I hope it doesn't turn into some international incident if that happens. ![]()
Originally posted by redDUST:the malaysian and korean are not `imports'.
Yeh kind of weird, PRC vs PRC.
Their only claim to citizenship legitimacy are their red passports. That doesn't make them Singaporean like any of us here, though.
korea should have won..
just those 3-4 consecutive saves alone deserves a gold medal..
Originally posted by charlize:Again, I ask.
What will happen if the sg team beats the chinese team to win the gold medal?
Will the crowd turn on the sg players?
Then the Chinese press will brand them as traitors and then brag that China has won the medal for Singapore.
Doesn't that make laughing stock...
Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Then the Chinese press will brand them as traitors and then brag that China has won the medal for Singapore.
Doesn't that make laughing stock...
I don't think that even a nuclear power like China can stand up to our secret weapon...the defamation suit.
Originally posted by redDUST:
bro, you sure lose becos you dun get to sing the national anthem if you win silver....
i know la..zzz..
wat i meant is that..hearing that tune again...sure they will mouth the words...
just like a tune u never hear for so long..sure will sing along to it wat...
Originally posted by Master -_-:
i know la..zzz..wat i meant is that..hearing that tune again...sure they will mouth the words...
just like a tune u never hear for so long..sure will sing along to it wat...
Isn't that painful? Listening to your ex-beloved country's song yet cannot sing it out loud.
Originally posted by baikachuchu:
I don't think that even a nuclear power like China can stand up to our secret weapon...the defamation suit.
LKY always boasts that China copies our model. While that is true, it also does seem that S'pore copies China. Our scholarship system, doesn't it remind you of feudal China.
Singapore bought it 1st Olympic medal after 48 years.
full results here
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C73C/TTW400202.shtml#TTW400202

power la gogogo..
Regardless of the final result, China national anthem will be heard!
It is an all-China final afterall.
The South Koreans must be feeling sore after such a close battle and also telling themselves that they did not lose against Singapore...
Wouldn't you in their shoes?
Originally posted by freedom4ever:Singapore bought it 1st Olympic medal after 48 years.
Singapore is desperate for medal. They can't wait any longer.
Singapore won it 1st and only Olympic medal after 48 years.
Only Tan Howe liang is a true Singapore medal.
Originally posted by sunnytv:Singapore is desperate for medal. They can't wait any longer.
instead of giving howe liang his due, i.e. taking care of him for life, he was made a ssc `coolie', making sure he works to earn his keeps.
i don't know how he would feel that the current singapore government, for the last 40years or so, just pay lip service to him while pouring cash over the top to the foreign sportsmen/women.
it made me ashamed that we treat others better than one of our very own.
http://www.nbcolympics.com/tabletennis/athletes/index.html
Check this website out. It seems a worldly trend that countries are using Chinese paddlers to further their Olympic ambitions.
And yes, I have to agree with sunnytv that Tan Howe Liang will be the only medal that is true blue Singaporean. Mercenaries come and go. you won't see the likes of Li Jiawei, Feng, Pang and whatever 20-30 years down the road.
Table tennis is unlike football. FIFA rules state that if a player has already represented another country on the international level, he may not play for another country ever. However, table tennis seems to subscribe to another set of rules.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:http://www.nbcolympics.com/tabletennis/athletes/index.html
Check this website out. It seems a worldly trend that countries are using Chinese paddlers to further their Olympic ambitions.
And yes, I have to agree with sunnytv that Tan Howe Liang will be the only medal that is true blue Singaporean. Mercenaries come and go. you won't see the likes of Li Jiawei, Feng, Pang and whatever 20-30 years down the road.
Table tennis is unlike football. FIFA rules state that if a player has already represented another country on the international level, he may not play for another country ever. However, table tennis seems to subscribe to another set of rules.
somehow got this feeling that after the medal, they will take the money and retire to china liao.
Couple of point to note.
The vollay ball coach from the US was original a gold medalist from PRC. The softball coach from china is an American. US table tennis team was ex medalist from PRC.
Chinese athletics are being mold for the individual sport event and they are taken care off by the state to perform when they are young, but once they live beyong the abilities to compete they are no longer being sponsored and are out to fence for themselves.
So these athletics have to prepare themselves with new work skills, which they have none in their 20s. It is human instinct to survive they cross nation when they still have the capabilities to compete and skill.
I think if SG were to send more athletics it would balance off the perception that it is all represented by foreign born.
Originally posted by Spartans:Regardless of the final result, China national anthem will be heard!
It is an all-China final afterall.
what happen if the music band did not learn the Singapore national anthem song? because it was such a remote chance that they will play?
why do they lock the previous thread -_____-
wah lau, why do you think singapore is betting of the F1 and bidding other premier sports event? post note: i dun think the youth olympic is a premier sports event. that is definitely money down the drawn
Anyway I don't treat F1 as a sport. I don't think anyone here is trained how to drive F1 cars either.
Wat other premier sports event r there ?
Originally posted by sunnytv:Singapore is desperate for medal. They can't wait any longer.
Tan Howe Liang...China born
when he win, singapore is not independent
Originally posted by kramnave:Tan Howe Liang...China born
my last post here....
howe liang DID NOT come to singapore, under the lure of money to bring singapore sporting glory.
PLS give him MORE credit than lumping with a bunch of mercenary chinese who are here with a single minded objective of playing for money.
leave him out of this.
The key point is on whether is he chinese born or not.
howe liang is here because of the lure of money for life here is rumoured to be better