Originally posted by summerain22:
How can u make a decision when u dont even know Him? You can't have any feelings abt someone u dont know. That's the point.
NOPE. I can BET you're quite wrong on this one. People CAN have feelings for someone they don't know. Sometimes when you THINK that you know that person, that person might not turn out to be who you THINK he / she is.... Do you KNOW that person? It CAN be that you DON'T know that person... And yup... You STILL CAN have feelings for him / her.... There're many more examples I can give to you... But forgive me, I'm a lazy devil....
That is why Christians are always trying to introduce Him to their friends, so that they too can share it with us. If they dont, then fair enough, it is their choice. All we want is to give everyone a chance to choose.
Hmm... And can they CHOOSE not to know him?I know telling you this can be quite redundant and it probably won't be a good example anyway... But have you ever been asked (or seen people being asked) to try out a food...? No matter how you say "don't want"... The person would just continue... TRY lah... TRY lah.... In the end, you / he / she did.... They split out the food the moment they had it in their mouth...?
I want to let you know a truth for now. I don't hold anything much against Christians. Just as much as you want people to open up their thoughts to GOD. You have to open up your thoughts to theirs too... No matter how GOOD you THINK a food might taste... It might not taste the same when it comes into another person's mouth.... Hope you'll take no offence...?
What do u mean everyhting else has no meaning? Are u saying that christians lead meaningless lives? If u do, then u are so wrong.
Nope. I didn't mean that. Christians probably are very much capable of leading a meaning and happy life... 2 VERY SIMPLE reasons being that...
1. They're on EARTH.
2. Meaning is defined by a person himself / herself. If you find 'meaning' in something, you probably WOULD.
I was so empty before i became a christian. I was like so many other people in this world, lost. Now, i know the meaning of life. And what true happiness means. I have found happiness beyond any measure.
Nope. Let me correct you on something though you can choose not to agree with me? True happiness is not equivalent to 'meaning of life'.
And like you, the ONCE 'very lost and empty' soul. There're OTHERS who have found 'true happiness' or 'meaning in life' by becoming 'other things'... Not necessarily a Christian. And I'm not doubting the ability for one to find 'true happiness' or 'meaning of life' by becoming a Christian. It's just how you defines it? Not to equilibrate the two, but even a person who decides to give up on everything and take drugs till the day he / she dies can find 'true happiness'.... As far as he / she is concerned?
What do u mean by we lost our freedom? What freedom? You're implying that Christians have no freedom? That is so wrong. We are not FORCED to live any kind of life, nor restricted.
That's because you're still living on Earth?
You can do whatever u please, but we CHOOSE to live a life for God. Its hard to explain.
Don't have to explain... Hmm... Newtonian thinking? Though it has been shown NOT to be of the ABSOLUTE, but its existence.... Not to be belittled....
But we have this wonderful PERSONAL relationship with him, and when u have found that kind of love.. i dont know.. but i juz wanna get this straight. We have not lost freedom in any way!! What kind of freedom are u talking abt? Freedom to do drugs? Drink?
God never forces anyone to do anything. If u wanna do it, u can. You will always have the freedom to choose.Calm down... You've not lost your freedom and ability to SIN.... Christians are just HUMANS.... Remember the beginning of our conversation...? I said Christians are ONLY humans... That's why you can't blame them for making the 'mistakes'.... That's why not yet a 'reflection of god'.... And part of his family....
It pisse$ me off when ppl think that christians are prudes, who dont know how to have fun. We do!!
I never say you don't?You DO.... You're humans too... TOO HUMAN....
NOPE. I can BET you're quite wrong on this one. People CAN have feelings for someone they don't know. Sometimes when you THINK that you know that person, that person might not turn out to be who you THINK he / she is.... Do you KNOW that person? It CAN be that you DON'T know that person... And yup... You STILL CAN have feelings for him / her.... There're many more examples I can give to you... But forgive me, I'm a lazy devil....
Hmm... And can they CHOOSE not to know him? I know telling you this can be quite redundant and it probably won't be a good example anyway... But have you ever been asked (or seen people being asked) to try out a food...? No matter how you say "don't want"... The person would just continue... TRY lah... TRY lah.... In the end, you / he / she did.... They split out the food the moment they had it in their mouth...?
I want to let you know a truth for now. I don't hold anything much against Christians. Just as much as you want people to open up their thoughts to GOD. You have to open up your thoughts to theirs too... No matter how GOOD you THINK a food might taste... It might not taste the same when it comes into another person's mouth.... Hope you'll take no offence...?
