well it is normal coupe. It is a class of its own, that is why they say you never know about cars...you never go to showrooms or read other car manufacturers.. just because there are many tuscani on the road you just say oh only one kind of coupe...Originally posted by guitarman1:Since when did I claim I'm an expert in cars? I'm merely a regular guy who feels a certain way about the Tus due to the general feel I get from other ppl.
Ok, granted the Tus is a 'bang-for-buck' car in its class (but frankly I have no idea wat class it actually belongs to cuz as i said it has no solid identity. It's not a family car and neither is it a sporty car or sports coupe. It is JUST A NORMAL COUPE. I mean like wtf class is that?)
as for asking Hyundai PEEPS out, no nid la.. give me some PG or Sepang timings that are up to the family car 1.6L Civic can liao. Or else maybe can email HKS, Jun, Toda, Tomei etc and ask them why they not making performance parts for the Tus.
If petrol cost is so much of your concern (you have highlight this point repeately), why buy a coupe?Originally posted by houndy:Why you keep comparing it with horsepower???.. have you actually driven a tuscani?..And if you dont know, the more horsepower, the more fuel consume. Why you want to buy a gulper in singapore.. petrol aint cheap. for a full tank plus correct driving, my tuscani can do 460-480KM on a full tank. While for my dad's renault grand scenic is about 500-520KM on a full tank.. both tanks are the same size... so it is not bad for a coupe to a family car...
Ok I may be wrong about which aftermarket companies make parts for the Tus as I dun really follow it tat deeply.. as I said, I'm just a regular guy who has this kind of perception of the Tus also due to many ppl I've met who have the same..Originally posted by houndy:Why would a japanese company manufacture parts for a korean company.. it makes no sense... it is like you making money and giving it to your neighbour.. hmmm
Yes u are rite, if the Tus was under a famous Conti brand, it mite not get the 'bad-press' (so to speak) its getting. But its not. And tats the point. Why ppl still buy it when generally ppl have neutral to negative reactions towards the whole Tus image.Originally posted by x-klu-sif:I must agree... and that's a good one.
Mm..mm... after all this comments made, does anyone know how does the tus comes about? Who design it and is actually designed for which car maker in the first place? And what's the combination of the different models design in in the Tus? Why ppl wonder & heads turn during the test drive in Europe highways for the first time?
Guitarman1, I think... Couple is a general layman terms only for 2 doors. But be sure to know that Tus is a fun-car. Not a sports car or performance range. Insurance will be ex if this is a sports classified. And since then, I think there's no need to compare with other classes of cars or performance or even pricing ...blah,blah, blah..
It's a class of it's own within the fun-car range... NOT performance range (Stocks), Not Sports car range too. Fun-car must look good also, performance will be secondary.
Well.... Should the Tus is branded under other Conti car maker, who dare to say it's a cheap car????? I think there won't be anything under 100K.
Good for ur fren lor... but wats the reason?Originally posted by dreamcast:Haha,how i know? Coz my friend is a tus owner and lives in Lornie road.(take a look down that area to see to believe)And for your information,before he got a tus he went shopping for s15s,rx8s,STIs, audi TTs and other euro cars.But at the end of the day he just settled for a tus.Anyway he has 2 more car at home sitting in his car porch.![]()
SO IF U THINK TUS OWNERS R POOR PEOPLE THAN THINK AGAIN!
so what if people have negative reactions.. i believe you look at the subarus on the road and have a good laugh as well..Originally posted by guitarman1:Yes u are rite, if the Tus was under a famous Conti brand, it mite not get the 'bad-press' (so to speak) its getting. But its not. And tats the point. Why ppl still buy it when generally ppl have neutral to negative reactions towards the whole Tus image.
Are you comparing a japanese coupe with a korean coupe? or you just comparing a normal sedan car with a coupe?..Originally posted by ed2win2:If petrol cost is so much of your concern (you have highlight this point repeately), why buy a coupe?
You cant compare mileage just base on total distance on a full tank. Fuel tanks capacity differ among vehicles. What is the Tuscani fuel tank capacity btw? Japanese cars can do about 700km on a 55litre tank.
