It is the same as asian cars trying to get conti technology right...shesshOriginally posted by ed2win2:Tuscani has a nice design, and thats about it.
Guess the main problem with Tuscani is that the engine and the price do not say the same about its nice design.
Its a pity that the engine isnt strong enough to complement the design. Its like a Japan 1.6cc engine inside a 2.0cc coupe body. A coupe with performance of a sedan.
Thats why the pricing of Tuscani is in category with some 1.6 sedans models. Will anyone consider buying if it is higher? They have to price that low for a coupe to entice people to consider.
Although there is nothing great about Tuscani, cars isnt cheap here. Not many people can afford cars even its picanto.
Just be happy what you have.![]()
Originally posted by houndy:cannot blame...some people are rich.. they have petrol station in their backyard
eh....now i want to know your uncle.. can i get discount on petrol...Originally posted by Master -_-:![]()
My uncle at Bukit Timah virtually has Shell petrol station in his backyard. Shell is paying him rent to use his property.![]()
wah lau....repeat so many times liao...YES Datsun can bring to from A to B...Originally posted by guitarman1:If reason of getting from point A to B, no need to get coupe liao. Even Datson 100A can liao. Coupe some more more inconvenient, as i said, for the occassional dropping off of frens/relatives. So it dun make a practical point to point car.
Inferiority complex? well, maybe. But unfortunately the Sg society is as such, they judge and compare and etc... I would rather not be involved in the 'rat-race', tats why I rather get relak family car and go by unnoticed. Or else muz make an impact by getting rich and driving nice/fast car.
In a society where there is so much prejudice, I rather not be a small fish in a big pond. Which is the impression the Tus gives me.
yes...Originally posted by houndy:Then a kia picanto is a cheap man sedan. A kia optra a cheap man 1.6L sedan. peugot 206cc is a cheap man convertible. A renault megane is a cheap man conti 1.6L car. the list go on and on....
IN THE CONTEXT OF HIS POST which said he got the car for Point A to Point B transport, I said then no neccessity to get Tus liao. The argument about dropping relatives and it being 2-door is directed at it being a RELATIVELY impractical Pt A to B car compared to a normal sedan.Originally posted by D16Z6:wah lau....repeat so many times liao...YES Datsun can bring to from A to B...
but its up to individual to choose wat they want for them to bring them
from pt A to B...right???so ppl buy coupe is becos of showing off or race not
for transport purpose???YES very true...ocassional dropping off of frens/relatives
is very inconvenience....since u say its occasional n do u buy car becos of other ppl???
do they pay for ur car inst or pay for the ride???if they complain den ask them
to take taxi loh...![]()
Wats up with the constant 350Z reference? Ur gf left u for someone driving 350Z isit?Originally posted by D16Z6:when i see 350Z,i won't think its a performance car...
but i still treat it as a sports car becos of its sporty look...
TUS is a cheap man's coupe....
so wat is Fairlady???Cheap man's high capacity coupe???![]()
Since when did I claim I'm an expert in cars? I'm merely a regular guy who feels a certain way about the Tus due to the general feel I get from other ppl.Originally posted by Tsuki Hyoushoku:Hmmm.... Sorry to say this... But from your this sentence, it shows your ignornace for cars.
All car have different construction, structures and weight for different purpose. "Performance Car" is a general words used by insurance company for classification and also used by layman who dunno much about car.
If you are so well verse in car, how about this way. Can you list out what are the 1.6L car that Tuscani will lose out and also the list of the same class of cars that Tuscani belong too lost out?
Hmmm... Interesting... Buying a Tuscani and pretends it to be a sport car???
How about this way, maybe u ask Tuscani.sg peeks out and challenge either one of them to see whether Tuscani is izzit a "sports-car-wannabe" or is it a truely Grand touring car.....
Haha,how i know? Coz my friend is a tus owner and lives in Lornie road.(take a look down that area to see to believe)And for your information,before he got a tus he went shopping for s15s,rx8s,STIs, audi TTs and other euro cars.But at the end of the day he just settled for a tus.Anyway he has 2 more car at home sitting in his car porch.Originally posted by guitarman1:Then what makes u tink that they actually can afford better but decided to stick to Tuscani?
A few owners have oredi spoken... "cuz its within budget" and "acceptable performance" and even "quite embarrassing" are some of the words that have come up. Tell me these words indicate that the ppl actually can afford better cars but decided on Tus becuz its such a great car.
and yah btw,some of the brands of aftermarket parts u mentioned above are available for tuscani,If ur not sure dont anyhow post...Originally posted by guitarman1:as for asking Hyundai PEEPS out, no nid la.. give me some PG or Sepang timings that are up to the family car 1.6L Civic can liao. Or else maybe can email HKS, Jun, Toda, Tomei etc and ask them why they not making performance parts for the Tus.
