Originally posted by Rock^Star:
Hahahaha. Thanks for ROFL.
David Beckham was brought to America to promote the sport. In the past century, rest of the world has gone football crazy, save America.
Yao Ming was brought over to the US to gain access to the populous Chinese market.
Sounds like you know shit huh.
We dun need unskilled foreigners nor India IT wannabes though.
completely agree 100%.
noisylion, i think the less you post on such things, the less you are exposed to ridicules.
you know nuts about the business side of sports.
i take back what i said. your sports cred is naught.
your ignorance in sports is encyclopedic!
I read one forumite saying that he was angry with a Chinaman in the bus....for belittling S'pore and needing them to secure glory at the Olympics.
Well, may I suggest that....pls don't be. It's the truth and nothing but the truth.
If me Chinaman, I would also think: These Singaporeans look down on us yet depend on us to win an Olympic medal? What the hell. Such stock for laughing.
I'd rather we have a Lee Chong Wei.
i bet you that there will be instances and incidences here in singapore that if ever there is a discussion on state of affairs of chinese FTs, the chinese here will say
"STFU, sinkies, we helped you to an olympic medal. we owned you now. "
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/368829/1/.html
Olympic table tennis success signals new sporting era for Singapore
Posted: 17 August 2008 0130 hrs
SINGAPORE: There will be a lot more in the world of sports that Singaporeans can be proud of in the years ahead, says Senior Minister of State for Trade and Industry S. Iswaran.
Mr S. Iswaran was responding to Singapore having qualified for the finals in the women's team table tennis at the Beijing Olympics.
Singapore broke a 48-year medal drought and is assured of at least an Olympic silver medal after they defeated South Korea 3-2 in the semi-final on Friday.
Mr Iswaran said: "It is also a sign of Singapore arriving in a new field ... the Formula One, the YOG, and now winning a medal at the Olympics. It shows that in that field of sports as well, Singapore is beginning to come into its own and find its own place in the global stage." - CNA/de
Losing touch....these MIW. They just don't learn, do they?
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C63B/TTW400101.shtml#TTW400101
My friends and I are cheering LJW and Co because for whatever reason they started out with, they are now fighting on our side, they are wearing our flag on their shirts so their victory is ours. Everyone, please have a big heart - perhaps we suspect they are only here because of the money, but don't forget that ultimately, whether they stay and become Singaporeans also depends to a LARGE extent on whether our country welcome them whole-heartedly or treated them like dirt.(and I am NOT talking about money but basic human respect and warmth).
We or our forefathers were all immigrants from China, India and Malaya looking for a better life here so what is the big deal? We are all Singaporeans now and in a few generations, many of these ex-foreigners and their children may also be. But xenophobia and discrimination will certainly drive them away - if that happens, will our country and society be any better or stronger?
:DD go paddlers go! i'll be cheering for sure!
sorry, i am going for excitement. i will tune to rtm1 for chong wei-lin dan badminton final match-up.
good luck, singapore.
Originally posted by Hob3:My friends and I are cheering LJW and Co because for whatever reason they started out with, they are now fighting on our side, they are wearing our flag on their shirts so their victory is ours. Everyone, please have a big heart - perhaps we suspect they are only here because of the money, but don't forget that ultimately, whether they stay and become Singaporeans also depends to a LARGE extent on whether our country welcome them whole-heartedly or treated them like dirt.(and I am NOT talking about money but basic human respect and warmth).
We or our forefathers were all immigrants from China, India and Malaya looking for a better life here so what is the big deal? We are all Singaporeans now and in a few generations, many of these ex-foreigners and their children may also be. But xenophobia and discrimination will certainly drive them away - if that happens, will our country and society be any better or stronger?
Will our country and society be worse off or weaker without them?
If we follow your logic of immigration,Singapore should belong to China under the One China Policy since most of the chinese here would have their ancestral roots traced back there.
You think that if any of our local Chinese were to get PRC citizenship,the PRCs will warmly acknowledge us as a true Chinese National?Nope,we will just end up being treated as an "ABC",a bastardized verrsion.And why that kind of view from them?It is because of their own STRONG nationlistic pride which I can respect.