Your comparision isnt convincing. You are comparing one fuel drinker to another fuel drinker.
For your whole point, to you a korean car is bad car that is all...that is your point anyway...i have stress it many times.. not everyone bothers on what people thinks.. why should one buy a car just to make others happy...Originally posted by guitarman1:Yes u are rite, if the Tus was under a famous Conti brand, it mite not get the 'bad-press' (so to speak) its getting. But its not. And tats the point. Why ppl still buy it when generally ppl have neutral to negative reactions towards the whole Tus image.
Ok mr Car God, firstly, i din say I know the car damn well... I am talking about GENERAL feel and PERCEIVED VALUE of the car.Originally posted by Tsuki Hyoushoku:General feel?? Hmm... Ask you something... Have you driven a stock Tus that have gone thru proper running and stock tuning before?
If no, then how can you say that it;s your general feel for that car?
If you think "coupe" is a wtf class.... Then you shld go and tell this to DaimlerChrysler. And ask them why they have CL class and CLK class. And DaimlerChrysler is proudly calling this 2 type of cars a coupe.
PG or Sepang using a 1.6 Civic??? Basically are you trying to use the quarter miles race thingy again??? To be frank, the performance of a car is not just dashing on a straight road. It consist of many factors, i.e. road handling, stability at high speed, etc. If you really keen to on at PG or Sepang, I think there will be at least one Tuscani would like to have fun with you. But provided you show yourself up and not hiding behind the computer.
For your info, there are racing development team and company for Tuscani in both korea and US. There have wide range of stuffs, inclusive of TC and SC kits for both I4 and V6 that can throw out 200bhp - 400+bhp depending on which FI setup and which stage. Not only japan have racing, but korean and american who race too and probably more than japanese. Just that you dun know.
Another info for you. Japanese are proud of themselve and their product. Therefore they will seldom develop anything for stuffs that are developed by other country. So it's not that jap race team dun develop for Tuscani, but it's their culture to stop them develop for Tuscani. I have their blood and brought up in this kind of enviroment, and that's why I know.
So far from what I know is that the jap Co do developed stuffs for Tuscani, e.g. Veilside and a few. The reason they do it, becoz they see the potential of the market due to potential of this car.
The question is very clear: why buy a coupe if petrol cost is a big issue to you?Originally posted by houndy:Are you comparing a japanese coupe with a korean coupe? or you just comparing a normal sedan car with a coupe?..
Yes, I know, I got ur point.. I am repeating the question to others to let them understand wat my question was..Originally posted by houndy:For your whole point, to you a korean car is bad car that is all...that is your point anyway...i have stress it many times.. not everyone bothers on what people thinks.. why should one buy a car just to make others happy...
it is a 55L tankOriginally posted by ed2win2:The question is very clear: why buy a coupe if petrol cost is a big issue to you?
I ask again: what is Tuscani fuel tank capacity?
so wat ah? I mean if u can take it, then good for u!Originally posted by houndy:so what if people have negative reactions.. i believe you look at the subarus on the road and have a good laugh as well..
That is what i have just said. cause there is no sport like korean car in the market yet.. which is why you get that perception... it would have been the same perception 10-15 yrs ago.. when the japanese came out with their "sports" car when only europe markets such cars... you are comparing a high school student with a university graduate... there is not much to compare about...Originally posted by guitarman1:Yes, I know, I got ur point.. I am repeating the question to others to let them understand wat my question was..
Korean cars are not generally bad.. I just focusing on the Tus which is a Korean sporty car... focus on 'sporty' and a bit 'attention-seeking' cuz of its looks... and wat the perception is of tat 'sporty' car which fail to impress generally.
i like to ask back one question.. why CANT people buy a coupe?Originally posted by ed2win2:The question is very clear: why buy a coupe if petrol cost is a big issue to you?
I ask again: what is Tuscani fuel tank capacity?
yes, so why not study till university then graduate instead of dropping out of high-school?Originally posted by houndy:That is what i have just said. cause there is no sport like korean car in the market yet.. which is why you get that perception... it would have been the same perception 10-15 yrs ago.. when the japanese came out with their "sports" car when only europe markets such cars... you are comparing a high school student with a university graduate... there is not much to compare about...
