by the time you get married and have a family, you will understand that you dun have to anyhow spend money.. probably dun have the chance to too.. somehow the money will walk out of the wallet/bank account.Originally posted by paperchicken:If you anyhow spent money you will always be a slave of money.![]()
Yalor, now got lao zha bo also good. No colleague to talk to, so sian. That's why come here. Become extremely talkative whenever I meet colleague. Always like to invite them to a beer session to hear company gossip.Originally posted by paperchicken:No good lah no chio bu to see.![]()
Can tok cock and drink beer bio fireIce at the bar.Originally posted by Qitai:Yalor, now got lao zha bo also good. No colleague to talk to, so sian. That's why come here. Become extremely talkative whenever I meet colleague. Always like to invite them to a beer session to hear company gossip.
Me like gossip with face one. No face gossip not so juicy.Originally posted by paperchicken:Can tok cock and drink beer bio fireIce at the bar.![]()
COOL...Originally posted by supercharger:Come on guys.. Just bec a person is schooling does not mean that the pressure on him is any less than that while earning a living!
What he needs is a listening ear and some constructive help. No point telling him to tok more cock or telling him the stress level will get worse when he is still stuck and in need of actual help!
Its the same as telling someone who is injured, instead of giving first aid, you tell him hey buddy cheer up leh bec the pain from the wound will only get worse but nevertheless cheer up bec though it hurts alot now... take heart that at least for now it is less painful than what you will experience later!
So lets be careful how we say things esp for AA.
1st thing's 1st... All work and no life is equals to NO LIFE... SOON you can easily be without much of a meaning to life and easily lose your will to stay alive...Originally posted by egotist:Sigh...
I'm currently a poly student, aged 18, already in the 1st semester of my third year.
Feeling hellishly stressed up this semester, cos I've took 1 elective and 1 personal development subject more than the rest of the people. Also, I'm group leader to 2 project groups out of 3. Finally, I'm doing my Final Year Project this semester.
It appears that quite a number of ppl have almost completed their FYP project. We are now left wif abt 2 weeks but my group haven't half completed it yet. Somemore, i'm pretty much depended upon for e other 2 groups tt i'm leading.
Now i couldn't concentrate at all, cos' there's too many things at hand. Since i'm doing programming, there's a number of issues that i've no idea how to work on it, but i've no 1 whom i can approach for help.
Already for 6 years till now, I've been a typical "good" boy, going home right after school. And, i'm e only child. Perhaps tt's e main reason for my very small social circle. So tt means tt i've no source to vent my feelings but here (when i discovered SGForums only abt 2-3 mths ago).
Since i'm been pretty stressed most of the time when i'm working on assignments, and pretty alone when i'm nt, i'm feeling a pressure surmounting on me. I'm feeling like i can't take it anymore. Only a few years ago when i've decided to read up some books on psychology, I've diagnosed myself to be suffering frm depression at the same time. But then again, i'm a guy and i'm suppose to bear everything.
Any solutions to tis deadlock? If not, guess the best way to help mi for now is to help mi for 1 of my projects. Nid some urgent surveys. Read tis thread anyway: http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=91593
Sorry for the convenient cross-linking. Juz trying to kill 2 birds wif 1 stone.
Dun be stress. You see paperchicken so happy everyday one. You are welcome to drop by Paper Art House any time to drink coffee.Dun tink u really want mi there. In a fit of anger, i might juz burn e whole paper house down! LoL! Come to tink of tt, paperchicken is e only chicken tt doesn't get roasted when burnt!
Do your best. Accept whatever the result maybe. High expectation is one of the main causes of depression. Concentrate on the work rather than worrying about the result.If u want a piece of REAL feelings of isolation, try living thru mine. No 1 to ask abt projects and homeworks when u nid help. U will naturally work harder. But wif days and mths and... years like my cases, it's sooner or later tt ur eventually juz wanna collapse and dun wanna see e next morning again. It's like, no matter how hard u work, others can achieve wad u achieve by means of studying together, or playing wif classroom/lecturer-student politics or by sheer intelligence to achieve wad u've done overnight.
