come on lah... i think they are ok lah.. even if they come for the money so what???
1) they not taking over the job of some real singaporean who wan to play sports right?
2) at least the delivered right?
what did our other FT did?? stole our jobs, and deliver nothing......
Originally posted by stupidissmart:The key point is on whether is he chinese born or not.
howe liang is here because of the lure of money for life here is rumoured to be better
ok, my last last post here.
howe liang is still alive, pls ask him why is he here (and not stay in china) before you put words in his mouth. and don't talk in generality, we are here, there and everywhere becos we need to survive. if i am not here but there, it is becos i need to live. so, don't use the basic needs as a guise for his achievement.
even if he comes here for a better life, did he say, "oh, i am gonna friggin' lift weights becos i can win an olympic medal?" were incentives in place to spur him to a silver? the fact he got nothing but a place in the singapore sports hall of fame for all his showing.
you have the tendency to argue for the sake of arguing.
Originally posted by redDUST:
ok, my last last post here.howe liang is still alive, pls ask him why is he here (and not stay in china) before you put words in his mouth. and don't talk in generality, we are here, there and everywhere becos we need to survive. if i am not here but there, it is becos i need to live. so, don't use the basic needs as a guise for his achievement.
even if he comes here for a better life, did he say, "oh, i am gonna friggin' lift weights becos i can win an olympic medal?" were incentives in place to spur him to a silver? the fact he got nothing but a place in the singapore sports hall of fame for all his showing.
ok, my last last post here.howe liang is still alive, pls ask him why is he here (and not stay in china) before you put words in his mouth. and don't talk in generality, we are here, there and everywhere becos we need to survive. if i am not here but there, it is becos i need to live. so, don't use the basic needs as a guise for his achievement.
ya... poor man.. our dear management just bring his name out every 4 yrs... nothing else.... sighz...this is not the correct way to respect this uncle lor.. sighz....
Ok my last post also (actually if we spend more time elsewhere rather than at this forum, we can acheive greater things). At the end, it doesnt matter where they are from or what are their intentions. They made me proud and happy at that moment.
howe liang is still alive, pls ask him why is he here (and not stay in china) before you put words in his mouth. and don't talk in generality, we are here, there and everywhere becos we need to survive. if i am not here but there, it is becos i need to live. so, don't use the basic needs as a guise for his achievement.
Face it la... in the past, all chinese immigrants here r here because of the money and better environment. Otherwise wat can compelled these chinese to relocate to another strange country with little chance to ever see their families and friends.
Need to live etc is all about money.
Yes, he get basically nothing for winning the medal.
But then again, he is again china borned isn't it ? If u r talking about being mercenary and play sports for money, a born singapore can also be classified as mercenary too. They r playing because they wanna win the monetary award as well. The people playing for other countries r all playing for money too. Is tat a reason for complaining ? I work for money. Pure and simple. They work for money, a fact of life. U don't ?
everyready keeps going, going, going, going .............................
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
ya... poor man.. our dear management just bring his name out every 4 yrs... nothing else.... sighz...this is not the correct way to respect this uncle lor.. sighz....
i have seen howe liang a few times at the kallang stadium gym when i was there previously, years back. at about 6pm-ish, he will clean out the sweats left by the users and put the weights back in place for the next day.
everytime i see that, i said to myself, " here is an olympic silver medalist, our only pride and joy; reduced to a bloody gym cleaner. and the freakin' ssc thot they are doing howe liang a favour too by givin' him a job." what is wrong with our system here!!!
it is not too late to recognize and do something more for him. i am not sure in the back if the government has done something about it. this is a real shame that our sports administrator's oversight has done to what is a living `national treasure' of ours.
Originally posted by maurizio13:everyready keeps going, going, going, going .............................
x2
My Fellow Singaporeans! Please, Please stop bickering among ourselves! The PRCs won't care too hoots about what we say............'cause most of them can't even speak or let alone read a word of English!
Granted, our forefathers came here from many lands, settled here and we are the so called bi-products!
These PRCs (packaged with ping pong) were BOUGHT and brought here but it does not matter really because it proves ONE point...... our enviroment, whether education, training, methods, etc CANNOT and I repeat CANNOT produce a medal winning Olympian.
As for our PRIDE & JOY, Mr TAN HOWE LIANG,he was not bought with any packaging, he just came, saw what he loved at Gay World and started to fulfil his dream on his own. Sad to say what a nightmare it has become! We don't acknowledge his feat monetary, or give him decent retirement benefits, but would rather HAPPILY pay to these so called Singaporean PRCs.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Face it la... in the past, all chinese immigrants here r here because of the money and better environment. Otherwise wat can compelled these chinese to relocate to another strange country with little chance to ever see their families and friends.
Need to live etc is all about money.
Yes, he get basically nothing for winning the medal.
