Originally posted by kengkia:third attempt CDC...
How come third attempt? Seems like CDC having TP test hardly can get first attempt is it? Anyway you know CDC exit have 1 slope to exit out, did you use the handbrake?
i attribute the first two attempts as bad luck and certain elements of anxiety...
it's a gentle slope so use only footbrake...
Originally posted by kengkia:i attribute the first two attempts as bad luck and certain elements of anxiety...
it's a gentle slope so use only footbrake...
Can share with me more about your mistakes? As i'm having my TP soon!
Gentle slope ar? At first i tought was those steep slope. When what method did you use at the CDC exit there?
CDC where got slope that need handbrake? only the balancing slope part..
Originally posted by stellazio:CDC where got slope that need handbrake? only the balancing slope part..
Also from CDC? Good good, share your experience! How many attempt? =
Originally posted by linwei20:Can share with me more about your mistakes? As i'm having my TP soon!
Gentle slope ar? At first i tought was those steep slope. When what method did you use at the CDC exit there?
meditate yaself while in the waiting room where tester call out ya name to follow..it relaxes ya mind and not to be nervous...they key phrase is "DUN BE NERVOUS". just because oi was nervous throughout, my first two attempt killed, almost fail the third one...
Originally posted by stellazio:CDC where got slope that need handbrake? only the balancing slope part..
other than the one in the circuit. there are two areas outside road need to use handbrake.
one of the test route goes from eunos link turn left into kaki bukit shortly turn right go upslope, before reaching the top there's traffic junction where u need to stop if u unlucky tio the red light. this one need to use the handbrake to prevent the vehicle from rolling backwards.
another one to be mentioned is at the traffic light junction between UBI ROAD 3 and UBI AVE 3. u may either use just footbrake if ur zai, not confident use the handbrake, to prevent the vehicle to roll down backwards. This slope is much gentler than the slope i first mentioned...
i dun rmb any other use of the handbrakes besides the balancing slope part.. and besides using the balancing slope method on the outside roads is abit funny also.. i just hold a half clutch and the car wont rollback not even the least bit.. but then again, maybe new drivers cant master this technique.
Originally posted by stellazio:i dun rmb any other use of the handbrakes besides the balancing slope part.. and besides using the balancing slope method on the outside roads is abit funny also.. i just hold a half clutch and the car wont rollback not even the least bit.. but then again, maybe new drivers cant master this technique.
How tester acutally grade us on those slope? Correct method or don't let the car roll backwards? I find that use handbrake will have to take some time, if nervous, will stall the engine want. So i agree 'stellazio', using half clutch is the best! But wil the tester give us demerit points?
Originally posted by linwei20:How tester acutally grade us on those slope? Correct method or don't let the car roll backwards? I find that use handbrake will have to take some time, if nervous, will stall the engine want. So i agree 'stellazio', using half clutch is the best! But wil the tester give us demerit points?
how do testers actually grade...u must see the checklist in ya booklet..
Originally posted by linwei20:How tester acutally grade us on those slope? Correct method or don't let the car roll backwards? I find that use handbrake will have to take some time, if nervous, will stall the engine want. So i agree 'stellazio', using half clutch is the best! But wil the tester give us demerit points?
im not sure bout this, but i dont remember any slopes that needed a hand brake like i said..then again half clutch is better in the sense that its faster once the light turns green and u wont fear the cars behind horning at you if you're gonna try the handbrake method..
to be honest, if the tester fault u for an incorrect method, i will like to ask him whether he actually uses the handbrake if he's the one driving, it just doesnt make any sense.. theory wise probably, practice and effective? i will say no.
Half clutch is at own risk. If you're zai enough, you can move off at half clutch on a steep slope, but chances of engine stalling is high, I tried it before during my revision lessons. Even if you able to move off, tester can award you points under delay in moving off.
Originally posted by toyota-corolla:Half clutch is at own risk. If you're zai enough, you can move off at half clutch on a steep slope, but chances of engine stalling is high, I tried it before during my revision lessons. Even if you able to move off, tester can award you points under delay in moving off.
pls, a half clutch delay is almost negilible as compared to the hand brake method..a half clutch essentially means u're almost ready to go move off anytime..
Originally posted by stellazio:pls, a half clutch delay is almost negilible as compared to the hand brake method..a half clutch essentially means u're almost ready to go move off anytime..
Pls, read properly, I said steep slope. Even on normal flat road, some tester nothing to do can award you under delay in moving off. Trainee got no say, but to perform well. My tester start the clock when he ask me to do Verticle and Parallel parking, usually is when one starts to reverse, but he starts the clock when he told me to do either one parking, you think as trannie, got say? ![]()
sorry to say, but i've not seen my tester using a clock or watch whatever to time me..and i had no points deduction for any time delay or so.and u mentioned steep slope, from which i will tell u that from my experience, no slope in the ubi test routes or circuit is steep enough to warrant the use of a handbrake..
Originally posted by stellazio:sorry to say, but i've not seen my tester using a clock or watch whatever to time me..and i had no points deduction for any time delay or so.and u mentioned steep slope, from which i will tell u that from my experience, no slope in the ubi test routes or circuit is steep enough to warrant the use of a handbrake..
Then, which I suppose is good lah, I wish those all the best taking their test soon!
Hey hey, relax man. Don't argue.. I just only want to know, whether using half clutch is wrong a not? As i myself prefer half clutch outside CDC road, not on CDC the steep slope.
We wasn't arguing, we were debating. ![]()
Yes! I'm a P platers offically! got only 2 points! Haha.. Anyway who have rented a car before? Not private, is with company want?
Originally posted by linwei20:Yes! I'm a P platers offically! got only 2 points! Haha.. Anyway who have rented a car before? Not private, is with company want?
I rented car before, before i bought my car. Where you stay? It is good to go to www.sgcarmart.com to search for a list of car rental companies to find something near to your house, so it will not be a hassle to return car.
Did you have kena any accident before when you rent the car? Need to pay a huge sum of money is it?
Originally posted by linwei20:Did you have kena any accident before when you rent the car? Need to pay a huge sum of money is it?
it depends, but most rental company will want you to pay for the damages for both parties, since the car is in your car when the accident happened.
toyota-corolla!
friend, how's driving till now?
i got involved in a minor accident on new year day 1 -.-
paid $600 to the other party, private settlement.
Originally posted by Poignant:toyota-corolla!
friend, how's driving till now?
i got involved in a minor accident on new year day 1 -.-
paid $600 to the other party, private settlement.
you rent want or your own car? how to avoid accident when renting car ar? If it's other parties fault that knock into me, do i still need to pay the car damage fee to the company?
Originally posted by linwei20:you rent want or your own car? how to avoid accident when renting car ar? If it's other parties fault that knock into me, do i still need to pay the car damage fee to the company?
just ring up any rental company, i dont work there.