Originally posted by the Bear:
not a very auspicious way to restart its franchises
this goes to show, burgers square or not, doesn't float~![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:i destroyed my back doing chin-ups so you guys be careful...
as for push-up bars, i feel like getting a pair too..
how do you destroy your back doing chinups sia
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Well, well, the "once in 50 years" rain has returned in less than a year. My workplace was flooded too (Bt Timah Road).
The Burger King at Liat Towers is now a Wendy's, it opened on Monday...
I can guess how they're gonna taiji that 'Once in 50 years' claim.
They'll just say that that claim is only applicable to the Bukit Timah corridor, and that Orchard Road is another story altogether.
Originally posted by fudgester:I can guess how they're gonna taiji that 'Once in 50 years' claim.
They'll just say that that claim is only applicable to the Bukit Timah corridor, and that Orchard Road is another story altogether.
all the new underground malls and construction probably caused the drainage problem
Originally posted by av98m:all the new underground malls and construction probably caused the drainage problem
Like I said, the Stamford Canal had to be diverted to build Somerset 313.
That should at least be a contributing factor, unless they actually somehow improved the drainage with the diversion.
High tides might be a factor, but I always thought that was more of an issue for places like Katong and Joo Chiat.
Originally posted by fudgester:Like I said, the Stamford Canal had to be diverted to build Somerset 313.
That should at least be a contributing factor, unless they actually somehow improved the drainage with the diversion.
High tides might be a factor, but I always thought that was more of an issue for places like Katong and Joo Chiat.
Yacob was probably counting in ant-years...
Any meander is going to slow down the flow of fluid, as you can probably attest to. I wonder how they're going to sort this out, since climate change is only going to make such weather more frequent.
Originally posted by fudgester:Like I said, the Stamford Canal had to be diverted to build Somerset 313.
I just hope this doesn't happen one day:
*shopping at underground level of shopping mall*
me: do you hear rushing water?
friend: I think so leh. how come got this sound?
*both see wave of water engulfing shoppers in front of them*
both: AIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Yacob was probably counting in ant-years...
Any meander is going to slow down the flow of fluid, as you can probably attest to. I wonder how they're going to sort this out, since climate change is only going to make such weather more frequent.
Making the canal meander would slow down the drainage, but if they managed to make it meander such that it covers an area with previously-poor drainage, then the net effect might be positive.
Which is why I'm reserving my judgement on this issue - simply put, I don't have the schematics of the drainage system in the Orchard/Somerset area.
All I can say is that I hope to see a lot more action and a lot fewer lame excuses from the powers-that-be.... and somehow, I'm not very optimistic about that....
Originally posted by av98m:I just hope this doesn't happen one day:
*shopping at underground level of shopping mall*
me: do you hear rushing water?
friend: I think so leh. how come got this sound?
*both see wave of water engulfing shoppers in front of them*
both: AIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Man..... what a way to go.
Originally posted by av98m:how do you destroy your back doing chinups sia
to this day i don't know...
all i know is halfway up a chin-up bar, i felt a pull in the back.. which became an intense pain...
a couple of months later, after a few visits to the doctor to find out what the heck was going on, an MRI showed a slipped disc
Originally posted by fudgester:Making the canal meander would slow down the drainage, but if they managed to make it meander such that it covers an area with previously-poor drainage, then the net effect might be positive.
Which is why I'm reserving my judgement on this issue - simply put, I don't have the schematics of the drainage system in the Orchard/Somerset area.
All I can say is that I hope to see a lot more action and a lot fewer lame excuses from the powers-that-be.... and somehow, I'm not very optimistic about that....
If this kind of flooding becomes a recurrent problem, it will have serious implications for singapore. imagine the damages already suffered by all the affected retail and f&b outlets located on the ground level and the effect it has on the attractiveness of singapore as a host for sporting events and tourism, to say nothing of what a pain in the ass it will be for all of us. Hopefully they manage to fix the problem.
Originally posted by av98m:If this kind of flooding becomes a recurrent problem, it will have serious implications for singapore. imagine the damages already suffered by all the affected retail and f&b outlets located on the ground level and the effect it has on the attractiveness of singapore as a host for sporting events and tourism, to say nothing of what a pain in the ass it will be for all of us. Hopefully they manage to fix the problem.
btw, how are you going home today? your office is in the orchard area right?
farking hell, me and fatumette were supposed to go watch a movie at cineleisure this evening .... ![]()
btw, how are you going home today? your office is in the orchard area right?
I have no idea sia. Maybe I'll camp in the office. I can get a hot shower at the gents and there are biscuits and chocolate lying around. ![]()
Kopio I ask you what is it I should use say I have a box at an angle and I have to fit an image over the box so I can adjust to the angle?
I forgot how to do it on photoshop
We should be authorised to buy kick-ass rally cars with snorkels like these:

One more reason to get an analogue watch over a digital one - you can find South when the sun is shining without a compass.
my friend posted the orchard road flood along orchard road, in front of liat towers..
the whole road is FLOODED...to almost 3/4 engine level... the cars are FLOATING!!
oh gosh, i totally cannot see starbuck and hermes anymore....eeeeiik...
Originally posted by Fatum:farking hell, me and fatumette were supposed to go watch a movie at cineleisure this evening ....
i was caught in a heavy rain many years ago...on a bike (pavillion)..
drenched and cold to my toes, i still proceed to watch the 3-hour titanic at marina square..
cold like hell, i fully understand how the pple feels when they fell into the icy water..
and when i walk out of the cinema... i was so damn cold that i hardly can feel my toes..:(
Originally posted by av98m:I have no idea sia. Maybe I'll camp in the office. I can get a hot shower at the gents and there are biscuits and chocolate lying around.
alamak, just go wad in the flood water... maybe some rich lady with car stuck in water, u helped her and u got yourself a rich galfriend ...and u no need to work at orchard road anymore...![]()
GSS ...now the stuff even more cheaper liao...![]()
it;s clearance sale now! ![]()
i cannot imagine the lucky plaza shops on the ground floor ones... imagine the water gushed in as they are lower than ground level...
and the condom shop....condom swimming...![]()
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:GSS ...now the stuff even more cheaper liao...
it;s clearance sale now!
i cannot imagine the lucky plaza shops on the ground floor ones... imagine the water gushed in as they are lower than ground level...
and the condom shop....condom swimming...
there is a video on fb showing lucky plaza lor. wah lau, what a disaster.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:alamak, just go wad in the flood water... maybe some rich lady with car stuck in water, u helped her and u got yourself a rich galfriend ...and u no need to work at orchard road anymore...
now now, that's when all tat "Look Good Naked" parts come into play...
AV saves the ladies with a sledehammers and crowbars in swimming trunks~
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:GSS ...now the stuff even more cheaper liao...
it;s clearance sale now!
and the condom shop....condom swimming...
There are shops selling clothes there, as well as 7-Eleven with its magazines and tidbits. Oh, the irony of being suay in a place called Lucky Plaza.
lucky plaza~~~~ that's one of the 2 place where i stock up on perfume and cologne >___>
Now it seems I left far east 2nd floor >___>