XMM. You don't want people to call you XMM but you are acting like one.
Anyway, IMO, your results are not good at all. You think you are doing really well, but no. Assuming you are from a neighbourhood school (since your friends think that you are nerdy simply because you are in express stream... please lah, then more than half of the secondary school population is considered as nerds), the papers are not hard, maybe even easier than O level papers (I've seen and that's what I think). You are going to be pitting yourself against people from top secondary schools and when the dreaded bell curve comes into play, it might work against you.
Since you are so free, why not do some revision (oh no so nerdy!). You already missed 2 weeks worth of lessons and O levels is coming.
Sorry if I sound mean :P
Originally posted by the Bear:be prepared to be the breadwinner... that sounds ominous.. but true..
oh... mom is actually counselling one girl and after so many years, her eyes are finally opened..
the girl's folks are friends of my folks..
the girl's grades were pretty crappy.. she was never home, mixed around with people who were like the people as mei ting described her boyfriend to be...ne'er-do-wells, people who could but somehow refused to...
after lots of coaching and teaching, she made it into the poly.. her folks were overjoyed..
then she hooked up with this guy in poly..
there was blind faith and what she thought was love...
she pressed on with her diploma, he dropped out
they got married.. he was sleeping on the wedding day and was late for everything because he was sleeping and could not be bothered... that should have given her a clue but there was blind faith again...
she went and got a job while he went through the cursory search for a job.. and whenever a job offer came in, he rejected it saying it was "too low-paying" expecting to get at least $2,500 monthly.. for a poly drop-out with just o-levels...
blind faith made her keep struggling...
then came the child...
and then he went to apply for a flat without her knowing...
she ended up paying for the flat (somehow.. but we suspect her folks paid the instalments) while he sat around in the house doing nothing...
more blind faith until there was domestic violence.. because she could not keep giving him money to do nothing in the house while the child was being brought up by her...
one day she popped in at my house, started to talk to mom and i made myself scarce so they could have some privacy...
4 hours later and lots of tears, she realised she was in a mess...
the "damn.. i screwed up" was from her..
now she's seeking help from professional counsellors, legal help with custody of the child (the in-laws wanted custody.. which they'll fight but will be unable to win) and will be seeking legal aid to divorce the guy, throw him out of their flat although he applied for it, he never paid a cent..
so.. the "damn.. i screwed up" is from here..
now.. imagine if she didn't press on with her diploma as instructed by my mom?
that.. is a true story..
don't make this same mistake...
Sometimes love can be blind
Or should I say what you perceive as love is extremely blinding.
This is because you keep lying to yourself that it is love and that he will change
But it will never happen.
Well, I was never in the position of the girl you know but I was so-called blinded by “love” once in my life when I was so much younger.
The lucky thing for me is that I woke up one day and asked myself if that is what I wanted for the rest of my life and if I’m willing to put up with all that bullshit and suffering.
I figured that I’m not that self-sacrificing so I ran and I really thank god that I gathered up my courage to walk away.
Anyway the TS is still very young with a future ahead of her so I think she should just concentrate on her studies instead of wasting her time on loser type guys who don’t know where they want to go.
Doesn't mean poly is the 'wrong' route, or her bf (who might eventually mature) is the wrong choice...
But I guess for older folks like us... :P It's so hard not to give comments on hindsight.
I only remember when I look back and see those exbfs I cried over and 'fought' with my parents with just so we could be together.....
.. right now I'm just so thankful ahahha that I never ended up with them!!! *phew*
So, xiaomeimei, for what its worth, let's hope whatever your choices are right now, you end up being contented and happy in 20 years time :)
Originally posted by Wish (::XMM. You don't want people to call you XMM but you are acting like one.
Anyway, IMO, your results are not good at all. You think you are doing really well, but no. Assuming you are from a neighbourhood school (since your friends think that you are nerdy simply because you are in express stream... please lah, then more than half of the secondary school population is considered as nerds), the papers are not hard, maybe even easier than O level papers (I've seen and that's what I think). You are going to be pitting yourself against people from top secondary schools and when the dreaded bell curve comes into play, it might work against you.
Since you are so free, why not do some revision (oh no so nerdy!). You already missed 2 weeks worth of lessons and O levels is coming.
Sorry if I sound mean :P
hahas, omg.you do sound mean, but i liked what you said.you got a point there.