The Govt should be concentrating resources used from the FST(FOREIGN sports talents) schemes and use them to actually build up our own home grown atheletes. If these FSTs were just a short term measure to bring up the sporting standard of Singapore, why can't they just take more effort to sieve through the treasurechest in our own Singapore?Do I hear giggling at the word treasurechest?Why?Singapore own homegrown atheletes not good enough huh?No pride or confidence in their own efforts issit?
Have we truly done enough to extract from our own before looking outwards?Our country has gone the way of the fast food,,just buy premade packages,chuck it into the microwave and wala!Instant satisfaction served piping hot.Have we been truly patient in our bid for national glory?
Basic human warmth and respect sure.......just try to remember that this little patch of land is still called Singapore and not United Nations.
Congratulations to China in advance for winning gold and silver medals for the women table tennis match.
congradulation to singapore for winning our first medal since 48 years ago =D congrats
anyway aside from that
i have a question, who was that person who picked li jia wei and others to be in our national team? the announcer did mentioned that person name during the game play, i think i missed out that portion, is it Mr Ng Ser Miang the IOC member or someone from the table tennis association?
~~~~~~
ok, i just found out that it was the Singapore talent scouts to beijing in 1995, but i remember correctly that the announcer did mentioned the name of that person.. thou :/, who was that person?
Originally posted by Hob3:My friends and I are cheering LJW and Co because for whatever reason they started out with, they are now fighting on our side, they are wearing our flag on their shirts so their victory is ours.
Indeed that is my question. Does a Foreigner receiving our Pink IC and donning our national attire = Singaporean athlete???
Have a look at our national soccer team. We got Africans, Chinaman, a few Europeans and so on. haha... UN team indeed.
Originally posted by Spartans:
Indeed that is my question. Does a Foreigner receiving our Pink IC and donning our national attire = Singaporean athlete???Have a look at our national soccer team. We got Africans, Chinaman, a few Europeans and so on. haha... UN team indeed.
What to do, the Pay and Pay refuse to groom the locals who are born and bred here.
Originally posted by Fantagf:What to do, the Pay and Pay refuse to groom the locals who are born and bred here.
But then we have limited talent pool also. Most Chinese parents will refuse to let their sons dedicated their future to soccer.
But to convert our national team to an UN team is truly ludicrous.
Indeed that is my question. Does a Foreigner receiving our Pink IC and donning our national attire = Singaporean athlete???Have a look at our national soccer team. We got Africans, Chinaman, a few Europeans and so on. haha... UN team indeed.
Spartans, only Singaporean holds Pink IC. If you see a foreigner holds one, then I suggest you call the police.
I read with slight amusement how many people are confused over nationality and personal pride. Our woman table tennis team are Singaporean. If one is not proud of them, then let it not be hidden behind a facade of "what defines a Singaporean".
My parents and grandparents are from China. I was born here. We are as Singaporean as the next person who holds a Pink IC. It is as simple as that.
So if someone tells me my parents and grandparents are not as Singaporean as I am, then I suggest that person checks where his parents and grandparents came from.
In sports and in life, we support different teams. Some like MU, some prefer Liverpool and even some like Blackburn Rovers. Whenever our favourite team is playing, we are proud of them. So if our woman table tennis team is not your favourite team, and when they play, then one need not be proud of them. BUT, please do not belittle them or disrespect anyone of them. It is not honourable. It is not gracious. It is definitely not Singaporean.
None the less, our woman table tennis team won an Olympic Silver medal. The nation celebrates their victory and is greatful for their accomplishment. Great job!
after 48 years finally a silver.
Wrong, our national soccer team consists of Singaporeans who were born or parents were born in africa, china, europe and so on.
Even if they were born outside of singapore, as long as they wear singapore colours and represent singapore they are singaporean athletes.
Rather than reminding ourselves of their place of birth, shouldn't we be looking at what they have done for their place of belonging? Our women's table tennis team have won us an olympic silver, be proud of them.
the chance is still there for singles;
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/TT/C75A/TTW001000.shtml#TTW001709
look at the possible opponents
() is world ranking
|
||||
may vs
| DANG Ye Seo | KOR |
again.
