it is all about money.Originally posted by moongster:Smoking is bad for health, yet chewing gum is being banned. Really mind-boggling![]()
Well, funny thing is people spend more money when they have health problems, perhaps this helps the medical industry...oh well...Originally posted by dragg:it is all about money.
it cost MOE a lot money to clean up chewing gums. banning helps save a lot of money. banning cigarettes will cost the govt a lot of tax money.
you dont have relatives, friends or colleagues who are smokers?Originally posted by TVaddict:sometimes i just wish all the smokers in this world can drop dead immediately...
statistic show tat those couch potato r more likely to die early than smokers. u don hv to worry bout his relatives.Originally posted by dragg:you dont have relatives, friends or colleagues who are smokers?
are you sure you want all of them to die?
There must be someone to enforce the law.Originally posted by mochou:Ya, but who's there to stop them? who's there to get them fined when they smoke in these areas?
Perhap a yellow box can be drawn around the bus shelter?Originally posted by ditzy:What a cock rule, especially for the bus stop part.Which area is defined as the bus stop? Under its shelter or a 5 metre radius locus encircling the bus stop?
Its like, rules are totally fine, but the loopholes in it, they need plugging.
i suggest those beng and lian smokers smoke at the yellow box of bus area and let the buses run over them!!!Originally posted by tranquilice:Perhap a yellow box can be drawn around the bus shelter?Those who smoke inside the yellow box is breaking the smoking law.
vehicles is no choice, dont use vehicle then what, walk for hours to work or to school ah? or you travel to anther city, walk for a few months? and who say noone complain? the government also asking ppl to take public transport more to cut down pollution.Originally posted by dcx:pls leh....then y i dun see you all complain abt pollution emitted from vehicles causing ozone layers to detoriate n causing such a big hole that affect the entire living things on Earth...how abt oil spills in the ocens/seas...causing so much pollution too.....
Btw...since air's public property...it's of everyone's share....it doesn't juz belong to u non-smokers....
Thats a fantastic idea!Originally posted by tranquilice:Perhap a yellow box can be drawn around the bus shelter?Those who smoke inside the yellow box is breaking the smoking law.
aiya...watever lah...i've stated my points very clearly liaoz...it's abt the concept thingy...u dun understand i also dun bother to further explain to you...see some of you non-smokers like to complain so much in the forums...go set up a banner n protest on the streets to ban smoking lah....Tok big in forums only...so what i smoke in public?? Not happy huh???Originally posted by the.raven:vehicles is no choice, dont use vehicle then what, walk for hours to work or to school ah? or you travel to anther city, walk for a few months? and who say noone complain? the government also asking ppl to take public transport more to cut down pollution.
oil spills are accidents, you need oil for electricity.
and again your using the lame reasoning that the air doesnt belong to non_smokers, non smokers dont release smoke into the air, smokers do.
Originally posted by ditzy:If a new law is set up, there must be somebody to enforce it, right? So, don't worry who's going to catch the offenders, someone will have to do the job.
Thats a fantastic idea!Why didn't I think of that?! Wooohoooo!
Next question, who's gonna catch them?
What if I stand [b]ON the yellow line?
What if I have one foot in the box, and the other out the box?
What if.......
[/i][/b]
you are the one that doesnt get it.Originally posted by dcx:aiya...watever lah...i've stated my points very clearly liaoz...it's abt the concept thingy...u dun understand i also dun bother to further explain to you..
okok...fine.....i dun get it...you're right...smokers shld go n die...shld not harm non-smokers' health...non-smokers go heaven n smokers go hell....fine with these??Originally posted by the.raven:you are the one that doesnt get it.
when smokers get cancer or other smoking related diseases...Originally posted by dragg:i am a non smoker.
frankly i find all the complaints about smoking moot.
if you dont like smokers just walk away. it is just a bit of inconvenience. why give the govt reasons to increase the price of cigarettes? the suggestion that cigarettes caused all sorts of cancer and deaths is an overstatement.
give the smokers a break. one pack of 20 sticks already $11.50. what more do you want?
i tell you wat, why dun u write in to NKF to refuse treatment to smokers. THEN after you do that, donate in excess of $100,000 to them (which might not even be enuff to treat ONE non-smoking cancer patient)...Originally posted by hyuuga neji:when smokers get cancer or other smoking related diseases...
is it fair that everybody has to subsidies their medical fees???
rising medical fees... so raise tobacco tax lor...
juz take it that smokers pay more for their own medical bills in advance...
yesOriginally posted by dragg:you dont have relatives, friends or colleagues who are smokers?
are you sure you want all of them to die?
Yep, I hate smokers too. They stinks like hell when they let out a breath of that bloody smoke out of their mouth and nose. No offence please. They often pollute this small environment and some non smokers who hate these smells might get into some difficulty of breathing as they will hold their breath whenever they smell a slight smoke smell.Originally posted by borntolive:To hell with all the smokers...For fucks sake stop smoking in places where its crowed especially bus stops, toilets... every time i step out of ngee ann poly gate all i see is a string of smokers along the bus stop smoking, some pathetic ones even squat to smoke...If u losers wana smoke, just go home or hide in a small pathetic corner against a wall to smoke.. stop ruining people around u with yr presence..![]()