Delegate the work to other members, make sure each do something eg one do tabulation of survey results, 1 do written report, 1 do research etc.Scary part is tt after u've delegated e work, u find tt u have no idea how to work on yrs. I do chase my projectmates. Less understanding ones are finding mi a nuiscense already. I've no idea how to motivate myself, much less to motivate them.
U co-ordinate & put it together. Chase yr members & remind them to do their part. The trick is to get people to work for u. Motivate/ praise them.
School better. So many available Zha Bo around. Work place only got Lao Zha Bo, so sian.Come to speak of tt, guess it gonna chain to another of my issue. I'm nt even half-interested in gals. Seriously, try getting Britney Spears or Jolin to strip and i'll prolly juz yawn away at 1 corner, nt even half-aroused. Even alcohol interest mi more than gals. Crap! i tink ppl gonna see mi as some1 who dropped his screw down the Niagra Fall.
1st thing's 1st... All work and no life is equals to NO LIFE... SOON you can easily be without much of a meaning to life and easily lose your will to stay alive...Problem is, i can't find tt "life" anywhere. When ur alone, even gaming gunbound or WC3 or wadever can oso b ineffective at keeping mi happy. They are juz imaginary world to keep mi insensitive to reality while i sit in front of the screen. After e PC is shut-down, the cold dark world is back haunting every mins and seconds like a pesticide. Wadever fun u had earlier on drifted away frm u. It's juz like an escape.
I tink things ain't as simple as dropping a few subjects or taking a deep breathe. Like i said... Incredibly small social circle. It's kinda weird tt i've a colorful personality when i'm wired up, but 1 dumbo boring, grumbling, squeaky, oversensitive, snoobish guy when i'm back in reality.natural, people can freely express themselves through internet. i am more open over internet either.
If u want a piece of REAL feelings of isolation, try living thru mine. No 1 to ask abt projects and homeworks when u nid help. U will naturally work harder. But wif days and mths and... years like my cases, it's sooner or later tt ur eventually juz wanna collapse and dun wanna see e next morning again. It's like, no matter how hard u work, others can achieve wad u achieve by means of studying together, or playing wif classroom/lecturer-student politics or by sheer intelligence to achieve wad u've done overnight.been through it, after i failed my o lvls (i even got F9 for math), i went through an entire year of depression and desperation. back then, i had no one to help me, even my parents seem to be screwing me, no motivation from anyone at all, it feels like everyone is there to screw me up. when i needed help on how to do math or wadever, i had to rely on myself, try to read, if not, try again and again and again and again and again.. show on, until i somehow get the drift. i didn't noe anything about math back then, i had to learn what ppl learnt during 5 years within 1 year. (basically i stopped studying since primary 3)
Scary part is tt after u've delegated e work, u find tt u have no idea how to work on yrs. I do chase my projectmates. Less understanding ones are finding mi a nuiscense already. I've no idea how to motivate myself, much less to motivate them.Best is use other ppl to motivate them, or pressurize them. You see, one thing I learnt is dat we cannot handle everything ourselves, there are things we cannot handle thus need other ppl's help.
true, if really want to compare there are so many ppl dat went through worst times den any one of us. and they made it. i made it, n i believe there will be worst to come.Originally posted by Faye Valentine:dude... u dun call this stress...
u have so many more years to go.
everyone has their tough times, and if others can get thru their worst times, y can't u.
bt it is often to these small things dat ppl ignore dat adds up to severe depression and suicidal inclination.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Hmmm if u had once down with those fatal illness or nearly faces death, u will feel tat all those things u stated in ur topic r nothing.