General feel?? Hmm... Ask you something... Have you driven a stock Tus that have gone thru proper running and stock tuning before?Originally posted by guitarman1:Since when did I claim I'm an expert in cars? I'm merely a regular guy who feels a certain way about the Tus due to the general feel I get from other ppl.
Ok, granted the Tus is a 'bang-for-buck' car in its class (but frankly I have no idea wat class it actually belongs to cuz as i said it has no solid identity. It's not a family car and neither is it a sporty car or sports coupe. It is JUST A NORMAL COUPE. I mean like wtf class is that?)
as for asking Hyundai PEEPS out, no nid la.. give me some PG or Sepang timings that are up to the family car 1.6L Civic can liao. Or else maybe can email HKS, Jun, Toda, Tomei etc and ask them why they not making performance parts for the Tus.
I must agree... and that's a good one.Originally posted by dreamcast:Haha,how i know? Coz my friend is a tus owner and lives in Lornie road.(take a look down that area to see to believe)And for your information,before he got a tus he went shopping for s15s,rx8s,STIs, audi TTs and other euro cars.But at the end of the day he just settled for a tus.Anyway he has 2 more car at home sitting in his car porch.![]()
SO IF U THINK TUS OWNERS R POOR PEOPLE THAN THINK AGAIN!
Very true, most of of perfomance part for Tuscani and other korean models come from American places... Japan and Europe does not haf much but they will custom make just for u if u order...Originally posted by dreamcast:and yah btw,some of the brands of aftermarket parts u mentioned above are available for tuscani,If ur not sure dont anyhow post...![]()
dun think you can buy a celica for $78K bro .......Originally posted by TwinTurbo_Supra:given tt amnt of $$$ i'd rather buy celica...
Why cant we have a tusky to go from point A to point B? Not everyone likes a normal sedan car. And besides for me it is point A to point B, if i need to drop people. I just use my family car, that is why i get a tusky....Originally posted by guitarman1:IN THE CONTEXT OF HIS POST which said he got the car for Point A to Point B transport, I said then no neccessity to get Tus liao. The argument about dropping relatives and it being 2-door is directed at it being a RELATIVELY impractical Pt A to B car compared to a normal sedan.
real reason ?? CHEAP !!!! maybe to pple who wants a cheap 2 dr coupe , and jolly well knows where his car stands, will find it a perfect match. u said not comparing? Com'on, if you dun compare, then in terms of sportiness, which car is more sportier than tuscani ??Originally posted by guitarman1:Its not just comparing to other coupes... anyway, why purposely buy coupe? 2 door so inconvenient, insurance oso higher... becuz coupe are usually sportier rite?
Sportier is for sporty performance or else its for attention rite?
So back to my same points.. why buy a car tat performance is average and also in the end is not 'respected' as a sports car?
there's nothing wrong wif hyundai as a brand... it make economical family vehicles.. but obviously not famous for consumer market performance cars...
so in the end, whats the reason ppl buy a wannabe car tat has no firm identity of its own?
pardon me, you said you not trying to BASH tuscani, he he he ........... if only you read your own posts ............. nothing to sayOriginally posted by guitarman1:ok, not for performance.. then for ostentation value or wat?
or just cuz u like the looks? does it have good cabin space? comfy rear seating space ? etc...
i noe not everyone can afford sports car, but why Tuscani? As I said, it fall under mm-sa mm-si category.
Why not get a civic or something or Integra IS or Celica etc...
or save up longer get something else..
or juz relak, get a reliable family car...
why a 'fake' sports coupe?
kena jio will lose, ppl discuss abt 'wat cars they driving' also a bit shu-sei etc...
Why you keep comparing it with horsepower???.. have you actually driven a tuscani?..And if you dont know, the more horsepower, the more fuel consume. Why you want to buy a gulper in singapore.. petrol aint cheap. for a full tank plus correct driving, my tuscani can do 460-480KM on a full tank. While for my dad's renault grand scenic is about 500-520KM on a full tank.. both tanks are the same size... so it is not bad for a coupe to a family car...Originally posted by guitarman1:Wats up with the constant 350Z reference? Ur gf left u for someone driving 350Z isit?
350Z is not 'poor mans' becuz it is expensive and it is the OWNER'S CHOICE not to get an Evo or Rex but u KNOW he can afford to if he wants. And it does have 280 bhp still to back it up.
Whereas Tus was called 'poor mans' becuz it SEEMS tat ppl can't afford any other sports car so buy the Tus which is ho-kua (debatable) bo ho jia.