i guess what he says is right.. it just takes time for us to settle down and stuff... i thought i'd die from missing sg when im in usa.. for the first 3 months.. i was going crazy.. but its all better now.. although i miss singapore.. its not that bad here after all. same happened when i was moving from pri sch to sec sch.. i guess its the different stages in life that are harder to start of with.. its just like when i think im gonna join the workforce in the future and raise a family.. i was afraid i couldnt do this couldnt do that.. not being able to live up to expectations and etc.. etcOriginally posted by About A GaL:The first 6 months of poly will be unbearable as u still getting used to the system. From then on it will be a breeze.
It was the same case for me when i was in poly many years ago.Felt like giving up after the fir 2 months. But i realised that it just takes time to get used to the life and u will be fine.
dropped out after 3 years?Originally posted by shinta:I couldn get the hang of studyin after stoppin for 1.5 years
by my 2nd mth, i'm real good at skippin lectures of no interest to me liao
year 2 n 3 was bz... but i was bz skippin lectures that i have no interest in, and rushin my project. happens to be a one man show sia... my year 2 de projects..
halfway in my 3rd year i got out of poly
maybe my expectations are too high...i mean i dun want just a pass,i wan distinctions..which i found out is not easy to get at all..Originally posted by EXCO:INT School... Actually quite slack already. If there is any harmful pressure and stress, its coming from yourself. Sometimes I feel the lecturers don't even push the students enough. Every sem the day before submission then you will see all the NMM and IN3D labs full. Funny situation.
After you are comfortable with the system, its time to branch out and join CCAs, network and know more people. It will make your poly life so much more interesting than lectures and tutorials everyday. Its all about balancing your time.
Btw I am in INM, the discontinued course![]()
Well thats how poly is. Some find it very easy to get distinction, some find it very difficult. For me, I passed all of my subjects without much studying, because the concepts makes sense to me very quickly. Its all about being able to catch on, and stay on. As for distinctions... Well... You will have to fight with all other A students. For those technical subjects, I have no advice, but for those marketing and open ended subjects like ITEN, my advice is do something different - Set yourself apart from the rest. Don't be bound by the notes. No point doing something that half the school is doing.Originally posted by online55:maybe my expectations are too high...i mean i dun want just a pass,i wan distinctions..which i found out is not easy to get at all..
Originally posted by EXCO:Life is not about your individual grades and working for yourself. Your teammates may not have contributed much to your grades, but you have not done yourself justice by behaving like this also.
Originally posted by sohguanh:The dump everything to me last minute. I'm not a deity. That's why I say Group Projects suckz..
[b]If there isn this thing called group projects, I could have gotten more As n Bs.. tmd
In the real working world if you are working for a big company, most if not all the times you gotta work in groups depending on your job nature and profession. Hence group project is a way for you to understand how frustrating it can be early on before you even start to work. It is good exposure I think and how you manage to find a solution to such a mess involving a group of people. Learn it early in schools than to learn it when you start to work is better. At least you are better prepared[/b]
Originally posted by shade343:I HATE LEARNING MODULES THAT ARE OF NO RELEVANCE TO MY COURSE!!! Dumb modules waste my time!!!![]()
in primary sch, I hate social studies...Originally posted by shade343:I HATE LEARNING MODULES THAT ARE OF NO RELEVANCE TO MY COURSE!!! Dumb modules waste my time!!!![]()
\Originally posted by shinta:![]()
NP n SP not that bad.. u should see nyp biz sch... half the modules are not relevant
like dat one wad, if it, always do a stand alone part of yr project dat have oni yr parts first. like dat die die u oso can show.Originally posted by shinta:The dump everything to me last minute. I'm not a deity. That's why I say Group Projects suckz..
Imagine everyone got their share of work, i keep askin them about their progress... they say no difficulties blah x3... 3 days before we're supposed to hand it in, i got very worried... and asked to see the progress..
tmd.. all never do
you know one thing, many poly dip students left their poly w/o knowing how to write a proper report.Originally posted by shade343:\
My poly force me study Comm Skills....that module really waste time lor....Character Development also waste time...![]()
Writing a report is so darn easy...if In doubt, just pick up a copy of any annual report and learn the format of it lor...Damn tu lan with the poly for introducing such a shiT module..Originally posted by shinta:you know one thing, many poly dip students left their poly w/o knowing how to write a proper report.
i took 2 modules on report writing, but my grades are like.. just D or C
true.. pathetic sia, some of them. especially when giving presentations.Originally posted by shinta:you know one thing, many poly dip students left their poly w/o knowing how to write a proper report.
i took 2 modules on report writing, but my grades are like.. just D or C