well, when a person first believe, he or she is still not very strong lor............you know what my strong means right?Originally posted by Icemoon:Icemoon is not from any church.
If they're new believers, true believers, spiritually converted by the Holy Ghost, then we should see a regeneration in them. It's no point just saying "I believe" .. haha .. anyone can say that .. even sing that (the korean song .. lol)
18 is a significant age, just like 21. It's when the teenager can think for himself, or supposed to. At 18 or 19, most of the guys are trained to handle a rifle.
Well, mi not complaining coz it's a church, but b'cos it brings inconvenience to the local populace. & these activities are not one off incidents.... they gather every week, ya?Originally posted by snk86:you know? it is very unfair to say it this way lor......just because they are a church then complain this complain that. well, some of this guys are new believers. pls don't expect us christian to behave like a lifeless nut..........and those kids, hey, you say KID(get my point? hell, they might not even know what middle finger means)....well, but that church might be too extream at times(or most of the times, hehe)
Anyway, I hope you are able to move on in your life..... I have a simple wish... it may sounds absurb.... hope that you and your friend can become friends again..... I know it takes 2 to make a clap.....Originally posted by weidev:nt enough space to write here... also wait i write huh... ppl will sue me leh... cannot la... i beri scared...![]()
jurong the land veri cheap meh? i think pulau ubin cheaper... i think la...Originally posted by snk86:haha, well, they need a cheaper land to build such a big building
hey.. sure i have moved on prefectly... without tat friend... or shd i say... ex-friend... trust me... if such a thing happen 2 u... u will feel it is nt so easy 2 4get... after all i have treated her like a real friend n she turn ard n backstab me like a "true" friend... believing in christ is okay... but obsession with christ i don feel it is okay... i don wan to tok 2 her... cos i scare i will make her cry...Originally posted by devwei:Anyway, I hope you are able to move on in your life..... I have a simple wish... it may sounds absurb.... hope that you and your friend can become friends again..... I know it takes 2 to make a clap.....
Got a funny suggestions... Haf you tried sharing wif her how you felt after what she told you? It may open her eyes to know your feelings...
As of HYS... I think she is very innoncent here... I know you don't like her singing or her personally but hope that you are able to show some grace when you describe her....
Cheers...![]()
erm... i think there is a misconception here... KIDS nowadays lets face it... noe more than us.. compared to us in the past... i think they perfectly understood wat the middle finger means... if nt ask them to point at the sch yeacher n c wat the teacher say? my neighbour who is bout 6 noe wat the middle finger is liao...Originally posted by snk86:you know? it is very unfair to say it this way lor......just because they are a church then complain this complain that. well, some of this guys are new believers. pls don't expect us christian to behave like a lifeless nut..........and those kids, hey, you say KID(get my point? hell, they might not even know what middle finger means)....well, but that church might be too extream at times(or most of the times, hehe)
Few days never see my posting there's oreadi so much comments. Wondering if I should revert back to the old debate.Originally posted by weidev:erm... i think there is a misconception here... KIDS nowadays lets face it... noe more than us.. compared to us in the past... i think they perfectly understood wat the middle finger means... if nt ask them to point at the sch yeacher n c wat the teacher say? my neighbour who is bout 6 noe wat the middle finger is liao...
I find there's really nothing much the church should be blamed for. Alot of ppl didn't know is that most people doesn't knows who the person really is who speak about HYS on the papers. Secondly The amount of money used for the apology are raised by his cgms. If you still think he was forced. Why not try sueing the church. I think it is true you'll definitely win the church in a court case + you can disclose it in the paper that the church is doing the wrong thing.My main point is tis shows some truth of people been pressured into buying her CDs. And they r pressured not into buying 1 but buying 5-10.
And about the figures that someone gave. 53% are salaried in chc. That means??? there are indeed more adults in the church than teenagers remember there's still at least more than 10% of elderly, children etc etc.Why don't u quote the whole thing ? Wat is your question and wat r u trying to say ?
53% nt all can be adult... i myself am working n studying i am l also gettin a salary right? that means u am salaried but i am nt an adult... so this means that out of 53% there are teenagers who r also working n studying at the same time...Originally posted by qwerty24:Few days never see my posting there's oreadi so much comments. Wondering if I should revert back to the old debate.
Upon looking at this link
http://www.religionnewsblog.com/archives/00002148.html
I find there's really nothing much the church should be blamed for. Alot of ppl didn't know is that most people doesn't knows who the person really is who speak about HYS on the papers. Secondly The amount of money used for the apology are raised by his cgms. If you still think he was forced. Why not try sueing the church. I think it is true you'll definitely win the church in a court case + you can disclose it in the paper that the church is doing the wrong thing.
