nobody disrepect any religion here... if u notice the title... we r onli discriminating CHC... and HYS... for me la... the rest of the ppl i don noe...Originally posted by GIJOE:Why is there always a discrimination between the different religions? I do not understand. Aren't religions teaching mankind the right way of life, not commiting crimes, not being greedy and stuff like that...about loving one another? There should not be any discrimination against any religion coz i think its rather rude or disrespectful for the other. Who will ever know which is the ONE religion? I believe each religion is there for a reason, to remind people to be good etc.
I am a buddhist myself but i respect all religions.
Sometimes if people don't understand something, they criticise. I can't blame them, coz it's human nature to do that. They react unappropriately to negative issues. Do u think it easy to continue with your dreams when you are being criticise til "Originally posted by qwerty24:Hmmmm, I'm here to give my views on most of your postings.
Let's look at the matter maturely.
I think if let say that you critise a singer due to her style and the way he/her expressing herself I think regarding this topic there is no right or wrong answer. No one has the right to say whether's soemone's preference is right or wrong. That is agreeable.
But I guess that most of the people against He Yao Sun is becoz of her religion. Most of the people discuss her with her religion together. One of the point that being pointed out is that regarding a non-christian and christian should not be together. Answer is basically that is the rule, its like something like you marrying a muslim you have to convert into being a muslim take it or leave it kind of thing. You can take it or leave it suck thumb. You have a right to disagree with it but I think you still have to respect other people's belief just like buddist who just eat vegetable and muslim that does not eat pork.
I also see that some people thinks that why she got number one is becoz her church is supporting. BUt in fact you'll realise that in her concert most of the people attending are not from her church or even non christian in comparision in fact she is more popular oversea, the number of sales in her cd is far greater compared to the total number of church member. (I noe most people would say this is wrong etc etc, i think if you believe it so there's no point urguing becoz there's nothing aginst you you would believe.) And the church itself includes a number of elderly, mentally challenged, children, foriegner in singapore, adults and youth. So the number actually bought in fact is much lower.
There's also a myth that the church are forcing people to buy the CD but if it is so I guess it would be sue. I admit i in the church and there had be promotion going on but during my stay I only bought one CD willingly out of respect for her + support and that is only her first album. I yet to be forced to buy any.
Some people may disagree that she use her singing to promote her religion. I dun see why. In fact such ways of promoting christianity is been done by quite a few secular singer in the western counties. Its only the first in Asia excluding Japan. Her singing and what she done had indeed impacted people from all over the world from turning towards Christianity people who never heard of Jesus could hear of her song which penetrate with the interest for God is a just cause in Christianity context. Her sales and profit and singing had benefitted not only people who are hope deprived but also the needy and community services who needed the money badly. What had those people who are ranting about what she does benefitted a single individual in this world? None.
Some may disapprove of what the church itself. And as far as I can see that the doctrine coincide with that of all mainstream christianity around the world. Approved by church counsel Singapore. It is also in close relationship with various famous churches around the world. He yao sun's singing is approved by them too. For Instance, hillsongs church, Sydney Christian City CHurch, Ulf Elkman, and many others key people in today's Christian world. In basic doctrine it is just the same as the church in your neighbourhood. Bible "the rule" that is followed by chc or all mainstream christians. So perhaps you are disapproving with Christianity and not chc alone.
"ppl from diff religion also live happily after they married wat.. both my parents are of diff religion... similarly... both her parents also have diff religion..." Regards to this there are buddist in name that eat meat too or muslim that eat pork. Only the faitful one and true believer would keep to their faith. And by the way if they are married in the first place then it wouldn't be right to divorce for this reason.
"i been wondering.. the bible says one shall not have any idol except him... its one of the ten commandment. so what does it means by being an idol?? wierd huh.. " Idolatry that means taking anything else in replace for God. Let's say if the singer is like a God itself in someone's heart where u would worship him/her in every way everyday etc etc then that's idolatry. I dun see that supporting someone, acceptance of his/her talent and enjoying of his/her art as a form of idolatry. Or else we should be idolising toothbrush, coz most of us been brushing everyday and believing in its effect.
I think also let's look at the matter in a mature manner, I think turn cd of artist is childish. If's like a preference if you coke on ur big gulp then press the button dun see you sticking straws into the outlet if you detest it. Imagine the effort an artist it had given. Not just on He yao sun but all others.
"on a heavier note... if u wan 2 make comments about me... go ahead... if it is nt true... i will set the records straight... if it is true... then i will keep my mouth shut... basically if i have done nthing wrong... i am nt afraid of ppl toking behind my back... cos i have a clear conscious... thanks..." I assume you would look at facts then... and not discriminating against anyone or any church.
MOst pople had many misconception of many things even of those outside this topic. My only solution is dun assume or hear from heresay but COnfirm if not sure then dun comment.
You may think I'm a cult follower too. Come On lah let's be sensible. To understand anything itself you must be into it if not dun comment if you understand it superficially. And debating religion is a taboo in all conversation. Let's keep it within boundaries.