TS,
Life is all about making choices, think about the current situation and consider the alternatives, make an informed choice to the best of your ability and take responsibility for it.
It is your life.
May you be well and happy.
Simple Bear
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:
okok im sorry >< .... just that lots of my frens said that me = express, doesnt fit ...eagle> getting all A1 is really tough ... its like playing the difficulty "expert" on l4d >< out of all stages u complete, there's bound to be only one that u manage to ease your way out xD
hahas have faith in him? like u all said, there's still time ^^
omg fugdester ... zzzz
Well, either I can sugarcoat my words and bluff you, or I can just come out with the hard truth. If there's one thing I've learnt, it is that the hard truth can be better in the long run than a sugarcoated lie.
Instead of coming up with 'Don't call me a nerd!!!', be more proactive in your studies and strive to make the best of things. You got two weeks off school for your misdeeds, so use those two weeks wisely to catch up on past work.
If your peers want to call you a nerd, so be it. All it means is that you really have to wonder what kind of company you're dealing with, because then that means that half of the entire cohort are all nerds. All it means is that your friends just cannot be bothered to strive for excellence, and they try to bring down those who genuinely do want to improve their lot in life.
In short, by calling you a 'nerd', your 'friends' (I used those apostrophes intentionally) just want to bring you down. Go figure.
I would like to repeat this by quoting it
If your peers want to call you a nerd, so be it. All it means is that you really have to wonder what kind of company you're dealing with, because then that means that half of the entire cohort are all nerds. All it means is that your friends just cannot be bothered to strive for excellence, and they try to bring down those who genuinely do want to improve their lot in life.
In short, by calling you a 'nerd', your 'friends' (I used those apostrophes intentionally) just want to bring you down. Go figure.
A student who has the ability to score A1s, yet not want to work hard to realise the potential because others call you nerd? Please...
Even if you tell this to your future employer or children, it's still too bad because the fact is, you got the B3s because you didn't put in the effort.
worse, what pisses off an employer more than anything is if their employee can't be bothered to put in the effort...
a boss would be all right if the employee tried really hard but the project failed.. but a boss would outright fire the employee if the employee can't be stuffed and the project failed
honestly, have you pon school before? have you even thought of piercing your tongue before you were with him? have you kind of self reflect the changes in you before & after you are with him? is it for the better or for worse?
a couple is to build each other up and not drag each other down. by asking you to skip class, is he thinking for you?
you are only sec 4, do you know the consequences you both have to bear if you are pregnant? have you consider the things you have to give up in life just because of a baby? like you career. when your friends around you are to be earning high income in a few years time while you earning low income because of early marriage?
you both are too young to even think of "happily ever after". it not impossible but its takes super lots of effort to make it last. you will meet even more people when you graduate. same for him. are you both so sure that there is no chance of change of heart?
face the reality. calculate the probability. weight the consequences. think carefully before doing anything. & hor, the thing that eventually will last is family kinship.
wish and fudgester> ya la ya la =.=" yup maybe my frens do want to drag me down? or maybe they dont want them to lose me forever ? (im not being cocky or watever but it really touches me when they say that im the best fren that they could have :) ). okies i wont "judge the book by its cover" =.=". but not only my frens ... lots of my sch mates dont agree me being in express... they say it really doesnt suit me.
eagle> u mean B3 is consider bad? =.=" Its close to A2 rite? hahas okok laaa i try put in more effort. But really i tell u its not that easy
labbishlife> that is the most saddest thing i ever read. hahas becos u said like we are not destined for each other leh ... well i pon school before and i ever thought of piercing but i dont dare till my bf encourages me and im not sure about the reflect thing. erm ya i think he is thinking of me when he ask me to skip school? erm ... if he doesnt why would he jio me too rite? hahahas. and no, lots of people here telling me the disadvantage of being pregnant so nono baby for me. I will have to wait alil longer but that doesnt mean we cant have to each other okies :) dont worry okies ... i will think 2 steps ahead of me each time
ITS MEI TING....... MEI TING by the way
Then in that case, you have just admitted that those friends of yours want to bring you down, and they are doing it for the really selfish (and really stupid) reason of 'they don't want to lose you forever'. ![]()
What nonsense. In that case I would have lost 99.9% of my friends when I decided to go into postgraduate studies. The reason why I didn't is because they are true friends who genuinely want the best for me and wish for me to go far. They are the friends who know that I'm still the good ol' Fudgester, inside and out, no matter where I go or what I do.
