double postOriginally posted by angel^devil:heard from 1 of my christian fren who went the CHC, the pastor (her husband) threw her cd into the crowd at each of his service... on average i think each week he buys quite a few of his wife album to give to his ppl.... so much for the top selling album....
Ice Moon are u really naive or what?Originally posted by Icemoon:Hmmm .. is this mass-buying behavior common? What if some people also mass buy Michael Jackson's top selling album? The same can happen for other "popular" singers as well.
haha... u never noe wor... her hubby shd earn quite alot... considering the amount of money the church get each month tru the members... the calculated sum was more than 1 million! part of the $$ may even go to buying her cd... we never know... tat was juz a guess... thanks...Originally posted by Welsh:so much so for the 300,000 albums sold whole of asia??!! WOW! Think the pastor will have to throw 10,000 every week to reach that amount, and then to explain the "asia wide", this church would have to import lots from oversea to push their charts to the top? WOW!! Good imagination.. so much so for a person like u to post this remarkable post HeRE. heh heh...
oopss.. isit paiseh..Originally posted by Welsh:double post
Originally posted by angel^devil:heard from 1 of my christian fren who went the CHC, the pastor (her husband) threw her cd into the crowd at each of his service... on average i think each week he buys quite a few of his wife album to give to his ppl.... so much for the top selling album....
hello, the last time i checked, Michael W Smith is also a pastor (music director of a church) and he is also in the arts/music/entertainment scene.Originally posted by wallpaper*:The issue of Ho Yeow Sun ought to be discussed rigorously within the Christian circle. It will only be constructive and productive if Christians get together and reach a conclusion before making a collective stand to the public, if that is possible.
Essentially, Ho Yeow Sun has displeased Christians because of the decisions she has made as well as the manner in which City Harvest Church supports her actions. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being a celebrity - singer, actress, etc - but she left her calling as a pastor to engage in a job that has caused much disapproval from the masses.
That only serves to reflect badly on her. She has become a stumbling block to others and she must be made to see her errors. May the Lord correct the thinking of the City Harvest Church and Ho Yeow Sun. They are increasingly worldly and thus, un-Christian.
hello, the last time i checked, Michael W Smith is also a pastor (music director of a church) and he is also in the arts/music/entertainment scene.Originally posted by wallpaper*:The issue of Ho Yeow Sun ought to be discussed rigorously within the Christian circle. It will only be constructive and productive if Christians get together and reach a conclusion before making a collective stand to the public, if that is possible.
Essentially, Ho Yeow Sun has displeased Christians because of the decisions she has made as well as the manner in which City Harvest Church supports her actions. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being a celebrity - singer, actress, etc - but she left her calling as a pastor to engage in a job that has caused much disapproval from the masses.
That only serves to reflect badly on her. She has become a stumbling block to others and she must be made to see her errors. May the Lord correct the thinking of the City Harvest Church and Ho Yeow Sun. They are increasingly worldly and thus, un-Christian.
you sure or not?Originally posted by angel^devil:...on average i think each week he buys quite a few of his wife album to give to his ppl.... so much for the top selling album....
I think this is a strawman. No-one, I hope, is saying we should just sit about and do nothing (zuo4 bo2).Originally posted by tiggersgd:she, in my view has not become a stumbling block and indeed it is in the Word of God that we, do business till He comes back AND do you expect every other christians to sit about and do nothing?
strawman?? saying me ah?Originally posted by Icemoon:I think this is a strawman. No-one, I hope, is saying we should just sit about and do nothing (zuo4 bo2).
Pardon me, IceSun, what is strawman?Originally posted by Icemoon:I think this is a strawman. No-one, I hope, is saying we should just sit about and do nothing (zuo4 bo2).
F.O.S agree... don't know what wounds they are expecting to cause leh.. i don't understand.. so i have to be hero this time.. to save the world.. ~"by the power of the super friend"~@!Originally posted by F.O.S:While all of us are discussing, HYS CDs still selling, while Bill gate is sleeping he still earning money.
When our Windows crash or "illegal operation" we still use MS products. Why?
Life still goes on.
Originally posted by immotal:haa.. The fact is that her album sells...if not the company so free meh.. advertised about her being the best seller rite now...which company will not promote their singer when their albums sells so well... Come on, u can always switch off the tv or radio if u cannot take it.. i am sure she will last long in this music industry..
A strawman is a fallacy in logical argument, when you claim something that your opponent did not. Read the original argument. I think the part when he said do you expect christians to sit around and do nothing, looks like a strawman to me.Originally posted by Welsh:Pardon me, IceSun, what is strawman?
& Of coz NO-ONE is sitting about and doing nothing, they are sitting around the computer and expressing ridicule that wounds
chc is a well known church... tru negative remarks... read those replies tat says bout chc... one out of ten are negative... except for ppl in chc of cos la...Originally posted by immotal:like wat u said .. u onli heard.. u didnt c urself at all.. i been to the svc mani times .. so far i didnt encounter of the above tat you have HEARD.. have u ever tout for wat they are doing all these... chc is already a well- known church in singapore.. sun dun have to go thru all these trouble to be a singer and get herself so tired...she is doing all these with the purpose of lettin more pple to noe abt christ more..
juz curious... can u find michael w simth cds in all those neighbourhood shops selling cds? how many times have u seen him appearing in "skimpy" clothings...? have he ever denied that he is a pastor? when he debuted his album, did he call himself pastor-singer?Originally posted by tiggersgd:hello, the last time i checked, Michael W Smith is also a pastor (music director of a church) and he is also in the arts/music/entertainment scene.
she, in my view has not become a stumbling block and indeed it is in the Word of God that we, do business till He comes back AND do you expect every other christians to sit about and do nothing? Get real here.
the calling of God is for her and similarly you may have one, have you realised yours yet? think about this.
May the Lord, my God correct your thinking as well.
go to their service liao... regretted it...Originally posted by boy in blues:so much hear-say. go their service a few times or get to know her more before draw conclusion.
Originally posted by weidev:go to their service liao... regretted it...
get to noe her more?... cannot even stand her on tv or radio... wait in real life i meet her... act cute in front of me somemore... wait i kanna jailed for murder...
haha... u never noe... it might be worst... or it might be better... but still... not interested...Originally posted by boy in blues:she is obliged to act as scripted. i mean know her off-screen personality.