Wildfrog,Originally posted by WilDFroG:Stupid idiots.Go die lah.
And what ppl from the church comes from all age groups.Bull-shit.If u r inside then dun lie about it.Almost 95% of the CHC idiots r youths and teenagers.Eat shit,u bloody idiot.![]()
I was once in City HarvestOriginally posted by stupidissmart:Shit... why isn't any of City Harvest people responding to tis thread ? I was hoping one of them will go inside and rebuked everyone here... I thought last time someone write newspaper complaining about Sun and he got blasted by the church members. Don't tell me out of the 1000 people who had read this, none of them are from City harvest yah... Or r they too tired to defend her after so long liao ?
Some people may disagree that she use her singing to promote her religion. I dun see why. In fact such ways of promoting christianity is been done by quite a few secular singer in the western counties. Its only the first in Asia excluding Japan. Her singing and what she done had indeed impacted people from all over the world from turning towards Christianity people who never heard of Jesus could hear of her song which penetrate with the interest for God is a just cause in Christianity context. Her sales and profit and singing had benefitted not only people who are hope deprived but also the needy and community services who needed the money badly. What had those people who are ranting about what she does benefitted a single individual in this world? None.Anyway when she talk about her religion in her songs, tat have an effect on fellow Christian to buy her CDs. To support her is like supporting their group, supporting their religion. Tat is why her sales get boosted so much even at overseas. Isn't tat making use of religion to generate money out too ?
Originally posted by WilDFroG:she has a nice of set of curves
How can any normal person support this piece of [b]S.HIT??? Simply cant stand the sight of her!Total disgrace for S'porean!
Sorry.Knew this place isn't for such stuffs.Apologies...I just cant control myself.[/b]
by this sentence you have made yourself know that you do not know CHC well enough.Originally posted by WilDFroG:Stupid idiots.Go die lah.
And what ppl from the church comes from all age groups.Bull-shit.If u r inside then dun lie about it.Almost 95% of the CHC idiots r youths and teenagers.Eat shit,u bloody idiot.![]()
she has the title as a Rev. but she dont preach on our weekend service, so she is a pastor or not is up to the general public to thinkOriginally posted by makeorbreak:Ok there is this article in the New Paper on Ho Yao Sun.
Apparently,she is denying that she is a pastor at church.She says she is a music director at church.
I'm kinda confused.Is she or is'nt she a pastor?
Originally posted by weidev:ppl have always threathen to sue but juz in case u don't noe... this webpage is sgforums... a place for ppl 2 discuss all issues... if juz saying names will get sued... then i think fann wong, zoe tay n the whole world would have sued us already... since we discussed so many issues here... don like the thread? ignore n move on... in none of my replies have i said that i was approached by a pastor... if u have read my other threads as well... i openly said that a CELL GROUP LEADER approached me and my gf... also in none of my threads have i indicated that my gf came from CHC... she does nt... so wat can i say? i can say tat CHC leaders have nothing 2 do but come n ji siao in my affairs...
on a heavier note... if u wan 2 make comments about me... go ahead... if it is nt true... i will set the records straight... if it is true... then i will keep my mouth shut... basically if i have done nthing wrong... i am nt afraid of ppl toking behind my back... cos i have a clear conscious... thanks...
Originally posted by stupidissmart:like i say in my previous post, she reserve the right to sue. That does not meants she will. as for the issue on sueing, there are past court cases in singapore where injunction orders are given out by the courts to stop such publications from viewership.
Tis is interesting
First, if u guys wanna sue me, then sue me lah ! I never expect u guys to be like some political parties tat threathen to sue to silent the opposition. [b]Tis is a forum, it is suppose to be an area of free speech. If u read through the replies, u will find tat there is a lot of people tat are anti Sun, it is a good time to reflect why is tis the case. Just a reminder, if u sue, u r gonna make Sun look bad in press. Suing people just because of comments on her sales and involvement in church etc. As a famous (or infamous) person, people r bound to talk about her. She doesn't complain why u complain ? So wat else u gonna do ? Hit me at the road etc yah ? Wanna start be a terrorist yah ? [/b]
Originally posted by stupidissmart:
Second, they of course won't force people to buy the CDs. They cannot impose any forcing in the first place as they r not law enforcers too. But the peer pressure is there. Just ask around. For the 3 albums she came out, how many City Harvest people actually buy more than 1 CD each ? Wat is the benefit of buying more than 1 CD of the same album ?
what is the most pratical way of supporting the singer ? is by buying her album. Fans from major boyband groups like F4 have fans buying up to 10 cds each? so wat is their benefit then?