So yes, you're hanging out with the wrong crowd, and worse still, you're letting that crowd bring you down. Sigh....
Originally posted by fudgester:Then in that case, you have just admitted that those friends of yours want to bring you down, and they are doing it for the really selfish (and really stupid) reason of 'they don't want to lose you forever'.
What nonsense. In that case I would have lost 99.9% of my friends when I decided to go into postgraduate studies. The reason why I didn't is because they are true friends who genuinely want the best for me and wish for me to go far. They are the friends who know that I'm still the good ol' Fudgester, inside and out, no matter where I go or what I do.
So yes, you're hanging out with the wrong crowd, and worse still, you're letting that crowd bring you down. Sigh....
ooo i didnt know that =.=" omg ...
really? that is their intention? no i really didnt know that ... becos they say stuff like that is seriously touching to me lor. i thought just a fren to fren say one ... okok i wont listen to them ok? i just be straight up ... at least i have other frens :3
what do you think?
why do us guys keep encouraging fudgy to keep going and push on? when all is said and done, he'll be Dr Fudgy.. and maybe later in life A/Prof Fudgy and even Prof Fudgy..
friends want the best for their friends.. even if that friend surpasses them... heck!! especially when their friend surpasses them.. we'd be happy for our friends not wanting to drag them down...
i've got a humdrum ordinary degree.. doesn't mean i'm going to discourage everyone from getting one and more...
your "friends" are screwed up, selfish and insecure...
like i said in the first post, you better start looking for better company to hang with... these are not your friends
Originally posted by the Bear:what do you think?
why do us guys keep encouraging fudgy to keep going and push on? when all is said and done, he'll be Dr Fudgy.. and maybe later in life A/Prof Fudgy and even Prof Fudgy..
friends want the best for their friends.. even if that friend surpasses them... heck!! especially when their friend surpasses them.. we'd be happy for our friends not wanting to drag them down...
i've got a humdrum ordinary degree.. doesn't mean i'm going to discourage everyone from getting one and more...
your "friends" are screwed up, selfish and insecure...
like i said in the first post, you better start looking for better company to hang with... these are not your friends
okies ... since my frens are like these then i just forget about them but i do miss hanging out with them though. nevermind these are just my sch frens, i can still hang out with my bf frens and my own ones :)
Originally posted by labbishLife:honestly, have you pon school before? have you even thought of piercing your tongue before you were with him? have you kind of self reflect the changes in you before & after you are with him? is it for the better or for worse?
a couple is to build each other up and not drag each other down. by asking you to skip class, is he thinking for you?
you are only sec 4, do you know the consequences you both have to bear if you are pregnant? have you consider the things you have to give up in life just because of a baby? like you career. when your friends around you are to be earning high income in a few years time while you earning low income because of early marriage?
you both are too young to even think of "happily ever after". it not impossible but its takes super lots of effort to make it last. you will meet even more people when you graduate. same for him. are you both so sure that there is no chance of change of heart?
face the reality. calculate the probability. weight the consequences. think carefully before doing anything. & hor, the thing that eventually will last is family kinship.
this post practically sums it up.
eagle> u mean B3 is consider bad? =.=" Its close to A2 rite? hahas okok laaa i try put in more effort. But really i tell u its not that easy
Sorry. B3 is not good at all in my eyes. A2 is moderate, A1 is only acceptable.
For goodness sake, this is only O levels, and you are already saying it's not easy. And I have already pointed out that we have a homework forum here to help in case you have any questions or concepts unsure as well.
Look, think. Here we are encouraging you not to give, up, but go whack hard in your studies to achieve the highest possible that you can get. Your "friends" and bf are like asking for the opposite for you.
O levels, once in a lifetime opportunity to score your A1s while in school uniform. You won't get any more chances after this. So what if you are in express stream and the rest of your "friends" aren't? You are on a different path, different track. What's the point of having the same study timetable and attitude as them? Different paths and tracks require different efforts.
maybe for the sake of TS, i myself hang around with a group of all Normal Acad friends, while i was an Express student during my sec sch times. And after 10 years+, we are still very good friends who hang out together alot. True friends will never differentiate themselves and you whether u are express student or not. True friends are those who will stay by u when u have problems.