I have nearly experience death n now i am very optimistic with things in life.
yeah also some ppl easily depressed... Feel very pessimistic n look at things very pessimistic.Originally posted by Ito_^:bt it is often to these small things dat ppl ignore dat adds up to severe depression and suicidal inclination.
by then, it may be too late liao, so oso cannot ignore.
RITE... Then QUIT COMPLAINING and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT...Originally posted by egotist:Problem is, i can't find tt "life" anywhere. When ur alone, even gaming gunbound or WC3 or wadever can oso b ineffective at keeping mi happy. They are juz imaginary world to keep mi insensitive to reality while i sit in front of the screen. After e PC is shut-down, the cold dark world is back haunting every mins and seconds like a pesticide. Wadever fun u had earlier on drifted away frm u. It's juz like an escape.
BINGO...Originally posted by Ito_^:bt it is often to these small things dat ppl ignore dat adds up to severe depression and suicidal inclination.
by then, it may be too late liao, so oso cannot ignore.
bt i survived, i believe ive been in worst situation den u, a deeper sense of isolation den u can ever imagine, and the story goes back to my childhood. even now, i dun eat dinner with my parents, so much for only child, being isolated by yr own parents, tell me how would u feel? i ate by myself since dunnoe how many years ago liao, dun remember having a single meal with my parents even though we live together.I'm an only child too. Though my parents neither ignore mi, nor huggles mi, but they do more or less try to provide mi wif everyday necessities to keep mi comfy to some extends. Fortunate for them, i'm a thrify person by nature, who's heart aches when i see them paying money for some things tt i dun really take to heart at all. My family ain't rich, and the earnings are rather average. I digressed...
bt i also believe there are cases worst than me, its natural.I dun deny even worst cases than mi. But then, no 1 wanna compare himself wif some1 worst. Problem is tt, if it affects everyday life, it's bad. As the old proverb say:"No man is an island". It's really sheer lifeforce tt is keeping mi alive rite now to do all these ranting. Not tt i've never tried suicide b4. In fact, 6 times drinking detergent already. Ended giving it up cos' after all suicide hurts. Best is to tired yrself out and died while sleeping 1 day. If it's juz some richie rich who can't get to buy tis or that and feels like hell, he/she is juz a spoil brat.
Best is use other ppl to motivate them, or pressurize them. You see, one thing I learnt is dat we cannot handle everything ourselves, there are things we cannot handle thus need other ppl's help.I've done tis a couple of time b4 already, only if necessary. Approaching the lecturers is always e way. But it's e last resort, and it will strain the relationship wif every1 else.
Hmmm if u had once down with those fatal illness or nearly faces death, u will feel tat all those things u stated in ur topic r nothing.There is nuthin to fear abt death, except the process of death. If u died by gradually losing consciousness and ur nt suffocating or injuried, it's kinda pleasant. i've been down wif malaria once and was almost hospitalized. I also experienced Out-Of-Body when i was a child, and i regret walking back into tis body.
I have nearly experience death n now i am very optimistic with things in life.
RITE... Then QUIT COMPLAINING and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT...Hate the idea of following other ppl's trend and thots. Some of them are costly. Others are fleeting. Pretty nice example is collecting game cards. Now they dun anymore, and those $$ invested are wasted, when i saved those $$ by scrimping frm lunches. Soccer & basketball is nvr my interest, though it's most guys fav. I go for WuShu, literacy pursuit and music. Weirdo? Yup...
EXPAND YOUR SOCIAL CIRCLE... EXPAND YOUR INTEREST... Like you've described yourself... It's not that you don't 'connect' with people.. You DO... So just MAKE IT HAPPEN...
STRESS - you can manage. talk to people who know and shares your feelings. you are never alone with your problems. we all experience the same feelings, only in a different context.U noe... tis is my last place to rant. Most ppl whom i noe and whom i trust are already tired of hearing all these rantings. Strangely, they come frm well-off family who has decent size of social circle, and doesn't have any other problems besides the age-old BGR problem. I'm lucky/unlucky tt i'll never get to encounter such problem.