actually it is 10.5 not 12 secs from standstill till 100...Originally posted by zacus:Accutually for your information tuscani has one of the weakest accelerations and top speeds of sport cars. Tuscani accelerates from a standstill to 100km/h in 12 secs...that totally sucks for a sports car. Even the city now i'm driving if manual can hit 9.8 secs vTEC. CVT version i think can even be 10.8 secs vTEC. Accutually vTEC makes a hell lot of difference. Tuscani 2.0 litres more road tax. City lesser road tax, only 1.5 litres. City more fuel efficient bcoz of technology, it gives abt 12km/litre if i drive fast. My previous hyundai matrix only return me 6km/litre when i drive fast and feed him with 98ron petrol. The only thing i like about tuscani is the looks lol.... anyway tuscani not a bad car.... its just that it doesn't perform like it should and should giak yiu. I think the interior of the tuscani oso quite nice. Overall?..............made affordable.
why should there be an embrassment?....you have your car i have mine? then if a kia picanto stops next to a ferrari then the kia owner must hide himself meh?Originally posted by ed2win2:Tuscani is for those who can barely afford a coupe. It is price so low that it is not in the range of celica or integra. In fact it is price in the range of more expensive 1.6 sedans. For those, who dont follow cars may be impress with the design of Tuscani. For those who know cars, Tuscani is a low class coupe. Only the design makes it to fall in coupe category. Sometimes it may be shameful to be seen driving one as they know that these owners want a coupe so bad and yet they could not afford a decent coupe like celica. Even celica or integra is already inside low cost coupe category.
Why buy Tuscani?
Because I want a sporty car but i could not afford a 'real' coupe. It is a poor man coupe.
It is a real embrassment if a Tuscani is stop side by side a RX7 at traffic light junction![]()
Its becuz Kia Picanto is not pretending to be a sports car...Originally posted by houndy:why should there be an embrassment?....you have your car i have mine? then if a kia picanto stops next to a ferrari then the kia owner must hide himself meh?
One is a small hatchback, one is a coupe, how to compare? You dont compare a durian and a grape. They are not in the same category.Originally posted by houndy:why should there be an embrassment?....you have your car i have mine? then if a kia picanto stops next to a ferrari then the kia owner must hide himself meh?
Your thoughts is same as mine. Tuscani owners may think that they are attracting a lot of attention, but I too think that these attention are mostly negative.Originally posted by guitarman1:Its becuz Kia Picanto is not pretending to be a sports car...
Yes true, by logic, everyone have their own car and should be proud of it... but the reality is the Ferrari prob wun even glance over at a Kia Picanto or Nissan Sunny cuz they are so understated whereas if he see a sporty looking Tus, he mite just look over and have a "I'm-better-than-you" staredown with the Tus driver.
Tats what my thread is about all along... do owners of Tus' face this kind of thing? Becuz performance wise it kena smoke by so many cars and showoff value/brand wise its also not exotic. But yet it 'try' to look sporty and get attention. But i tink most of the time, the attention it gets is negative! Becuz ppl are just not awed by the car at all...
Tats why I wonder how owners can tahan this kind of thing...
Trust me la, I not the only one comparing... How many ppl u tink will look at a Tus and have so much free time to think "Wah, Tus, its not too bad, considering the Koreans have come a long way blah blah blah..."Originally posted by dreamcast:personally i feel it just boils down to being BRAND CONSCIOUS thatz all.If u r the type of people that only go 'Wow celicas Wow DC5 etc and 'chey Tuscani' admit it ur just plain brand conscious.Hyundai has come a long way to where they are now.U cannot just jump the gun n compare Hyundai with the japan counterparts who started so much earlier.At this present day,i would think the koreans are doing a great job in terms for cars. IMO the Tuscani performance is quite decent with a sporty looks n good value for money.(im just a nissan sunny driver) so its actually a really good deal.And yeah whats up with the sports 'wanna be' catergory? I dont see why a Tuscani shouldnt be under this 'sports car' cat. be it with celicas,DC5 etc equally?Just because its a Hyundai? or just because it known to be abit heavier than other coupes? Oh please.....have seen a few done up n fast tuscanis on sg roads,and they are definitely not slow.
