Then what makes u tink that they actually can afford better but decided to stick to Tuscani?Originally posted by dreamcast:Yeah,have to agree with u other cars prices are also higher,but what makes u think some people could not afford sometimelse slightly more expensive but still stick to a Tuscani?Your mentality damn jialat lah like that.And please lah there are other japanese coupes that also can lose to some sedans.Oh yah,i get it now just because its Korean thatz y people think its bad...![]()
Well too bad, the world is indeed superficial... I don't have to WIN wat, I am ok if the owners come up and say they love the look and its within budget. I juz ask if they can tahan the scrutiny since the car does give ppl the impression its a sporty coupe but yet dun really have the class or power.Originally posted by WashBurn:well said.. i think guitarman feels that he has to WIN this discussion i.e. insist that tus owners are wannabes who bought the car, thinking that it's show-off material. kinda superficial, no?
If so, heck, a 1000cc motorbike can beat any 1.6l sedan? Wats ur point? Obviously a 1000cc motorbike WILL BEAT practically any car. Wat's it gotta do with a Tus losing to a 1.6?? duhhhhh...Originally posted by WashBurn:sorry.. since when tuscani is a SPORTS car even?! it's a normal (not performance) coupe.
the tus' performance lost to SOME 1.6L sedans? which models? totally stock or modded? and what kinda race was it? quarter-mile drag? or were you merely commenting on those traffic-light starts? if so, heck.. i think a 1000cc motorbike can beat any 1.6L sedan too!!
does it bother you that other people get a tus for their own various reasons? you went on continuously about how tus owners should just keep quiet and relak one corner cos in YOUR opinion, their car cannot make it, in so does it mean that merc drivers can be loud cos their rides are expensive? and that rex drivers can lord over others on the roads?Originally posted by guitarman1:I'm not ultra rich and can afford normal car range, save and scrimp a bit prob can get slightly better, but the point is I wun get a Tus
wats ur point if ppl bot the Tus at $90k? Means its worth more? More powerful when it cost $90k? Besides the point that cars were all more expensive then, it also means that the owners suay, $90k to buy Tus when nowadays + $8k can get WRX.Originally posted by WashBurn:for someone who think he 'follows' cars, you would know that some folks bought the tuscani when it was 90K.. or do you?
by the way, it would really help the discussion if YOU can define a 'real' coupe. please reply. thanks!
LOL.. defensive? i don't even own a car..!! oh man, don't tell me you're gonna swoop in and attack this pointOriginally posted by guitarman1:Well too bad, the world is indeed superficial... I don't have to WIN wat, I am ok if the owners come up and say they love the look and its within budget. I juz ask if they can tahan the scrutiny since the car does give ppl the impression its a sporty coupe but yet dun really have the class or power.
U so defensive for wat? Got inferiority complex driving a Tus too?
By the way, manufacturer put 2 door on a sedan and call it COUPE for wat? Convenience? Obviously to make it look more sporty and target ppl who want sporty car la. So cant blame when it is regarded as a sporty car that fail to live up to the mark.
Firstly, I din say Tus owner should relak one corner.. I said I'd rather relak corner or get something respectable, wouldn't settle for a Tus.Originally posted by WashBurn:does it bother you that other people get a tus for their own various reasons? you went on continuously about how tus owners should just keep quiet and relak one corner cos in YOUR opinion, their car cannot make it, in so does it mean that merc drivers can be loud cos their rides are expensive? and that rex drivers can lord over others on the roads?
you have an opinion about a certain make/model.. that is absolutely fine. but to impose your own yardstick and judge people who think otherwise is simply.. frog-in-the-well behavior (ok. not the fish analogy). i think that is what most of us, even non-tus owners, are uncomfortable with.
wahaha.. technicalities... rally car also performance car mah... muscle look etc.. muz be able to live up to its look..Originally posted by WashBurn:LOL.. defensive? i don't even own a car..!! oh man, don't tell me you're gonna swoop in and attack this point
fyi - a sporty-looking car doesn't automatically qualifies it as a sports car. rex and evo are rally cars.
yo dude.. my point was precisely just that - why compare the 2.0L to a 1.6L in the first place? might as well compare 1.6L to 1L right? it's obvious cos of the power-to-weight ratio.. it's hardly surprising. and i do believe the tuscani is rather heavy too. for this same reason, the mazda 3 also loses out to other sedans in the same category. but people pay high prices (80K++) for its curves.Originally posted by guitarman1:If so, heck, a 1000cc motorbike can beat any 1.6l sedan? Wats ur point? Obviously a 1000cc motorbike WILL BEAT practically any car. Wat's it gotta do with a Tus losing to a 1.6?? duhhhhh...