But then again, he is again china borned isn't it ? If u r talking about being mercenary and play sports for money, a born singapore can also be classified as mercenary too. They r playing because they wanna win the monetary award as well. The people playing for other countries r all playing for money too. Is tat a reason for complaining ? I work for money. Pure and simple. They work for money, a fact of life. U don't ?
Mercenaries come and go. I think the general sentiment is that pple dun wan to see these sports players come, earn our tax money and go. What are we then? In hokkien, citizens would be known as "cai tao".
Yes, you can draw parellels between these sports players and our ancestors. All have arrived for the sake of money. However, today we a re different generation of Singaporeans and we call this place our home. We speak Singlish now and we eat food from all races. Can we say the same of our ancestors and these PRC pple?
Some comparisons are better put in perspective.
And as for Tan Howe Liang, even though China born, has called Sg home for tens of years. If Li Jiawei after becoming a Sg citizen for so long (in sg for 13 years), can only speak halting English, what does that tell you of her intention to stay in Sg for the long term? And the reason why she has stayed so long is becos S'pore is her only realistic hope of getting huge money...fast. Not even top Olympic players in China get the kind of dough that Sg offers.
Li Jiawei and the likes are still young....can still offer competitive glory and of course, win lots more money. That's why they are still here. Throw this incentive away and see if they still stay.
When I heard Sg entered the table tennis finals, I was happy...delighted. However, the joy was only shortlived...say 10 secs? Reality has hit home that we didn't win this on our own. How I envy the Penangite Lee Chong Wei and all his fellow Malaysians.
woo tml women table tennis final is china vs china ! its a pity that singapore talents have been overshadowed by foreign imports.
well maybe I am hyper sensitive but i have a question since the table tennis player put themselve in 2nd spot and there is an opportunity to take the Gold.
From all the reading that i read from news media i got a feeling that SG is contented to get sliver and not GO FOR GOLD? even the coach has said it accomplish what it came ?
Did u see michael phelps ever said "Enough" where is the competitiveness? i know the player really work very hard. But mentally....doesn;t really put sport out there.
You don't expect them to actually take on their own motherland,win and get off scot free do you?They still have alot of relatives there.....
Maybe if Singapore were to up the Prize money...maybe then it will be well worth the backlash.
Ultimately I don't think it's fair to question their loyalty, the only way we can be happy I feel is if they tell us themselves of their intentions and even then that may not be enough for some.
But the basic question I feel is this: trust
While I have issues with the general FT policy in its whole, to zoom into individuals and say this or that about them to be honest, isn't really bring fair to them or the individuals who do come under this scheme, but have the intention to be honest to the spirit of being Singaporean.
In these kind of things, only time will tell? But truth be told if I was Li Jaiwei and see all that was being written in here about me, even if I intentions to be true to Singapore this would be extremely discouraging.
So basically I think trust them or not, let's for once be decent human beings and try kindness even to those that we do not fully trust, and let their win for us for now, be a win for us.
We'll deal with the politics of things later.
Actually I felt more proud that Lynette Lim got 8th placing in the finals of swimming than our PRCs table tennis players who will be getting Silver.
At least Lynette Lim is pure Singaporean.
Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Ultimately I don't think it's fair to question their loyalty, the only way we can be happy I feel is if they tell us themselves of their intentions and even then that may not be enough for some.
But the basic question I feel is this: trust
While I have issues with the general FT policy in its whole, to zoom into individuals and say this or that about them to be honest, isn't really bring fair to them or the individuals who do come under this scheme, but have the intention to be honest to the spirit of being Singaporean.
In these kind of things, only time will tell? But truth be told if I was Li Jaiwei and see all that was being written in here about me, even if I intentions to be true to Singapore this would be extremely discouraging.
So basically I think trust them or not, let's for once be decent human beings and try kindness even to those that we do not fully trust, and let their win for us for now, be a win for us.
We'll deal with the politics of things later.
What's so indecent about wanting our country to send out our own talents to compete instead off wooing outsiders?
Truth is,if Li Jiawei or any of her compatriots were to be reading all this,she should have been mentally prepared considering that she wants to represent Singapore on an international scale.Does she expect to be sheltered from all this?
How about we try being the decent human beings for once and try kindness even to our own home grown talents even to those whom we know would not be able to make it anywhere in the top three, and let their loss for us, be a win for us in terms of Singaporean pride?
We'll deal with filling the team with foreign talents later.
If all u guys NOT prefer FT in sports,then u shall stop watching footballs
from today.
Where is David Beckham and isnt he a British?
Why USA need Yao Ming when USA population is near 300 million?
Can u write to New York Times to complain USA need Yao Ming?

Dunt watch football---it is a cheat---full of FT!!!
U may not like to hear-
SG get slim chance to get Gold medal tonite.
