Are you refering to scholar officers ? Can't comment on white horse regular officers as i never met one before.As for the Scholar officers, most of them in the senior command are pretty solid in their leadership and planning abilities and not to mention fitness.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Yes each of us are entitled to our own opinions. To me its just "ren2 bu4 wei4 ji3 tian1 zhu1 di4 mie4".
O, by the way, since you are a regular, you must have met lots of white horse officers. Do share with us how competent they are? Another reason why my bro and friends do not want to serve the army is that they are afraid of poor leadership from white-horse officers.
Singapore 1 small country...Originally posted by RaTtY81:yea.. nuke indo n u will have other countries chasing ur ass...
After the war dun be surprised to have your name & photo to be listed under the hall of shame & disloyalty.......Originally posted by Cindyfeh:If they (the rich kids) run, you better run too! Don't only watch them run!![]()
better than having photo n name on tombstone rite?Originally posted by larrenV2.003:After the war dun be surprised to have your name & photo to be listed under the hall of shame & disloyalty.......![]()
Okay lah death is inevitable...but living in shame is something that one has to bear with it.....Originally posted by Zooish:better than having photo n name on tombstone rite?![]()
true..Originally posted by Zooish:better than having photo n name on tombstone rite?![]()
I think at least 1 officer in the whole commando camp must be a scholar. So tell me, with his excellent leadership and planning abilities, why did the unfortunate dunking incident happen?Originally posted by one-niner:Are you refering to scholar officers ? Can't comment on white horse regular officers as i never met one before.As for the Scholar officers, most of them in the senior command are pretty solid in their leadership and planning abilities and not to mention fitness.
Our ex CDF, LG Lim Chuan Poh was a keen athelete and was known abt his peers as a leader who work well with his surbodinates and peers. The reason why there are quite a number of SAFOS winners is to ensure a steady stream of capable leaders in the SAF, no doubt some scholar might be brainy, but no EQ, so i do belive your brother Teh might have run into some pretty black horse.
Just a word of question, is your brother an commander,be it specialist or officer that prompted him to say such matters or he just happens to be disgruntled soldier who is just flaming his officer.Before u start flaming me, maybe its best that you as a lady understand the workings of the SAF before embarking on such remarks here and there, and i will say the same words to guys whos brothers claim such action or seen such behaviour back in camp.
Furthermore i personally think that the perceived notion of singapore being oppressed is pretty saddening. Yes many people would rather migrate to other countries where they can be free, australia no doubt maybe a perfect choice, the locals there are still pretty fazed by the on flux of immigrants.
If you really hate it in singapore, by all means please leave singapore and migrate over to a country of your choice.
well when war comes u will know.Originally posted by RaTtY81:i gonna c how u gonna break those rules...
Smart move.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:I think at least 1 officer in the whole commando camp must be a scholar. So tell me, with his excellent leadership and planning abilities, why did the unfortunate dunking incident happen?
If you have friends who are workiing in gov-linked companies, ask them how do most of the staff view the army colonels-turned senior management ?
Yes, my family and I are doing whatever we can now to leave.
The 'dunking' is part of POW training which has been 'quietly' carried out for many years liao w/o major incidents, only this time the insructors went overboard n caused death. basically it was the "if it ain't broken why fix it" mentality on SAF's part, they saw no reason to stop this training until the death.Originally posted by Cindyfeh:I think at least 1 officer in the whole commando camp must be a scholar. So tell me, with his excellent leadership and planning abilities, why did the unfortunate dunking incident happen?
If you have friends who are workiing in gov-linked companies, ask them how do most of the staff view the army colonels-turned senior management ?
Yes, my family and I are doing whatever we can now to leave.
ya..bmt cannot use..but my frens at tekong can use..but after bmt tink can use anitime we wan liaoOriginally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Wah u wat camp?? Commando camp ah?? I can use hp leh
I concur!Originally posted by Zooish:better than having photo n name on tombstone rite?![]()
hm.. think we share very different values. ren bu wei ji tian zhu di mie? this sends shudders down my spine. what if everyone thinks this way? and there is no guarantee someone close to us chooses to think this way too, and puts relations in second place rite?Originally posted by Cindyfeh:Yes each of us are entitled to our own opinions. To me its just "ren2 bu4 wei4 ji3 tian1 zhu1 di4 mie4".
O, by the way, since you are a regular, you must have met lots of white horse officers. Do share with us how competent they are? Another reason why my bro and friends do not want to serve the army is that they are afraid of poor leadership from white-horse officers.