Nope. I didn't mean that. Christians probably are very much capable of leading a meaning and happy life... 2 VERY SIMPLE reasons being that...
1. They're on EARTH.
2. Meaning is defined by a person himself / herself. If you find 'meaning' in something, you probably WOULD.
Nope. Let me correct you on something though you can choose not to agree with me? True happiness is not equivalent to 'meaning of life'.
That's because you're still living on Earth?
Calm down... You've not lost your freedom and ability to SIN.... Christians are just HUMANS.... Remember the beginning of our conversation...? I said Christians are ONLY humans... That's why you can't blame them for making the 'mistakes'.... That's why not yet a 'reflection of god'.... And part of his family....
i agree with everything u've said. i for one, don't really agree with stuff like street evanglism and stuff like that, why? cause i know i won't be anxious, i won't care, i cannot honestly say i care for every tom dick and harry in this planet. but i am, very concerned about the life, and afterlife of my friends, thats where my passion lies, to do so otherwise, i am just living a lie, just to do what the church wants.Originally posted by Icefalcon:Just to share some thoughts. I've got Christian friends. I even went to church a few times, to see what it's like.
I think they're pretty fun people. They also have a sense of purpose in life - which is more than I can say for most of the Singaporeans I know.
And they have faith. Faith can be defined as belief without material evidence. However, I don't believe that anyone should mock faith - it takes a lot of courage for faith to exist, for you to believe in something others feel do not exist at all. Of course, it also depends on what is being claimed - no one should have faith in the claim that I have a pink dragon under my bed.
They want me to be a Christian, not because anyone told them to - but because they genuinely care, and believe that it would bring a better life for me. I appreciated that very much - it's not often that a friend would worry about not just your life - but your afterlife too!
They wonder why I would not agree.
I explained. I was bothered by the fact that non-Christians would go to Hell, even if they lived the life of a saint. My mother is a good and honest person, who worked long and hard to bring me up the best she could. I don't believe she deserves to go to Hell for merely not believing something.
There must be millions who have never heard of Christianity - if they all went to Hell, you can't blame me for being bothered.
I'm not sure how I would spend eternity in Heaven either. I'm really not sure. Most of the time, I'm not even sure what to have for lunch.
Of course, I could be missing something and I could be totally, way wrong. I could burn in Hell really hard for saying all this. But I shall voice what I feel to be my legitimate concerns, anyway.
My mother is a good and honest person, who worked long and hard to bring me up the best she could. I don't believe she deserves to go to Hell for merely not believing somethingi'm sure God is a just God, and a fair one. but does our eternal judgement, lies on good deeds? it is not so.. salvation does not lie in deeds, its not what we do that counts, its what was already done 2000 years ago that counts. the death of the Lamb, the only one thing that saves us. but what is promised in the bible is this, you and your household will be saved. i am willing to testify to that, i believe in it with all my heart, and it happened to my household, they are saved.
Originally posted by warspite:Hahaha.. sorry, I just find it hilarious how in ur whole post, your tone is serious and formal, with proper english, and at the end, u suddenly add a "Dont flame me lah!!"
After reading the above posts, I can't help but wonder why in this cosmopolitian place, with so many religions around, there are still such narrow-minded people around?
No offense to anyone, but why is it that Christians, and non-Christians alike cannot view religions from a different perspective other than their own(religious wise)?
Have we ever think back, to the time where most religions begun >2000 thousand years ago. Ever wondered why when both Islam and Christianity both advocates that there is only one GOD, but yet the inability of these two religions to coexist together has been the cause of much hatred, even to this very day? Islam has its voice in the Prophet Mohammed, while for Christianity, Jesus Christ. So much similarity yet so different.
It makes me think, what [b]IF, GOD had wanted to reach out to people people through different approach. We won't know, will we ever...
I am neither a Christian nor a Muslim, so I can't say I am right in my references to either one or both religions. i apologise for any insensitivities caused inadvertently. I just hope people would view other religions differently, "OUT of the BOX" so as to speak.
Don't flame me lah!!!!!!!![/b]
there was a christian author who wrote that. Hmmm....can't recall.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Actually there is little difference between a christian and a non-christian.
Just that the christian is aware of the actual situtation, condition of his life and need for grace.
