Originally posted by gunner77:next year after feb lor
i heard if you pass FTT, u got 2 years limit to take your prac test, true?
very true.
back!!
got back home from test drive, and met my friends.
my fren let me drive his lancer (((:
Originally posted by maskedangel:back!!
got back home from test drive, and met my friends.
my fren let me drive his lancer (((:
I bet that was damn fun. ![]()
I didn't test drive after i passed. come home see car, sian, go sleep. lol.
I m controlling my temptations for driving each time I see the car parking at home. Each time I walk pass the car, I stare before I enter the house. Though that is my dad's car, but im beginning to love it. Haha! ![]()
Originally posted by sbs&tibs:I bet that was damn fun.
I didn't test drive after i passed. come home see car, sian, go sleep. lol.
I m controlling my temptations for driving each time I see the car parking at home. Each time I walk pass the car, I stare before I enter the house. Though that is my dad's car, but im beginning to love it. Haha!
Same, got that gian feeling. ![]()
Just went out to drive friend's van though.
Regain the control of manual. ![]()
omg i love driving manual cars. its so much more engaging and fun than auto cars.haahaha.
anyway,just curious, why is it called the 'P' plate when it shows a triangular sign? i know in msia its literally a "P' sign,but why isnt it the same in sg?
Originally posted by Poignant:want xian char bor must drive mpv leh.
so got space to do behind
LOL.. I rent you my MPV lah...
hahaha
Originally posted by Poignant:nowadays car rental expensive man, plus petrol more expensive.
somehow, if anything goes wrong with the car, you're screwed.
No lah.. Car rental is considered cheap nowadays.. $45 for 1 day, or $200 for Mon - Fri, or $200 for Fri - Mon.. Even P-Plater can rent.. I remembered back in 2007, I rented from them the day after I pass my TP.. using my paper license..
Originally posted by p228:No lah.. Car rental is considered cheap nowadays.. $45 for 1 day, or $200 for Mon - Fri, or $200 for Fri - Mon.. Even P-Plater can rent.. I remembered back in 2007, I rented from them the day after I pass my TP.. using my paper license..
Can rent meh? If just got license on the day itself? I thought requirement that license must be at least 1 year? Got any website to see? Fuel they provide us or we need to re-fill?
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:yeah the biting pt hard to catch
den i always step harder on gas pedal one
cui
Haha same as you..
I sometime also step harder on the acclerator pedal, think because either we are nervous or we are on slope or we think that the acclerator pedal did not have enough gas to pump in, right?
Anyone here can help to slove this problem? Does the car will make it spoil easily if gas pedal step too hard while getting the bitting point time?
Originally posted by linwei20:Can rent meh? If just got license on the day itself? I thought requirement that license must be at least 1 year? Got any website to see? Fuel they provide us or we need to re-fill?
Yes, can rent. I rent before.. take a look at
http://www.eazicarlease.com.sg
all sorts of cars they have.. they got manual and auto ones.. Manual mainly Vios and Fiat Bravo..
Auto they have: Fiat Punto, lancer, mark x etc etc
You need to find out yourself.. All the information is on the website..
Best thing is no extra charge if you rent as a P-Plater.. Petrol is top-up. Means when you collect the car is 3/4 tank, when you return also 3/4 tank can already. (Return at same level that you receive).
Their weekend package is usually $180 or $200 (model dependant) for Fri - Mon rental.. which is still quite reasonable in the market and also cater to P-plater..
Originally posted by p228:Yes, can rent. I rent before.. take a look at
all sorts of cars they have.. they got manual and auto ones.. Manual mainly Vios and Fiat Bravo..
Auto they have: Fiat Punto, lancer, mark x etc etc
You need to find out yourself.. All the information is on the website..
Best thing is no extra charge if you rent as a P-Plater.. Petrol is top-up. Means when you collect the car is 3/4 tank, when you return also 3/4 tank can already. (Return at same level that you receive).
Their weekend package is usually $180 or $200 (model dependant) for Fri - Mon rental.. which is still quite reasonable in the market and also cater to P-plater..
How come P-plater no need extra charge, however non P-plater have extra charge? You rent for how many days? Per day as in today 8am collect the car, then afternoon return them?
If the car kena accident or breakdown, we need to pay?
Originally posted by linwei20:How come P-plater no need extra charge, however non P-plater have extra charge? You rent for how many days? Per day as in today 8am collect the car, then afternoon return them?
If the car kena accident or breakdown, we need to pay?
Depends on which type of accident. If the accident involves you and non-living thing such as wall, tree, lamp post, you have to inform the company. Then you just bring the car to any workshop you like and repair. Then return them the car.
If accident involves u and other person, you need to inform the company first. Cos when you rent car, you are covered under their insurance. If u kena banged, you should be ok. if you bang others, you may need to come out with "some" money. This you should check with the rental company.
Breakdown wise, no charge. You can call them and they will arrange 1 to 1 exchange..
I usually rent on weekends. The weekend package starts from Friday Evening till Monday Evening. You have to call them and ask what time is the car available. If the car u want is available on friday morning, you can collect on friday morning and return monday morning.
Originally posted by p228:Depends on which type of accident. If the accident involves you and non-living thing such as wall, tree, lamp post, you have to inform the company. Then you just bring the car to any workshop you like and repair. Then return them the car.
If accident involves u and other person, you need to inform the company first. Cos when you rent car, you are covered under their insurance. If u kena banged, you should be ok. if you bang others, you may need to come out with "some" money. This you should check with the rental company.