Pretty good chance for at least one advance to quarter finals.
Originally posted by Jingle bell:In sports and in life, we support different teams. Some like MU, some prefer Liverpool and even some like Blackburn Rovers. Whenever our favourite team is playing, we are proud of them. So if our woman table tennis team is not your favourite team, and when they play, then one need not be proud of them.
JB, there is a big difference between club sports and national sports.
torres plays for liverpool as his JOB. he plays for Spain becos of his spanish blood.
you make little sense. pls discuss in context.
Originally posted by loseagain:
Wrong, our national soccer team consists of Singaporeans who were born or parents were born in africa, china, europe and so on.Even if they were born outside of singapore, as long as they wear singapore colours and represent singapore they are singaporean athletes.
Rather than reminding ourselves of their place of birth, shouldn't we be looking at what they have done for their place of belonging? Our women's table tennis team have won us an olympic silver, be proud of them.
more than half the current singapore national football team are DRAFTED into squad. none of them is born here, except that bennett guy.
they are picked, paid to ply their trade playing for singapore. this becomes their job, as with jiawei & company.
as i mentioned, if this is the ssc's policy, little can be discussed becos the national sports have culture, tradition and expectation of the nations to consider.
when sven g-e was appointed england's coach once upon a time ago, many purist english dogs were up in arms. they insisted on an english coach no less, since england is seen as a birthplace of football. if much furore can be created on the coach selection, imagine `importing' a foreign player.
singapore place `sporting glories at all cost' higher than everything else, so it choose the path of `buying success'. if you FEEL little about it, than it is ok. others have strong nationalistic sentiments on such things, that's why they disagree.
you dun't have to look far. malaysia football believe in getting its own `local soil' players, that's why it never embrace foreign players in their national team, becos there is a certain expectation from the football lovers there. play well and lose is more honor than win tournaments with `imports' in the national team. so, singapore is ahead of the fifa ranking, but it has to stand the backtalk from others who insists singapore bought success with these imports. where is the pride in winning the asean cup. field your singapore born locals and play, and if singapore win, then you can scream and shout. i think the detractors have thier point.
however, malaysia's table tennis team has chinese players, altho' they do not fully embrace it as they still want 1 or 2 locals in the team to have that `malaysia element' in their team.
as i said, if singapore choose to buy success, that's the path they take and they must stand to defend themselves from the detractors.
oon jein teik, ceo of ssc commented in today's paper,"do you have a better solution? come forward." i think there are solutions are a few. ssc just turn a blind eye to it.
Originally posted by redDUST:JB, there is a big difference between club sports and national sports.
torres plays for liverpool as his JOB. he plays for Spain becos of his spanish blood.
you make little sense. pls discuss in context.
Deco for Portugal cause Brazil is too competetive and offers little chance for him to shine on the international stage. Like EPL players, our soccer players hold their job playing in clubs too. Their place in the national team is not guaranteed, as with Torres in Spain.
Originally posted by redDUST:more than half the current singapore national football team are DRAFTED into squad. none of them is born here, except that bennett guy.
they are picked, paid to ply their trade playing for singapore. this becomes their job, as with jiawei & company.
as i mentioned, if this is the ssc's policy, little can be discussed becos the national sports have culture, tradition and expectation of the nations to consider.
when sven g-e was appointed england's coach once upon a time ago, many purist english dogs were up in arms. they insisted on an english coach no less, since england is seen as a birthplace of football. if much furore can be created on the coach selection, imagine `importing' a foreign player.
singapore place `sporting glories at all cost' higher than everything else, so it choose the path of `buying success'. if you FEEL little about it, than it is ok. others have strong nationalistic sentiments on such things, that's why they disagree.
you dun't have to look far. malaysia football believe in getting its own `local soil' players, that's why it never embrace foreign players in their national team, becos there is a certain expectation from the football lovers there. play well and lose is more honor than win tournaments with `imports' in the national team. so, singapore is ahead of the fifa ranking, but it has to stand the backtalk from others who insists singapore bought success with these imports. where is the pride in winning the asean cup. field your singapore born locals and play, and if singapore win, then you can scream and shout. i think the detractors have thier point.
however, malaysia's table tennis team has chinese players, altho' they do not fully embrace it as they still want 1 or 2 locals in the team to have that `malaysia element' in their team.
as i said, if singapore choose to buy success, that's the path they take and they must stand to defend themselves from the detractors.
oon jein teik, ceo of ssc commented in today's paper,"do you have a better solution? come forward." i think there are solutions are a few. ssc just turn a blind eye to it.