Is lyk... Yes we christians do lyk to reach out to the people.. but we dun force them to come to church lo.. we encourage them lo... and for ur info.. me hav alot of non-christians frenz.. and our relationship are still veri good lo... so doesn mean u don come to church we dun "fren" u.... is lyk we still accept those who are non-christians... of the world population onli 30% are christians.... we don isolate ourselves n say "wah we are the holy 1 we dun mix ard with u".. Is lyk... u noe a cure for cancer, wont u tell every1 u noe... tat cure... n try to help them... wat are we doing is similar lo....to us we believe God bless us eternal life.... but we wont force those that dun believe.. but we will try our best to explain to them and let them feel the grace n love given by God (by bringing them to church where the presence of God is the strongest).. AND EVEN if they still dun believe in it, we wont say u dun believe in it... get lost.... no we don do tat lo.. if not i think all my non christians fren will leave me le lor...Originally posted by shazam:I am always wary of making christian friends cause you just have to doubt their sincerity.....most christian friends I had are ok but some only make friends with you just to make you join church.....I hated that...after you say you willing make friends and go out with them...and when they ask you join church and u said no..they stop being your friend and stop asking you out and the response was like "to hell with you"....thats some friend I make..I dont need such friends.....there was zero sincerity.....maybe christians should learn how to make friends without the 'joining church thing' hanging over the head...the feeling sucks.....sometimes they condemn other religions so much you feel like punching them...my catholic frd had to suffer constant abuse from this christian frd about God and all....i must say the catholics are more praiseworthy......I believe in God but not in the christian church movement....its too egoistic,too flashy,too cultish and too fake.......They are so proud and defensive about everything they do that it sucks.....if I wanna be a christian,i will only join for religious reasons like I believe in God or I need God etc and not for non-religious reasons like making friends,meeting girls,I am lonely,I am loss etc......come on....I hate the part of christians preying on people's lonliness or helplessness and making them christians when theya re most vulnerable....I will give christians 100 marks if they willing to help people when they most vulnerable and making friends when people most lonely
without asking the lonely and helpless to be christians after all the help given...thats like a business deal....like a deal devils make with people...they need to exchange something for something....Christians dont force?.....I dont know whether whats the right word....but they are sure persistent....calling your house all the time,approaching you on the streets,asking you join them for this and that with a condition "but must be a christian later". Some christians are hell of a aggressive and warlike but why they exist cause their damn churches and pastors encourage them and feed them with extreme and xenophobic ideas like "World domination for christians"....the wonder christians only have christian friends....cause they are so exclusive......so stuck up.....The idea of going to hell if you dont believe in Him is a good one...thousand of years ago.....this kind of clause will be useful to hoodwink and threathen poor,uneducated and superstitious folks to join the church or the pastor followers but maybe no longer in the modern world....people are not so easily threathen anymore or dumb enough to believe.....you add another clause like "No matter how evil you are in real life,as long as you believe in God,you got salvation"..that certainly add more people to the following...those evil but old and dying or guilty who believe their past deeds can just wash away like that...ask those waiting for revenge to believe in that.... and they will give u a middle finger
As long as someone or something which exist around you is significant enough for you to bother to THINK about them, you'll PROBABLY have 'feelings' for them. Despite the fact of if you really know them. Not too difficult to happen.Originally posted by summerain22:Err.. sorry, but I totally did not get a word u just said. Except for the part where u think u know someone, but u might not.
WRONG!!! THE DIFFERENCE IS THAT CHRISTIANS CHOSE THE WRONG RELIGION!!! BELIEVE IN ALLAH AND YOU WILL GO TO HEAVEN!!!Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Actually there is little difference between a christian and a non-christian.
Just that the christian is aware of the actual situtation, condition of his life and need for grace.
No true christian would ever make u feel that u arent worthy of them. I just wanna get that straight. That's wrong, because before we were christians, we too were just like everyone else who needs saving. Whoever makes u feel that way is wrong and is ruining the image of what christians should be like.Originally posted by weird70s:I'm quite![]()
how "some" christians force their religion onto people.
I gone through several similar response from some christian group that I met before. If you aren't christian or classified as heretics or pagan devotees, then you are not good enough to go join them. Even worse, if the ger you like is in these type of groups, then all your chances of wooing the ger is flushed down the drain into the abyss. These group will brainwash their members to believe that anyone that isn't their religion is pagan or heretics and not worth the time to be together for life. [That's when "they" take advantage on the gers in their groups.]
Some group of christian are good in heart and their believes that everyone is equal whether what religion they are in.