Nobody is asking u to stay away from your friends, but know how to weigh things differently. When its time to study, study. When its time to relax, go ahead, go out with your friends. If they are forever putting u down by saying, "You are not supposed to be in Express, your results not that good, should go down to Normal Acad where it is supposedly easier", then i believe its better for u to not hang around with them anymore.
It's not about what people think suits you, it's about who you want to be.
FYI, my teacher told us that he used to have 2 different groups of friends. He will play really hard with one group and study really hard with another- because the playful ones are no good to study with as they will distract him and the studious ones are no good to play with as they are too boring.
O level determines your fate, it determines which courses you are eligible for. Don't keep thinking that you can go to private schools- do you think going to a private school is a viable option?
u are easily influenced by external forces
and no such thing what jc will die all these shit
jc is a shortcut, poly is the longer route
and never stop doing the right thing
Originally posted by eagle:
Sorry. B3 is not good at all in my eyes. A2 is moderate, A1 is only acceptable.
I had everything from A1,2 B3, 4 C5, 6 D7, E and F lol
Kind Regards
Genie
Originally posted by Genie99a:
I had everything from A1,2 B3, 4 C5, 6 D7, E and F lol
Kind Regards
Genie
well, she said she had good results without much studying.
It shows she can get the A1s, just whether she wants to a not.
I like to see people succeed.
Originally posted by mei_ting <sweet icecream>:
okok im sorry >< .... just that lots of my frens said that me = express, doesnt fit ...eagle> getting all A1 is really tough ... its like playing the difficulty "expert" on l4d >< out of all stages u complete, there's bound to be only one that u manage to ease your way out xD
hahas have faith in him? like u all said, there's still time ^^
I'm really suspicious of the types of friends you are hanging around with. With your some B3 and A2s, as well as an A1 results, I can assure you, they are not stellar results at all. I think you got to pay more attention to the group that you are hanging out with. Firstly, you seem to be easily swayed by what they have to say of you. Secondly, their advice is only going to cap your limit to what you can do.
Read up on some of Confucius Teachings. There is one about the types of friends you are better of with, which mainly categories into 3 parts. 3 types of good friends, 3 types of bad friends. And your friends, if according to his teachings, are those who should be avoided.
If you allow your results to decide for you where you should go, I think you have taken the meaning of education out of context. Do your best, you are just a few marks away from that A1. Count it yourself, what is the difference between an A1 and A2? A lot of differences in name, but not the value. 4 marks differences, which is most likely to be the equivalent of getting 1 to 2 questions correct.
Rather then allowing your marks decide where you should go, why not let yourself decide what you want to do instead? Open your choices up by studying now. Don't limit yourself. Why earn 900 bucks when you could be earning 5k in future?
Btw, even if you did not score very well and decide to enrol into a polytechnic instead, you wont be given a course of your choice if you choose the higher ends one. Higher end ones are the more popular courses like the Business courses, Science courses, Media courses and Arts courses. All these, with your current results, you are at a very high risk of not getting in.
Lastly, it is still your friends your friends and your friends! Think of what they have said and are their words is what a friend is suppose to say!
eagle> wahahaha u can be my uncle liao lols. my uncle also say the same thing as u ... abit la. okies o level getting nearer ... no time for fooling around. okok i just forget about them but not totally forget la like i just avoid them here and there. ok i really need to pass since u put up those pay, future and stuff for the future. No joke already ... i must pass all A1 :)
and u said to genie "well, she said she had good results without much studying.
It shows she can get the A1s, just whether she wants to a
not.
I like to see people succeed." gosh thats like complimenting me le hahas ... tyty. okies i must do well.
sonic and wish> yup thats why i have other frens :). erm wish ... yes? if all fails, i can go to private sch lor ... private sch is my backup available option.
tying> yup i know my results are bad >< thats why i must not fool around anymore. well i've been thinking of taking media design or drawing? erm im not sure but if i pass, i see wat really interest me. My frens ya ... u all are right maybe my frens do want to bring me down but hey, i got other frens too :) and they dont seem to drag me down i think. hahas
btw, thank u all for the advice :) this is my last day of the week of my suspension hahas. wish me luck >< ... i still come here if i have time though
Good luck to you Mei Ting. All the best in your studies! Do your best! :)
Originally posted by s0nic:Good luck to you Mei Ting. All the best in your studies! Do your best! :)
Yah. OMG this thread page 7 already.