Becuz they kum-gong....heh... no I am not biased against Hyundai.. I oso dun like Celica and 350Z...Originally posted by D16Z6:y do ppl buy 350Z for abt $150,000...
whereby they can buy a STI,EVO or SAAB...???
the roadtax and ins are damn ex....coupe somemore...Nissan...Jap car...
so du u think its a sports car???
its performance isn't dat good afterall against its 3.5L engine???
tell us y u r biased against Hyundai....![]()
Heh man..IMO,i dun really find 350Z a performance car...but it still got the look..Originally posted by guitarman1:Becuz they kum-gong....heh... no I am not biased against Hyundai.. I oso dun like Celica and 350Z...
BUT the fact is 350Z is STILL 280 bhp, and not talking about modding, thats the Jap limit liao. So getting a 350Z is technically same as getting and STi (265 bhp) or Evo in terms of bhp.
Also, 350Z is still respected and some ppl are awed by it. But Tus is totally not.
Of coz, its a $150k car and how to compare with $80k coupe... but u brought up the comparison so I am merely tokking abt it in ur context...
350Z not sports car lah... its a coupe.. and it has performance!!! although i'd rather take the RX8...Originally posted by D16Z6:Heh man..IMO,i dun really find 350Z a performance car...but it still got the look..
so ydopplbuy 350Z instead of RX 8,Evo,Rex...etc???
y $150K cant compare wif $80K coupe???
is it bcos of the price???den u mus be thinking dat 3.5l car for $150K is ex...
n oso u haven ans if u think 350Z is a sports car???
??????....why feel so bad about yourself...Originally posted by zacus:oh..... i see anyway i would hide myself if i see a evo or skyline and sti parking beside me....
so if you tune a tuscani engine...it will have the same effect right?..geez.. at least it is a "poor man's coupe"... so be it... if you are happy with it.. why bother...Originally posted by ed2win2:Everytime I see a Tuscani on the road, I would tell my friends "its a poor man's coupe."
Tuscani pricing is way off the norm of coupe.
If you just tune your gear ratio of Toyota vvti or Honda vtec 1.6cc engine, it can outrun Tuscani anytime.
well in that case....what about peugot 206cc... which is the cheapest hardtop convertible.. so it is like saying those drivers are wannabes too?Originally posted by ed2win2:One is a small hatchback, one is a coupe, how to compare? You dont compare a durian and a grape. They are not in the same category.
If you dont feelthen good for you. This is just my personal and my friends' opinion on Tuscani. For about the same price, I rather settle for a sedan like mazda 3 sports. It is like you want to be in the tops of 1.6 sedan category or the bottom of coupe category. Is there any coupe that is cheaper than Tuscani?
My personal opinion. This is a forum right?
like i quoted before.. it aint a sports car...Originally posted by zacus:10.5 secs still sucks for a sports car lol............ anyway thanks for the info...
Like you already said it is a 150K car....You pay for what you get. if you pay more you get better goods. If you pay peanuts you get monkeys... maybe you are rich and can look into cars above 100K. But many people dont have that amt to spend.....and also what you want to do with such a powerful car in singapore...you cant fly off in a CTE morning peak hour jam...Originally posted by guitarman1:Becuz they kum-gong....heh... no I am not biased against Hyundai.. I oso dun like Celica and 350Z...
BUT the fact is 350Z is STILL 280 bhp, and not talking about modding, thats the Jap limit liao. So getting a 350Z is technically same as getting and STi (265 bhp) or Evo in terms of bhp.
Also, 350Z is still respected and some ppl are awed by it. But Tus is totally not.
Of coz, its a $150k car and how to compare with $80k coupe... but u brought up the comparison so I am merely tokking abt it in ur context...