And about the figures that someone gave. 53% are salaried in chc. That means??? there are indeed more adults in the church than teenagers remember there's still at least more than 10% of elderly, children etc etc.
I'm busy now my lunch time is over I think I'll post later in the night.
to be continued.
If all the members during the christmas party is true, and if all money gather from the members contribute only and only to the General and Building Funds ( I believe there is a further tilthe and donations funds + donations to charity which was not included), then on average each person actually contributed $120 per month. From the statistic, only 53% are salaried members. Thus one can expect that this portion of people had to contribute much more money to counter the additonal young children and old folks. Pardon me for saying, tat is nearly about 10% of the total income they earn.53% means? salaried members which I believed his toking about full time working adulted if you read the entire passage. He is catarising that that way. I'm wonderign why is this still a argueable subject. Unless the person is trying simply to twist and pick on the language. 10 % hmmm. Christians around the world recognised the understanding of the word in giving tithe it is not only in chc( giving of 10% of what ur gross earning). But is a practiced adopted by ALL Christians, Catolics and Judalism. WHereas muslim give 3%. But most other churchs only around 10-30% of the members practices that but that doesn't mean the bible doesn't have it. Many ppl like to use this subject to debate but Let's that a look. If you think chc building itself is grand yea that becoz its grand in a different piloshophycal region like asia. If you look at other countries esp western countries, these would never had happened. Churches are one of the grandest buildings in the world. It is one of the riches architecture in the ancient world and represents changes in trends for many centuries. For instance the dome shape architecture. But why issit so different between western countries and middle east compared to asian ( excluding korea and japan)? Is the biblical teaching different? Simply not. Or the bias and perjudice of the people? More likely is the thinking of ppl. Beside the tithe which is coincide with the word. THe building funds are encouraged but not compulsory or anyhow? ( you may still say its peer pressure, pls lah if you think its not right in giving money away, you think just by peer pressure you would doing it?) Whereas the cds. Just by peer presure??? Well I think I had never seen anyone in chc doing that buying 10s of cds for her out of peer pressure simply becoz there isn't so many ppl willing to do that. No peer where got pressure? You seen it? why not report it? If you managed to find them that an entire cg buying 10s of cds, then I believe you? I'll willing to put my life on it tok is cheap. Especailly in 3 album striaght. I did bought something for my fren but its a chinese bible for my chinese frens. But hmmm??? a cd with secular songs? is the evangelistic value there? Perhaps you should show me the figures where most chc member buys the cd. (Stop argueing why it is possible etc etc and all the assumption in the world. Find me prove, evidence and ppl who does that!)
I am saying before she start to cut album. Why does everyone seems to avoid trying to comment her behavior before the first album ?Hmm what you wan to know??? She is like tat lah? Does it make a different? WHy you guys like to ask something that is totally irrelevant???
http://www.religionnewsblog.com/archives/00002017.html??? I was refering to this. ???? Secretly? Ur intel issn't good enuff sia. His cg helps to raise the money for him one( its no secret lor everyone in chc noes it), alot of ppl does noe. if you read the website. I think u should understand the church has nothing to do with him apologising lor by reading the website. I think u guys think too much conspiracy liao. He said he leave the church and never returned. If that's the case why don't he report police he got threatened? WHy issit another church pastor advised him to apologies etc etc. And since you believed so much why don't you report police and dismantle the church??? Don't tell me ur can't etc etc , its none of your biz. Do you noe you can sue the church as cult church or what etc etc. Read the case on the person who sued CCC as a cult church. THey won. You can do it one. Trying doing it if you got such solid prove. ANd relax the church wun sue u in return one.
In the end somone (secret secret) pay $33,372.06 for public apology fees. I don't know wat u guys did to him at tat time though... (was it suing ?)
Firstly about this its not really about the money issue. It is important but it is secondly. It's about her evangelistic concert. Hmmm already there are many ppl saved while her husband preach in her concert in many countries like hong kong and taiwan. Try evagelising and preach openly in china and see if its possible with the prosecution. Now try with her singing. THe chinese government is more welcome that she enter into the china world thru singing. Explain if you can denial the effect of that. Maybe you would argue why should she mix both singing and Christianity together? But why not? Who forbided it? the bible or the law? And to your questions why she publised tat, actually she didn't, neither the record company. But its her husband and only to the church. so let's get the facts right before slandering.