Breakdown wise, no charge. You can call them and they will arrange 1 to 1 exchange..
I usually rent on weekends. The weekend package starts from Friday Evening till Monday Evening. You have to call them and ask what time is the car available. If the car u want is available on friday morning, you can collect on friday morning and return monday morning.
As for breakdown, they say they are not able to change other car. Stated at FAQ there, so is it can or cannot? I only scare kena accident then very leh chey.. need to do alot of contact company or whoever.. But you rent time, did you kena accident?
How they charge as per day?
haha..
of cos not.. i only kena accident in my own car, bang pillar.. hahaha
for the breakdown, it depends. My cousin rent before and breakdown, they changed car for him.. for weekend, they dont rent per day.. for weekdays, usually is $40 per day onwards, depending on car model.
Okay i see.. But for you, you think is it worth it? Wise the patrol part, how the system work? Per litre how much?
for this website
they do delivery service? how much extra charge?
Originally posted by xingg:omg i love driving manual cars. its so much more engaging and fun than auto cars.haahaha.
anyway,just curious, why is it called the 'P' plate when it shows a triangular sign? i know in msia its literally a "P' sign,but why isnt it the same in sg?
Cos in SG people with triangular card is called 'Probation driver'? And so it short, we are being called P-plate holder. ![]()
Originally posted by p228:Depends on which type of accident. If the accident involves you and non-living thing such as wall, tree, lamp post, you have to inform the company. Then you just bring the car to any workshop you like and repair. Then return them the car.
that "some" money is called excess.
simple scenario is that if repair bill is 10K...and ur excess is 3K....U need to pay 3K and the insurer will pay 7K.If repair bill is 3.1K...U pay 3K....insurer pay 0.1K...if repair bill is 2.9K...U dont claim insurance.U settle it urself.![]()
Originally posted by Xcert:that "some" money is called excess.
simple scenario is that if repair bill is 10K...and ur excess is 3K....U need to pay 3K and the insurer will pay 7K.If repair bill is 3.1K...U pay 3K....insurer pay 0.1K...if repair bill is 2.9K...U dont claim insurance.U settle it urself.
Sounds sucky! ![]()
Originally posted by linwei20:Okay i see.. But for you, you think is it worth it? Wise the patrol part, how the system work? Per litre how much?
The petrol part.. you can find out at any petrol stations.. if you are renting a car, you can try pumping 92 to save money..
Originally posted by Poignant:for this website
they do delivery service? how much extra charge?
I never tried before.. I always go down to turf city personally.. delivery charge I think is maybe 5 or 10 dollars. It's always good to collect car at turf city.. so you can inspect whether the car got any problem then move off. or else later the person deliver to you liao got problem he dont wanna change for you how?
I don't think you wanna rent a car that breaks down the first hour that you start to drive?
Originally posted by Xcert:that "some" money is called excess.
simple scenario is that if repair bill is 10K...and ur excess is 3K....U need to pay 3K and the insurer will pay 7K.If repair bill is 3.1K...U pay 3K....insurer pay 0.1K...if repair bill is 2.9K...U dont claim insurance.U settle it urself.
Right right.. Didn't know what word to use..
Originally posted by toyota-corolla:Sounds sucky!
It is like that. This insurance thing is a downside for young drivers. The younger you are, the higher the excess.
Let's say if you own a car and you are maybe 21 years old, P-plater, main driver.
The likely excess will be about 1500 - 3000: Premium about 7,000 SGD.
If you want lower excess, your premium will be even higher.
Using my dad's name, my insurance premium is 1.6k, with excess 800.00 SGD
Originally posted by p228:It is like that. This insurance thing is a downside for young drivers. The younger you are, the higher the excess.
Let's say if you own a car and you are maybe 21 years old, P-plater, main driver.
The likely excess will be about 1500 - 3000: Premium about 7,000 SGD.
If you want lower excess, your premium will be even higher.
Using my dad's name, my insurance premium is 1.6k, with excess 800.00 SGD
Pardon me for asking stupid question, kinda noob in this, but what you meant for premium and excess is it,
Insurance premium is that something I have to pay yearly, and;
Excess is that something like, I have to fork out from my own pocket in accident or something right?
But if let's say, my family car (dad's car), insurance cover both my parents, I'm still allow to drive alone right? But when getting into accident, it won't cover me right? ![]()
Originally posted by toyota-corolla:Pardon me for asking stupid question, kinda noob in this, but what you meant for premium and excess is it,
Insurance premium is that something I have to pay yearly, and;
Excess is that something like, I have to fork out from my own pocket in accident or something right?But if let's say, my family car (dad's car), insurance cover both my parents, I'm still allow to drive alone right? But when getting into accident, it won't cover me right?
No worry..
Yes, if you own the car, you have to pay an insurance premium yearly, and a road tax (6 monthly or yearly, depending on your budget). Your insurance and road tax starts from the day your car gets registered at LTA.
Right, Let's say excess is 1.5k. You kena accident (touchwood) and repair cost is 2k. You have to come up with the first 1.5k and the rest covered by insurance company.
For your family car, you have to check with your dad. They usually cover the main driver, 2nd driver and "all the drivers authorized by the owner of the car". But there is a catch here:
"Additional Excess of $1000 - $3000 applies to young and inexperienced drivers: i.e. 26 years old and below, driving experience of less than 2 or 3 years"
Means if you are the one driving the car at the time of accident. the excess will be
$1500 + $3000 = $4,500
If your repair cost is only $2k, means you cannot claim insurance..