What's the difference between coaches and players? Foreign coaches are coaching players to defeat their country of origin, what is the difference when players are playing against their country of origin? Both have moved on from their birth place and pledged more loyalty to the colours they wear.
'The national sports have culture, tradition and expectation of the nations to consider.' What is the culture and tradition of Singapore? Chinese? Malay? Indians or Eurasians? I believe it's one of integration. We've always presented ourselves as a nation and place where different cultures and traditions can come together and co-exist, so why is it wrong when we have people of different origin in our national team? With the background of Singapore, it is expected of us to give a team comprising of individuals from all over the world.
M'sia don't import football players, as with their stand on indigenous people deserving more rights and benefits, and look at where they are now with that policy. People who are better are being denied the oppotunity because they are foreign or in cases non-indigenous. In this kind of society, would any elite want to join their ranks, knowing that they are better but will be treated the same if not lesser than lesser but original people of that place?
By putting restrictions on 'locals' and 'foreigners', progress is being hindered due to undeserving but local people in the ranks, thus pulling the team down. Backtalk of buying success are from people who are blinded by nationalistic or rather feel 'their kind' is being threatened by the trend of talent influx, indicating a sense of inferiority. They feel that their failure is justified and even proud of their failure because they feel that their way is more right, since countries like Singapore are 'cheating'.
After the post on EPL teams, I thought of this. When Man Utd was playing against the national team and thrashed them 8-0 and put their goalkeeper as an outfield player some years ago ( if i remember right ), who is displaying higher loyalty and pride, players who were born outside of Singapore but playing for Singapore or people in the stands, most of whom would pride themselves as a born and breed in Singapore Singaporean but cheered Man Utd on even as they humilated us?
Your solutions for the CEO of SSC, mind if you list out some?
Deco for Portugal cause Brazil is too competetive and offers little chance for him to shine on the international stage. Like EPL players, our soccer players hold their job playing in clubs too. Their place in the national team is not guaranteed, as with Torres in Spain.
deco can play for portugal becos there is a lineage between portugal and brazil, the former a colonial master. if deco is spanish, he will not be able to play for portugal even if he wants to.
like i said, this is decided by the national FA. many have strong nationalistic sentiments in an emotional sports like soccer.
Originally posted by redDUST:deco can play for portugal becos there is a lineage between portugal and brazil, the former a colonial master. if deco is spanish, he will not be able to play for portugal even if he wants to.
like i said, this is decided by the national FA. many have strong nationalistic sentiments in an emotional sports like soccer.
He was allowed cause he had played for FC Porto and stayed in Portugal for a few years, nothing to do with the colonial master thing...
Initially the people of Portugal resisted this decision, but later recognised his contributions and see him as one of their stars.
Edit : But a lot of people in Singapore are still blinded and refuse to acknowledge what JiaWei and CO have done for Singapore sports. Goes to show how 'open-minded' we are compared to other countries.
What's the difference between coaches and players? Foreign coaches are coaching players to defeat their country of origin, what is the difference when players are playing against their country of origin? Both have moved on from their birth place and pledged more loyalty to the colours they wear.'The national sports have culture, tradition and expectation of the nations to consider.' What is the culture and tradition of Singapore? Chinese? Malay? Indians or Eurasians? I believe it's one of integration. We've always presented ourselves as a nation and place where different cultures and traditions can come together and co-exist, so why is it wrong when we have people of different origin in our national team? With the background of Singapore, it is expected of us to give a team comprising of individuals from all over the world.
