Originally posted by Kazuya90:Actually i dun care much if its fun or not. We go for NS because its our duty, not neccessarily because we think its a walk in the park. Try our best yeah? Aim for the Red Berets, or even SOF.

woof woof! government dog.Originally posted by Kazuya90:If everybody has the same mindset as you, what will happen to our country? We just give up and surrender when faced with an external threat? As a proud SG male, we should serve NS with pride! I've still got 3 years to NS...but i'm alr looking forward to and preparing myself for it.
At least must show some basic respect to them what, right?Originally posted by FireIce:reward?
it's a duty!!!
yeah. and for a country as small as singapore, i think we will have more boy scouts from schools than soldiers in the armed forces if we have it your way..Originally posted by caleb_chiang:...I think that the nation force should be for those who willingly serve and not obligated to serve...
KB lah!!Originally posted by Kazuya90:If everybody has the same mindset as you, what will happen to our country? We just give up and surrender when faced with an external threat? As a proud SG male, we should serve NS with pride! I've still got 3 years to NS...but i'm alr looking forward to and preparing myself for it.
80 billion dollars annually you think its enough to set up a professional army and pay them well?Originally posted by limpshaggy:i'm no economic student, but given that our country is a pretty well off first world country, my question is issit possible to set up saf as a professional organsation like the police force? Or is all the taxes we pay and the cheap labour of our countrymens being used "in other places"(use your imagination here) ala NKF Saga? If it is possible, i see no reason to continue with the current system of slavery..i mean loyalty to country.....
"It is easy to be brave from a safe distance."Originally posted by FireIce:reward?
it's a duty!!!
well-said!!Originally posted by Desert Fox:"It is easy to be brave from a safe distance."
- Aesop

Wow!! who actually has a good time in NS and enjoy themselves??Originally posted by Kazuya90:just because you didn't have a good time in NS,
maybe because you were not that much of a physical person or because of inherent attitude problems, which i can observe from your posts, that does not mean others will end up like you.maybe it's your destiny that you'll have a good time in NS and enjoy yourself loh, I'm so ''envious'' of you.
Just because maybe you didnt get into Red Berets or SOF, doesnt mean i cant and i wont. Just like some people run 2.4km in 13 minutes, some do it in 9 minutes rite?yah lor, some people in NS got gold IPPT but can collapse and die while doing a casual run on his own....
Originally posted by Mr Fugue:Roflmao.
yah lor, some people in NS got gold IPPT but can collapse and die while doing a casual run on his own....
I was mentioning some facts, so not liable.Originally posted by launtpc:Roflmao.
You say some more later kena some law that is made a few seconds prior to your post without any notification... (Law of No Insulting of National Service)
They're training soldiers fit enough to handle training outfield, not become karate experts.Originally posted by Kazuya90:i dun really worry about the physical training...can't get much worse than Judo training rite haha. I looked at the IPPT requirements...like 11 pullups can get A? thats not very high isnt it.
Wah, now 300 bucks, I really gone for such a long time ar?Originally posted by kingofbeholder:got $300 if you got gold in IPPT![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Hmm... personally hated the idea of NS as I am not a physical person... Cannot Tahan those stupid PT...
lucky God had been kind and most of my NS spend without it... but then do not like the idea of reservist also...
I think that the nation force should be for those who willingly serve and not obligated to serve... Definitely a lot of woes and suicides if one is force to extreme end in the army... Heard a lot of such cases during my NS life... I mean happening during my NS life...
Even if you bring the cow to the river, it will not drink if it is not willing. Thus I can say that more than an handful of Singaporean hated NS and those who support the idea might think otherwise when going through it...![]()
$$$ aside,Originally posted by limpshaggy:i'm no economic student, but given that our country is a pretty well off first world country, my question is issit possible to set up saf as a professional organsation like the police force? Or is all the taxes we pay and the cheap labour of our countrymens being used "in other places"(use your imagination here) ala NKF Saga? If it is possible, i see no reason to continue with the current system of slavery..i mean loyalty to country.....
Does it means don't run at all? Not good for health.Originally posted by Mr Fugue:yah lor, some people in NS got gold IPPT but can collapse and die while doing a casual run on his own....![]()
Basically, the reduction of NS to 2 years together with the 10 years cycles of ICT will in fact train one to be fighting fit.Originally posted by SinGaporGuy:for those who haven not served:U R right.. we should all go serve army.. hope they give us a better pay like outside.And I hope ur mentality will not change when u start serving.
For thos Who ORD and going back ICT like me:Well We lan lan we have already served and nw we R suffering the post Ord Syndrom...ICT, well.. SG small and we serve to protect... bt tell them.. we dun need so many ICT to b able to shot wif our guns.. our training R sufficient for future... and fr those regularly.. G@D D@M U, U all realli think we R just your tools to your Promotion rite. ahah.. Hope U all burn... haha
it means I run with moderation, not 100% definitely.Originally posted by TooFree:Does it means don't run at all? Not good for health.