He was someone's son. Would you want your son to be exposed to this sort of "if it ain't broken why fix it" risk?? I heard of the army doing all the ISO certification which on paper is good for the army. But look at the dunking incident. Shouldn't an exercise that concerns life and death be properly monitored?? Where is the leadership in monitoring this? Are all the ISO for show only?Originally posted by Zooish:The 'dunking' is part of POW training which has been 'quietly' carried out for many years liao w/o major incidents, only this time the insructors went overboard n caused death. basically it was the "if it ain't broken why fix it" mentality on SAF's part, they saw no reason to stop this training until the death.
If your family really not happy living in sg then its better to leave lor. Mian3 qiang3 shi4 mei2 you3 xing4 fu2 de4
I partially aree with what u said....Now the main problem is wif Singaporeans too..IM they do not know how to plan their money..Most Singaporeans want to be flashy owning cars,ex handphones saturdays wan to go cheong at pubs..Now my question to us is , are these things really necessary?...Think about those people in third world countries who cant even afford basic necessities.....Is true that u can enjoy these things at a cheaper cost in other countries cos they have natural resources to make up for it..Singapore has none..The only way to drive this country financially is through the things u buy, hence the high cost of products..if u are not happy about it, then rather keep your money and spend it wisely than get cut throat by others.......but look those countries...issues like terrorism, racism are widespread..do u want to live in a very rich country like in middle east but live every single day of your life in fear and paranoia?..try seeing from the ordinary man's point of view rather than the elitist...Though i agree with u that idiots follow rules and geniuses break them....What rules do u want to break?..u are not living n Afghanistan,are u?Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:true..
lol...
i rather have it on hall of shame..
like me so bhb 1...
Why should we be so loyal to this country which makes us suffer?
we suffer under ang mohs..
suffer under china influence..
kana called pee sai...
little red dot...
Under the rule of dictator..
so little pay..
Pay so much $$ for hdb flat and car..
at over inflated price and we don't even OWN IT..
ha.
i don't own anything here.
to hell with NS.
you think i will serve??
$$ not even enuf for car installment..
I rather to be a traitor rather then to be dead.
Frankly.
I rather smuggle my fellow NS man out.
After all who can't rebuilt back a HDB flat which costs less then $10,000 dollar to build?
And who can't buy a car?
less then $10,000 USD only..
if your paying anything more it means that your being cheated =D
99 years only..can't stay more..who cares if u did NS?
if u live for 101 years..sorry even if u do NS...
government gonna throw u and ur offspring out...
idiots are people who follow rules
geniuses are ones who break it
Yes different values. You are concerned about both the physical place and the relations. On the other hand, I am concerned about both lives and relations. I much prefer my friends and relatives to live than to waste their life defending physical properties not owned by us. Basically, I followed the attitude of "if i am not a major share-holder of a company, why should I work so hard?".Originally posted by wuming78:hm.. think we share very different values. ren bu wei ji tian zhu di mie? this sends shudders down my spine. what if everyone thinks this way? and there is no guarantee someone close to us chooses to think this way too, and puts relations in second place rite?
anyway i cant help you with your question - i have not met white horses (btw, there arent many of them). neither have i met many scholars. but i urge you to keep an open-mind, cos you sound like you have already formed strong impressions of these groups of people. do keep a look-out for sources of information other than your brother and friends. if one is unhappy with the system, chances are his views of it won't be very objective. and it is always good to confirm information through multiple sources, and good sources at that, rather than rely solely on anecdotal evidences.
I rather live in Aus than middle east.Originally posted by MunnaBhai_MBBS:I partially aree with what u said....Now the main problem is wif Singaporeans too..IM they do not know how to plan their money..Most Singaporeans want to be flashy owning cars,ex handphones saturdays wan to go cheong at pubs..Now my question to us is , are these things really necessary?...Think about those people in third world countries who cant even afford basic necessities.....Is true that u can enjoy these things at a cheaper cost in other countries cos they have natural resources to make up for it..Singapore has none..The only way to drive this country financially is through the things u buy, hence the high cost of products..if u are not happy about it, then rather keep your money and spend it wisely than get cut throat by others.......but look those countries...issues like terrorism, racism are widespread..do u want to live in a very rich country like in middle east but live every single day of your life in fear and paranoia?..try seeing from the ordinary man's point of view rather than the elitist...Though i agree with u that idiots follow rules and geniuses break them....What rules do u want to break?..u are not living n Afghanistan,are u?
The bottomline is , if u want to stay in Singapore for one reason or another..by all means dont be greedy...if else just run off to a remote part of the world where u can live off catching fish and picking fruits, spend yr whole day lazing
Originally posted by larrenV2.003:Okay lah death is inevitable...but living in shame is something that one has to bear with it.....![]()
Originally posted by larrenV2.003:After the war dun be surprised to have your name & photo to be listed under the hall of shame & disloyalty.......![]()