In that case, he is a disgrace. The Archbishop was one of the strongest opponents of having the IR.Originally posted by Icemoon:George Yeo even more pragmatic than LKY ya know?
'cos BG Yeo one of the first to push for casino in the cabinet.
if you realize .. the three biggest charismatic churches - chc, fcbc, ncc - are all independent churches, meaning they are not under any denomination.Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Charismatic christians are like that,what to do???
Originally posted by Icemoon:FCBC independent? Aren't they from the Baptist grouping?
if you realize .. the three biggest charismatic churches - chc, fcbc, ncc - are all [b]independent churches, meaning they are not under any denomination.
maybe we shd ban independent churches. haha[/b]
politician mah. but I won't say he is a disgrace lah. He has to put the economy above all else.Originally posted by iveco:In that case, he is a disgrace. The Archbishop was one of the strongest opponents of having the IR.
Originally posted by Icemoon:They need $$$$ to run, hence bring abt those behaviour
if you realize .. the three biggest charismatic churches - chc, fcbc, ncc - are all [b]independent churches, meaning they are not under any denomination.
maybe we shd ban independent churches. haha[/b]
Regarding this, think of my dumb ass friend, he is unemployed, family background very poor. After he convert to christian, every mth his church peers will pressure him to give money without the thinking of his family background n state of his financial condition. Tat stupid fella really stupid enuf to donate his money away, i tell u this, the money not belong to him, its his relative who lend the money to their family to cover their monthly expenses. Now he use partial of it n give to the church, so wat he get the end? Maybe blessing from his god... Talk to him also no use, he juz plain stubborn n come up with all the christian thingy. Now i also tired to talk to him liao...Originally posted by shade343:Hmm...Not all are like that. IMO, those christians that go around trying to convert people are those that like to sow discord.
Anyway, the "Membership fees" is not compulsory. :
Which church is that? Sounds like Central Christian church.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Regarding this, think of my dumb ass friend, he is unemployed, family background very poor. After he convert to christian, every mth his church peers will pressure him to give money without the thinking of his family background n state of his financial condition. Tat stupid fella really stupid enuf to donate his money away, i tell u this, the money not belong to him, its his relative who lend the money to their family to cover their monthly expenses. Now he use partial of it n give to the church, so wat he get the end? Maybe blessing from his god... Talk to him also no use, he juz plain stubborn n come up with all the christian thingy. Now i also tired to talk to him liao...
To draw young crowds to join them... No wonder young ppl now dun wanna go temple, all kena temptedOriginally posted by shade343:I wonder why some churches, like chc, needs to be so beautiful on the outside and luxurious in the inside....
Not very sure, he nv mention the church name to me.Originally posted by iveco:Which church is that? Sounds like Central Christian church.![]()
isn't it obvious? they wanna use their building to proclaim God's glory to people.Originally posted by shade343:I wonder why some churches, like chc, needs to be so beautiful on the outside and luxurious in the inside....
IMO, the more lavish and extravagant the church is, the more arrogant and egoistic the people inside are.Originally posted by Icemoon:isn't it obvious? they wanna use their building to proclaim God's glory to people.
probably. I read on wiki that they officially proclaim to be baptist, but can't seems to find this piece of info on their website.Originally posted by iveco:FCBC independent? Aren't they from the Baptist grouping?
Hmm, I can't answer that one. But for a non-denominational organisation to use the word "Baptist" in their naming will certainly mislead a lot of people.Originally posted by Icemoon:their practices .. do they look baptist to you? Baptist pastors declare themselves "apostle" one ah?![]()
Let me make a fair statement here. Pls dun flame.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:To draw young crowds to join them... No wonder young ppl now dun wanna go temple, all kena tempted
God don't want his money lah. The money doesn't even come from him, already defeats the purpose of tithing liao.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Tat stupid fella really stupid enuf to donate his money away, i tell u this, the money not belong to him, its his relative who lend the money to their family to cover their monthly expenses.
let me counter-argue it this way.Originally posted by shade343:IMO, the more lavish and extravagant the church is, the more arrogant and egoistic the people inside are.
Still, there's no guarantee that many of them are like NKF.Originally posted by Icemoon:let me counter-argue it this way.
the more lavish and extravagant the church, the more contributions they can make to social service, eg. touch community services from FCBC and CHC's CHCSA (http://www.chcsa.org.sg/)
I bet many of you here either dunno or close one eyes to their social contributions.
What does the size of the church got to do with the amount of social contributions a church makes?Originally posted by Icemoon:let me counter-argue it this way.
the more lavish and extravagant the church, the more contributions they can make to social service, eg. touch community services from FCBC and CHC's CHCSA (http://www.chcsa.org.sg/)
I bet many of you here either dunno or close one eyes to their social contributions.
no brainer question. if you are rich, you have more $$ to help others.Originally posted by shade343:What does the size of the church got to do with the amount of social contributions a church makes?
Are you saying a church with a big fountain and a swimming pool contributes more to society than a church with no fountains?
Oh? So its better to spend 1 million building a grand church rather than spending 100k to build a simple church and using the remainder to help others?Originally posted by Icemoon:no brainer question. if you are rich, you have more $$ to help others.
What are you comparing now? I dunno whether there is another church as rich as CHC, yet congregate in a "simple church". Hmm .. maybe NCC, the church mentioned in the ST Forum article?Originally posted by shade343:Oh? So its better to spend 1 million building a grand church rather than spending 100k to build a simple church and using the remainder to help others?![]()
You should read the bible on the parable which Jesus told. It concerns a richman donating a bag of coins to the temple and a beggar who donated only 2 coins to the temple. Which donated more?
Also do you want to receive help from CHC organization? I think some people rather die than receive help from this particular christian organization.Originally posted by shade343:Oh? So its better to spend 1 million building a grand church rather than spending 100k to build a simple church and using the remainder to help others?
you don't think so or you dun know. Buddhists have their own classes and activities as well as do charity and volunteer work.Originally posted by Icemoon:Let me make a fair statement here. Pls dun flame.
I feel that going temple is doesn't make you more Buddhist or Taoist anymore than the one who goes church to bio gers.
You know why many pple convert to Christianity? 'cos they feel void and shallow when under another faith like Buddhism or Taoism. Let's be frank .. other than going to temple on 1st and 15th (some never even go monthly), what do many of the self-proclaimed "buddhist" or "taoist" do? Read Buddhist scripture? don't think so. Ask them what they know about taoism they go "erm".