M'sia don't import football players, as with their stand on indigenous people deserving more rights and benefits, and look at where they are now with that policy. People who are better are being denied the oppotunity because they are foreign or in cases non-indigenous. In this kind of society, would any elite want to join their ranks, knowing that they are better but will be treated the same if not lesser than lesser but original people of that place?
By putting restrictions on 'locals' and 'foreigners', progress is being hindered due to undeserving but local people in the ranks, thus pulling the team down. Backtalk of buying success are from people who are blinded by nationalistic or rather feel 'their kind' is being threatened by the trend of talent influx, indicating a sense of inferiority. They feel that their failure is justified and even proud of their failure because they feel that their way is more right, since countries like Singapore are 'cheating'.
After the post on EPL teams, I thought of this. When Man Utd was playing against the national team and thrashed them 8-0 and put their goalkeeper as an outfield player some years ago ( if i remember right ), who is displaying higher loyalty and pride, players who were born outside of Singapore but playing for Singapore or people in the stands, most of whom would pride themselves as a born and breed in Singapore Singaporean but cheered Man Utd on even as they humilated us?
Your solutions for the CEO of SSC, mind if you list out some?
1. when i talk about culture, etc., i am not refering to the race, ethnicity, etc. i am referring to the sports culture that is embedded in a country for the longest time. i will give you a hyphothetical e.g. if lin dan tomorrow wants to play for indonesia, the badminton association in indonesia will NOT accept the offer. why? becos indonesia has this strong emotional thinking that it is a country that can produce its own champions. as i have repeated time and again, if singapore's sports policy is to buy success, then so be it. but don't expect a wholly supportive sports community.
2. i have nothing against whites playing for singapore, if he/she is born, bred and train in singapore. did i ever object to having chinese, malay and indians in the national football team??? again, pls discuss this in perspective. when you talk in general terms, we can discuss till the cows come home.
3. malaysia's football selection policy favours malaysians, NOT indigenous people as you refer. Get your facts right. There are luminaries like chin aun, seth singh (currently espn football pundit) and a host on non-malays wearing the national jersey. they just do not want a Nkomo Girese from nigeria playing for malaysia. they have no problem with tan beng leong or balusamy playing for malaysia if they can kick a decent ball.
4. your man u example is a FRIENDLY and not a competitve match. they can put a clown there and nothing nationalistic is lost. what are you trying to say here. your point being?
5. i don't claim to be an expert on sports here. for singapore, for starter, you need to assess what is the strength of the country that we can exploit. generally, singaporeans are smaller built, so to have a 100m champion sprinter is a bit far fetch. so,
a. pick the core sports that singapore can excel in. and invest in those. as it is, we are NOT doing too badly in sailing and bowling. perhaps even archery and other sports can be shortlisted for excellence. contrary to popular belief, singapore do not have be good in EVERYTHING. even powerhouse like china is a track and field minnow on the world stage.
b. put in the infrastructure in place. sports school is 10 years too late. much could have been done much earlier to nurture the young. however, the singapore sports policy does not facilitate this.
c. staff accordingly/appropriately. you will be surprised how many sports administrators we have in the NSAs that run a country sport but have little knowledge and passion for the sports. can the sports flourish? that's why we hear of more controversies from the nsas.
d. have more faith in locals. this inferiroity mindset, or the pinkerton syndrome pervades even in sports. angmoh? sure better....just like music, the mindset here is local/singapore music sucks. foreigner's better. it is about time we have more faith on our local lads. so far, has remy ong let singapore down? there are many more remys out there if the singapore main sports influencers have a more balanced sports policy.
i do not want to go on and on here....
a few years ago, i have the privilege to work with many national athletes, club athletes and also nsa, including sscs. many are still frens with me. so, i am not writing blindly here. while i admit that the whole trust of singapore sports has taken for a turn for the better, i think more should be spent grooming local athletes. but the message sent from the table tennis success is "well, we are not afraid to buy success. if we have a void in certain areas, we will get foreigners to fill the gaps. where is the place for singaporeans? won't some who aspires for sporting greatness felt discourage becos the gahmen will wait for them but want to buy instant success instead? we will never know if singapore is ever going to produce roger federer if we kill a person's interest early on becos we rather have that 2nd rate foreign tennis player instead.