Its not the king of performance cars, but it IS a performance car and being a coupe, I would consider it a sports car (jap sports car at least, not talking about Italian supercar)Originally posted by D16Z6:Heh man..IMO,i dun really find 350Z a performance car...but it still got the look..
so ydopplbuy 350Z instead of RX 8,Evo,Rex...etc???
y $150K cant compare wif $80K coupe???
is it bcos of the price???den u mus be thinking dat 3.5l car for $150K is ex...
n oso u haven ans if u think 350Z is a sports car???
You'll end up with another "poor man's M3" comparison storyOriginally posted by I love BMW:go for BMW coupe man. 330CI
Not exactly, referring to my first post, they prob want the 'wind-in-hair' feeling, that's why they got a convertible. Cant afford an expensive one so they go for 206cc. There is a PURPOSE for buying it.Originally posted by houndy:well in that case....what about peugot 206cc... which is the cheapest hardtop convertible.. so it is like saying those drivers are wannabes too?
If reason of getting from point A to B, no need to get coupe liao. Even Datson 100A can liao. Coupe some more more inconvenient, as i said, for the occassional dropping off of frens/relatives. So it dun make a practical point to point car.Originally posted by houndy:Like i say you have an inferior complex....i dont need people to get awe with my car anyway... so let them stare and do whatever they like to do...I cant be bothered with what others think.....And I dont go around singapore trying to race...The reason we get cars is to get from point A to point B...not to rev and waste money on petrol and get into accidents...
I did not say I m going to buy a Tuscani. Just stating a scenario. Its like what r u going to do if you won a lottery.Originally posted by snop:Dude, if you are gonna do what you say, why wld u even buy the tuscani in the first place? lol, it's like contridicting yourself. If you are really that consious about everything around you, isn't life gonna be damn sucky?
True wat... that is another form of posing...Originally posted by gasband:Anyway I think people who buy Subaru TS and take off the emblem and tries to pass off as WRX is a poseur....
Ok I admit, I am biased against Subaru drivers hahahaha![]()
Joking joking......
Why did u buy a Tuscani in the first place? Just to get from point A to point B?Originally posted by houndy:And I dont go around singapore trying to race...The reason we get cars is to get from point A to point B...not to rev and waste money on petrol
I think you are over generalising.Originally posted by guitarman1:True wat... that is another form of posing...
Some ppl say, cant afford the real thing, so buy base model and do up for looks only mah... fair, completely fair..
But u really think majority of those posers want the look only? Confirm is to pass off as WRX... drive also macam hero, like real WRX... but when see real STi come, lan lan, drive slowly and give way...
In my prev posts i already quite agreeable about the looks argument, so I not belabouring the point. Just tat as more ppl tok, more contradictions come up and it seems like its bot not juz becuz of looks.Originally posted by VBlaster:I think you are over generalising.
Some people buy cars for simply its within their budget, and like the "sporty" looks. That's all. But you seem intent on generalising the majority are buying to be "posers".
Quite a few owners of the cars mentioned have already stated clearly - they like the looks and budget, and can live with the average performance, given the city driving in S'pore.
I think that's pretty clear already and no need to belabour the point.
Becuz at that time all other car price also higher, so Tus is still a poor man's sports car.Originally posted by dreamcast:Tuscani a "poor mans sports car"?When it was first launched it was 100k,guess those who bought them at that time are really poor people that cannot afford 'sports car'?With that kinda $$, do u think those who bought it could top off abit more for something better?But why still get a Tuscani?It bascially means it no as bad as wat people think and they like the car.So if anyone of u are still trying to say it so lousy?Then the why people still buy it? Even when the price had dropped to 80k+ its still not considered cheap,Trust me,with 80k+ many people would had both considered getting a celica and tuscani since the price n performance were significantly similar.Anyway there are lots of celicas n tuscanis on the road.U guys keep saying this no good that no good,Come on,if it was a toyota intead of a hyundai than conception wont be as bad as it is now.GeeZ..hope those driving those fast or V6s tuscanis are not reading this thread if not they would be proclaimed to poor people n 'xia suay' driving this overall decent car.
To reply to ur old post, no point that Citroen and Peugeot are rally champions. Their technology is not translated to consumers in their current consumer car range.Originally posted by houndy:agree that it is brand concious. everyone thinks subaru is a great rally car model.. but in actual fact.. citroen and peugot is the top two car model in the world rally championship. so at the end of the day. it is not how fast your car is or how good it is. it is who is behind the wheel that makes the difference. of course you cannot compare between a 1.6L car to a 3.0L car. no matter what driver you put inside a 1.6L car it wont work.