Overseas there are a lot of singers tat were christian. But they r there because they r talented. Sun is not young, doesn't have a fantastic voice and probably doesn't write good songs too. Out there, the record companies can find TONS of people tat had more commercial value than she. Why does she get chosen ? The only reason most thought of is tat she has strong connections with the church. Even if she really doesn' think tis way, the record company does.
then do you know that even before she become a singer, for gospal music, we have people queueing up in rain storms just to attend her concert as it was free sitting in taiwan? and in no way was SUN became a singer because of the "connections" she have with the gospal world, in fact she send in demo tapes just like other singers before they got "discovered"
Anyway when she talk about her religion in her songs, tat have an effect on fellow Christian to buy her CDs. To support her is like supporting their group, supporting their religion. Tat is why her sales get boosted so much even at overseas. Isn't tat making use of religion to generate money out too ?
for all the money generated by her sales of the alburm, all is donated to the charity, example ren ci hospital 20 K and world missions fund. so she benefit nothing from the sales of her alburm.
if you say that there is an effect on fellow christian to buy her alburm, then should it be that the whole singapore christian population is supporting her and not just CHC ??
Sure not...what 55% and 45%.Originally posted by F.O.S:Wildfrog,
Thought I told you this topic will go worst? come on we all here to past time and be happy.
Steady ok
its ok! i AGREEOriginally posted by Smooch:She.........looks like a horse. OOpppsss![]()
ok...mi tooOriginally posted by hell's dawn:its ok! i AGREE

its hard to see your own eyebrows. but i'm not to worried about that.. he's accountable, whether he likes it or not.Originally posted by OrangeFreak:How can you be considered a free thinker, when you are already not accepting other people, who practise a different set of beliefs from you? Worse, you are imposing your beliefs on others!
Sometimes I hear people saying what a nuisance can some christians be when they try to evangelise by forcing down the religion on them. Well, non-christians aren't better when they try to dissuades other from practicing their religion! Doesn't it have to work both ways?
Hmm......only if offending remarks that affects the person's livelyhood are used and or pornagraphic,copyrighted material is used.Then it becomes a case of defametion.Also for the forums to be liable it has to be shown that the moderators of the forums have ignored repeated requests to remove the material,counsel the person or even ban him/her.This is all covered in the CoC/terms of service/terms and regulations.Originally posted by sky_dew:under the computer misuse act, service providers like sgForums.com are liable for content and images posted here by their users and users are also liable for content and image posted here.
i say Rev. Ho reserve the right to sue. so are the other actors that you have mention. what normally happens is the comments are often ignored, but if the plantiff has seen the comments and felt that it is too damaging to her image as a actor, singer etc. she has the power to ask the courts of singapore to issue an injunction to stop the web publications and she thus hold the right to sue for damages.
as for your GF incident, if your GF has not attended CHC, how would our CGLs know her ? is it logical ?
for all the money generated by her sales of the alburm, all is donated to the charity, example ren ci hospital 20 K and world missions fund. so she benefit nothing from the sales of her alburm.Source?
if you say that there is an effect on fellow christian to buy her alburm, then should it be that the whole singapore christian population is supporting her and not just CHC ??
Sure not...what 55% and 45%. Bloody %#@@.I'm staying nearby and all I see r swarms and swarms of teenage youths everytime after u dismiss.If CHC is so holy,then the building wun be looking so grand.Dun talk with ur eyes closed.Why cant it be grand when it is suppose to be the house of God??(according to christan beliefs if i'm not wrong)
Anyone who wished to know where CHC is,it's at Jurong West St 91 besides one community centre.The one where u have security guards and fountains.Incredible!
what is the most pratical way of supporting the singer ? is by buying her album. Fans from major boyband groups like F4 have fans buying up to 10 cds each? so wat is their benefit thenFirst, I think little of those F4 fans too. But then F4 fans r mostly teenagers. Not for your case though, since 45 % of your members were already adults 30 and above. I bet most of u probably never buy much CDs from other singers.
Wow, now then I know in Taiwan they have a strong fellowship there too. No wonder the CDs r selling in Taiwan too
then do you know that even before she become a singer, for gospal music, we have people queueing up in rain storms just to attend her concert as it was free sitting in taiwan? and in no way was SUN became a singer because of the "connections" she have with the gospal world, in fact she send in demo tapes just like other singers before they got "discovered"
u scare... speak ur mind...Originally posted by F.O.S:I was once in City Harvestbut I won't comment I scare.
logical? u mean onli ppl who attend CHC will noe ppl from CHC? u mean that CHC CGLs onli noe CHC ppl? who is the one without the logical thinking... ppl WITH a gd social circle wld noe ppl from all kinds of religion, occupations and races... i for instance noe AT LEAST 2 CGLs from CHC ALONE... nt to say bout other churches... look... GET A LIFE...Originally posted by sky_dew:under the computer misuse act, service providers like sgForums.com are liable for content and images posted here by their users and users are also liable for content and image posted here.
i say Rev. Ho reserve the right to sue. so are the other actors that you have mention. what normally happens is the comments are often ignored, but if the plantiff has seen the comments and felt that it is too damaging to her image as a actor, singer etc. she has the power to ask the courts of singapore to issue an injunction to stop the web publications and she thus hold the right to sue for damages.
as for your GF incident, if your GF has not attended CHC, how would our CGLs know her ? is it logical ?