To big bird
Lets assume she really did put in all her profit into charity since u guys believe in it so much.
First, why don't u people donate the money to the charity directly then ? Does the record companies throw in their profit for charity ? I don't think so and they r the ones that earned the biggest profit. Charity will get more if u donate directly isn't it ? For $100 profit from CD, $80 or more go to record comapnies, admin and managerial staff, song writers, lyrics fillers, music players and producer. If u guys r so kind and buy the CD just for charity, I think u should start reflecting on your own action and start thinking whether r u being economical on tis.
People r after different things. Some go for money, some go for power, some go for fame. And she don't need any much money in the first place since she is living rather comfortably now. I have asked tis question before. Wat cars r the 2 driving now ? Wat r the size of their house ? Can anyone answer me on tat ?
And regarding to issue about whether will normal people donate the money from their work to charity. My answer is no. However I find those stars tat worked hard and use their own hands to carve out a niche themselves r more admirable than someone tat made use of her special status and religion to fulfil some ambitions of hers. I like a star more for being frank into telling people he spent the money on buying a big white elephant then one tat claims she put all her earnings into charity. Whether she really put it inside charity doesn't matter. The mere fact tat she publicises tis statement is bad enough. To me tat is nothing more than a publicity stunt. Tis is especially so when she was too overrated and act like a goody goody two shoes.
So u wanna repeat sending tat same reply again ?
53% means? salaried members which I believed his toking about full time working adulted if you read the entire passage. He is catarising that that way. I'm wonderign why is this still a argueable subject. Unless the person is trying simply to twist and pick on the language. 10 % hmmm. Christians around the world recognised the understanding of the word in giving tithe it is not only in chc( giving of 10% of what ur gross earning). But is a practiced adopted by ALL Christians, Catolics and Judalism. WHereas muslim give 3%. But most other churchs only around 10-30% of the members practices that but that doesn't mean the bible doesn't have it. Many ppl like to use this subject to debate but Let's that a look. If you think chc building itself is grand yea that becoz its grand in a different piloshophycal region like asia. If you look at other countries esp western countries, these would never had happened. Churches are one of the grandest buildings in the world. It is one of the riches architecture in the ancient world and represents changes in trends for many centuries. For instance the dome shape architecture. But why issit so different between western countries and middle east compared to asian ( excluding korea and japan)? Is the biblical teaching different? Simply not. Or the bias and perjudice of the people? More likely is the thinking of ppl. Beside the tithe which is coincide with the word. THe building funds are encouraged but not compulsory or anyhow? ( you may still say its peer pressure, pls lah if you think its not right in giving money away, you think just by peer pressure you would doing it?) Whereas the cds. Just by peer presure??? Well I think I had never seen anyone in chc doing that buying 10s of cds for her out of peer pressure simply becoz there isn't so many ppl willing to do that. No peer where got pressure? You seen it? why not report it? If you managed to find them that an entire cg buying 10s of cds, then I believe you? I'll willing to put my life on it tok is cheap. Especailly in 3 album striaght. I did bought something for my fren but its a chinese bible for my chinese frens. But hmmm??? a cd with secular songs? is the evangelistic value there? Perhaps you should show me the figures where most chc member buys the cd. (Stop argueing why it is possible etc etc and all the assumption in the world. Find me prove, evidence and ppl who does that!)U wanna know wat 53% means ?
Hmmm how about coming to the church and find out how many actually so rich to pay for 10 over CDs and distribute to frens? 10 over CDs cost at least $180 would u pay for it? This is absurd. Even if there is such ppl, Imagine 3 album getting top 1 in ranking? U expecting everyone consistantly supporting all 3 album? Would u? Perphaps your ideal of the church is all kana voodoo. And the ideal of getting ppl from oversea to buy ur cd when they arent' even ur church member is even more absurd. CHC may be affliated to oversea but their numbers is in the hundreds per church do you think they buying 30s of cds? Or hundreds? U expect me to quote the figure, and u can't quote the figure urself to support your stand for arguement. I think you should make ppl believe what u think is fact by providing evidence. I'm here trying to answer your questions not proving your notion.Look at the first bolded sentence.
Whereas the cds. Just by peer presure??? Well I think I had never seen anyone in chc doing that buying 10s of cds for her out of peer pressure simply becoz there isn't so many ppl willing to do that. No peer where got pressure?Poon had bought 5 CDs each for each of the 2 albums she came up. TAT is the TRUTH. U want prove, evidence and people, I named them to u already. Poon bought 5 CDs for each of her 2 albums which is recorded in newspaper. U still wanna blindly deny everything and claim tat you people never buy in any CDs ?
