i bet most of the other JY supporters are like you, they support JY maybe because they had the impression that WL has got no looks and is blind...the fact that he can sing BETTER than JY and most of the other contestants doesn't matter anymore...Originally posted by silv3rgal:JY definately did better than WL... But just because WL is blind, maybe people just lowered their expectations in him... they already felt so touched when they saw WL having so much courage, singing on stage, whether he can sing better than the others, whether he can dance... it didn't matter to these compassionate audience anymore...
Yep, that's exactly my point.Originally posted by silv3rgal:ITs biased anyway. And there are good biases and bad biases... leaving everything aside (the fact that WL is visually handicapped).... if you compare their performances... JY definately did better than WL... But just because WL is blind, maybe people just lowered their expectations in him... they already felt so touched when they saw WL having so much courage, singing on stage, whether he can sing better than the others, whether he can dance... it didn't matter to these compassionate audience anymore...
I'm not saying that he's not good, but the term SUPERSTAR just isn't right for him....Ocean Ou De Yang's album topped the charts....I can say he is a very successful music talent.. but that doesn't mean he's a superstar right... I believe Weilian belongs to this category of artises instead. E.g of superstars = Lin Junjie, Yanzi, Yida...and the 4 heavenly kings..etc..
The other contestants got criticised in everyway for not having superstar calibre...e.g looks.. confidence.. style... and got booted very shortly after.....even when they can sing... Ignoring the fact that Weilian is blind, I don't think his performance is any better than the others... and this is a Good bias.. coz if he isn't visually handicapped.. he might have got booted earlier on...
they are good businessmenOriginally posted by dragg:anyway straits times reported that the organisers think WL is fully and very marketable.
how would u feel if u r in Weilian's shoes? Its very rude to make this kind of comments. Can u can sing a song without looking at the lyrics?Originally posted by BlUe G@rF|eLd:What an unfair world!!! Sympathy votes do work siah! Tink next timeorchard road no more handicap beggar liaoz! All go join such contest liaoz! Imagine next "Cai Hua Heng Yi" all blind lah... deaf lah... pai ka pai qiu wan...![]()
If he do sing well, dun mind he win. BUT... haiz... his vocal nt as gd as the other contestant...
when u start talking on kelvin's handicap, it is U who is suggesting to others that u are voting BECOS he's handicap. What u should be implying is that u support kelvin based on his music and not waving his handicap around. Im pretty sure that he wont want ppl voting cos he is handicap or like his courage, but rather vote for his music , which is his dream, his way of communicating to the world his feelings.Originally posted by findingnewidea:i have the same feeling too.
luckily we have at least 50% who are still very sensitive and thoughtful of handicapped people. They are the core of a good society.
the other 50%, they may not understand it forever. Unless one day something bad happens on themselves, their family, their children. Then I believe they will realize what we are saying here...
voting is 60 cents, a cd is $7? see how many buy 1st laOriginally posted by Schwing:i bet most of the other JY supporters are like you, they support JY maybe because they had the impression that WL has got no looks and is blind...the fact that he can sing BETTER than JY and most of the other contestants doesn't matter anymore...
the telcos revealed that WL's votes comes from more people than JY...meaning to say that instead of having 50 fans vote for JY twice, WL has a hundred fans who voted for him once...if they were to cut an album, who will sell more? will those 50 fans buy JY's album twice?
it's a cruel contest...there will be losers, but only one winner...
u cannot expect the organisers to say anything else and endanger the soon to be published cds sales right? that would be biting their own handsOriginally posted by dragg:anyway straits times reported that the organisers think WL is fully and very marketable.
only in this thread?Originally posted by RaTtY81:seem some ugly singaporeans in this thread...
yeah, dats wat my work colleague said too...as long as the sales gd who cares so much....'tan hua yi xian' oso good....Originally posted by Axelheat755:u cannot expect the organisers to say anything else and endanger the soon to be published cds sales right? that would be biting their own hands
to the organisers, what they think is nothing, cd sales most important![]()
Woah.. did I say that WL has got no looks and that i'm discriminating coz he's blind? Don't put your words into other's mouths..Originally posted by Schwing:i bet most of the other JY supporters are like you, they support JY maybe because they had the impression that WL has got no looks and is blind...the fact that he can sing BETTER than JY and most of the other contestants doesn't matter anymore...
the telcos revealed that WL's votes comes from more people than JY...meaning to say that instead of having 50 fans vote for JY twice, WL has a hundred fans who voted for him once...if they were to cut an album, who will sell more? will those 50 fans buy JY's album twice?
it's a cruel contest...there will be losers, but only one winner...
okok other thread aso gotOriginally posted by Axelheat755:only in this thread?
diff ppl diff likes n dislikes.
Yes indeed... that's really good for him...Originally posted by dragg:anyway straits times reported that the organisers think WL is fully and very marketable.
don't think anyone will be foolish enough to pay 60cents per call (or more depending on how many calls u made) for more than 2 months just to sympathise him right?Originally posted by sweetevil:Still unbelieveable that Weilian got so many supporters even though his singing really only okay as compared to JunYang. So I guess its really all sympathy votes... :p Yeah, and he will win.
Although I rather JunYang had moved on instead.
I like Ur last pt...Originally posted by silv3rgal:However I feel that this isn't a fair match afterall.. coz there are circumstances which will affect audience's biasness (both good and bad) against and for the particular singer..... Its very hard to compare a visually handicapped and a normal person, especially when their performances are of different "quality", and people setting different standards for each of them when they are in the same competition and vying for he same throne...
And further more, i feel that Jue Dui Superstar is more like a commercial event than a music talent search.... 30% from professional musicians and 70% from audience... 70% to determine how big the contestant's fanbase is? Or how crazy their fans , friends and family members are? It's not limited to a vote per person (of coz.. how to make money that way?)..you'll never know there are crazy people who can vote a few hundred times for their favourite contestant..? If that fella is a good talented singer, with recognition from professionals, and enough exposure from such big events like Jue Dui Superstar, he will automatically be well recieved by the others. It'd be a better idea if their voting system work the other way, 30% from audience and 70% from judges... but this will never happen...knowing that their votes have so little impact on the final results, alot of people would be discouraged from voting..... and they can't earn big bucks....however, this system will give fairer results..
P.S I'm not implying abt WL in my second para... i'm just stating my overall view on their voting system, thats all. Weilian case's different, in a way or another, he did touched the audience hearts to make the cast a vote or two..
Anyway..getting more votes doesn't mean a person is more talented.
A good example would be SLYVESTOR SIM. My goodness sake. What kinda talent is he....[color=red]rock star imposter[/color]....