.
2) If the mom wanted restitution, she should have taken him to a family court when he was alive.
3) Right now the assets belong to the brother and not the late father. What more you want? Pursue him to hell to claim your property rights? ![]()
Use those things in between your ears to analyse the situation bimbo. ![]()
If somebody owes you money, you should pursue it immediately and not wait till the occurence of some event, for most situations you are time barred from seeking legal redress if it's more than a number of years.
Originally posted by haha879:We didnt know when he died at that time , His son (step brother) try to keep us from knowing until my mum met a relative of his side. Im not hankering on his asset if my mum didnt need to suffer so much i wouldnt even care about it. If im working full time now i wont hankering on his asset now.
I am sorry to hear of your circumstances, but life is such, but seriously if your mom wanted legal redress, she should have done it before he died.
Originally posted by jojobeach:I don't know how effective it is but.. it's a place to start.
Click on this ...Singapore Legal Aid Bureau
Please read through the eligibility part.
I have a suspicion your father died without a will.. that is why your step brother had to forcibly remove you and your family from the house.
If your step brother is not the biological son and the woman is not legally married to your father.. he has absolutely NO rights to the house you lived in for 13 years.
If I remember correctly.. you are only 16. So your father only left you 3 years ago.
I think your step brother is bullying you and your family.
If your father died without a will , then you have to read the Intestate Succession Act. Which you and your sister the childrens have valid claims on his assets and possibly your mother too.
So you really need to find out if your father does leave a Will. There should be a Grant of Probate and the Orginal Will filed with the court (as the documents becomes public once the Grant of Probate (executing rights) is issued) so you or your lawyer should have access to it for verification.
If he does have a Will and you and your family are not listed as beneficiaries.. look out for a no-contest clause.. and ask your lawyer if that is enforceable in your case.
Educate yourself so you don't get trampled on any longer.
Good luck.
Do you understand the meaning of intestate?
If you do, go read the first post by TS again. I attached below for your benefit.
"Even the house that i stayed from the time i was born he didnt even put our name. My mum didnt have much education and work so much in her life when with him And NOW he GAVE THE HOUSE TO MY "STEP BROTHER" . He have his own house own family and he earns quite a lot."
Your understanding of TS situation is ramshackled, TS already said that the house was given to his step-brother, either before his death or in his will.
If the house was given to his step brother before his death. How the hell are you going to contest it? The house no longer belongs to his father's estate.
If the house was allocated in his will. How will Intestate Succession Act come into play? He died with a will.
How long have you lived in that house?
Ermm.....you father disown you, doesn't want to have anything to do with you, why you still so thick skinned to hanker for his money.
If my father did the same to me, I would have the backbone to change my surname to my mom's and work for my own house.
Some folks have honour, but I guess not you.
1) The father already disassociated with the family unit.
2) If the mom wanted restitution, she should have taken him to a family court when he was alive.
3) Right now the assets belong to the brother and not the late father. What more you want? Pursue him to hell to claim your property rights?
Use those things in between your ears to analyse the situation bimbo.
If somebody owes you money, you should pursue it immediately and not wait till the occurence of some event, for most situations you are time barred from seeking legal redress if it's more than a number of years.
There are a lot of women and children who are abandoned by men out there in our society.
A lot of time.. it's not that they do not want redress.. they just don't know HOW and where to get help. They have very limited resources made worst by the abandonment.
Thats why the Women's Charter and family laws are set up to protect these group of people from abuse of men. But help can only be rendered to those they can reach.
You must be one of them irresponsible shit who thinks it's ok to dump your children to your wife and run off with another woman anytime you get sick of your family.
TS mother has to support her two children. What kind of resources do you think she has to seek redress ? Her first survival instinct is to make sure the children do not starve.. their education do not suffer, the last thing on her mind is fight for her own plight.
Now that the children don't have the ability to work, and get thrown out of the house. Only a selfish bastard like you dares to accuse TS's family of being greedy.
You really need to burn in hell Deepak.
Go and read up on more family laws.. it is written to protect vunerable people like TS's family and make sure those bastards fathers are put in their place.
Originally posted by jojobeach:There are a lot of women and children who are abandoned by men out there in our society.
A lot of time.. it's not that they do not want redress.. they just don't know HOW and where to get help. They have very limited resources.
Thats why the Women's Charter is set up to protect these group of people from abuse of men. But help can only be rendered to those they can reach.
You must be one of them irresponsible shit who thinks it's ok to dump your children to your wife and run off with another woman anytime you get sick of your family.
