of cos lah... i can even differentiate my hamsters. and i got 4 of them loh. all white.Originally posted by NeonTetra:u can differentiate which is yours meh?
Actually i belive pig-nosed turtles are illegal pets in Singapore. In fact all reptile species except the red-eared slider are considered illegal pets in Singapore.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:jpg[/img]
It's a protected species, not illegal to keep but restricted sale.. so it's very very very very rare here...
Notice also that it is the ONLY true freshwater turtle that has flippers (like marine turtles) instead of claws...
Oh really? I saw quite a few Aquariums stocking (and displaying) the pignosed turtle openly last year, so thought it should be legal. I have even thought of keeping one myself. Hmmm.. so it's illegal to keep soft-shell turtles as well? But they can be found in almost every other aquarium leh...Originally posted by Zooish:Actually i belive pig-nosed turtles are illegal pets in Singapore. In fact all reptile species except the red-eared slider are considered illegal pets in Singapore.
Many people buy star tortoises without knowing they're illegal as well.
Please don't buy any exotic pets. Since they're illegal, they have to be smuggled in, and the process of smuggling is very cruel and many animals die along the way. These animals are caught from the wild not bred on farms, and so by supporting the pet trade, you are helping in their extinction.
Ok, i've preached enough tonight.![]()
http://www.tortoise.org/archives/apalone.htmlOriginally posted by technoboy:Yea paid like $3 I think... But my family is a vegetarian... So we cant really buy blood worms and stuffs... And the head is always in the water.. I tried moving it and it was still moving...
pig nosed used to be okay until recently.. however, the ban was on "selling".. they cannot control people who are keeping since a lot of hobbyist do keep them prior to the ban.. it's tough asking everyone to surrender their pets..Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Oh really? I saw quite a few Aquariums stocking (and displaying) the pignosed turtle openly last year, so thought it should be legal. I have even thought of keeping one myself. Hmmm.. so it's illegal to keep soft-shell turtles as well? But they can be found in almost every other aquarium leh...
You mean terrapin? They are half land half water. If u put them in a tank full of water and without any rocks or small stones for them to climb on, they will die pretty fast.Originally posted by technoboy:Can turtles breathe in water?? I just bought one and its always submerged in water... And anyone knows what do they eat?
yeah, I got 2 of them.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:This is the pignosed turtle:
It's a protected species, not illegal to keep but restricted sale.. so it's very very very very rare here...
Notice also that it is the ONLY true freshwater turtle that has flippers (like marine turtles) instead of claws...
be it soft shelled turtle or red eared slider.. their diet consists of both animals and plants.. =POriginally posted by technoboy:Im not sure if mine is soft shell... Might post pictures of it here later... What what i feed it is just some vegetables said my friend told me...
Originally posted by Rob Chen:terrapin is a sub-category of turtles.. in fact, most hobbyists do not make this distinction anymore..
hi all,
my advise to all is not confuse between REAL turtles, terrappins and Tortoise.
(despite we all call them turtles by large)
TURTLES - sea (can survive and swim deep water without drowning) and need deep water level
Terrappines - BOTH land & water based, need water to play, cool and waddle in BUT like the many $3 very cute red ear sliders (2 red/orange stripes near ear area) - [b]NO CONSTANT WATER OVER THE HEAD (esp nose) over the long term or it WILL DROWN due to fatigue cos cannot swim constantly to breath air.
TORTOISE - land based, no water except for drinking, heard will die if constant contact (not drown) in water (tortoise 'expert'/ breeders please add info)
Originally posted by Rob Chen:one more thing.. turtles and tortoises are different categories altogether.. the family name is known as Chelonia.. Under this cat, u will get your turtles and tortoises..
hi all,
my advise to all is not confuse between REAL turtles, terrappins and Tortoise.
(despite we all call them turtles by large)
TURTLES - sea (can survive and swim deep water without drowning) and need deep water level
Terrappines - BOTH land & water based, need water to play, cool and waddle in BUT like the many $3 very cute red ear sliders (2 red/orange stripes near ear area) - [b]NO CONSTANT WATER OVER THE HEAD (esp nose) over the long term or it WILL DROWN due to fatigue cos cannot swim constantly to breath air.
TORTOISE - land based, no water except for drinking, heard will die if constant contact (not drown) in water (tortoise 'expert'/ breeders please add info)
Actually it depends lah, there are many species of soft-shelled turtles and most if not all are endangered or vulnerable. Since many of you guys are already keeping them, please do take good care of them, and please don't buy anymore.Originally posted by earthlings73:pig nosed used to be okay until recently.. however, the ban was on "selling".. they cannot control people who are keeping since a lot of hobbyist do keep them prior to the ban.. it's tough asking everyone to surrender their pets..
soft-shell is pretty okay, not on the endanger list..
however, if u have soft-shell, handle with care.. since they do not have a hard protection, they use BITING as their form of defence..
my understanding on "banning on sales" was from www.arofanatics.com heh..Originally posted by Zooish:Actually it depends lah, there are many species of soft-shelled turtles and most if not all are endangered or vulnerable. Since many of you guys are already keeping them, please do take good care of them, and please don't buy anymore.
Basic differences between tortoises and turtles (general):
Tortoise - high-domed shell, stocky legs, lives entirely on land and cannot swim, herbivorous
Turtles and terrapins - flat shells, usually have flipper-like or webbed feet with claws, turtles can live entirely in water, terrapins need access to dry land, both are carnivorous
Special note to ppl with star tortoises: pls keep the terrarium as dry as possible as star tortoises come from arid areas with low humidity and Singapore is too humid.
I am not condoning the keeping of exotic reptiles by providing such info. I'm trying to help you guys give your pets a better life.
Yup you're right, pancake tortoise from Africa has a really flat shell, but its the exception among tortoises.Originally posted by earthlings73:my understanding on "banning on sales" was from www.arofanatics.com heh..
just some minor comments.. =P there's one species of tortoises that is flat, and aptly called pancake tortoise.. =P
and some turtles/terrapins are omnivorous.. including red-eared and soft-shelled, commonly found in singapore.. =)
hey ur kind i rearing.. now 7 years liao.. got 2.. both as big as my palm.. one slightly bigger..Originally posted by technoboy:http://img255.echo.cx/img255/6139/hpim01060md.jpg
http://img245.echo.cx/img245/1899/hpim01125rm.jpg
http://img245.echo.cx/img245/8131/hpim01178ba.jpg
http://img245.echo.cx/img245/1610/hpim01183gz.jpg
http://img245.echo.cx/img245/386/hpim01196sq.jpg
Ok... Here are some pictures of my turtles... Can someone advise me on what do I feed them with?? Cos these few days I only gave them cabbage? And my family only eat vagetarian... And what about the living conditions of it? Is that good enough?
Thanks for helping!![]()
no offence meant but so what if your family is vegetarian? or is it your family vegetarians cos dun wanna kill life?Originally posted by technoboy:http://img255.echo.cx/img255/6139/hpim01060md.jpg
Ok... Here are some pictures of my turtles... Can someone advise me on what do I feed them with?? Cos these few days I only gave them cabbage? And my family only eat vagetarian... And what about the living conditions of it? Is that good enough?
Thanks for helping!![]()
http://www.anapsid.org/reslider.htmlOriginally posted by technoboy:http://img255.echo.cx/img255/6139/hpim01060md.jpg
Thanks for helping!![]()
Not really sure about this but I think its because of religion..Originally posted by hisoka:no offence meant but so what if your family is vegetarian? or is it your family vegetarians cos dun wanna kill life?
erm again no offence butOriginally posted by technoboy:Not really sure about this but I think its because of religion..