??? I was refering to this. ???? Secretly? Ur intel issn't good enuff sia. His cg helps to raise the money for him one( its no secret lor everyone in chc noes it), alot of ppl does noe. if you read the website. I think u should understand the church has nothing to do with him apologising lor by reading the website. I think u guys think too much conspiracy liao. He said he leave the church and never returned. If that's the case why don't he report police he got threatened? WHy issit another church pastor advised him to apologies etc etc. And since you believed so much why don't you report police and dismantle the church??? Don't tell me ur can't etc etc , its none of your biz. Do you noe you can sue the church as cult church or what etc etc. Read the case on the person who sued CCC as a cult church. THey won. You can do it one. Trying doing it if you got such solid prove. ANd relax the church wun sue u in return one.WHy does he leave the church and never return then ? Why does the lawyers get consulted before they print out his letters then ? And tell u, don't keep asking people to report police or sue them etc. Only u guys like to do all tis.
You all had yet to ans me with all the figures on who issit possible for her to be top one with her church alone as support.2 flaws here.
You mentioned averagely one person pay 10% which is $120 each cd $20 which is aroud 6 and 6 x 13000 (not 17000 coz tat easter svc alone many new comers are here, the regular core member attendance is only around 12000++ let's say 13000 x 6. only 78000 cds. Hmm still not enuff leh. Perhaps tat's only enuff for Singapore but how about asia? Taiwan? hmmm. Care to enlighten me? And somemore this is the 'IDEAL' situation. But in true fact u think everyone pays 10% of their gross pay in addtion to 10% of tithe for 10 cds to be given away? Who is the pastor to them? Further more only 90% of the members tithe faithfully? IS she above God???
Originally posted by immotal:hmm.. being singaporean , we should be proud tat we hav such a popular singapore born singer..if her songs r not gd, city harvest members wont be buying her cds also wat..
dats not very true... seeing the way that "church" has become such an organisation by brainwashing its believers into spilling their money for paying for better facilities to attract more flies to shit to have more moeny to suck off from and get better facilities yada yada yada...Originally posted by immotal:hmm.. being singaporean , we should be proud tat we hav such a popular singapore born singer..if her songs r not gd, city harvest members wont be buying her cds also wat..
Yea It means "Working adult" I kinda find ppl ridiculous to think of something so absurd through a simple english. How the statistic is collected is thru the calculation of member's database of working adult (collected from all cgs). This was already mentioned during the building funds which sepreated the "working adult' and "Students". Its just like u picking up any piece of bone of the ground and think it has some prehistoric values. The english is simple and it has no other meaning. If you are the one compiling the statistic for everyone to see its quite irealistic to think that its has the "outer meaning" rite? WHy dun u try asking my pastor instead.
U wanna know wat 53% means ?
http://www.chc.org.sg/version3/main.htm
I get it from your own website . Ask your pastor for more info if u want.
Tis is from your past post
Look at the first bolded sentence.Hmmm Let's make a illustration. U have 10 bucks u have to pay $3 bucks for your meal, and u had a option of paying another $3 bucks for a magazine. Does that means U paying $3 bucks for the meal u'll definitely pay $3 for the magazine. Totally illogical rite? 10% tithe is a requirement if you decided faithfully to obey God. but the cd??? Its not a must to buy cd if you pay tithe even u can do that. U r assuming everyone does that in an ideal situation where they have no life they just live on tithe and cds. Well wake up. Hello.... knock knock..... r u alrite? And btw u had seems to avoid some questions leh. Yet to explain how she got into top asian and taiwan mtv and music chart.
In here, u say tat people paying $180 for 10 CDs (Note your calculation here is $18 per CD) is absurb. But to u guys, u already ready to pay more than 10% (excluding buliding and misc fund which u guys pay 25.9 million, or about $1500 each person for tat year only) of your money for church, does tat make paying $180 for HYS CDs crazy ?
