dividend? how much do they give?Originally posted by shade343:HOORAY...I own 6 lots of SMRT![]()
Boo...I travel on the MRT everyday....![]()
I suggest buying SMRT shares...at least you get pocket money from the dividends to help pay for your train fare.![]()
Originally posted by the Bear:Which MP said that?
there was a "car free day" not so many years ago...
an MP was asked why he still used his car... the Ivory Tower dweller said (i sh1t you not!!): [b]I do not have the luxury to take public transport...
well, there you go...
At least its enough to pay for concession passesOriginally posted by dragg:dividend? how much do they give?
gimme a break!!!![]()
Originally posted by dragg:+2
... but i dont have the stamina.....![]()
U want to read huh? Ok, give me few mintues, I go search ... ...Originally posted by Simple_Bear:Ask them to publish their annual a/cs...
Ask them why the profit margin so high...![]()
You mean CEO of SMRT? She owns two car you know! One is a sports car some more.Originally posted by Simple_Bear:Yap...
Most of them drive cars lah...make the bosses of SMART tk public transport everyday then they know...lolx...![]()
Originally posted by Manager433:U want to read huh? Ok, give me few mintues, I go search ... ...
According to their balance sheet,s there is NO increase in Profits. They only made a profit $21736000 in 2005 Q1 compared to last year Q1 of $41443000Originally posted by the Bear:well, screw 'em...
with an obscene 42% increase in profits, they're still like that??
so, they figure financial sodomy of the general public is their credo now? whatever happened to them being a Public Service?
oh well.. whatever... i'm gettin' my car soon...
the bastards..
U r rite. They just retrenched some before Chinese New Year and again in March, some staff were retrenched. Every few months they will retrench staff. And Sillypore papers seldom report.Originally posted by Homebody:SMRT just retrenched folks a few months back. Why do they need to increase fare?
I'm training for long distance running. Hopefully my stamina can build until I need not depend on public transport so much. My legs would be the best transport vehicle. Save money and at the same time maintain health and figure.
Screw SMRT and government. Just wait til my stamina and legs get super strong, I'm not gonna take public transport anymore. No car for me (damn the COE).
Just pure running and cycling!
Its all available on the Investor Relations section of the SMRT website...unless you got some more secret stuff to share with usOriginally posted by Manager433:U want to read huh? Ok, give me few mintues, I go search ... ...
Me not working for any local transport related companies de. So I no no secrets to share with u loh.Originally posted by shade343:Its all available on the Investor Relations section of the SMRT website...unless you got some more secret stuff to share with us
Originally posted by dragg:monopoly is killing us. 1st SPH, now MRT. who's next!!!
Originally posted by shade343:According to their balance sheet,s there is NO increase in Profits. They only made a profit $21736000 in 2005 Q1 compared to last year Q1 of $41443000
Thats a decrease of around 47.55%
Im rather dissapointed at the share price though...I pick some up at 89 cents early this year...and the current price is at 91.5 cents...very dissapointing, but at least that 5 cents a share dividend should be able to help me cover my transport cost for the next quarter![]()
Do your part, DON'T donate to NKF - then you don't donate to the local telcos. If those prize winners are really charitable by heart, they should sell the prize and donate all the money back. But I don't think winners did. That last year grand prize winner was even "so lucky" that she won another $1000 again this year! Pure amazing luck or..... ?Write a check, Donate to KDF instead or whatever non-showy organisation out there.Originally posted by Hellraiza:eh getting to much lah fark...
and anyway, why dont the sponsors just donate all the cash prizes, condos, cars and shit to the organisations DIRECTLY and abolish the goddamn charity shows? OH yah i forgot, if this happens Singtel tan bo ji ki lan liao.
mi worst than u..mi from mid febOriginally posted by ditzy:I admit i have not been patronizing smrt the since february end.![]()
http://www.smrt.com.sg/mar05-announcementfinal.pdfOriginally posted by Parka:Anyway, looking at balance sheet is quite useless. It only tells us what they have, not how efficient their operations and finance are.
I find it amazing that the profits actually dropped that much.
Are there less people taking transport? I don't think so.
I don't think so.
I don't think so too. Look at their revenue, it increased in 2005 compared to 2004. Since the fare didn't increase in 2005 (yet), it means there are more trips taken in 2005 compared to 2004.Originally posted by Parka:Are there less people taking transport? I don't think so.
I don't think so.
The rich gets richer and the poor gets poorer.Originally posted by Hellraiza:eh getting to much lah fark...
everyday my bus fare from home to camp and back, can easily cost 4 bucks... thats like one plate of chicken rice add rice and a drink lor cb.
seriously lah the gov always says the cost of living is going up, knn who is the one who is making it like this? when i was pri 5 it cost only 35 cents to take a bus. now it costs almost a dollar, to the same place im going.
protest also no use, thanks to the smart police, making any sort of peaceful protest into an illegal gathering.
but knn, something must be done to wake up the bloody MIW. bloody hell can spend a few million for some stupid club at the esplanade, while charity organisations have to use some stupid celebs making a fool for themselves on tv for donations.
and anyway, why dont the sponsors just donate all the cash prizes, condos, cars and shit to the organisations DIRECTLY and abolish the goddamn charity shows? OH yah i forgot, if this happens Singtel tan bo ji ki lan liao.
We are living in a very wrong society. Whats worse is our ability to keep quiet about it.