TS mother has to support her two children. What kind of resources do you think she has to seek redress ? Her first survival instinct is to make sure the children do not starve.. their education do not suffer, the last thing on her mind is fight for her own plight.
Now that the children don't have the ability to work, and get thrown out of the house. Only a selfish bastard like you dares to accuse TS's family of being greedy.
You really need to burn in hell Deepak.
You mean to tell me, if you are able bodied, you are above 21 y.o., should one day your billionaire dad disowns you (reason(s) being you went against his will).
You mean to tell me that you will sue him for billions so that you can have a luxurious life? First of all, your dad already disown you, he doesn't want you. Why do you want his money still? Aren't we abit contemptible? If TS is retarded like you and sue his dad for the house, I would understand, because it's a valid reason as you are retarded you can't provide for yourself, hence you need his billions to sustain your retardation. ![]()
The issue here isn't about whether I would forsake my wife, the issue here is TS dad disowning his family. Please focus and stay in context. ![]()
Deepak.. You didn't read through the whole thread did you ?
There's a lot we do not know yet. That is why I ask TS a lot of question.
I have seen family fought over assets... and some will resort to force and intimidation to get what is not legally theirs.
Now if you are too stupid and lazy to think.. I really cannot help you.
You mean to tell me, if you are able bodied, you are above 21 y.o., should one day your billionaire dad disowns you (reason(s) being you went against his will).
You mean to tell me that you will sue him for billions so that you can have a luxurious life? First of all, your dad already disown you, he doesn't want you. Why do you want his money still? Aren't we abit despicable? If TS is retarded like you and sue his dad for the house, I would understand.
The issue here isn't about whether I would forsake my wife, the issue here is TS dad disowning his family. Please focus and stay in context.
Wow.. dude.. you are dense like hell.
TS is 16 . His sister hasn't finish her schooling yet.
So wat is the difference between TS dad disowning his family and you forsaking your wife ?????? My god.. tsk tsk.. are you.. like retarded or something? Ya can't seem to make connections can ya ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Deepak.. You didn't read through the whole thread did you ?
There's a lot we do not know yet. That is why I ask TS a lot of question.
I have seen family fought over assets... and some will resort to force and intimidation to get what is not legally theirs.
Now if you are too stupid and lazy to think.. I really cannot help you.
He already the house was given to his step brother. You have comprehension issues? Or are you trying to search for reasons to sustain your losing argument?
If the house was not in the custody of his brother, then TS won't have said, the dad has given the house to him.
You still haven't explained how does your intestate succession come into play? ![]()
Originally posted by jojobeach:Wow.. dude.. you are dense like hell.
TS is 16 . His sister hasn't finish her schooling yet.
So wat is the difference between TS dad disowning his family and you forsaking your wife ?????? My god.. tsk tsk.. are you.. like retarded or something? Ya can't seem to make connections can ya ?
You still don't understand that the issue is about TS dad disowning the family and has nothing to do with me abandoning my wife. There is no connection between me and TS family. ![]()
Also extremely clear from TS first post. I quote.
"Now he dead and he didnt left anything for my mum that she deserve .
Even the house that i stayed from the time i was born he didnt even put our name. My mum didnt have much education and work so much in her life when with him And NOW he GAVE THE HOUSE TO MY "STEP BROTHER" . He have his own house own family and he earns quite a lot. "
It's extremely clearcut that he didn't leave anything for them in his will, either that or, he transferred the assets to his other step son before his death.
How hard is it for you to comprehend the above statement?
Maybe this maybe that.........there is no maybe here, he stated clearly in his first post.
Bimbo!!! ![]()
Originally posted by deepak.c:He already the house was given to his step brother. You have comprehension issues? Or are you trying to search for reasons to sustain your losing argument?
If the house was not in the custody of his brother, then TS won't have said, the dad has given the house to him.
You still haven't explained how does your intestate succession come into play?
Dude.. ok.. you are my morning muse.
First.. if the dad is married to that step mother.. upon death.. everyone will assume that the decease's estate pass on to the surviving spouse.
In the event of death.. the step brother thinks that everything his step father owns belongs to HIS family now. ESpecially if there is NO WILL.
That is a very common mistake many made.
So I ask TS to find out if indeed there is or isn't a Will.
If there be no Will.. then the intestate succession comes into play.
And if there be a Will.. TS and his sister can contest to be included. (not too familiar how).
And 00King00 also mentioned there's the Family Provision act to prevent unfair distribution to protect families from being abandoned like TS's. ( not sure if it can apply to TS case given the lack of legal marriage issue of his mother).
NOW you gettit ????