The point of this question is not whether people can or cannot buy a coupe. You are avoiding the question.Originally posted by houndy:i like to ask back one question.. why CANT people buy a coupe?
Originally posted by houndy:
The reason we get cars is to get from point A to point B...not to rev and waste money on petrol
Why you want to buy a gulper in singapore.. petrol aint cheap
They havent drop out of high school that is...they are just starting on it..compare to a japanese car who has been in the market for 30 years or even the european cars who have been in the market for much longer.. it is like saying well.. why buy a japanese sports car when you can afford a european one if you save enough..It is what the car is modelled after.. the korean follow the japanese and the japanese follows the europeans... that is why there is the gap...it is like saying why some one buys a lexus when it looks like a mercs... and a tusky is a top range car for hyundai...so if it is at the bottom well so be it...Originally posted by guitarman1:yes, so why not study till university then graduate instead of dropping out of high-school?
My point has always been WHY settle for the "In-between-the-cracks" category? It's like if u want to do something, do it well. Or don't do at all.
If u say "Not everyone is rich, can afford real sports car"
Then why not just get a normal sedan?
Then you'll say "Why can't I buy coupe? I like it wat"
So when u buy coupe, u'll inevitably be compared to other coupes (of which there are fewer models than sedans) and end up at the bottom!
Then you'll say "Who cares wat ppl compare or judge?"
Then u win liao.
I agree that Tuscani fuel consumption is low when compared to other coupes because its has the lowest power as well.Originally posted by houndy:for 10KM/L on a coupe... i think it is good enough... it is a 2L car not a 1.6L so fuel consumption is obviously around that.. try driving other coupes and see what is their FC is... 6-7KM/L max
You are missing the point again. I did not say you should not buy a coupe. I am asking you why you are buying a coupe since FUEL COST is an important concern to you.Originally posted by houndy:Yah.. so you telling me i shouldnt buy a coupe? for your info a mazda 3 FC is 10-11KM/L too... also the interest rate is 2.45% for 10 years, you have to wait 2 months for your car to come. while komoco promises a delivery time of 1 week for the car to come... and interest rate at 2.3%.. so another reason is it is affordable...anyone since you like to flame a tus.. i am wondering what car do you drive anyway?
Nobody said anything about ALL tus owners being rich? But go back n read your earlier posts n that miachiam labeling all tus owners as no money to buy better coupes blah blah blah....'poor man's coupe' etc.And now you are telling different story that got ppl driving Sunnys and have 7 cars at home making a Sunny a 'rich man's 2nd car'?There is no such thing as 'poor man car'or 'rich man car' on the general whole,(And dont compare with people who owns exotic cars/rolls royce,lambo etc.Originally posted by guitarman1:Good for ur fren lor... but wats the reason?
anyway, juz becuz of tis, doesn't mean all Tus owner are rich... got ppl driving Sunny on rd actually got 7 other cars at home also wat, does it mean Sunny is actually a rich-man's 2nd car?
Some ppl might not actually even own a car themselves and still pass judgement on other's car. This category are okie Bcos they are ignorant. But for a fellow car owner, to post bad comments openly n show no respect for another owner's car, it only reflect on their characters sadly. In SG, you dun have to have own a fast car or big car to gain respect. The ability to afford and upkeep a car is already something. Unless, you are born wif a silver spoon then that is another story. So wat car r u driving then, com on let us know so we can judge u too then.Originally posted by guitarman1:Juz wondering..
People usually buy sports/sporty cars becuz :-
1) They want performance
2) They want to turn heads
3) They want cabriolet for the wind-in-hair feel
4) Want to show off their wealth
But Tuscani satisfies neither categories.. performance wise, it sux (dun tell me can TC or SC it, tat one any car oso can)... its heavy and slow...
Doesn't look TOO bad, but not fantastic and ppl wun really bother to look cuz its not exotic... And in the end, its a Hyundai, so mebe can only bluff 16 yr old (mebe not even ah) tat u driving spork car.
So whats the reason for buying a half-baked spork car, paying 2-dr insurance and cat B COE when its slow, average looking and does nothing for the wow factor?
This car seems to fall into a "wannabe" category.