Yeah,have to agree with u other cars prices are also higher,but what makes u think some people could not afford sometimelse slightly more expensive but still stick to a Tuscani?Your mentality damn jialat lah like that.And please lah there are other japanese coupes that also can lose to some sedans.Oh yah,i get it now just because its Korean thatz y people think its bad...Originally posted by guitarman1:Becuz at that time all other car price also higher, so Tus is still a poor man's sports car.
V6 tuscani, 2.7litre wif average performance, nothing much to show off here either.
It reverts to the point that the korean cars cant really compare to the jap cars, but still charge exp. for its 'sports' model (ie. the Tus) which in fact it has performance tat lose to some 1.6l sedans. So once again, it fall into a mm-sa, mm-si category... exp, high fuel consumption, so-so performance, no respect etc...
nope it is 10-11KM/L on shell 92 or SPC 92Originally posted by ed2win2:Why did u buy a Tuscani in the first place? Just to get from point A to point B?
Isnt Tuscani a heavy fuel drinker?
Why??? Why???
for someone who think he 'follows' cars, you would know that some folks bought the tuscani when it was 90K.. or do you?Originally posted by ed2win2:For those, who dont follow cars may be impress with the design of Tuscani. For those who know cars, Tuscani is a low class coupe.
Why buy Tuscani?
Because I want a sporty car but i could not afford a 'real' coupe. It is a poor man coupe.
It is a real embrassment if a Tuscani is stop side by side a RX7 at traffic light junction![]()
make up your mind buddy.. on one hand, you claimed that you don't wanna be the small fish in the big pond, yet that was precisely what you did when you criticised the tus earlier.Originally posted by guitarman1:Inferiority complex? well, maybe. But unfortunately the Sg society is as such, they judge and compare and etc... I would rather not be involved in the 'rat-race', tats why I rather get relak family car and go by unnoticed. Or else muz make an impact by getting rich and driving nice/fast car.
In a society where there is so much prejudice, I rather not be a small fish in a big pond. Which is the impression the Tus gives me.
well said.. i think guitarman feels that he has to WIN this discussion i.e. insist that tus owners are wannabes who bought the car, thinking that it's show-off material. kinda superficial, no?Originally posted by VBlaster:I think you are over generalising.
Some people buy cars for simply its within their budget, and like the "sporty" looks. That's all. But you seem intent on generalising the majority are buying to be "posers".
Quite a few owners of the cars mentioned have already stated clearly - they like the looks and budget, and can live with the average performance, given the city driving in S'pore.
I think that's pretty clear already and no need to belabour the point.
Originally posted by guitarman1:sorry.. since when tuscani is a SPORTS car even?! it's a normal (not performance) coupe.
Becuz at that time all other car price also higher, so Tus is still a poor man's sports car.
V6 tuscani, 2.7litre wif average performance, nothing much to show off here either.
It reverts to the point that the korean cars cant really compare to the jap cars, but still charge exp. for [b]its 'sports' model (ie. the Tus) which in fact it has performance tat lose to some 1.6l sedans. So once again, it fall into a mm-sa, mm-si category... exp, high fuel consumption, so-so performance, no respect etc... [/b]
there are indeed some people who think this way - when someone didn't buy a more expensive car, it means that they CANNOT afford it. reason? cos these are the people who put alot of emphasis on material stuff and will max their own budget just to own a car. it also explains the 'respect' they feel for expensive or fast cars.Originally posted by dreamcast:Yeah,have to agree with u other cars prices are also higher,but what makes u think some people could not afford sometimelse slightly more expensive but still stick to a Tuscani?Your mentality damn jialat lah like that.And please lah there are other japanese coupes that also can lose to some sedans.Oh yah,i get it now just because its Korean thatz y people think its bad...![]()
criticising the Tus doesn't make me a small fish in society? U may mean narrow minded, but ur argument is irrelevant.Originally posted by WashBurn:make up your mind buddy.. on one hand, you claimed that you don't wanna be the small fish in the big pond, yet that was precisely what you did when you criticised the tus earlier.
like you admit, driving an expensive/nice/fast car = making an impact.. so those who are driving a tus coupe must be wannabes who failed to make the mark.. the mark set by the judgemental YOU.
p.s. - did you get the 'relak family car' cos you don't wanna be involved in the rat race ..or simply cos you didn't make the mark too? be honest. thanks.