Why?
When the giant in baseball Taipei can be beaten by PRC,
anything can happen.
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Team/9990960.shtml
| Rank | Year | Venue |
| World Cup | ||
| 12 | 1998 | Italy |
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Team/9991307.shtml
| Rank | Year | Venue |
| Olympic Games | ||
| 2 | 1992 | Barcelona, ESP |
| 5 | 2004 | Athens, GRE |
| World Cup | ||
| 2 | 1986 | Netherlands |
| 2 | 1984 | Cuba |
| 3 | 2001 | Chinese Taipei |
| 3 | 1988 | Italy |
| 4 | 2003 | Cuba |
| 4 | 1982 | South Korea |
| 5 | 1973 | Nicaragua |
| 6 | 1994 | Nicaragua |
| 6 | 1990 | Canada |
| 6 | 1974 | United States |
| 7 | 1976 | Colombia |
| 8 | 2007 | Chinese Taipei |
| 8 | 1972 | Nicaragua |
| 13 | 1998 | Italy |
| Asian Championships | ||
| 3 | 2007 | Chinese Taipei |
seriously i feel dat sg is pathetic in sports, while other countries play for pride n honour for their country, all our sport council did is to give more money to import foreigners or hugh money to reward our players.
our tiongs will be easy satisfy wif 75k if u ask me since to them tis is sg 1st time getting in the final.
Originally posted by lionnoisy:
U may not like to hear-
SG get slim chance to get Gold medal tonite.
Why?
When the giant in baseball Taipei can be beaten by PRC,
anything can happen.
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Team/9990960.shtml
Rank Year Venue World Cup 12 1998 Italy
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Team/9991307.shtml
Rank Year Venue Olympic Games 2 1992 Barcelona, ESP 5 2004 Athens, GRE World Cup 2 1986 Netherlands 2 1984 Cuba 3 2001 Chinese Taipei 3 1988 Italy 4 2003 Cuba 4 1982 South Korea 5 1973 Nicaragua 6 1994 Nicaragua 6 1990 Canada 6 1974 United States 7 1976 Colombia 8 2007 Chinese Taipei 8 1972 Nicaragua 13 1998 Italy Asian Championships 3 2007 Chinese Taipei
this one i give you a bit of credit. i think singapore has a slim chance. help by the fact that the margin of difference between the top10 players are small, and the fact that this is a team game.
but your earlier assessment about tao li's chance of gold is way off the mark.
Though SG lost all Team Match to PRC,SG 3 players has won
all 3 PRC individual recently,incl PRC World No.1.
PRC players are facing damn big pressures at home ground.
SG 3 players have already achieved the set target.
Just play play lah tonite----S$250,000 already in pockey.
If they win is a bonus---extra $250K loh to each.
Loss tonite also ok.
No one will blame them.
Damn relaxed loh...
Nvm LHL said''Bring back a Gold Medal'
It is just a encouragement rather than a Order!!
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/Schedule/TT_2008-08-17.shtml
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Team/9990271.shtml

| Rank | Event | Year | Venue | |
| World Championships | ||||
| 2 | Team | 2008 | Guangzhou, CHN | |
| ITTF Pro Tour | ||||
| 2 | Singles | 2007 | Chinese Taipei Open | |
| 3 | Singles | 2008 | Singapore Open | |
| 3 | Singles | 2008 | Chile Open | |
Loss tonite also ok.
No one will blame them.
Damn relaxed loh...
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/Schedule/TT_2008-08-17.shtml
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Team/9990271.shtml
Rank Event Year Venue World Championships 2 Team 2008 Guangzhou, CHN ITTF Pro Tour 2 Singles 2007 Chinese Taipei Open 3 Singles 2008 Singapore Open 3 Singles 2008 Chile Open
so easy get contented can go tell them to go fuck spiders! we bought them over to win us gold.
Loss tonite also ok.
No one will blame them.
Damn relaxed loh...
i agree with 798 that with your kind of attitude, you will never excel in sports. money aside, one common trait of sportsperson is that they detest to lose. if losing is ok, then they are kampung sportsman.
also, why stop at $750k when you have a shot of a lifetime for $1.5m?
Originally posted by lionnoisy:If all u guys NOT prefer FT in sports,then u shall stop watching footballs
from today.
Where is David Beckham and isnt he a British?
Why USA need Yao Ming when USA population is near 300 million?
Can u write to New York Times to complain USA need Yao Ming?
Dunt watch football---it is a cheat---full of FT!!!
Hahahaha. Thanks for ROFL.
David Beckham was brought to America to promote the sport. In the past century, rest of the world has gone football crazy, save America.
Yao Ming was brought over to the US to gain access to the populous Chinese market.
Sounds like you know shit huh.
We dun need unskilled foreigners nor India IT wannabes though.