Originally posted by Evil Clown:WRONG!!! THE DIFFERENCE IS THAT CHRISTIANS CHOSE THE WRONG RELIGION!!! BELIEVE IN ALLAH AND YOU WILL GO TO HEAVEN!!!
Nope. As long as you're on Earth it's POSSIBLE for you to find MEANING in life. You can find 'meaning' in heavens too. Even HELL maybe...?Well... To some...?
Earth is a place where the so called 'good' and 'evil' meets. And these values are just very subjective ones. Heavens and HELL, GOD & devils... Sorry, can't tell you much...Anyway, I'm also in the midst of 'exploration'...
Christians can withdraw from GOD. Become something else. Are they still considered as part of God's family then? How about those who MIGHT become a Christian in the future but not yet one? Are they part of God's family yet?
Anyway... THANKS for making me feel that I'm actually SO FREE...Hmm.. do i detect a hint of sarcasm?>
I'm enjoying this little conversation with you...But sorry if there're many things I can't really speak of.... You can think of me as a lunatic or its like kinds.... I won't mind at all... <
> ~WAHAHahahaha....
yea.. this part i agree.. some churches even make bgr look like sin, or a bad thing. which it isn't. of course they give rubbish like "oh, we just DISCOURAGE, but their actions speak otherwise, and action always speaks louder than words.Originally posted by weird70s:I'm quite![]()
how "some" christians force their religion onto people.
I gone through several similar response from some christian group that I met before. If you aren't christian or classified as heretics or pagan devotees, then you are not good enough to go join them. Even worse, if the ger you like is in these type of groups, then all your chances of wooing the ger is flushed down the drain into the abyss. These group will brainwash their members to believe that anyone that isn't their religion is pagan or heretics and not worth the time to be together for life. [That's when "they" take advantage on the gers in their groups.]
Some group of christian are good in heart and their believes that everyone is equal whether what religion they are in.
"do not be yoked with non-believers"its true in the sense where we should know the limit to certain activities non believers do (cuz christians got a lifestyle to live which is different) the principles non believers practice which we cannot follow., but to take that verse out of context and overblow the situation would be like what wierd70 said. tts why i left that church, after my family received christ, we are now in bethesda community. =)
Even worse, if the ger you like is in these type of groups, then all your chances of wooing the ger is flushed down the drain into the abyss.then fall in love la, then bring her to bed, screw upside down, which is a total disobedience to what our God has told us believers. i cannot blame the church for being protective, but i blame the church for bringing the protection too far.
hmm ok, let me put it this way. say if the girl loves music and music was her life, and the guy doesn like music, u tink that they can live together in peace??Originally posted by Simpl3guy:Just want to share something here.I have a friend whose girlfren recently convert to a christian.So here comes the problem,my friend isn't a christian,so now his girlfren wants him to get converted but my fren simply refused.In the end, they broke off,of course its the girl who suggested it.I was so disgusted when i heard this, i mean i had no prejudice against the christians but don u feel there a lot of things out there thats more important than the religion itself,does it matters that much to be a christrian.How could someone judge people by his religion and not by who he really is? I believe that as long as a person is of good character,it doesn't matter to me what his religion is.Of course maybe most of the christians are not like what i have said so maybe i am just so suay to have met some of the black sheep lor.
hmm ok, let me put it this way. say if the girl loves music and music was her life, and the guy doesn like music, u tink that they can live together in peace??I think people wif different religions can still get together.Why not? People wif different races get together,people wif different hobbies get together and so on.It is not very possible to have everything the same wif each other. What if u have the same hobbies same this same that but different religions?Of course u also cant have too many differences lah. But if a relationship ends becos of some differences,it just makes me wonder is there really love involved in it.Even if someone spends more than 3 days per week wif church frens, it is just a very small problem if u really love each other.What about people who work until very late everyday,what about people who stay in camp everyday?And i don mean being in a relationship means srewing around and holding hands then bye bye.I personally know of one old couple where the husband is a buddhist and the wife is a catholic and they are still very loving.Even if i have a christian girlfren i would still accompany her to church,going to church doesn't mean believing or want to be a christian,sometimes i accompany her do this and she accompany me do that and i think most people in relationships do all all these, it is just about compromising.Of course if the relationship hasn't begin, everybody can choose wat kind of partner he or she wants cos it is their choice but to end a relationship becos of some differences is a different matter.Last of all,if it is my fren who initiate the breakup i wont agree wif him.If he couldnt understand that his girlfren has to go to church and initiate the breakup,i would think its his fault.In their argument, i think my fren would already have tried to tell her that religion should not be a problem in their relationship though saying is one thing and doing is another.But the problem is his girlfren didnt even gave him the chance to try.All in her mind was "if u don join christinity,we have to breakup".