Tus 2.7l lose to Civic SiR in quarter mile and on track also la... and even if it draw or win, its BLOODY TWO POINT SEVEN LITRES vs 1.6. so nothing to be proud of.
woah, nobody said 90K tus = more power!! hahaaha.. but just find it funny cos you said it's a poor man's coupe.. where did that come from?Originally posted by guitarman1:wats ur point if ppl bot the Tus at $90k? Means its worth more? More powerful when it cost $90k? Besides the point that cars were all more expensive then, it also means that the owners suay, $90k to buy Tus when nowadays + $8k can get WRX.
bro, a rally car is performance car.. don't think we can really call it a sports car, can we? but a tus is neither! it's just a coupe.. looks sporty.Originally posted by guitarman1:wahaha.. technicalities... rally car also performance car mah... muscle look etc.. muz be able to live up to its look..
so sporty looking car, marketed by manufacturer as a sports coupe, muz live up to it la! Simple wat..
no problem with that bro.. like i said, everyone has his/her own opinion. just hope you don't force the 'wannabe' tag on all tus owners.Originally posted by guitarman1:Anyway, I tink I have all the right not to think much of a certain car model and post in an open forum to elicit response. I'm not totally biased in fact, and have asked ppl wat their reason is and whether they can live with the 'wannabe' tag which narrow-minded ppl like me have given most Tus owners.
But do they have the right to make their own judgements and dislike a certain person based on watever information and feeling they have abt the person at tat point? Yes.
So if someone convinces me (i know some ppl will tink "who will bother") tat Tuscani is worth buying for a good reason, i mite change my opinion. Or maybe one day my fren buys one and we go down track and it tears all the competition.
But till then, to me, its a car tat has no identity at all.
Hmmm... Interesting... Buying a Tuscani and pretends it to be a sport car???Originally posted by guitarman1:problem???
I just stating my tots ma..
I din say like "Wah, Hyundai Tuscani drivers are losers!! Their car cannot make it!!!" etc..
I just ask why ppl want to buy a car tat pretends to be a sports car but does not have a good enough performance or brand to make it special...
Hmmm.... Sorry to say this... But from your this sentence, it shows your ignornace for cars.Originally posted by guitarman1:wahaha.. technicalities... rally car also performance car mah... muscle look etc.. muz be able to live up to its look..
so sporty looking car, marketed by manufacturer as a sports coupe, muz live up to it la! Simple wat..
so wat if owner admit "its within their budget","acceptable performance" andOriginally posted by guitarman1:Then what makes u tink that they actually can afford better but decided to stick to Tuscani?
A few owners have oredi spoken... "cuz its within budget" and "acceptable performance" and even "quite embarrassing" are some of the words that have come up. Tell me these words indicate that the ppl actually can afford better cars but decided on Tus becuz its such a great car.
surprise surprise...350Z is a sports car to u....maybe its becos it has the HPOriginally posted by guitarman1:Its not the king of performance cars, but it IS a performance car and being a coupe, I would consider it a sports car (jap sports car at least, not talking about Italian supercar)
You cant compare buying a 350Z with buying a Tus because at $150k, the owner HAS many choices but does not want only. He may choose 350Z cuz he dun want to maintain turbo car or dun like rotary. And as I said, the 350Z still has 280 bhp which backs it up.
Ppl wun look at 350Z and say stuff like "poor mans sports car" etc.. they at most tink "wasted, tat guy should buy Evo"
As for the Tus, the owners (not including those who really really like the looks of the car) want to get a sporty car but as I asked, why do ppl get sporty cars??
Usually, for performance, looks, or show-off value, which arguably the Tus dun have. So they made the choice to buy a 'poor-man's coupe' , so called, instead of saving up more for performance car or settling for relak family car or buying a good 1.6 sedan.
So since the Tus is in a sense flashy, it is subject to higher levels of scrutiny. But got nothing much to back it up. At most ppl say affordable and like the look, and if they can put up wif the fact it garners no respect at all, then so be it.
Originally posted by guitarman1:simple minded...sports car mus be coupe n hav good performance...
wahaha.. technicalities... rally car also performance car mah... muscle look etc.. muz be able to live up to its look..
[b]so sporty looking car, marketed by manufacturer as a sports coupe, muz live up to it la! Simple wat..[/b]
It is made as a coupe and not a sports coupe....Originally posted by guitarman1:wahaha.. technicalities... rally car also performance car mah... muscle look etc.. muz be able to live up to its look..