Tuesday July 12, 8:17 PMQuoted from yahoo.com.sg
NKF withdraws defamation suits against SPH and journalist
SINGAPORE : The National Kidney Foundation (NKF) has withdrawn its defamation suits against the Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) at the end of the second day of proceedings in the High Court.
This turn of events came after NKF CEO TT Durai decided to withdraw both his and NKF's claims against SPH and its journalist Susan Long.
NKF had sued them after an article, reported in the Straits Times in April last year, talked about expensive fittings at its S$21 million building at Kim Keat Road.
Under cross examination by SPH's Senior Counsel Davinder Singh, Mr Durai agreed that the fittings were extravagant for a public charity like the NKF.
During the hearing Tuesday, Mr Durai also told the court that he had not kept NKF informed of several directorships he had assumed while he was its CEO.
Mr Davinder Singh also told the court that the NKF has enough reserves to last it for 30 years, based on the expenses it has incurred for dialysis treatment in 2003.
Mr Singh will address the court on the issue of costs Wednesday.
- CNA /ls
At the hearing, Senior Counsel Davinder Singh, acting for SPH, noted that the tap in question cost $990, expensive by his standards although Mr Durai did not agreeThe incident is true. He really attempt to buy a $990 gold tap for his personal use.
And if this was in the UK, some undercover tabloid reporter would have dug up all his dirty secrets long ago. The Brits are experts in this area of journalism. Kudos to them.Originally posted by mercurialz:if this was in the US, i bet many members of public will start to sue NKF as well for misinforming pple and using funds meant for the needy...
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Singapore Elite - Sucking money from the people, look down on the commoners and thinking of more MORAL ways of getting more money.
So. the Elite have NO MORALS, but they have TONNES of MONEY.
Who care about MORALS when you damn bloody POOR ????
If you are thinking of MORALS, then u cannot be a ELITE.
Arrgh... But I see, it would be mei wan mei liao...Originally posted by iveco:If we put him on the stand, he is under oath. Therefore he can only speak the truth or he'll be charged. I bet he will stick to the same story he told Susan Long if it were really the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help him, God.
lol...Originally posted by iveco:And if this was in the UK, some undercover tabloid reporter would have dug up all his dirty secrets long ago. The Brits are experts in this area of journalism. Kudos to them.![]()
offensive? i think NKF worth more than that.Originally posted by sbst275:Arrgh... But I see, it would be mei wan mei liao...
Anyway... That reporter how she reported, is quite offensive I can say
Well, the MIW keep our media on a tight leash, unlike their counterparts in London.Originally posted by mercurialz:lol...... i agree... i wonder how come we are not so efficient hor..
Well... Reporters they themselves have ethnics on what they report, back then, the source was from a unnamed source...Originally posted by kingofbeholder:offensive? i think NKF worth more than that.
if mata in singapore like indonesia, lim pek really feel like throw stone at the NKF castle.
They are supposed to protect their sources. I studied that in journalism class.Originally posted by sbst275:Well... Reporters they themselves have ethnics on what they report, back then, the source was from a unnamed source...
Yeap... But, they have to refrain from making allegations as well...Originally posted by iveco:They are supposed to protect their sources. I studied that in journalism class.
well...they get it right anyway, actually this NKF things hor, ppl alraedy know they have over spend, just that no one brave enough to stand up and point the finger at them.Originally posted by sbst275:Well... Reporters they themselves have ethnics on what they report, back then, the source was from a unnamed source...
So you are saying, they can make exception just because it is NKF?Originally posted by kingofbeholder:well...they get it right anyway, actually this NKF things hor, ppl alraedy know they have over spend, just that no one brave enough to stand up and point the finger at them.
think back, if the reporter are in wrong, SPH will not BACK her with a team of lawyer.Originally posted by sbst275:Yeap... But, they have to refrain from making allegations as well...
Aiyah... Because NKF want to sue SPH as well...Originally posted by kingofbeholder:think back, if the reporter are in wrong, SPH will not BACK her with a team of lawyer.
Originally posted by thinker:Dun trust any CHARITY ORGANISATION (Profit/Non-Profit). Fullstop.![]()
Exactly. Whistle-blowers can't possibly be lying. The issue must really be nagging at their conscience if they don't come forward. However, they have to be protected. Revealing their identity may subject them to threats or abuse.Originally posted by kingofbeholder:think back, if the reporter are in wrong, SPH will not BACK her with a team of lawyer.
Oei also sued David Ban and other Natsteel directors over the comments they made to BT, if I'm not mistaken.Originally posted by sbst275:Aiyah... Because NKF want to sue SPH as well...
Same as the Oei's case