there will be no conflict? its the same case here. when someone comes into christ, most of her time will be spent in church, with christian friends. lifestyle will change, not for worse, for the better. but the guy would not understand it, like why everyweek she has to goto church and stuff. for me? i spend at least 3 days a week doing church work, and meeting church friends. if the girl does the same thing, which is a good thing, not a bad thing, will the guy understand? or will he initiate the breakup? think abt it.
and if he was the one initiating the breakup, would u be singing a different tune? agreeing with him for his decision? or will u be just and fair?
but don't get me wrong, there is NOTHING wrong in having a relationship with a non believer. but marraigewise, cannot *thus the verse do not be yoked,, blah blah.* and every relationship we pursue, we try to aim for long term into marraige, not just walk walk, hold hand, u screw me i screw u*which is wrong*, 3 mths later, bye bye..
is that all there is?
Whoa...note the sarcasm!Originally posted by Evil Clown:WRONG!!! THE DIFFERENCE IS THAT CHRISTIANS CHOSE THE WRONG RELIGION!!! BELIEVE IN ALLAH AND YOU WILL GO TO HEAVEN!!!
firstly.. try to hv some spacing and paragraphs.. its easier to read.Originally posted by Simpl3guy:I think people wif different religions can still get together.Why not? People wif different races get together,people wif different hobbies get together and so on.It is not very possible to have everything the same wif each other. What if u have the same hobbies same this same that but different religions?Of course u also cant have too many differences lah. But if a relationship ends becos of some differences,it just makes me wonder is there really love involved in it.Even if someone spends more than 3 days per week wif church frens, it is just a very small problem if u really love each other.What about people who work until very late everyday,what about people who stay in camp everyday?And i don mean being in a relationship means srewing around and holding hands then bye bye.I personally know of one old couple where the husband is a buddhist and the wife is a catholic and they are still very loving.Even if i have a christian girlfren i would still accompany her to church,going to church doesn't mean believing or want to be a christian,sometimes i accompany her do this and she accompany me do that and i think most people in relationships do all all these, it is just about compromising.Of course if the relationship hasn't begin, everybody can choose wat kind of partner he or she wants cos it is their choice but to end a relationship becos of some differences is a different matter.Last of all,if it is my fren who initiate the breakup i wont agree wif him.If he couldnt understand that his girlfren has to go to church and initiate the breakup,i would think its his fault.In their argument, i think my fren would already have tried to tell her that religion should not be a problem in their relationship though saying is one thing and doing is another.But the problem is his girlfren didnt even gave him the chance to try.All in her mind was "if u don join christinity,we have to breakup".
Last of all,if it is my fren who initiate the breakup i wont agree wif him.If he couldnt understand that his girlfren has to go to church and initiate the breakup,i would think its his fault.yes.. saying and doing is 2 different things.. its easy for him to say now, but what of 3 mths later? she spends alot of time in church, cell groups, ministry, will be still be understanding? she will have friends in church too, some might be guys, and she might relate to them well cause of the same background, but you sure he won't be jealous and stop her from attending church and seeing her church friends? i don't think so, thats why. its hard for a non christian to date a christian, its already hard for a chrsitian to date a christian. i know.. trust me..
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:If all those people who have never heard of Christ are going to be saved anyway, is belief, then, not necessary? My friends have taught me something about Christianity, which I have not accepted, have they damned me? If I remained ignorant about Christianity, just like many other people around the world, would I have been saved?
i'm sure God is a just God, and a fair one. but does our eternal judgement, lies on good deeds? it is not so.. salvation does not lie in deeds, its not what we do that counts, its what was already done 2000 years ago that counts. the death of the Lamb, the only one thing that saves us. but what is promised in the bible is this, you and your household will be saved. i am willing to testify to that, i believe in it with all my heart, and it happened to my household, they are saved.
but does our eternal judgement, lies on good deeds? it is not so.. salvation does not lie in deeds, its not what we do that counts, its what was already done 2000 years ago that counts.If this is true, no amount of good or evil I do matters, as what counts has already happened 2000 years ago. Then what can save us? Is belief and repentance all that is necessary for salvation, regardless of deeds?