Agree with u.... Seems like this fella trying to say bad things abt other ppl religion. A typical traits of a siao on christian....Originally posted by crazy monkey:you don't think so or you dun know. Buddhists have their own classes and activities as well as do charity and volunteer work.
dun know dun anyhow say.
All religions are the same. Knowing about other people's religion gives you the advantage of understanding people's personality (as it reflects on their own belief and religious laws) and the way they go about their day.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Agree with u.... Seems like this fella trying to say bad things abt other ppl religion. A typical traits of a siao on christian....
you seem to know about religions, can you please enlighten me what a buddhist or toaist do?Originally posted by Icemoon:Let me make a fair statement here. Pls dun flame.
I feel that going temple is doesn't make you more Buddhist or Taoist anymore than the one who goes church to bio gers.
You know why many pple convert to Christianity? 'cos they feel void and shallow when under another faith like Buddhism or Taoism. Let's be frank .. other than going to temple on 1st and 15th (some never even go monthly), what do many of the self-proclaimed "buddhist" or "taoist" do? Read Buddhist scripture? don't think so. Ask them what they know about taoism they go "erm".
Wah gd, at least u as a christian think differently from other christians in spore. PEACE is the word, if one dun come n say bad things abt other race n religions den other non christian will not argue n say something bad abt christian, fair n square.Originally posted by renorenal:All religions are the same. Knowing about other people's religion gives you the advantage of understanding people's personality (as it reflects on their own belief and religious laws) and the way they go about their day.
A true Christian would not look down or look up to other religion. This is not equivalent to the teaching at all. I personally think, that towards the final day, the Creator of the Heaven and Earth would judge everyone according to their ways of life, and whether have they been abiding to their own religion or not, rather than if you are not a Christian you would go to hell. Coz not all Christian that calls HIM by name get to enter the Gates of Heaven.
Never did I once say Buddhists do not have their own classes and activities.Originally posted by crazy monkey:you don't think so or you dun know. Buddhists have their own classes and activities as well as do charity and volunteer work.
dun know dun anyhow say.
Who?Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Agree with u.... Seems like this fella trying to say bad things abt other ppl religion. A typical traits of a siao on christian....
I am not well versed in what other religions do, especially Taoists. However, I do know that Buddhists have talks and activities too, and true Buddhists do not focus on rites and rituals.Originally posted by No_Problemo:you seem to know about religions, can you please enlighten me what a buddhist or toaist do?
thank in advance
Believing what about him?Originally posted by renorenal:I believe that the teacher ought to maintain control of himself. He can share, but that's it. Compelling is not the game. When Jesus came to the world, he came with love and did not force anyone into believing HIM.
I hope you can stop on that already. If you carry on, this could be make into a country issue and will be very chaotic already. Like that each religion will not trust each other already. Police will also warn you for spoiling religious harmony if you continue. Singapore laws are strict. We Singapore have religious and racial harmony, this is very unique and special to us. You think other countries have that??? We must treasure on this. All this goes to the contributions on the government who succeded having religious and racial harmony. If not let see what the PAP or Lee Kuan Yew have to say on this issue. Peace. Respect for all the religions. Religions and politics are sensitive issueOriginally posted by Icemoon:I am not well versed in what other religions do, especially Taoists. However, I do know that Buddhists have talks and activities too, and true Buddhists do not focus on rites and rituals.
While I'm not versed in their religion, the same can be said for many self-proclaimed Buddhists. While the average Christian knows about the Bible and should have at least read the gospels, how many of those Taoists and Buddhists can claim to have read the basic Buddhist and Taoist scriptures?
You have exactly described my uncle. He calls himself a Buddhist, visits Waterloo Street Kuan Yin temple every fortnight, and I can bet my life that he doesn't even know a single sutra.Originally posted by Icemoon:While I'm not versed in their religion, the same can be said for many self-proclaimed Buddhists. While the average Christian knows about the Bible and should have at least read the gospels, how many of those Taoists and Buddhists can claim to have read the basic Buddhist and Taoist scriptures?
