From Vito:1st. Singapore as we all know is so small, how are you going to run? run go where? mandai zoo?
why run and waste energy? u think this is 2.4 km run meh? when invaders come and we loyally submit ourselves to them, and convince them that "SG is know for it's unloyal people who're unloyal to SG itself", all will be fine.
watch ur mom and sis (whoever's female) get raped in front of you... or maybe get shot while running away
but I thought got porn sites and sex toys nowadays already?
It is important to note that you can stop that from happening... for me its fighting for my family and friends and the soil i grew up on thats more important..
even then, you've to use the SAF's own guns and listen to their orders, right? how can this be fighting for yourself? unless u say you form your own resistance like Lim Bo Seng, i'll have faith in you.
i dun fight for some paper general that has 3 stars and uses taxpayer's dollars to live lavishly
those who've served the army know exactly who u're talking about. it's the ***F.

bloody hell i could have killed the enemy before this happened
u think u playing King of Fighters 2003 as Iori meh?
Sadly to say.. singapore does not have battle experience
told u already. they're always talking about 3rd generation army and hold all these exercises with foreign countries. but when real war comes, these sweet theories and plans will all collapse because real war is totally different from all those "future SAF soldier" theories etc.
For those who say the generals are all paper generals... its true... and saying that we are incapable to fight because of no experience.. so
how are we going to get experience? By sending us out to fight! BUT! Will you?
in other words, you're saying that the next time the invaders come, we'll lose, right?.....cos' we've no fighting/war experience currently.
that also means that the guys will become slaves and the girls will get sexually abused etc, for sure. the thing now is : who is going to be the 1st SGrean to join the enemy? oh yes, i see so many hands rising up like there's no tomorrow.
But anyway NS shd be shortened no doubt... and the entire structure must be given a kick up its arse
yeah lah......i agree with you on this point. should be shorten to about 5 months for average people. 3 months of bmt and 2 months of focused training lah. 2 years is a big waste of time as the majority of the time spent is on doing "admin assistant" work which u can also do elsewhere and get paid more.
officers abusing power and wasting manpower
actually, i disagree with you on this. the SAF officers and specialists I know are mostly very good and kind people. ok lah, some of the specialists(sergeants) and a few of the warrant officers(very few) like to abuse their power, but majority of specialists, warrants and officers i know so far are very nice people. only thing is : they're being misled and brainwashed too, thus i feel sad for them if there's a war.......cos' they'll be dying for nothing. my advice to such nice people is : u've a good future and don't waste it on such crap.
Anyway i wont want to live with guilt should i be able to escape from Singapore and watch her burn
if SG has something which really holds me back, then i would die for it. but look here.....other than the girls here, which i personally feel are the prettiest in asia, there's nothing much to hold on here. in america, you've the prideful statue of liberty and mount rushmore; the very thought of these 2 icons being destroyed are more than enough to ignite war rage in americans. but we leh? we have no culture, weak heritage, no sense of unity, no nothing, the whole country's overall bonding and pride, common interests are so weak and loose.
in fact, i've this feeling that if war comes, SGreans definetly will try their fcuking best to migrate and flee to countries like USA, UK and Australia etc.
then, once they've reached there and their new country gets into a war, i think they'll fight to protect their new country. shiok hor?
From Cindy:As someone mentioned above. Singapore is only concrete. Somemore my piece of concrete is not even worth a third of a peanut. What is the point of protecting?
aiyah, u little girl, never serve NS....who ask u to talk here? i know sg girls cute lah, but this is serious issue mah. u want to eat chocolate anot? or candy bar? teddy bear want-want?
If the attacker attack really suddenly, then there is little choice of running aways from Singapore. But there is always a choice of raising of white flag.
smart lah. that's why i admire sg girls' thinking. unloyal and unfaithful, that's why it's a fun challenge to try to make them loyal.
From Uncle MooMoo:sure or not?
yah lah. this is insiders' news mah. i thought everyone knows about this already?
anyway, on the army/war issue, my main point is :
SG is too small to defend, not that our technology/SAF is poor. in large countries like China and USA, even if their army is very weak, they also don't have to worry much, because the land mass too big to successfully conquer, just look at history. Russia and China has been beaten, but never fully conquer and the invaders had a very tough time.
but look at SG. as long as the invaders plant a bomb at the power stations, raffles place's CBD, or the core government buildings, the whole country will collapse the next day. or if they bomb those telecos like singtel, wah lau. imagine lah!
even if all the SAF warplanes and tanks protect these places in times of war, how long can they hold the fort before they get outnumbered?
also, in the years to come, many countries will have nuclear capabilities.
if the invaders are those like n. korea etc. and they fire 1 small-small nuclear missle/bomb at us, what will happened? i tell you, no need to fight........because the whole country will sink into the indian ocean, like the fate of the lost city Atlantis.
it's not that our soldiers/saf is weak, but the main problem is the land mass is really too small to protect. if a country's land mass is large, as least u can flee to the jungle and hide there for sometimes.
imagine lah : even if singapore have nuclear missles/bombs, what can we do? that's the thing. we can do nothing even if we've nuclear bombs.
we fire 10 n-bombs into the invading country. that country will not perish immediately because their land mass is very very much larger than us.
but as long as that invading country fire 1 n-bomb at us, what will happen?
think loh.an army is useful and necessary ONLY if the army's own country is large enough to defend.but for-show-only army is better than nothing lah.....can at least protect the country for 0.5 to 1 day in times of war before succumbing.
nikar.