Why bother about what people have.. cant you be content with what you have in the first place?..you are just feeling inferior that is all... nothing much to say about that...Originally posted by guitarman1:Trust me la, I not the only one comparing... How many ppl u tink will look at a Tus and have so much free time to think "Wah, Tus, its not too bad, considering the Koreans have come a long way blah blah blah..."
They will just look, and they will judge. And the Tus being a 'sporty coupe', does put it to more scrutiny than a normal sedan and doesn't have the meat to back itself up.
Its under 'sports' category because its a coupe! I'm not saying it try to be a supercar, but its trying to be a sporty car but dun have the performance to match! Celica actually a bit cmi oso, a lot of ppl from the car scene hate the 'sillycar' oso, esp. when the owners think sooo highly of themselves. I dun wanna start another flame war abt Celica, but tats the general feel tats floating around.
Done up ones not slow of coz la... its 'done up' wat.. done up Nissan Sunny also can be fast. When comparing mods, things become a little trickier but u can still see which cars are 'better' by following the aftermarket manufacturers products.
I'm sure there are less Civics than Sunny or Corolla on the rd, but why so many mod parts for Civic? Because the B/K Series engines are respected and highly moddable while still keeping it 'relatively' stock.
The R34 is king becuz can make till 1300 bhp using stock block (altho bored up)...
Nissan Sunny and all can put turbo, yes, but how much bhp can reach? And if can, how long will the engine last?
Those fast Protons, are they using super boosted Proton engine? No rite, using mostly Evo4 engine. So they cant really boast about the Proton brand. Anyway, they only good in straight line.
So the long and short of it, I personally feel that either a person shld relak drive normal car, or get a respected car, or do up a super sleeper but not go for something neither here nor there.
Its like I rather wear a Giordano t-shirt than a Polo Ralph Lauren Polo shirt with the horse having only 3-legs.
Like i say you have an inferior complex....i dont need people to get awe with my car anyway... so let them stare and do whatever they like to do...I cant be bothered with what others think.....And I dont go around singapore trying to race...The reason we get cars is to get from point A to point B...not to rev and waste money on petrol and get into accidents...Originally posted by guitarman1:Its becuz Kia Picanto is not pretending to be a sports car...
Yes true, by logic, everyone have their own car and should be proud of it... but the reality is the Ferrari prob wun even glance over at a Kia Picanto or Nissan Sunny cuz they are so understated whereas if he see a sporty looking Tus, he mite just look over and have a "I'm-better-than-you" staredown with the Tus driver.
Tats what my thread is about all along... do owners of Tus' face this kind of thing? Becuz performance wise it kena smoke by so many cars and showoff value/brand wise its also not exotic. But yet it 'try' to look sporty and get attention. But i tink most of the time, the attention it gets is negative! Becuz ppl are just not awed by the car at all...
Tats why I wonder how owners can tahan this kind of thing...
I m not in that class to compare convertibles. Maybe those rich lads may think so.Originally posted by houndy:well in that case....what about peugot 206cc... which is the cheapest hardtop convertible.. so it is like saying those drivers are wannabes too?
Guess no one is complaining here, just sharing opinions.Originally posted by houndy:well then.. everyone has a preference over something right... if you dont like it dont buy it then.. why complain about others that buy it... only 12 year old kids does that...
Dude, if you are gonna do what you say, why wld u even buy the tuscani in the first place? lol, it's like contridicting yourself. If you are really that consious about everything around you, isn't life gonna be damn sucky?Originally posted by ed2win2:I m not in that class to compare convertibles. Maybe those rich lads may think so.
If I drive Tuscani, the first thing I do is do is to remove all the badges and logos, refit with another body kit and spoiler, so that hopefully no one knows that I drive a Tuscani. I will tint my windows just in case someone recognise its a Tuscani.
Tuscani owners who feel proud of their cars, good for you. You pay every dollar for your car and cars are expensive. For me, its a no go.