The average income per capita in Singapore from tis website
http://www.asiaweek.com/asiaweek/asiacities/singapore.html
for exchange rate
http://www.x-rates.com/d/SGD/table.html
is $16021 US dollars = $27877. 10% thus is $2788. In average including tithe and building funds, each guys pay about $4288 for YEAR 2002 !! . A whopping $357 per month !! Is $180 just to buy HYS CDs any crazy now ? I am trying to argue on tis fact which u seemed to be off from it entirely
Poon had bought 5 CDs each for each of the 2 albums she came up. TAT is the TRUTH. U want prove, evidence and people, I named them to u already. Poon bought 5 CDs for each of her 2 albums which is recorded in newspaper. U still wanna blindly deny everything and claim tat you people never buy in any CDs ?Hmmm so he only bought 5 and not 10??? I tot u think everyone buy 10s of cds. Now only 5 for mr poon. For this question. Hmmm u only managed to showed me one leh. Do u think in theory of probability Mr Poon can represent all of chc? And I did said there are ppl who bought but the numbers are not sufficient to alter any of the results. Try something more concrete leh. Kaoz, like u see a guy from NTU do u assume NTU is a boys institution? Ridiculous. Bring enuff prove first leh. Stop arguing thru these little loop holes. Try using more evidences and CONCRETE and SOLID prove. In fact now I tell u honestly yea most ppl perhaps I think bought cd out of support. But is it substantial enuff? That isn't that many to buy 10s of cd for 3 album striaght just for support. It is rare I can confidently say.
WHy does he leave the church and never return then ? Why does the lawyers get consulted before they print out his letters then ? And tell u, don't keep asking people to report police or sue them etc. Only u guys like to do all tis.Hmmm Why he leave the church? Put yourselve in his shose would u leave the church? Out of shame and guilt or embaressment, any of the three element i think with such a big church u'll definitly leave without any forms of threat. Have u ever tot of this? I guess perhaps u had just dun wan to weaken ur arguement by quoting this. To be frank simply becoz I challenged u I noe for very very sure U have no SOLID evidence or any facts to support yourself. And I am very very confident of what you said is wrong which I understand with my own experience. Thru these debates u had been losing bouts and bouts and u been shifting around looking for loop holes etc etc. I think most ppl who read this can see. Picking only little insignificant things that can't prove much. Just as if you are so confident of what u said thru proving in the real "arena". You had nothign to lose if truth is on ur side. Most anti-chc ppl have common characteristic (i seen alot) They are affected by something or wat the church does through it may not be wrong, but that they disagree much. In fact most of them doesn't really enuff first hand encounter with the church itself but thru a second hand understanding ( in fact more than 90% of what they noe of the church are rumours and myth, for instance saying chc force ppl to pay tithe buy cds etc, Well I was nvr forced yet). Some their feelings are caused by the influence of peers. And just dislike becoz they think its the norms and trends and for the sake of doing so. I think perhaps in a court room you may prove more beneficial if u holds the truth. Than here arguing with no strong support for your words.
Your logic and arguments are very childish, for everything I say, u just challenged me to report police and sue u guys ? Is tat all u wanna say ? Is tat wat u guys normally do ? If everything just report police than police will be very busy. U give me tis impression "Not happy call police lah"
First, as I mentioned the income per capita in Singapore is $27877. which mean $232 per month. And your CD is $18 from your previous argument. Thus if they use their full 10% to buy her CDs for tat month, tat is 13 CDs, not 6.Hmmm 100000 cds for singapore and malaysia only ar? For Singapore for the first album btw is 30000 in print. By the time the 3rd albums comes due to the overwhelming results the record company had printed more. I heard once for the second album is 45000 - 60000. The thrid album definitelly is much more. It hadn't include overseas, this is just singaproe alone. That is assuming EVERYONE buys then we could get 78% as u said. Check the statistic again pls. Let's say its only 100000 and the total gross sales is 1.8 million. Hmmm I wonder how the company survive after paying the singer, retailer, frieght, copyrights, product etc etc + productions cost. Even if the company has many such Singers and record but.... this is pathetic. I remembered once I watch this taiwanese tv program. Singers who are top in Taiwan actually have records sales of near to a million. Even lesser it can never be 100000.
U know how much she actually sell ? She only manages to sell 100,000 CDs only at tat time. Your own miscalculated figure already reached 78,000. Tat is already 78% of her total sale ! And tat is the figure for sale of WHOLE WORLD. Lets say on average u guys bought 3 CDs each. Then the figure will still be 39% already
U still wanna deny ? Or u want me to dig up more disgraceful figures out ?
Well yea I agree so. If chc is really so, I would have left the church too. If the church is functioning by brainwashing ppl, forcing ppl to buy cd and teaching the wrong doctrine of God and does all things for just the glory and fame of the pastor, I too ask God to close it down, if not let it shine brighter for Christ.
.....if this is the way CHC functions...i ask it to be closed down la. God doesnt need this kind of fame and pomp, cross spinning church and watever things made by human hands.
on behalf of them i apologies to all of you.
btw i'm not fr CHC...