When did I spoil religious harmony in my posts in this topic? kindly point that out.Originally posted by gorby107:I hope you can stop on that already. If you carry on, this could be make into a country issue and will be very chaotic already. Like that each religion will not trust each other already. Police will also warn you for spoiling religious harmony if you continue. Singapore laws are strict. We Singapore have religious and racial harmony, this is very unique and special to us. You think other countries have that??? We must treasure on this. All this goes to the contributions on the government who succeded having religious and racial harmony. If not let see what the PAP or Lee Kuan Yew have to say on this issue. Peace. Respect for all the religions. Religions and politics are sensitive issue
erm to say it blundly, you shouldn't say that Buddhist or Taoist don't know about scripts and classes. Or else some people will not be happy with you(pandant). Earlier on you "provoke" some of them which they are somehow angry on it. I hope that we can stop discussing on this topic. Peace. We want to have religious and racial harmony in Singapore.Originally posted by Icemoon:When did I spoil religious harmony in my posts in this topic? kindly point that out.
I suspect there are many of these people around.Originally posted by iveco:You have exactly described my uncle. He calls himself a Buddhist, visits Waterloo Street Kuan Yin temple every fortnight, and I can bet my life that he doesn't even know a single sutra.
I want to make this clear.Originally posted by Icemoon:Never did I once say Buddhists do not have their own classes and activities.
My challenge to you is .. how many of those self proclaimed Buddhists attend the abovesaid activities and classes?
Or you want to go Kuan Im Temple in Waterloo Street and randomly pick out one believer? What's the chance they are into those activities and classes?
Did I say all Buddhists or Taoists dun know about scripts and classes?Originally posted by gorby107:erm to say it blundly, you shouldn't say that Buddhist or Taoist don't know about scripts and classes. Or else some people will not be happy with you(pandant).
They hold their activities at Dharma centres, I suppose.Originally posted by No_Problemo:I want to make this clear.
Buddhist assoc dont hold talk at Kuan Im Temple in Waterloo Street but some activity are organise there. So dont generalise as buddhist association usually organise their talks, classes and activities thru out sg branches.
Ok I don't want to say or argue any more on thisOriginally posted by Icemoon:Did I say all Buddhists or Taoists dun know about scripts and classes?
It is the truth there are many Buddhists and Taoists who not known even a single of their own sutra. My point originally was that if these people convert, I'm not surprised. That time the ST ran those articles on religion (about singaporeans belief in God), they interviewed this young chap who made the point that xtianity appealed to him 'cos it was more rational. So you want to sue ST over this article? Or charge the reporter with sedition?
Back to my point, if all you do as a Buddhist or Taoist is just go temple ask for 4D numbers, how rational can it get?
refer back to your earlier post. I dont think its nice to generalise, and we dont really know what they are doing.Originally posted by Icemoon:They hold their activities at Dharma centres, I suppose.
I dunno what's the pt you're trying to make.
I don't think you can call it generalising since it was not in my intention to look down on other religions and never did I use specific examples to describe the religious body as a whole in Singapore.Originally posted by No_Problemo:refer back to your earlier post. I dont think its nice to generalise, and we dont really know what they are doing.
HIS teachings and about GOD.Originally posted by Icemoon:Believing what about him?
tat's true. In none of His teachings did He mention must believe in Him to inherit eternal life. This stupid teaching came from Paul.Originally posted by renorenal:HIS teachings and about GOD.
I wholeheartedly agree with you.Originally posted by renorenal:There are limitations, and they need to be respected.
Breaching over the limitations of anything would lead to problems of not abiding reality and law (christian or the world), hence creating further mishaps and misfortunes.
I believe that the teacher ought to maintain control of himself. He can share, but that's it. Compelling is not the game. When Jesus came to the world, he came with love and did not force anyone into believing HIM.
We as Christians ought to follow HIS ways and prior to doing anything, question ourselves, what would Jesus do, rather than what would I do with my power and authority. This is an incorrect method.
Jesus answered, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:6)Originally posted by Icemoon:tat's true. In none of His teachings did He mention must believe in Him to inherit eternal life. This stupid teaching came from Paul.
fark lah .. then evangelise for what?![]()